218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Elkins, West Virginia (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
15.36 miles SE
15.47 miles NE
21.92 miles SW
22.93 miles SE
34.27 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Canaan Valley Ski Resort
9.43 miles NE
Canaan Valley Resort Stat
9.91 miles NE
Super Wal-Mart
721 Beverly Pike
10.08 miles W
Timberline Four Seasons
10.51 miles NE
West Virginia
Elkins
Most Recently Reviewed
Pegasus Farm Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-06-15 00:33:42
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Elkins, West Virginia
Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   10   10   8   10   9   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Campground is a field ringed with trees. Pros: Owners are very welcoming. Sites are level and spacious. Water pressure is good. Restrooms are very clean. The campground has a feeling of being far away from town. Cons: WiFi is slow. Creek is not visible or accessible except at one site, and is very small. We visited mid-June and the field across the tracks wasn't mowed yet - we didn't see the fishing pond. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
Echoing previous posts, very friendly and helpful owner/host. Great spot to use as base for Elkins area. Lots of room between sites and best place I've seen if you want to sit around a campfire. Situated in an open field with lots of grass and level gravel sites. Lots of positives and highly recommend. A couple of things to be aware of: Wi-Fi for us was very limited and we had to rely on our Iphone hotspot for Internet. Most of sites are back-in. No cable available and TV antenna would only pick up one CBS channel and one PBS channel. Great place for kids and has lots of areas to walk and explore. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
We became full time rvers this year and this was our 5th month choice. Wow! What a treat. The owner welcomed us "home" upon arrival. Spacious level gravel site. Did I say spacious? The grounds are luscious and beautiful. All kinds of grasses, loads of sunflowers and even a organic garden that we were told we could pick from. The owners really have done a great job with this serene location. Water was good with nice pressure. Dish satellite available at most sites. Wi-Fi was good. A stream runs next to the grounds and there is also a beautiful pond. Beautiful! They have the Highland Jam every August and as a player, it was one of the reasons we selected this for our stay for a month. I have never attended a better run festival in my life. We heard some great musicianship while making many friends with no troubles whatsoever. One thing that really surprised us was that the day after the festival, the campground did not show any signs of a festival. This attests to the friends of the owners which are many. I am proud to say that the owners are now on our true friends list and we will be returning before the next festival. We already booked our site for next year's festival. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Pegasus Farm Campground
Camp Information
Sites
210
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   6   10   6   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$33
Rate reflects a 1/2 day discount for a four night stay. The setting is lovely with back in sites only. The vast majority of sites back directly to the river's edge. We were here in the fall and the location and surrounding areas were fantastic for leaf peeping. Both Wi-Fi and cable TV were good. If you are an angler then you can enjoy casting ten feet from your door. Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. If coming from the east on route 33, turn right just before the four lane. A highway sign at the turn showing camping "left." Ignore it and make the right hand turn. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This is a clean, beautiful campground. Great fishing on the river. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
We had a river site...which is a nice good size river. The site was huge. It was really nice being right on the river, with windows open you can hear it running and I caught 6 bass at about 7PM. The campground is more for just having a camp fire, fishing, riding bikes, etc. Pool is a short drive away so not really practical. Its either you love the laid back style of the campground or you hate it. I loved it. Its country. Being from Connecticut its very different here...Cable TV was also good, all hookups were good. Nice campground here in the WV mountains. Nice getaway in nature. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Revelle's Family Campground
Camp Information
Sites
149
Date of Stay
August 2007
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$31
We traveled with our children 13, 10, and 3. They had a wonderful time. The older 2 tubed down the river and jumped off rocks into the creek and the younger one spent time with Yogi Bear. There were many activities planned and though not all were well run the children enjoyed them. Our site was large and grassy though kind of swampy from the recent rains- avoid row B if possible. The pools and public areas were clean and well kept, but the restrooms needed more attention. We will return. We feel we got good value for our money and the staff was excellent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
This was a nice park. Restrooms were clean and nice children's activities. Absolutely beautiful area! As a lot of the places we have been to the game room was outdated but they had nice playground equipment and the pools were nice. They also had rive tubing that looked very fun but we hit a cold spell while we were camping so we did not get to try it. Overall this was a nice place and I would definitely go back! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$36
A nice park, relatively new. Only a dozen or so pull through sites, which are level. A lot of the back-in sites (especially the river sites) slope drastically to the rear, and we’d never be able to level our motorhome if we used one, although there are level back-in sites available. The 50A electric was as high as 132 volts (not a typo) late at night. Water pressure varied from good to very low randomly, day and night, which made taking a shower interesting, but the water seems to be of good quality. I measured the pressure while we were unhooking, and it was only 28 psi. There are a lot of seasonal units throughout the park, but all were newer units that were well taken care of. We had no concerns for our safety while we were here. The campground’s convenient for the New Tygart Flyer train ride in Elkins. The track was less than 20 feet from our pullthrough site, which allowed us get some pictures of the train literally from the door of our rig. (And of our rig from the train!) Don’t be concerned about train noise, though. It runs on Saturday and Sunday only (once in each direction per day), and the rest of the week the only thing we saw was a single hi-rail maintenance truck on the track one day. By the way, when you make reservations for the train, you can actually request that the train stop at the campground for boarding! We chose not to do that though, and drove the 9 miles to the newly restored station in Elkins, because one highlight of the ride is a 1600 foot tunnel that would be missed if you board at the campground. It’s about a 50 mile ride in each direction to the Cass Scenic Railroad, which is without a doubt the most unusual State Park I’ve ever been to. If you’re interested in trains, it’s well worth the trip to see rare Shay locomotives in their natural habitat - pushing trains up mountains via switchbacks with up to 9 percent grades. There are three different train rides that can be taken, depending on the day you visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Shavers Fork Campground
Camp Information
Sites
26
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$17
Our second time to camp here in our small fifth wheel. It is very, quiet, shady and conveniently located outside Elkins. We were here to bicycle the Allegheny Highlands Trail. Has electric hook-ups and several water spigots. Bathhouse is spotlessly clean. Only drawback is the that it has MANY vented windows which do not close and during cool season it is COLD in there, but the water is warm. We would camp here again. Be aware the sign for the sharp left turn says Stuart Bickle Knob (should say Stuart AND Bickle Knob) so don't miss your turn as it is hard to make a turnaround. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com