221611 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Roanoke, West Virginia (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
13.21 miles SW
13.25 miles SE
13.50 miles N
15.68 miles SW
18.97 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Rest Area On Wv I-79 At Mile Marker 85 Unverified.
6.93 miles NW
Pioneer Cg I
(304)924-5810
10.28 miles E
Broken Wheel Cg
11.22 miles N
Wal-Marti-79:99 110 Berlin Rd (Located To Street)
12.68 miles NE
Super Wal-Mart
100 Buckhannon Crossroads
16.41 miles NE
West Virginia
Roanoke
Most Recently Reviewed
Stonewall Resort, Briar Point Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-25 00:21:20
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Roanoke, West Virginia
Camp Information
Sites
46
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   8   9   7   10   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$46
This is the best State Park in the country that I have seen. Private company runs the resort. Site is fairly level if you line up right. Our shore power was faulty upon arrival, 5 minutes after we called it was repaired and even the electrician was friendly. Each site is paved, with picnic table, sealed trash cans (to keep the racoons and black bear out) and parking spots for the bikes. Right up against the lake, good bluegill fishing for the kids and amazing cat-fishing after dark. Pay the $15 at the resort and get daily use of the canoes, kayaks, yolos, paddle-boats, bikes (including tandem), fitness center, various and indoor/outdoor pool (yes the pool is both partly indoor and outdoor). Gift shop and coffee shop there as well. The restaurant is pricy but a great sit down/romantic meal. Marina has bass and pontoon boat rentals that come with fishing gear along with the standard marina fare. Activity center by marina offers two play grounds and fitness course and pay to play disc golf, putt-putt golf, segway tours and a host of indoor amusement. The entire resort is surrounded by trails and hiking of varying degree and borders the Wildlife Management Area. Would rate this higher but the wifi is spotty, using a range extender for the best sites on the outer loop. Call ahead for reservations though this place is always full. Price is the same as the KOA 25 miles south at Flatwoods and offers a lot more for the outdoor family. Bring the bikes, hiking shoes, fishing tackle and plenty of BBQ. Will be back here again when in the area, worth the money overall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$41
Great park and nice campground. Good Verizon cell service, reasonable speed, free internet, and looks like sat TV available from most sites. Interior roads and sites are paved. Most sites are on lake or have a great view. Welcome Center staff were friendly, but did not provide a campground layoff site map. All sites are back in with a picnic table and grill. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$46
A very nice campground. $46 rate includes taxes. Paved level spots, great views, full hookups, fire rings. No cable or antenna/air TV. Several satellite TVs were in operation in the park and should work from most sites. Three different Wi-Fi systems to connect to, but none were particularly strong from our spot (#38). Verizon and AT&T cellphone service worked fine. The park has numerous hiking trails, fishing and boating, and an Arnold Palmer signature golf course (a superb course, well maintained and well staffed). There is a lodge with a spa, gift shop, dining, and a complimentary boat ride, though we did not use these. Rental boats, kayaks, canoes, and bicycles are available for $15 daily fee per family. Not much shopping nearby, but a WalMart and a Shop and Save grocery store in Weston. A Super WalMart is in Buckhannon, about an additional 10 miles away. Beautiful mountain scenery all around; campground is on a peninsula on a lake. You must make a reservation well in advance, so plan ahead. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Stonewall Resort, Briar Point Campground
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
April 2012
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$33
This was a nice quiet park in a wonderful setting. Lots of green grassy areas to play in and to walk the dog. The parking areas for the pull-thrus was gravel and fairly level. We had no problem with our DirecTV satellite dish locking on to a signal. The owner was friendly and helpful. My only complaint about this park is the 5 mile drive on the paved road to get to it, once you leave the main highway. The road is smooth, but it is very narrow. There are also no shoulders but a sharp drop-off on the road edge. It is also very hilly with lots of curves. For most of the 5 mile drive, the road lanes are too narrow for a normal size class A coach. I was fortunate in that we only encountered two cars on our entering and leaving the park. With the trees on either side, it would have been very difficult for two RV's to pass without damage. I really did like this park, but that 5 mile drive could be a problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$24
We found this campground to be very clean, quiet, and relaxing. It is a beautiful setting in the mountains of West Virginia with very friendly and helpful owners who live on the premises. There is a hiking trail on the property, streams running through the grounds, a small pond for fishing, a pavilion with picnic tables, and a small play area for the children. The pool was clean but it is an oval above the ground pool. Good for young children only. The sites are grass and have some trees for shade. Many campers had boats and took them to Stonewall Jackson Lake for the day. The only negative remark we have regarding this campground is that the road to it is very narrow and windy so one must be very careful driving. We will return to this campground for another relaxing and enjoyable stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$23
For Labor Day Weekend we visited this campground. The Campground is able to have 60 campers but for this weekend there were only 5 campers at most. The only drawback to this campground is the narrow road to the facility. Its located 5.1 miles off exit 91 of interstate 79. The trip with a travel trailer was over 20 minutes. We really like this area though. If your wanting peace and quiet then this is a great place to go. On the first morning I watched about 20 Turkeys out of the trailers window. We didnt use the pool but it looked to be well maintained. The owners have buit a pirites ship around the pool. The campgrounds were very clean. We did fish in the pond and me cought allot of bluegill. My kids had a blast. There are only two sites with full hookups. All of the sites are large and you have allot of space. The playground is very nice. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com