223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Bayfield, Wisconsin (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.14 miles SW
15.39 miles SW
18.60 miles SE
23.47 miles SE
23.47 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Old Rittenhouse
0.13 miles NE
Apostle Islands National
0.18 miles N
Mount Ashwabay Ski Area
1.65 miles SW
Isle Vista Casino
2.32 miles N
Madeline Island Historica
5.20 miles SE
Big Bay State Park
7.28 miles SE
Super Wal-Mart
2500 E Lake Shore Dr
14.18 miles S
Bad River Lodge 123 Maple St., State Hwy. 2 Odanah Wi 54861 715-682-7121 (Located To Zip)
15.28 miles SE
Wisconsin
Bayfield
Most Recently Reviewed
Apostle Islands Area Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-24 00:24:09
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Bayfield, Wisconsin
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   9   9   8   5   7   9   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$36
Sites not level. No cable. Wi-Fi OK. Rustic bathrooms. Clean, but no soap. No credit cards. Water connection far from our unit. Not a lot of options in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
I don't think I have ever rated a campground this low. The owner isn't pleasant, there are rules for everything and signs about the rules everywhere. The bathrooms are old, clean, but primitive. Doors aren't big enough to really provide privacy, you are only partially covered by a building. The showers are even older and worse. They may be clean, but very unattractive. The two pull-through sites are facing the road so the front door of the RV is less than 4 ft from the road. The only saving grace was it was possible to reserve a site, but we had to drive here to do it, since they only accept cash and check. Rate is based on staying 7 days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
Small, but very nice campground. Very convenient to everything to see in Apostle Islands National Lakeshore, just about a mile into town, near u-pick berry farm and orchards. Nicely laid out with sites surrounding a large open playfield and playground--lots of area to set up games, etc. Some sites more level than others, but still able to level up with some blocks. Owner warns you about drainage ditches across the gravel road, just be sure to go heed his warning--drive slowly and pay attention and no problem. Owners very accommodating about moving to another site we liked better. Second time we've stayed here and will stay here on our next visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Apostle Islands Area Campground
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   2   3   6   5   3   6   8   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Great stay at this campground. Quiet and well kept. You can go into the associated hotel/casino and use the restrooms and great showers. Separate entrance!! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Free shuttle to downtown Bayfield. Would stay here again. Site 12 is a great site. Some sites have tight table/fire pit area. Would stay here again. Food in restaurant/bar is good too, if you do not want to cook. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
The park is next to a new casino that opened mid Aug 2011. Roads and pads are gravel, some steep and not suitable for larger rvs. The park is run by 2 college students that know little about rv needs. They "helped" a family noisily setup at 3 am, talking loudly waking everyone nearby. The park has no permanent dump station so we were directed to a pipe sticking up from the ground with no cap near the edge of the Casino parking lot. Some sites have electric but it is 50 amp - no 30 amp provided. Strange. Some sites have water from shared spigots. We were promised water for our reserved site but they had to run a hose across the parking pad next to us because no hookup was next to our site. Then the students couldn't find a white water hose, pretended they didn't know they needed to provide a white hose, and ended up connecting via their dirty green hose which we had emphatically rejected. We couldn't drink the water for our 3 day stay. Several sites including ours had a view of Lake Superior - lovely. But the park was not inviting - more like a construction site with little grass, dusty roads,& narrow and uneven sites next to us. They also mix tent and RV sites next to each other. Our complaining to management about the improper hose hookup was passed on to the college students who thereafter ignored us. Do not stay here if you are seeking a "Northwoods" scenic site. If you want to be close to the casino and in a construction parking lot atmosphere then this is the place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
As a previous reviewer stated, they are under construction! It is noisy, dusty and the bathrooms/showers are temporary mobile units in the Casino parking lot. The sewer hook-ups at sites and the dump station were in need of pumping out ( had been that way for two weeks) and could not be used. Water is not available at all sites-you have to ask a neighbor with water to unhook so you can fill your own tank. Electric was very strange-50 amp or 15 at our newer site. All in all there were too many inconveniences and irritations to justify the cost. Maybe this will be a nice campground in the future...but sorry, not this year! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Buffalo Bay Campgrounds & Marina
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
This a quiet little campground. If you have big rig some spots will not accommodate you. There are no water hookups but they do have potable water at different locations to fill your tank. Campground hosts are very nice people. Out of the way place but full on the week ends. Very nice beach area. Bring enough electric cord as the electric box is shared with two sites. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
A bit off the beaten path, secluded and quiet. All sites on grass with gravel roads. Showers available but are pay, restrooms next door at the NP parking for the Apostle Islands. Close to beach (across road), marina/harbor, and historic fishing works. Hosts very friendly. Nice beach to walk along, clean, sheltered. Can see some of the islands from campground. Most sites open and with few large trees for shade. Tent sites off to side more removed from main camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com