9.2 Excellent
     
Houston, British Columbia

Shady Rest RV Park

Houston, British Columbia


3960 Drive In Road
Houston, British Columbia V0J 1Z2
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 32
Recent Rate: $$$$

Office Hours:

Seasonal Hours: May 10th - October 1st

Monday: 8:00am - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 8:00am - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 8:00am - 10:00pm
Thursday: 8:00am - 10:00pm
Friday: 8:00am - 10:00pm
Saturday: 8:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 8:00am - 10:00pm

Hours above shown for

Add Review

Latitude: 54.415177982716
Longitude: -126.63460850716

Elevation: 2059' (approximate)
Campground Overview
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • Restrooms (Plumbed) Restrooms (Plumbed) yes
  • Pit Toilets Pit Toilets no
  • Showers Showers yes
  • $0.00 Shower Fee Shower Fee 0.00
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • $0.00 Laundry Fee Laundry Fee 0.00
  • Dump Station Dump Station yes
  • $0.00 Dump Station Fee Dump Station Fee 0.00
  • Propane Available Propane Available no
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available yes
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts no
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter yes
  • RV Wash RV Wash no
  • $0.00 RV Wash Fee RV Wash Fee 0.00
  • Corral Corral no
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip no
  • Overflow Parking Overflow Parking yes
Hookups & Connectivity
  • Electric (30 AMP) Electric (30 AMP) yes
  • Electric (50 AMP) Electric (50 AMP) no
  • Water Water yes
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • Free WiFi Free WiFi yes
  • Cellular Phone Service Cellular Phone Service ?
  • Cellular Phone Providers Cellular Phone Providers
  • Cable or Satellite TV Hookup Cable or Satellite TV Hookup no
  • Phone Phone no
  • Central Modem Central Modem no
Amenities
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • 0 Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) 0
  • Pool Access Pool Access no
  • Family Friendly Family Friendly yes
  • Playground Playground no
  • Pet Area Pet Area yes
  • Waterfront Waterfront no
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse no
  • Camp Store Camp Store no
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar no
  • Business Center Business Center no
  • Group Camping Group Camping yes
  • Meeting Rooms Meeting Rooms no
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen no
  • Banquet Facilities Banquet Facilities no
  • Concierge Services Concierge Services no
Recreation
  • Walking Trail(s) Walking Trail(s) yes
  • Recreation Room Recreation Room no
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities no
  • Beach Access Beach Access no
  • Boat Ramp Boat Ramp no
  • Marina Marina no
  • Boat Rentals Boat Rentals no
  • Fishing Fishing yes
  • Golfing Golfing yes
  • Bike Path(s) Bike Path(s) no
  • Bike Rentals Bike Rentals no
  • Hiking Hiking no
  • Spa Spa ?
  • Horseshoe Pit Horseshoe Pit no
  • Volley Ball Volley Ball no
  • Sports Field Sports Field yes
  • Arcade Games Arcade Games no
  • Live Entertainment Live Entertainment no
  • Amphitheatre Amphitheatre no
  • Putt Putt Mini-Golf Putt Putt Mini-Golf no
  • Billiards Billiards no
  • Ping Pong Ping Pong no
  • Lake Lake no
  • Pond Pond no
  • River River no
  • Creek Creek no
  • Ocean Ocean no
  • Water Park Water Park no
  • Casino Casino no

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Ask a Question About Shady Rest RV Park

Review Details

Ratings overview

29 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews' member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 52
States Visited: 13
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: September, 2017 - $29.00
Overall Rating:      

This campground has recently been taken over by a wonderful couple who truly want you to have a great camping experience at their park. There are a lot of flower beds that are beautiful, nice landscaping, it's surrounded by mature trees, and the gravel roads are in good condition. Our site was quite long, wide and level. The free Wifi was alright. They had 8 washrooms (4 women & 4 men) each with a toilet, sink and shower. All were imaculate...I've never seen such nice washrooms. We were told that golf is nearby. As in other reviews, there is a train nearby but it's down in the valley and not that loud. The park is just off the main highway but is still pretty quiet. Walk to the back of the property. There are a couple of chairs back there to sit and enjoy a great view of the valley.Our Dish satellite worked fine and Verizon reception was good. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
11
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer (plenty of space) for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Shady Rest RV Park, owner at Shady Rest RV Park responded to this review

Thanks guys for staying with us for 2 days and I hope you had a good time. Thanks for giving us such a good review and I hope you had a good trip to your next destination. We hope to see you again some day, and have a good trip home.

Review Count: 3
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2017 - $25.00
Overall Rating:      

We stayed 2 nites at Shady Rest RV Park. The new owner was friendly and helpful. Our site was easily accessible with our 38ft 5the wheel. The park was clean and well maintained. The only negative is the train whistle in the early morning hours. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
10
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Pleasant Valley Resaurant was a good place for breakfast and lunch! Lots of locals! Very friendly wait staff.

The little town of Houston is not far and there lots of activities available. The Visitor's Center is well run and informative. Restaurants and fuel are nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Shady Rest RV Park, owner at Shady Rest RV Park responded to this review

Hi TJ and ME, thank you for staying at or park and giving us such a great review. I hope you had a good trip and maybe we will see you again.

Harald

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2017 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

New owners just took over and they are really great. Love the park as you can choose sunny and open or treed and private. Nice grassy area at every site and lots of space. There is an area that you can take your dog off leash which is a bonus. I felt very safe and comfortable camping here by myself and everything is exceptionally clean. I made sure to stay here again on my way back. Beautiful flowers and a nice barbecue area if you want to use. Great wifi and everything was easy and lovely. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
25
Site Surface
Gravel, Grass
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Shady Rest RV Park, owner at Shady Rest RV Park responded to this review

Hi Lea-Anne and thanks for the good review. It was nice seeing you and Jake again on your was back from Terrace. We hope you liked your stay at our park and we hope to see you next year again .Happy Camping

Cathie and Harald

Review Count: 6
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2017 - $27.00
Overall Rating:      

One of the nicest BC sites we stand in. Would of given it a 10 rating except the wi fi didn't work when we arrived. By morning it worked and was fast. Gravel sites with grass strips in between. Flowers everywhere. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Shady Rest RV Park, owner at Shady Rest RV Park responded to this review

Hi Mike thanks for staying with us and I hope you had a good trip when you left our park. And thanks for giving us a good review. I know telus is the only wifi provider where we are and they are soooo slow here. I wish we could get faster internet but that is what we have to deal with.oh and I wonder if you where here that one day that one camper hogged all the wifi with one of his electrical device. Unfortunately when this happened no one told me.. but than again if you where here when it was full it does slow down. I hope this experience does not stop you from coming back. Happy Camping

Review Count: 4
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: May, 2017 - $25.00
Overall Rating:      

Price posted is for a long pull through with W/S/30 amp in USD. Our space was not shaded, and just in front of the office/shower building......which used to be the projection house of a drive in! The WiFi was awesome, the private bathrooms were clean and bright, 4 for each gender with locking doors. The owner/hosts were great and helped with suggestions for good stops heading north on the Cassiar. Paved roads and cement pads would be nice, but this is BC, not Orlando, FLA! We will stop here for sure on our way south! We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
16
Site Surface
Gravel, Grass
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer (plenty of space) for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

Arrive early for a good site, and to enjoy a chat with the park owners! Great people, and a very nice area to walk about and enjoy the views!

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Shady Rest RV Park, owner at Shady Rest RV Park responded to this review

Hi Wayne thanks for the good Review.My wife and i took over the park on the 1st of July and we will be keeping up with the look of the park and the cleanliness as you saw on your trip for years to come. We hope to see you in the near future.

Review Count: 9
States Visited: 7
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $32.00
Overall Rating:      

We arrived mid afternoon and the park was only about 1/2 full. We were greeted with someone who acted like our long lost relative. We were treated very well, didn't get a discount but the cost to stay was lower than we expected with such a beautiful park. The sites were gravel and perfectly level. The management was very friendly and helpful. A very quiet and serene park. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
back-in
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tips for other Campers:

Wouldn't take Good Sam discount, said too expensive. However, only a handful of GS parks are this nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 30
States Visited: 7
Helpful Reviews: 7

Date of Stay: June, 2016 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

On our way to Prince Rupert and decided to stop in Houston at this park because of its goods reviews.

Well, the good reviews are bang on. From the friendly greeting at check-in to the superb layout and excellent service, we have nothing but good things to say. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
44
Site Surface
Gravel, Grass
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

The town of Houston does not have much to offer but there are mechanical/tire service facilities, car wash, a couple restaurants to provide the basics.

1 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 3
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: June, 2016 - $26.00
Overall Rating:      

Convenient for an overnight stay with restaurant, motel, post office and small store. However, most of the overnight spots are tightly packed but are long enough for most RVs and towed or tower. Good restaurant on site. Dump is convenient and well marked. Staff friendly and accommodating. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

Post office and small store adjacent to the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 156
States Visited: 41
Helpful Reviews: 42

Date of Stay: May, 2016 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

We hadn't planned to stop in Houston but a broken fan motor a bit west of town, we turned around and limped here. What a pleasant surprise. Good hook-ups, 30A. Flowers, nicely-cut grass, a long, level rock site and the most pleasant owner you could imagine. Not knowing how long we might be here, I asked if the daily fee could be changed into a weekly fee if we stayed longer. Sure, she said. I'll be here. We would stay here again - but not for the same reason.
They have back-in sites in the shade but we chose a sunny pull-thru given our engine problems.
There are several trails in town and be sure to try Brewstirs. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tips for other Campers:

Brewstirs for eating out and there are trails in town for walking. But you certainly want to have your picture taken by the world's biggest fly-fishing rod by the Visitor's Center. Quite the treat

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 134
States Visited: 46
Helpful Reviews: 20

Date of Stay: September, 2015 - $31.00
Overall Rating:      

We stayed on one of their full service level pull-through sites. The utilities worked well and the Wi-Fi was very good. We also had good Verizon cell service. No cable or over the air TV service. The campground is easy to get in and out and about 2 miles from Houston. We would stay here again. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt, Grass

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tips for other Campers:

Checkout the huge fishing rod in Houston and the nice park next to it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 100
States Visited: 37
Helpful Reviews: 20

Date of Stay: August, 2015 - $31.00
Overall Rating:      

This is a very nice park. Utilities worked well, staff was very nice, and park was quiet even thought it is a little close to the main road. Wifi worked very well. Park was clean and well maintained. A good stop and we would stay here again. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 6
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: June, 2015 - $31.00
Overall Rating:      

Stayed here on our way to Alaska. Staff were very pleasant. Bathroom and showers were very clean. This campground was the highlight of our day with the beautiful flowers and many hummingbirds visiting the flowers and feeder. Overall a very pleasant place to stay. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 17
States Visited: 6
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: May, 2015 - $32.00
Overall Rating:      

Super park, super restrooms, owners are super nice, what can I say, sorry to note they are trying to sell the place. Hope the new owners are as great. Lots of deer and some bears in the area. Wifi was excellent. We were in space 46. It's May 28 and on the way to Alaska. Mosquitoes are everywhere and were at the last two camp grounds so be prepared. Weather was cool so we parked in the open to help the wind blow some of the skeeters away,, did not help too much haha. Complete hook-ups, no cable, but able to get some local stations on the antenna. Water and electric a little far apart(no problem) just be aware when you park. I tried to go back to get the rear up and had to move up a foot. Pets will like the park lots of grass for them. Would stay here again, great overnighter. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
46
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tips for other Campers:

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 18
States Visited: 7
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: August, 2014 - $31.00
Overall Rating:      

The only thing lacking for us is TV cable hookup. I did not even look at the laundry room so I cannot comment on that. The restrooms and showers were very clean. We were in a site near the road and there was some noise from that. The place has some really beautiful flowers and landscaping and each site has a fire pit and picnic table. We were in a shaded spot. The value for the price was very good, considering just down the road it is only $5 less at a Provincial park with no hookups, showers, or flush toilets. Don't get me wrong, we frequently stay in state and provincial parks, but I think $25 is a bit high for such places. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Fifth Wheel.

2 of 2 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 10
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 7

Date of Stay: June, 2014 - $32.00
Overall Rating:      

Nice place, easy access, clean, wide sites, fire pits, sun or shade, ultra clean individual restrooms with showers. Perfect for our 1 night stay. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Motorhome.

1 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with Shady Rest RV Park ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;