214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Roanoke, West Virginia (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
13.21 miles SW
13.25 miles SE
13.50 miles N
15.68 miles SW
18.97 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Rest Area On Wv I-79 At Mile Marker 85 Unverified.
6.93 miles NW
Pioneer Cg I
(304)924-5810
10.28 miles E
Broken Wheel Cg
11.22 miles N
Wal-Marti-79:99 110 Berlin Rd (Located To Street)
12.68 miles NE
Super Wal-Mart
100 Buckhannon Crossroads
16.41 miles NE
West Virginia
Roanoke
Most Recently Reviewed
Briar Point Campground at Stonewall Resort
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-01 19:27:16
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Roanoke, West Virginia
Camp Information
Sites
46
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   7   10   10   9   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$46
A very nice campground. $46 rate includes taxes. Paved level spots, great views, full hookups, fire rings. No cable or antenna/air TV. Several satellite TVs were in operation in the park and should work from most sites. Three different Wi-Fi systems to connect to, but none were particularly strong from our spot (#38). Verizon and AT&T cellphone service worked fine. The park has numerous hiking trails, fishing and boating, and an Arnold Palmer signature golf course (a superb course, well maintained and well staffed). There is a lodge with a spa, gift shop, dining, and a complimentary boat ride, though we did not use these. Rental boats, kayaks, canoes, and bicycles are available for $15 daily fee per family. Not much shopping nearby, but a WalMart and a Shop and Save grocery store in Weston. A Super WalMart is in Buckhannon, about an additional 10 miles away. Beautiful mountain scenery all around; campground is on a peninsula on a lake. You must make a reservation well in advance, so plan ahead. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
One of the nicest state parks we have stayed at. Great lake, nice places to walk, good bathrooms, be sure to take the free boat tour, good power some have 30 and some have 50 amp, very good Wi-Fi for a state park. I would rate it higher but a couple of the tent spots basically share the RV site and we happened to have one of them OR I would give a 9 MAYBE just MAYBE a 10. Very helpful staff. Some people say they reserve a year in advance so beware; it is popular. We would certainly stay again but would plan ahead and pick a better spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
Immaculate campground with 40 sites that is part of a resort facility with golf course, lodge, restaurants, conference center and spa. All sites are back-in with level concrete pads and all are either on the lake or have a view of the lake. Each site has its own trash can. We were able to get satellite but some sites are blocked by trees. Wifi was okay but a bit slow. This is a popular campground so advance reservations will be needed if you plan to stay any length of time. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Briar Point Campground at Stonewall Resort
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
April 2012
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$33
This was a nice quiet park in a wonderful setting. Lots of green grassy areas to play in and to walk the dog. The parking areas for the pull-thrus was gravel and fairly level. We had no problem with our DirecTV satellite dish locking on to a signal. The owner was friendly and helpful. My only complaint about this park is the 5 mile drive on the paved road to get to it, once you leave the main highway. The road is smooth, but it is very narrow. There are also no shoulders but a sharp drop-off on the road edge. It is also very hilly with lots of curves. For most of the 5 mile drive, the road lanes are too narrow for a normal size class A coach. I was fortunate in that we only encountered two cars on our entering and leaving the park. With the trees on either side, it would have been very difficult for two RV's to pass without damage. I really did like this park, but that 5 mile drive could be a problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$24
We found this campground to be very clean, quiet, and relaxing. It is a beautiful setting in the mountains of West Virginia with very friendly and helpful owners who live on the premises. There is a hiking trail on the property, streams running through the grounds, a small pond for fishing, a pavilion with picnic tables, and a small play area for the children. The pool was clean but it is an oval above the ground pool. Good for young children only. The sites are grass and have some trees for shade. Many campers had boats and took them to Stonewall Jackson Lake for the day. The only negative remark we have regarding this campground is that the road to it is very narrow and windy so one must be very careful driving. We will return to this campground for another relaxing and enjoyable stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$23
For Labor Day Weekend we visited this campground. The Campground is able to have 60 campers but for this weekend there were only 5 campers at most. The only drawback to this campground is the narrow road to the facility. Its located 5.1 miles off exit 91 of interstate 79. The trip with a travel trailer was over 20 minutes. We really like this area though. If your wanting peace and quiet then this is a great place to go. On the first morning I watched about 20 Turkeys out of the trailers window. We didnt use the pool but it looked to be well maintained. The owners have buit a pirites ship around the pool. The campgrounds were very clean. We did fish in the pond and me cought allot of bluegill. My kids had a blast. There are only two sites with full hookups. All of the sites are large and you have allot of space. The playground is very nice. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com