223434 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Fayetteville, West Virginia (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
5.24 miles SW
9.19 miles NW
13.77 miles SE
18.79 miles NE
19.18 miles SW
19.48 miles S
21.13 miles NE
24.62 miles S
29.26 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Wal-Mart
1556 E Main
4.86 miles SW
Hawks Nest State Park
5.53 miles NW
Gauley River National R
12.66 miles NE
Appalachian Bible Colleg
15.04 miles SW
West Virginia
Fayetteville
Most Recently Reviewed
Rifrafters Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-06-03 00:13:55
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Fayetteville, West Virginia
Camp Information
Sites
130
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   6   6   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
This park is strictly a weekly or monthly campground now. One or two nights are not allowed unless you want to pay the weekly rate. Easy in and out and lots to do in the area if you hike and love nature. Very busy park, so I guess they can get away with not having short stay campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$33
This is a nice no-frills campground. There are only 4 sites with full hookups, and 3 of those appeared to be long term campers. Off all of the sites, those 3 were the only long term residents that I saw (and they may have been there just for hunting season). The Wi-Fi is only available at the office. Also, some of the sites are more like parking spots on the side of the road - that's not true for most sites, but it is true for a few. We had one of those sites but there was plenty of room. There are no picnic tables. There are no fire rings, although fires are allowed. The bathrooms were clean and the water was hot. The campground owners seem very nice, and he even brought us a couple bundles of wood at no additional cost. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
A nice setting back in the woods; trees were just finished changing colors and many were losing their leaves. Office staff was very friendly and accommodating. The phone number for this park in the Trailer Life book only went to a voice recording which no one responded too. We tried three times from over 100 miles away to reserve a site but could not talk to a human. We finally got in touch with one of the referenced names only to be told we didn't need reservations as there were plenty of sites available. When we arrived and requested a full hookup, we were told there was only one left but we could have our choice of electric/water sites. As we were staying two nights and needed clean tanks when we left, we opted for the last full hookup site. To our dismay, this site was within hearing/visual distance of Rt 19 and not located in the woods. We also noticed the other three, lined-up-on-a-dirt-road, full hookup sites were 'permanent' residents. As we disconnected our travel trailer we had to watch our step in the mud and wet dirt road. Bottom line - presently they have one full hookup site which is muddy and on the road. Pick an electric/water site in the woods and dump your tanks when you leave at the provided dump station. We noticed a few of the wooded sites were muddy but at this time of the year, there were many dry sites to use. If we come this way again we would stay here but avoid the full hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Gorge Gateway Center Camping and RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
10
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   7   10   10   8   4   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Friendly and helpful camp host. Small campground but very near New River Gorge attractions. Quiet at night. Saw several big rigs but may need to check with camp host to ensure your unit can get in the available spots. Entry road is a little steep but should not cause a problem for most rigs. $40/night was rate, seemed a little high but not sure what the other local campgrounds were charging. Cable TV worked great, but need to check since a few sites don't have cable at the site. Good shade for most sites. WiFi worked OK some of time. We usually used our smartphone hot spot for internet access. Most sites are back-in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
This is a small campground very near the New River Gorge. All sites were filled on Memorial Day weekend, so it was noisy with lots of children. There is good water pressure in the bath house with nice shower heads. Our site did not get the advertised wi-fi, but temporarily parking near the bath house gave good wi-fi signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
It all depends on what you're looking for. Want a nice quiet place to come back to for the evening after rafting, hiking, and sightseeing? This is the place. Want a place with a lot of activities for kids to keep them busy? Not the place. That being said, we wanted the former so we loved it. It's a small, quaint campground that is very clean with good sized, level sites. Full hook-up with cable (cable not working well while we were there but the owner was working on it). Nice and peaceful in the evening time with little light pollution so one could star gaze. The owner is a really nice guy and really enjoyed talking to him. Highly recommend staying here if you're in the area. We'll definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Rifrafters Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com