8.7 Excellent
http://www.rvparkreviews.com/regions/arizona

Gold Canyon Resort (55+ park)

Gold Canyon, Arizona


7151 E US Highway 60
Gold Canyon, Arizona 85118
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 188
Recent Rate: $$$$

Office Hours:

Monday: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Tuesday: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Wednesday: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Thursday: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Friday: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed

Hours above shown for Pacific Time Zone

Add Review

Latitude: 33.35618
Longitude: -111.46917

Elevation: 1769' (approx.)
Park Features
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites no
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping no
  • 55+ 55+ yes
  • Kid Friendly Kid Friendly no
  • Boondocking Boondocking no
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts yes
  • Dump Station Dump Station no
  • Group Camping Group Camping ?
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
Hookups
  • Full Hookup Full Hookup yes
  • Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP)
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • Phone Phone yes
  • Water Water yes
  • Cable/Sat. TV Hookup Cable/Sat. TV Hookup yes
Connectivity
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • ATT Cellular Provider ATT
  • Verizon Cellular Provider Verizon
  • Sprint Cellular Provider Sprint
  • T-Mobile Cellular Provider T-Mobile
Amenities
  • Restrooms Restrooms yes
  • Showers Showers yes
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • Camp Store Camp Store no
  • Pet Area Pet Area yes
  • Propane Available Propane Available no
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar no
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse yes
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available no
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen no
  • Horse Camp Horse Camp ?
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip no
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter no
  • Restrooms: vault Restrooms: vault no
Recreation
  • Pool Access Pool Access yes
  • Playground Playground no
  • Recreational Trails Recreational Trails ?
  • Rec Room Rec Room yes
  • Casino Casino no
  • Fishing Fishing no
  • Beach Beach no
  • Biking Biking no
  • Boating Boating no
  • Golf Golf yes
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities yes
  • Horseshoes Horseshoes yes
  • Mini-Golf Mini-Golf ?
  • Outdoor Courts Outdoor Courts yes
  • Pickleball Pickleball ?
  • Water Access Water Access no

1 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Ask fellow campers about "Gold Canyon Resort (55+ park)" and nearby attractions.

Review Details

Ratings overview

30 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews' member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 9
States Visited: 6
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: January, 2018 - $65.00
Overall Rating:

Resort is beautiful and very well maintained. Club house and amenities are incredible, but they come at the price you pay for staying there. If you use them all the time the price is worth it. But if you are staying for a month like us, daily exploring of the valley never gave the time use any of the amenities. Greens for the little golf course are just low mowed grass so putting is frustrating. Pro park model resort. We parked between two with the streets so narrow, backing in was almost impossible to do. If you're a full timer the place is perfect. if not, it might behoove you too find a place that is less expensive. We camped at Gold Canyon Resort (55+ park) in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Concrete, Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my 5th wheel (had to disconnect)
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Interior Roads
Tight Turns
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: November, 2017 - $62.00
Overall Rating:

We stayed here in a motorhome. The staff were great. We were greeted at the gate and guided to our site. The sites are huge, plenty of room for your rig and your towed vehicle. My only complaint is about the non existent wifi. You would think a place of this size and the money you pay to stay here they would spring for extended towers all over the park. The only place that you could get it would be at the office which was a very long ways away. We stayed at inexpensive places that had excellent wifi and it was because they placed extended towers all over the park, not a hard thing to do. We stayed there for a week as we were visiting friends in Gold Canyon so we didn't participate in any of the many activities they have for you to do. There is so much to do. I think if we went back to Gold Canyon we might check out other parks in the area to see what they offered. We camped at Gold Canyon Resort (55+ park) in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
24
Site Surface
Concrete, Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

There are a multitude of activities to do at this park. It is a snowbird destination so lots of people coming in when we were leaving. There is nothing at your site so be prepared to bring tables and chairs. Also because the place is so big the water pressure was very low. We had to use our pump to supplement the pressure so we could take a descent shower. Wifi very poor, actually non existent. Should have extended towers placed around the park so everyone can use it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

RobertsResortsMarketing, employee at Gold Canyon Resort (55+ park) responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We do apologize about the lack of wi-fi connection, it is something we have had many comments about and we are looking at our options to better serve our guests with this! We do hope you come back soon!

Review Count: 179
States Visited: 43
Helpful Reviews: 44

Date of Stay: January, 2017 - $28.00
Overall Rating:

The streets are paved and wide. The sites are very wide so you can park your vehicle next to your rig. Sites vary in length and there are pet and no pet sections which we loved. You park on fine stone on most sites and have a concrete patio. Utilities worked well but come prepared for sewer to be at the back of the site. We had free "cabled" internet, we borrowed a modem from the office and ran a wire from the cable box and it worked well. Office was very friendly and helpful in every way the entire stay. Gated with a person at the gate all the time. We were told, when we made the reservation, that there were no check-ins after 5pm so we could be sure to get there in time. Great quiet park, everyone was friendly as we took our long walks around the park. We stayed for a month (thus the lower rate). We camped at Gold Canyon Resort (55+ park) in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
521
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my 5th wheel (had to disconnect)
Campsite Features
Patio
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Loved hiking in the Superstitions. Quite a lot of people, very busy on weekends within the couple miles of the trail heads. Beware that traffic on the highway is very bad on the weekends in February during the Renaissance Festival.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

RobertsResortsMarketing, employee at Gold Canyon Resort (55+ park) responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed your month long stay with us and we do hope to see you back again!

Review Count: 10
States Visited: 10
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: January, 2017 - $55.00
Overall Rating:

This is a beautiful park with lovely landscaping and lots of amenities, and some really screwy rules. We made reservations months in advance for a two night stay because it was high season. We arrived about 6 p.m. and the gate guard told us we would have to boondock in the parking lot since they do not park any RVs after 5 pm. This was not mentioned when we made the reservation, or indicated on our confirmation, or mentioned on their telephone answering message (They did not answer the phone after 4 pm.) We were told this rule was made after a customer ran over a water line while backing in after dark. This park has more than 700 spaces, but only about 10 percent are for RVs. So RVs apparently are not the priority, especially for short term stays. After a discussion with the very courteous manager, we were credited for our night's stay in the parking lot so we were happy with the solution, but probably would not go back. We camped at Gold Canyon Resort (55+ park) in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Concrete
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

RobertsResortsMarketing, employee at Gold Canyon Resort (55+ park) responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear that the check-in hours were not mentioned to you before you arrived! As for the spaces, we are currently looking to expand our RV sites but it will take some time. I am however very happy to hear that the manager was able to assist you in crediting your night's stay. Thank you very much for your feedback!

Featured Campgrounds Near Gold Canyon Resort (55+ park)

Review Count: 41
States Visited: 20
Helpful Reviews: 17

Date of Stay: November, 2016 - $20.00
Overall Rating:

This is a true 55+ resort designed for long term, fall/winter stays for those who want a physically active retirement lifestyle. We arrived in September 2016 and will stay thru March 2017. The resort is all about community and staying busy with lots of activities. Amenities include high quality equipment in the workout room, two pools, shuffleboard courts, bocci courts, horseshoe pits, wood working shop, pottery, quilting, mosaics, stained glass, poker, euchre, mah Jong, tai chi, water aerobics, line dancing, happy hours, dances, pickle ball, softball, tennis, dog park, deli, hiking club... We enrolled in lots of activities, met lots of friendly retirees, and plan to continue coming here. - Sites are long and amply wide with cement patio and plenty of room for our truck. We are here for several months, and are happy to have found this friendly, active resort. We camped at Gold Canyon Resort (55+ park) in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
637
Site Surface
Concrete, Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Patio
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Do not suggest hiking in the Superstition Mountains. Trails are often poorly marked and people get lost frequently - with dangerous consequences.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 4
States Visited: 3
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: April, 2014 - $45.00
Overall Rating:

Great park. Fantastic landscaping. Very clean. 24 hour security. Beautiful clubhouse with all the facilities you could want including 2 pools, sauna, steam room, and Jacuzzis. Quiet and friendly. Good laundry facilities. Not much to complain about here! We camped at Gold Canyon Resort (55+ park) in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 42
States Visited: 20
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: March, 2014 - $27.00
Overall Rating:

Rate reflects a 30 day rate. Overall we are very satisfied with the resort. The site we had did have cable TV ,electric, and trash were included. For longer stays that differs as per website. The cable is good, the trash pickup is twice a week, and since no can is provided most purchase one. We did at Camping World. The pet area is not adequate in my opinion...poor grass,no trash can there and no lighting. Also limited area to walk the dog. We heard they have plans to expand the pet area in October. The resort location was perfect for us as away from major traffic areas but 10-15 minutes away from anything you need. Also, we went into the housing development across 60 and could bike, walk or hike into the mountain. There is plenty to do in and out of the area such as hike,golf,sight see multiple cities nearby. We camped at Gold Canyon Resort (55+ park) in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 95
States Visited: 22
Helpful Reviews: 25

Date of Stay: March, 2014 - $47.00
Overall Rating:

We received a coupon for a free visit at a rally. The price I quoted is a daily rate without a coupon. The grounds are lovely with good signage and a nice entry road. The roads by the camp sites are a bit on the narrow side for easy maneuverability in and out of sites. The sites are gravel with nice-sized concrete patio pads. Our site had quite a slope, but most appeared to be flat. The utilities are placed at the back of the site and we had to use an extension for the sewer. The majority of the sites are occupied by older park models but most have attractive landscaping. The park is immaculate and the green of the golf course, and the landscaped park models, are a nice change from the rocky grounds of much of this area in Arizona. There are many activities and we felt welcomed and were invited to participate in dances and meals. There is one dog park. It is a nice size and has grass, but no shade in the heat of the day and no lighting at night. There is no WiFi or cable unless you purchase a package. Other than that, my only complaint was that we backed up to a park model with a noisy A/C unit and a noisier dryer. We would stay here again, especially if we could stay for a longer period of time so we could get involved in activities. We camped at Gold Canyon Resort (55+ park) in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 8
States Visited: 6
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: November, 2013 - $44.00
Overall Rating:

A large 55 plus park. They have a nine hole par three golf course on the grounds. The course is in nice condition. Have a beautiful pool and two spas. Lots of things going on if you want to do them. Lots of permanent residents but everybody was very friendly. Great staff--very friendly--and the grounds were well maintained. Have a security gate. Would stay here again. We camped at Gold Canyon Resort (55+ park) in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 32
States Visited: 14
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: November, 2013 - $45.00
Overall Rating:

Hard to believe what you do not get for $45 a nite. You get a nice lady at check in but the men that park you and hook you up could not be ruder. They all repeated again and again that we are not able to park you or hook you up to our own desires, then you will not be able to stay here, so prepare to leave. What you get is a large park that is gravel everywhere except for a cement pad. Nice dog area. If you want to stay with a few RV's and thousands of Park models, this is the place for you. We camped at Gold Canyon Resort (55+ park) in a Motorhome.

1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 62
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 11

Date of Stay: April, 2013 - $33.00
Overall Rating:

Here with an RV owners' club, thus the reasonable group rate. Fantastic, luxury park. Nice mix of park models and RV sites. Gravel sites with cement pads for chairs, table, etc. Great food was prepared and served by gracious resident hosts. Small sandwich shop in park along with gold shop. A general store for forgotten or run out of necessities might be a nice touch, but large stores are not too far away. Three close by our site, well cared for "bark" parks were appreciated by our dog, and well lit for nighttime use. Lovely large swimming pool and spa. Equally clean smaller pool and spa. Park advertised many winter activities. Still playing afternoon volleyball in the large pool. Comfortable outdoor seating area near the large pool. Grounds were well-manicured and a pleasure to explore. Huge, paved, roads throughout park. Back in spaces allowing easy maneuvering of big rigs onto sites. A bicycle or golf cart is helpful to get around as park is huge. Immaculate shower facilities. We camped at Gold Canyon Resort (55+ park) in a Motorhome.

1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: February, 2013 - $45.00
Overall Rating:

Facilities are first class. Many activities to choose from. If you are bored its because you choose to be bored. The main building and adjoining rooms and spacious and well kept. The ballroom is lovely and hosts many nights of dancing at reasonable prices ( $4 to $10 per person) and the bands are well vetted. The park is clean and cared for. Good mix of motor homes and park models. The age group is 55+ and many are aged 65-75 range. We were to stay a few days, but instead we booked for a month then added on another month because its a place to return to again and again. We camped at Gold Canyon Resort (55+ park) in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 130
States Visited: 23
Helpful Reviews: 20

Date of Stay: February, 2013 - $28.00
Overall Rating:

The rate reflects $800/month over 28 days + electric. The park is quite nice and clean. Wide paved roads, pea-stone sites with concrete pads. We did not find the other residents overly friendly compared with other large parks. Facilities work well. I would have rated it higher, except there is no free wi-fi, except in the club house, and there are no dumpsters to put your garbage into. Collection is twice/week and the birds attack the bags until they collect them, usually late in the afternoon, yet they want them out at 6 am. A very nice park, but over-priced in our opinion. For that reason alone we will not stay here again. We camped at Gold Canyon Resort (55+ park) in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 31
States Visited: 10
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: April, 2012 - $40.00
Overall Rating:

We came her for a four day stay and due to an auto accident stayed for four weeks. The rate reflects weekly rates and mix of season and off-season rates. This is a first class RV resort that is well cared for. The staff and residents are very friendly. Our experience was so postive that we plan on returning next year for an extended stay during the season. We camped at Gold Canyon Resort (55+ park) in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 6
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: March, 2012 - $48.00
Overall Rating:

We stayed here a month. We enjoyed it so much we are coming back for 3 months in 2013. We camped at Gold Canyon Resort (55+ park) in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Featured Campgrounds Near Gold Canyon Resort (55+ park)

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with Gold Canyon Resort (55+ park) ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;
;