220584 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Eagle River, Wisconsin (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.31 miles SE
11.50 miles W
14.08 miles NW
16.25 miles NW
20.50 miles SW
22.87 miles NW
23.19 miles SE
23.65 miles N
29.79 miles S
29.80 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Rpi- Wi Chain 'O Lakes Resort 3165 Campground Rd Eagle River
4.81 miles SE
Chain-O-Lakes Resort Park-3165 Campground Rd
4.88 miles SE
The Harbor Cg
(715)546-3520
11.08 miles SE
Wisconsin
Eagle River
Most Recently Reviewed
Hi-Pines Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-24 00:31:07
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Eagle River, Wisconsin
Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
September 2009
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
This campground grew on us during our stay. The campground definitely caters to seasonals. As a Coast-to-Coast member; they are newly returned to the KOA system this year (the main building is obviously that of an old KOA). Many seasonal sites have been improved upon by their inhabitants, especially with nice patios or decks. Some ideas of "improvement" are a matter of taste, but in any case we did not see any outside refrigerators or "junky" appearance, despite the abundance of flamingos and bear statues. Quite a few pull-through sites which will accommodate bigger rigs. Some turns in the campground can be tight and require care to negotiate. The trees: though also abundant, are trimmed or thinned in such a way that getting around with a big rig is possible without damage. Sites are natural in appearance:. dusty in dry weather and the utility hookups are older. No sewer hookups available, but the park offers a dump station and honey wagon service ($5 for the latter). The campground is very popular with fishermen, being located on Cranberry Lake, and there are lots of boats here. Bathrooms: especially those in the community building, are spacious and clean, with plenty of hot water for the showers. There's a pool, shuffleboard courts, and weekend activities. The campground is not easy to find, located down several small winding backroads, but it has a real "North Woods" feel. There are even warnings to watch out for bears, particularly near the trash dumpsters at night. (Fortunately the dumpsters are located near the campground entrance, not near sites; unfortunately that means a long walk, or a drive for some near the lake to dispose of their trash. Staff does not do trash pickup, presumably because of the bear issue). Wi-Fi is available only at the office building. There are cellphone towers in the area, as ours worked (surprisingly) while we were here. Note: if hooking up to water, let it run for a while first: lots of rust came out of our faucet for the first 30 seconds or so. We'd probably camp here again if in the area. It's a very pretty spot, and at least off-season on the weekend was quite quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$10
We camp here every summer. This is not a five star resort but a north woods campground. Most sites are adequate in size. The roads can get very dusty during dry weather. Owners are on site and friendly. Nice park to sit back relax, fish, and enjoy the rustic north. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Generally, we've come to rely on KOAs as providing consistently decent campgrounds. But this one definitely ranked lower on our list! This was primarily due to the poor layout, overcrowding, and mixed-in permanent/seasonal residents. If you're into the pink flamingo look, this place is for you! If you don't, look elsewhere! And if you like getting lost and knocking on RV doors for help (as one poor lady did with us one night, and I saw one other bewildered person walking around during daylight, obviously unsure of where their RV had gotten to!), then you'll love it here! It was just OK, although obviously popular - maybe because of location/fishing opportunities? But I wish we hadn't hurried so much in making reservations at the last minute and had tried another place instead! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
175
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   6   10   8   8   10   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$22
Our site (#2) was right by the clubhouse and nice clean modern showers and toilets. Good number of both. Over-the-air TV had a great picture. Wi-Fi OK. We liked being by the pond because it was close to showers. Site not level. Did not have enough levelers. We expected Wi-Fi to be better. Park was pretty empty. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
This campground has some nice sites. Many of the the sites, though, are out in the open with no trees. There was a play area in the water but they let locals use it so it got crowded. Convenient bathrooms. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
The rate reflects Passport America - found them liberal with their number of stays which was nice. Our original site was not vacated as records reflected so we ended up on the main road with the pond/play area behind our rig. Heard several complaints how the park has gone down since last year - one major blow up slide has a hole in it and they continued to have to blow it up. This is a family playground park and doesn't really meet our needs. The grassy site was mostly level. The sewer backed up when we were getting ready to leave and they had to come and clean out the drain. We would probably look around for other options before staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Hi-Pines Campground
Camp Information
Sites
136
Date of Stay
2000
Latest Rate
$35


Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2000
$35
My favorite campground in Wisconsin. Lots of planned activities. There is a small craft shop and great restaurant on the grounds. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com