7.9 Good
     
Niland, California

Fountain of Youth Spa

Niland, California


1500 Spa Rd
Niland, California 92257
Phone: (888) 800-0772

Sites: 1000
Recent Rate: $$$$

Add Review

Latitude: 33.397768881773
Longitude: -115.66251754761
Campground Overview
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • Restrooms (Plumbed) Restrooms (Plumbed) yes
  • Pit Toilets Pit Toilets no
  • Showers Showers yes
  • $0.00 Shower Fee Shower Fee 0.00
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • $0.00 Laundry Fee Laundry Fee 0.00
  • Dump Station Dump Station yes
  • $0.00 Dump Station Fee Dump Station Fee 0.00
  • Propane Available Propane Available yes
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available no
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts yes
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter yes
  • RV Wash RV Wash yes
  • $0.00 RV Wash Fee RV Wash Fee 0.00
  • Corral Corral no
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip no
  • Overflow Parking Overflow Parking yes
Hookups & Connectivity
  • Electric (30 AMP) Electric (30 AMP) yes
  • Electric (50 AMP) Electric (50 AMP) yes
  • Water Water yes
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • Free WiFi Free WiFi yes
  • Cellular Phone Service Cellular Phone Service yes
  • ATT, Verizon Cellular Phone Providers Cellular Phone Providers ATT,Verizon
  • Cable or Satellite TV Hookup Cable or Satellite TV Hookup yes
  • Phone Phone yes
  • Central Modem Central Modem yes
Amenities
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • 0 Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) 0
  • Pool Access Pool Access yes
  • Family Friendly Family Friendly yes
  • Playground Playground no
  • Pet Area Pet Area yes
  • Waterfront Waterfront no
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse yes
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar yes
  • Business Center Business Center yes
  • Group Camping Group Camping no
  • Meeting Rooms Meeting Rooms yes
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen ?
  • Banquet Facilities Banquet Facilities ?
  • Concierge Services Concierge Services yes
Recreation
  • Walking Trail(s) Walking Trail(s) yes
  • Recreation Room Recreation Room yes
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities yes
  • Beach Access Beach Access no
  • Boat Ramp Boat Ramp no
  • Marina Marina no
  • Boat Rentals Boat Rentals no
  • Fishing Fishing yes
  • Golfing Golfing yes
  • Bike Path(s) Bike Path(s) yes
  • Bike Rentals Bike Rentals no
  • Hiking Hiking yes
  • Spa Spa yes
  • Horseshoe Pit Horseshoe Pit yes
  • Volley Ball Volley Ball yes
  • Sports Field Sports Field ?
  • Arcade Games Arcade Games ?
  • Live Entertainment Live Entertainment yes
  • Amphitheatre Amphitheatre yes
  • Putt Putt Mini-Golf Putt Putt Mini-Golf no
  • Billiards Billiards yes
  • Ping Pong Ping Pong no
  • Lake Lake no
  • Pond Pond no
  • River River no
  • Creek Creek no
  • Ocean Ocean no
  • Water Park Water Park no
  • Casino Casino no

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Ask a Question About Fountain of Youth Spa

Review Details

Ratings overview

29 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews' member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 20
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: February, 2017 - $42.00
Overall Rating:      

First time there and liked it. Its remote but store is well stocked and priced reasonable. Drove by many times. We camped at Fountain of Youth Spa in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Site Number
315
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Fountain of Youth Spa RV Resort, owner at Fountain of Youth Spa responded to this review

Thank you for your review Baddad, glad you finally had a chance to stop by! Good to hear you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to seeing you next time!

Review Count: 13
States Visited: 7
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: February, 2017 - $24.00
Overall Rating:      

We spent the month of February at FOY Spa. Our only regret is that staying a full season wasn't in our travel plans. This place is a wonderful campground filled with the nicest folks. The amenities include: two heated pools (one is saline the other chlorine), four hot tubs of varying temps, private soaker tubs for mineral baths, extremely clean bathhouses, entertainment, a small cafe, gym, multiple laundry rooms (with working equipment), library, trails, a small grocery store, a wonderful produce market twice a week, and activities galore. I know I left out stuff! Wifi was pretty typical for a campground: not so good at the sites, but decent in the community building spaces. Our Verizon phone signal was good; data was functional enough. The Salton Sea is within view, but this isn't a campground that is about picturesque sites. It's all about community and activities/amenities. We visited Salvation Mountain, Palm Springs, and Joshua Tree NP. Close to the campground are geothermal mud pots, that's like small mud volcanoes if you're not so scientist like me. We loved exploring the area. We also loved the periods of time that we decided not to leave "the compound." You pretty much don't have to leave this lovely oasis. The combination of waters, community, and activities makes this place seem like the literal fountain of youth. Stay here. We camped at Fountain of Youth Spa in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Don't miss the Banana Museum just up the road. Go to the Slabs. Eat a patty melt at Ski Inn in Bombay Beach. Buy dates at the produce market in the campground.

1 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Fountain of Youth Spa RV Resort, owner at Fountain of Youth Spa responded to this review

Wow, thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review Palmer! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the FOY community and surrounding areas, we're glad to have had you as part of the mix for a month. I got a laugh out of your non-sciencey mud pots description, I'm not a scientist either, but I do know the same geothermal activity is responsible for keeping our hot springs mineral water EXTRA HOT, and they're pretty cool to look at! Anyway, thanks for being a part of our Fountain of Youth family, we look forward to having you back. In the meantime, safe travels! :)

Review Count: 19
States Visited: 7
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: February, 2017 - $40.00
Overall Rating:      

We stayed for one week for the first time and we just loved this place. My only complaint was that the site I had we could not level the motor home well enough. That said we are definitely considering a long term stay next year of a month maybe two. It is about 40 miles to the closest shopping if that is your thing but for long term stays a day trip can always be done. As mentioned by others the people have got to be the friendliest that we have experienced in any campground. We didn't get to participate because of the short stay but the activity list is pages long. There is even a visit from a farmer twice a week with a stock of fresh fruit and vegetables. Multiple pools, multiple spas, entertainment and one huge dog park. I could go on and on but we are sure we will visit again. Oh and the wifi was good but that was because we were parked right under one of the towers. We camped at Fountain of Youth Spa in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
124
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table, Patio
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Fountain of Youth Spa RV Resort, owner at Fountain of Youth Spa responded to this review

Hi Shacky, thank you for spending some time to share you experience! We're always happy to hear about first-timers making easy friends, the people really are the best part, and it sounds like you'll be part of the mix for longer in the years to come. I don't know which site you had, but we're constantly working on improving, leveling, and maintaining each site, so I'm sure we'll get you into a plum one this next time!

We look forward to having you back to join in on the fun, wishing you safe travels and lots of smiles in the meantime! :)

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: January, 2017 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

We stayed for 6 weeks at FOY. Don't stay here if you like shopping - 40 minutes at least from anywhere. However, if you don't care about shopping, this is a great place. The only real negative is the sites are extremely close together. In most areas of the park, motor homes are parked forward and trailers/fifth wheels back-in. These means you have NO privacy as your doors/awnings both open the same way. In some cases, you can't both have your awnings open as they will hit each other. We were fortunate to have great neighbors, but could be a huge problem if you had a problem with neighbors. Gave the site a '3' only because we were lucky with our neighbors. Great desert walking trails. Wifi terrible, pools/hot tubs awesome. We camped at Fountain of Youth Spa in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
M
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Quite a bit longer (plenty of space) for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Fountain of Youth Spa RV Resort, owner at Fountain of Youth Spa responded to this review

Hi LT and CT, thank you for leaving us a review! I'm glad to hear you had a great time with us, made some new friends, and enjoyed our waters! Indeed, some of our sites are a little tight, given the layout for the majority of the resort was built in the 1960's and 1970's when rigs were a little smaller. That being said, we're building more spacious sites every year. You may want to consider reserving a Patio Site for next time, for an extra $2/day, $10/week, $25/month, you'll get a wider space with a poured slab patio and picnic bench.

Two quick notes I hope you find helpful for future reference:
1. Given our location, we do not have a fiber optic cable provider, so our internet is beamed to us from a distance (and limited). We've purchased & installed top-of-the-line routers to maximize the data we do have though, which is available for free in community areas, just look for the "Free Wifi" signs!
2. There's a great grocery store in Calipatria, about 20 mins south of the resort.

Review Count: 105
States Visited: 26
Helpful Reviews: 25

Date of Stay: November, 2016 - $10.00
Overall Rating:      

The amenities and activities at this place are first rate, thought most activities are geared towards kind of an older crowd (late 70s and 80s). I really enjoyed the desert golf and disc golf areas. The pools, spas and game areas are in great shape and very inviting. There is not only a cafe and convenience store present, but twice a week, a man shows up with a truckload of produce for sale. Cell service is decent, and the wifi is typical bad rv park wifi - ok for light browsing and mail. I wasn't so crazy about the parking space. Not only were we jammed in pretty close side to side, but there are shared utility posts, making access difficult for some. In addition, there is no policy about parking orientation, so some people are pulled in frontways, while most are backed in. It's all pretty random. The person next to me pulled in frontways, so their front door and patio furniture were literally right at my doorstep, removing the tiny bit of privacy that you normally have in these parks. I did see another parking area where the sites were much wider and everyone parked correctly, so it depends on where you park. The rate we got (as a group) was fantastic, but I have to admit I looked at the regular rates, and I'm not sure I would pay that, as nice of a place as it was. The customer service was exceptional. We camped at Fountain of Youth Spa in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
388A
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my motorhome
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 6
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: November, 2016 - $15.00
Overall Rating:      

Huge park with huge sites. Lots of facilities and activities. Geared to snowbirds. Far enough from Salton Sea to avoid its odors. Far from any cities. Large dry camping section available. We camped at Fountain of Youth Spa in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Quite a bit longer (plenty of space) for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Shop and fill your fuel tank before you arrive. There's nothing available within 20 miles.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 31
States Visited: 6
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: January, 2016 - $39.00
Overall Rating:      

Excellent. Every thing a resort should be. Great pools and spas. Huge work out room. Mini store and cafe. As usual internet sucks but no worse than any where else. Great level easy to enter slots. Will definitely return. Only negative is the salton sea. We camped at Fountain of Youth Spa in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Site Surface
Gravel

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 13
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: January, 2016 - $10.00
Overall Rating:      

This is now our 5th stay and it is in my mind the best RV resort in California. Great pools and activities. We stay in the dry camp area which is very comfortable and friendly. Hope to be back this coming winter. We camped at Fountain of Youth Spa in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
801
Site Surface
Gravel

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 39
States Visited: 19
Helpful Reviews: 6

Date of Stay: November, 2015 - $22.00
Overall Rating:      

We spent the winter in this park and found it to be the most complete and cleanest park we have ever been in. The park has super clean bathhouses, 2 pool areas and 4 hot tubs, soaking tubs with mineral waters, bocce ball, tennis, paddle ball, pickle ball, horseshoes, billiards, craft rooms, card rooms, live entertainment, a massage therapist on site, beauty shop, store, cafe, weight room, library you name it and it is on site. Lot spacing was spacious with a sunny/open exposure. Site surface was gravel. We camped at Fountain of Youth Spa in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
75
Site Surface
Gravel

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tips for other Campers:

This park is remote in the desert foothills of the Chocolate Mountains, overlooking the Salton Sea. If you want to shop this isn't the place for you, but if you want a relaxed active place with hiking, desert exploring, tennis, exercise, and friendly folks this, is it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 60
States Visited: 14
Helpful Reviews: 7

Date of Stay: December, 2014 - $44.00
Overall Rating:      

This is truly what would be called a Resort. The property caters to the 55+ crowd and to snowbirds. Families and children are always welcome with only one swimming pool that is limited to adults. Park is pet friendly with a lot of wide open spaces for walking along with many different types of activities going on much of the day. There is a restaurant, small store, and a twice weekly farmers market for supplies. We found staff friendly and helpful. Would recommend this as a fall, winter, spring trip as summers here are very hot. We camped at Fountain of Youth Spa in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
318
Site Surface
Gravel

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tips for other Campers:

This park is a desert park but within traveling distance of many interesting places to explore. Major shopping is about 50-60 miles away. Car travel to places known as "The Slabs" "Salvation Mountain" Salton Sea, Yuma, and Mexico are all within two or three hours away.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 13
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: March, 2014 - $16.00
Overall Rating:      

Have stayed here three times, always in the upper dry camp. This is a great place to meet people and socialize. Very friendly, at least among the dry camping folks. The pools are fantastic. I do like being away from the cities and this does that really well. We camped at Fountain of Youth Spa in a Travel Trailer.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 5
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: February, 2014 - $39.00
Overall Rating:      

We decided to try Fountain of Youth after hearing from another RV'er that they loved the place. Plus, we were interested in the history of the Salton Sea and its demise. It is a huge park with many park models; however, these models can be somewhat old, consisting more of single and double wide mobile homes. Regarding the placement of your motor home or trailer, you may be placed anywhere between these permanent homes, and if a motor home, you are told to park in a "B" site, which is a pull-in site. That means if you are facing the east, you pull in to face a mountain of dirt and stones. The park is tiered so if you are lucky that there is room on the east side, you can pull in facing the Salton Sea and mountains. Trailers get to use the back-in or "A" sites so the opposite is true for them. Unfortunately, we had a pull in to the dirt site and it was uncomfortable but we decided to give it a try. The resort tries hard to keep everyone active. However, it seems to cater to the mid-70's and above. If you are a young and active 55-65, I suggest going elsewhere. There is only one mineral spa, the others are chlorinated as are the pools. They have an active water volleyball session twice daily but the long term residents take up the spots. A café serves average food and any restaurants that are worth going to are at least 40 miles away in Indio. There are active 4-wheelers there but down the road is a younger group at another RV resort. We were admonished twice in our 4 day stay. Once about walking on the sidewalk and once about taking our dog to the dog area (I was on my way to the dog area-. What was I supposed to do - carry him at 75 lbs. Not many pets there. Yes, people do have dogs but not many of them belong to the long term residents. In conclusion, I would say, if you like to be active, are over 65, don't need to eat out, like going to the pool daily, and can socialize with mild activity, the place is for you. We camped at Fountain of Youth Spa in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 3
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: February, 2014 - $16.00
Overall Rating:      

We loved this park! We heard it was where boondockers go for a vacation and it's so true. With our solar panels and water capacity we don't need hook-ups and prefer to camp without them so the Fountain of Youth is ideal. They have a large dry camping area that is a little cozy side-side but very friendly and quiet. We heard very few generators running and when they did it was only for a short time. The swimming pools, hot pools, and steam rooms are all great and kept very clean. The restrooms and showers are also very clean as are all of the park facilities. The list of activities is long and varied and you can be as involved as you like. We found the park pet friendly with no restrictions on where you can walk your dogs. There are many trails just outside the park gates and they also have a small, fenced dog area within the resort. We would definitely stay at this resort again. We stayed a week but would plan at least two next time, maybe a month! The only real negative is that the internet offered by Tengo is terrible. Next time we'd be sure to have an alternative organized. We camped at Fountain of Youth Spa in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 6
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: February, 2014 - $18.00
Overall Rating:      

This park caters to the senior winter visitors. Lots of activities, pools, hot tubs, massage, entertainment, store, and café on site. Very clean and well maintained. We spent 3 months here during the winter season. We'll be back. We camped at Fountain of Youth Spa in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 13
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: November, 2013 - $15.00
Overall Rating:      

Stayed in the dry camping area. Park has very nice facilities and is a very good value. We camped at Fountain of Youth Spa in a Travel Trailer.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with Fountain of Youth Spa ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.