206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Bruceton Mills, West Virginia (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
5.01 miles E
10.57 miles NE
15.78 miles NE
16.74 miles E
17.97 miles NE
20.80 miles SE
21.94 miles SE
22.77 miles NW
23.81 miles NE
26.20 miles N
29.79 miles SW
31.55 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Cheat River
10.82 miles SW
Fort Necessity National
11.11 miles NE
Laurel Caverns
12.14 miles N
Alpine Lake Resort
12.97 miles SE
West Virginia
Bruceton Mills
Most Recently Reviewed
Coopers Rock State Forest
Latest Review Submited On
2013-09-25 15:56:07
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Bruceton Mills, West Virginia
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
June 2010
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$55
Big Bear Lake Camplands is 3 miles down a windy, pot hole ridden road off I-68. Towards the entrance to the park you must go through a narrow road. At the guard gate, pray you don't meet "Broomhilda" the security guard (no joking West Virginia at her finest. The woman is a borderline simpleton. Once you check-in, your drive is fairly short to the campground. The campground has a few leveled, pull through, gravel sites for large motor coaches, a dozen or so (pull through) sites for larger fifth wheels and travel trailers and a dozen more back-in sites for smaller pop-ups, travel trailers, and tents as well as a few cabins. The entire site is gravel and there is a bath house (more closely resembling an outhouse). The bath house is not all too clean. The sites have NO wireless, NO cable, No laundry facilities, and barely any cell phone coverage. You'd need to stand on one foot with your left arm extended to get even a little signal. The entire area is also infested with poison oak and spiders so be extra careful where you walk. All day long you have the locals that live in trailers all over the park full time driving through the campground either investigating everyone's site or using the campground as a shortcut or using the bath house. On the weekend, the entire place is infested with drunk teenagers and adults driving golf carts and motor vehicles with beer in hand. Remember this is the wilds of West Virginia. Security is really scare and they only seem to bother checking to make sure no one overstays their visit. There is a lovely lake nearby and numerous trails for riding bikes or hiking. There is also a country store nearby. But, for what you pay, this place is a huge rip-off! It is out in the middle of nowhere. Bruceton Mills is actually 10 miles away and doesn't have a whole to offer either. Seriously, this place should be a lot less expensive for what it offers and what you have to deal with. Still, the location is pretty and the campground is fairly quiet during the weekday. Would not return to this site though. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
lots
Date of Stay
July 2009
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
The tent sites have pads that are tiny and odd sized. The roads and sites are rutted and rocky. The sites are hard to pull into. Most of the sites are not very private. The "lake" they show on the website is not the one that they allow swimming in. Feather Lake is filthy, green and scummy and is only deep enough for small children to play in. The restrooms are filthy as are the showers. On the plus side, the sites are nicely wooded which blocks the rain (LOL). The shower stalls are large and the hot water is plentiful. Wildlife is abundant: raccoons, chipmunks and deer. I advise skipping this park. Try Sand Springs (on the same road) or Cooper's Rock (if you don't mind a park curfew). We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$20
The guy who checked us in was very friendly and he even drove firewood to our site. We camped off season, very empty, peaceful and enjoyable. There was one or two seasonals but we were far enough away from them that it seemed we were alone. Yes we would come here often, though maybe not in season as it looks like it could be very full. In the snow season they offer sledding. It may be fun to camp here then too. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   3   9   6   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Great campground, gravel site but pretty level. Being late September there were very few sites occupied. A hike to the overlook is well worth it, make sure to bring the camera. We stayed one night while traveling, would love to get back and spend some time here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
We stayed here in our fifth wheel while bicycling the trails in Morgantown, WV. Very nice, quiet campground with State Forest employees on site most of the time. One washer and dryer on site. It is very shady. Electric hookups and water source is handy. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
Very lovely treed campground with lots of trails. Sites are mostly level. AT&T cell phone reception was very poor. Rate reflects senior discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Coopers Rock State Forest
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com