214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Oshkosh, Wisconsin (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
12.37 miles NE
17.17 miles E
17.54 miles SE
17.65 miles NE
19.64 miles NW
27.48 miles NW
28.50 miles SW
30.96 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Hunan Chinese Restaurant
0.05 miles E
Lara'S Tortilla Flats
0.57 miles N
Tony'S Place
0.71 miles SW
Wastewater Treatment Plant
Oskkosh
0.94 miles NW
Oshkosh Public Museum
1.47 miles NW
Paine Art Center And Arb
1.53 miles NW
Delta Family Restaurant
1.53 miles NW
Vitale'S Italian Cuisin
1.55 miles N
Kham Orient Cuisine
1.63 miles N
Wittman Regional Airport
1.96 miles SW
Golden China Restaurant
2.16 miles W
Super Wal-Mart
351 S Washburn St
2.22 miles W
Robbins - Oshkosh
2.23 miles NW
Callahan'S Grill & Bar
2.29 miles SW
Experimental Aircraft Ass
2.48 miles SW
Westhaven Golf Course
2.92 miles SW
Wisconsin Farms
2.99 miles SW
Fin 'N Feather Showboats
10.71 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
1155 Winneconne Ave
11.17 miles NE
Bergstrom-Mahler Museum
12.29 miles NE
Wisconsin Camping
13.98 miles N
Wisconsin
Oshkosh
Most Recently Reviewed
Hickory Oaks Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2013-08-01 21:11:33
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Camp Information
Sites
4,000
Date of Stay
July 2009
Latest Rate
$21


Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   2   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$21
This is a specialized campground open for EAA's Air Venture during July. If your looking for a resort with lots of amenities this is not it! It's dry camping with the friendliest bunch of aviation nuts that you will ever meet! This year we arrived three days before the start of Air Venture and the campground was about half full. By the opening day it was close to capacity. This year according to EAA officials was the first time ever, that the campground was full to capacity. They have installed several new restrooms and showers so that helped with the huge crowds. But, with 40,000 campers things can get hectic. The Port-a-poties near our rig were pumped twice a day and kept fresh and clean. Fresh water and pump-outs are available at your site for $20.00 for each service or you can drive to the dump station. When it's dry it does get dusty, but this year the rains kept the dust to a minimum and in our area mud was never a problem. Considering this is a once a year event and that the entire operation from the check-in to check-out is all staffed by volunteers, I think you find that Camp Scholler is a pretty amazing place. After all, it's really all about the airplanes! Also: the friendly bunch of aviation enthusiasts that will be parked next to you. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$21
The event is great, but the campground is poor. Actually it is a meadow packed with thousands of campers. The portable toilet units are clean if the company instructed to clean it doesn’t forget it (which happened several times in our area). There are only two good things with this campground: most sites are level and you get free Wi-Fi. On the other hand it is dusty when it is dry and a big mud hole when it rains. It is loud from Highway 41 all night long. The rate of $21 does not include the EAA membership (min. $40 per year) that is required to go on this campground. You must be an aviation aficionado to go to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$18
This is a "boondocking" campground open once yearly for EAA's yearly convention and airshow, Airventure. Thousands camp there in 20x30 foot campsites with tents, campers, and even airplanes for the convenience of being near the airshow, forums, and displays. The hot and cold water showers are near-military style: numerous large buildings divided by shower curtains with kitchen sprayers as the showers. Sinks are troughs that 25-30 can use at the same time. Bathrooms are trucked in and well maintained/clean portable toilet units. Potable water supplies are centrally located for campers as are several "camp stores". Portable hand cleaning stations and diaper changing stations are strategically placed. If you are an aviation buff, want safety for your family and children, don't mind the lack of any hookups, love crowds and getting to know others with similar interests, and want to look at new technologies at a minute's notice, Camp Scholler IS the place to stay! Otherwise, you might want to avoid it. We've camped here in tents and travel trailers each year for the past 12 years. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Camp Scholler
Camp Information
Sites
250+
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   4   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
Campground isn't much to look at as it's just set in some farmland. Sites are either grass or gravel, reasonably wide and level, but a little short. If crowded it might be a little tight for larger rigs. Power was a major problem when we were there. It wasn't crowded but my voltage would drop very low when my AC turned on. On a few occasions it caused my Progressive protection to cut out the power. I had to run my generator in order to cook dinner in the microwave. There was supposed to be cable TV but our site didn't have hookup for it. Didn't matter as there was good over the air TV as well as a clear shot for satellite. Wi-Fi didn't have very good range but I was able to get it to work with a directional antenna. Speed was acceptable. Small playground for kids but not much else there or nearby. We stayed here one night to check it out with thoughts of staying here for Airventure. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
To review this campground, I will just say what we considered the positives and negatives. The positives: A great location for visiting the area, nice level, pull through, full hookup site with a shade tree. The negatives: Bathroom had two flush toilets for over 250 sites. Others were either portable or pit toilets. There were two showers for women and two for men. We had full hookup so did not use either of these but I did check them out and they were moderately clean. Most of the sites were 15 amp, we had one of the few 30 amp sites. We would not stay in this campground again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
Stayed here for EAA Airventure. Shady spots are mostly for seasonals. Balance of CG open. Roads packed gravel, dusty. The good: Sites are large. Room for awnings/slides. And in the area I was in, slightly downhill. Sites in this area were grassy ans mowed. The store is pretty well stocked with convenience items. Although no transient sewer sites that I saw, there is a free dump station. There is a playground for the little ones. For the most part it is quiet. The bad: Showers are old, in need of updating. They were also inconvenient to most of the campsite. Washrooms were old and moderately dirty. There are some very old portable toilets scattered about, Didn't check them. Speed limit is 5 mph, but not enforced. Consequently, a lot of dust as some cars went by at 20/25 mph. Overall, the best thing about this place is that it is one of the closest to the Airventure ground. 2 2/4 miles to the nearest gate. The price is right I would stay here for Airventure again, but not for anything else. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Circle R Campground
Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   2   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Beautiful, quiet setting, with shaded, grassy sites. We stayed 5 nights to visit EAA Convention and liked the proximity of this campground to the airport, about 15 minutes by car. Improvement suggestions are: 1. Pave the campground road 2. add at least one more shower to the main shower / bath building for both men and women. With only one shower available at the main building, my husband had to wait 5-10 min. each time he used it. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
We didn’t care for this park. Gravel drive but dirt roads. Looks like there was gravel once, a long time ago. Sites are on grass which quickly turns to mud. Sites are laid out in a haphazard manner. The electric hookup had no disconnect so I had plug in/out HOT, which could damage electrical components in the RV. Many of the sites were occupied by workers from around the country who follow the job openings. I talked to several who are good people just trying to get by as best they can. We stopped here to visit the EAA Museum. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
Nice RV park, friendly folks running it, sites are pretty close together, internet was not working (and a really cheap setup anyway), TV reception was great, would be nice to have sewer at each site, location was close to where we wanted, it was next to a landfill and prison (but the landfill was grassy and not a problem, the prison was just there). Lot's of nice restaurants in the area. Interstate construction made getting there a roundabout route, but we found it. Overall, we would stay there again. Biggest gripe was lousy internet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Hickory Oaks Campground
Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   2   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
This campground is really nice on the pull through sites as they have full hookups. The rate is cheaper if you stay a week. You have to rent a fire ring unless you buy wood from them. The Wi-Fi works good and you get lots of local channels and satellite worked good. It's close to town if you need to go shopping. Pet friendly and real nice to take dog for walks. The campground is in 2 sections with the full hookups in the south and water and electric in the north part. If you come in a big rig you have to go around the block to get into the campground. The owner lives in a house on the opposite side of the road and you just park on the road to register. No fishing from shore as it's weedy and rocky. I would avoid a busy weekend as the sites are rather close. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
The park is awful. The price is high and there are no amenities. Dogs run free even though they are supposed to be leashed. Upkeep and repairs are lacking. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
Nice waterfront setting on Lake Winnebago with a boat ramp and docking available. Restrooms are a bit small, only one shower in each. Beach is a bit small, but great access to the reefs along the west side of Lake Winnebago south of Oshkosh. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
This is a very small park on the side of the highway. I think most of the business is for the EEA Fly In as it is right across the street from the airport. I visited about a week after the event and stayed for 3 weeks. I had to drive to the main building once a week to fill up with water and dump. There is electric at all of the sites. This place is truly Big Rig friendly easy in and easy out. They do offer waste buddy service for $5, but I had to go and fill with water anyways. The owner gave me a break on the fee because of my long stay which he is really not set up for. I think mostly it is designed for short overnight stays. Plenty of shopping and restaurants are close. This is not a resort, but an EEA event campground and an overnight campground. I gave an 8 rating because of the friendliness of the owner and the rate discount. It is real hard to find any campgrounds in the area with full hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
July 2009
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
We've rated this park "excellent" but bear in mind that this is a specialized campground, open only for a few select events and we were there during the EAA AirVenture along with 41,000 other campers. Not all of them at this campground obviously. And we feel that for this purpose, they do an excellent job! A perfect location to camp for the EAA event, an easy walk to the main gates, kept comparatively clean, plenty of port-a-potties, hand washing stations, and trash receptacles. We could literally watch the airshow from our campsite in the open "back field," although not the runway activities. What really sets Sleepy Hollow Farm apart? Their genuine passion for making their guests comfortable and happy amid all of the chaos! If you have a problem, the owner and his staff start working immediately to resolve the problem and communicate along the way (so important!). We had a few snags. Someone in our site when we arrived, pump-out truck missed our holding tank completely, lost reservation a few weeks before we got here. But let me assure you, each incident was handled RIGHT AWAY, with a smile and caring attitude and with results! You can't ask for a better bunch to be looking after you so far from home! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$42
We've been staying at Sleepy Hollow for five straight years for Airventure EAA. We stay ten days every year. Jeff and Barb are fantastic. Friendly and helpful. They take care of anything that needs attention and always with a smile. This is the ONLY way to "do" Airventure. The sites are 20' x 40' each. At only $42/night, if you need more room, rent two! Water and electric at every site. Sewer trucks run every day and pump you out for only $25. Wi-Fi is available. It simply blows EAA's Camp Schoeller away. You will still meet/know all your neighbors but you'll be in an oasis in the middle of everything. Kamping Kabins are rough and simple but new. Pets are welcomed. Neighbors respect quiet times. "Back 40" sites do not have water hookups yet but lets just see what Jeff and the 'red shirts' have planned for coming years... We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$42
Sleepy Hollow is a "specialized" private campground/RV park that primarily caters to the gigantic annual EAA Convention/Fly-in, and is located immediately outside the function's main entrance. They also open for other summer "happenings" in the Oshkosh area or on-demand for group functions. Unlike the EAA's adjacent Camp Scholler (see reviews), Sleepy Hollow provides 50-amp electric (a life-saver in the hot humid Oshkosh summer!). There is water hookup, but no sewer. Pump-outs can be arranged. Sites are quite tightly packed but most are fully shaded and overall the facility is very pleasant, certainly more so than the EAA open field alternative. "Semi-portable" bathrooms and showers are provided and while not fancy are kept quite clean. Most clients are RVers but there are tent sites and a few very basic "cabins" that are air-conditioned. Reservations well in advance are essential and for the EAA function you must book multi-day, either full week or first half / second half. For RVers, this is by far your best bet at EAA Oshkosh. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com