7 Good
     
Willits, California

Golden Rule RV Park

Willits, California


16100 N Highway 101
Willits, California 95490
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 35
Recent Rate: $$$$

Add Review

Latitude: 39.310745541323
Longitude: -123.30545267836

Elevation: 1244' (approximate)
Campground Overview
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping no
  • Restrooms (Plumbed) Restrooms (Plumbed) yes
  • Pit Toilets Pit Toilets no
  • Showers Showers yes
  • $0.00 Shower Fee Shower Fee 0.00
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • $0.00 Laundry Fee Laundry Fee 0.00
  • Dump Station Dump Station no
  • $0.00 Dump Station Fee Dump Station Fee 0.00
  • Propane Available Propane Available no
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available no
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts no
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter no
  • RV Wash RV Wash no
  • $0.00 RV Wash Fee RV Wash Fee 0.00
  • Corral Corral no
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip no
  • Overflow Parking Overflow Parking yes
Hookups & Connectivity
  • Electric (30 AMP) Electric (30 AMP) yes
  • Electric (50 AMP) Electric (50 AMP) no
  • Water Water yes
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • Free WiFi Free WiFi yes
  • Cellular Phone Service Cellular Phone Service yes
  • ATT Cellular Phone Providers Cellular Phone Providers ATT
  • Cable or Satellite TV Hookup Cable or Satellite TV Hookup no
  • Phone Phone no
  • Central Modem Central Modem ?
Amenities
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • 0 Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) 0
  • Pool Access Pool Access yes
  • Family Friendly Family Friendly yes
  • Playground Playground no
  • Pet Area Pet Area no
  • Waterfront Waterfront no
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse no
  • Camp Store Camp Store no
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar no
  • Business Center Business Center no
  • Group Camping Group Camping yes
  • Meeting Rooms Meeting Rooms no
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen no
  • Banquet Facilities Banquet Facilities no
  • Concierge Services Concierge Services no
Recreation
  • Walking Trail(s) Walking Trail(s) yes
  • Recreation Room Recreation Room no
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities no
  • Beach Access Beach Access no
  • Boat Ramp Boat Ramp no
  • Marina Marina no
  • Boat Rentals Boat Rentals no
  • Fishing Fishing no
  • Golfing Golfing no
  • Bike Path(s) Bike Path(s) no
  • Bike Rentals Bike Rentals no
  • Hiking Hiking yes
  • Spa Spa no
  • Horseshoe Pit Horseshoe Pit no
  • Volley Ball Volley Ball no
  • Sports Field Sports Field no
  • Arcade Games Arcade Games no
  • Live Entertainment Live Entertainment no
  • Amphitheatre Amphitheatre no
  • Putt Putt Mini-Golf Putt Putt Mini-Golf no
  • Billiards Billiards no
  • Ping Pong Ping Pong no
  • Lake Lake no
  • Pond Pond no
  • River River no
  • Creek Creek yes
  • Ocean Ocean no
  • Water Park Water Park no
  • Casino Casino no

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Ask a Question About Golden Rule RV Park

Review Details

Ratings overview

39 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews' member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: June, 2017 - $33.00
Overall Rating:      

Off beaten track, not well maintained, narrow sites and poorly marked. No information about things to do in area, no WiFi, no Internet, no TV, picnic table unusable. Would not stay here again! We camped at Golden Rule RV Park in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Power Hookups
30 Amp

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Interior Roads
Poor Conditions
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Golden Rule RV Park, manager at Golden Rule RV Park responded to this review

So sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
We are not for everyone but we are just perfect for some.
May I suggest KOA in Willits for future stays in our area?
They have all the modern amenities one could ever need.
Safe Travels,
Golden Rule RV

Review Count: 34
States Visited: 13
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: May, 2017 - $33.00
Overall Rating:      

Well, the pool is nice but I don't think it is heated and didn't find out. We found 2 spaces that would let us get satellite for the TV as they don't offer any.....only at the office. Very small park, 7-9 of the spaces were filled with permanents. We stayed 2 days as we were waiting for a new towbar to come in in nearby Ukiah. 35 spaces, only 7 are pull throughs. Only 29, 19 and 29 can get clear view of southern skies for Directv. Only 30 amp service. AT&T worked fine. We saw a few wild Turkey but no other animals as we were watching and wanted to see them. No Coyote howling either. We camped at Golden Rule RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
29
Site Surface
Gravel, Grass
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Not big enough for my motorhome
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open, Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Golden Rule RV Park, manager at Golden Rule RV Park responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our park.
So sorry the coyotes and other critters weren't cooperating during your stay.
Safe Travels,
Golden Rule RV

Review Count: 50
States Visited: 3
Helpful Reviews: 10

Date of Stay: February, 2017 - $33.00
Overall Rating:      

We stayed here one night in February when we took the coastal route back to Oregon. We'd stay here again over the KOA just for the scenery. It is right off US-101 then you drive down a 1-mile winding road into a small valley. Once you reach the office, you still have to drive down just a little farther. The people at the office were exceptionally friendly. The hookups and restroom/showers were old but functional. There is one common drying area for two showers. Water was hot. The loop is paved. The sites are gravel with grass growing through. Right next to the campground was a fenced pasture where cattle were grazing. We saw wild turkeys, rabbits, and deer making for a pleasant overnight stay. We camped at Golden Rule RV Park in a Motorhome.

Site Details

Site Number
29
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Interior Roads
Tight Turns
Tips for other Campers:

On a summer trip it might be worth checking into a tour of the Seabiscuit Ranch.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Golden Rule RV Park, manager at Golden Rule RV Park responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review, and we hope to have you back.
Safe Travels,
Golden Rule RV

Review Count: 99
States Visited: 27
Helpful Reviews: 13

Date of Stay: September, 2016 - $32.00
Overall Rating:      

This was our 2nd visit here. Our 1st was in Dec of 2013...in the snow! We were there pretty much all by ourselves, and just overnight. This time, however, was much different! What a difference, the place as full this time (and no snow on the ground). Sure made a difference. Sites are very tight. It was cute that the wild turkeys came out to say hello tho! ;-) The only reason to stay here is really to take the Skunk Train, which was fun. The only other Campground is at the KOA, which is over twice the rate (and checking it out...not worth the double rate). Poor WiFi/cell because you are in a hole, but good TV reception. We camped at Golden Rule RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Site Number
26
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my motorhome
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

The Skunk Train is just about the only thing to do while in Willits, and it's a fun way to spend the day!

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Golden Rule RV Park, manager at Golden Rule RV Park responded to this review

Thank you for your stay with us,
Hope you come again!
Very Best,
Golden Rule RV

Review Count: 4
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: September, 2016 - $32.00
Overall Rating:      

Self check-in was OK. No one here at 2:15pm on Tuesday. Grounds were less than average. Back-in spots were not clearly defined. Sewer in awkward place and required, for our trailer, more than 20' of sewer hose. Road is steep but manageable. Overall: Just an average park with a touch of disarray. We camped at Golden Rule RV Park in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
4
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my travel trailer
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

Signage could be updated...... Some were hard to read ( weathered)

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Golden Rule RV Park, manager at Golden Rule RV Park responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we will take your concerns into our consideration.
We appreciate your business and hope that you will come again!
Very Best,
Golden Rule RV

Review Count: 14
States Visited: 8
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: August, 2016 - $38.00
Overall Rating:      

Self Check-In worked without any issues. The offices closes at 4pm, which is a little early in my mind.
The Site was shady and quite, although it looks like the RV Park is next to the US-101.
Wi-Fi was available near the office which was a little up the hill. The connection was ok.
The Pool was small but nice, we didn't use the bathrooms or showers.
Overall a nice campground for staying the night. We camped at Golden Rule RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers

Site Details

Site Number
12
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Golden Rule RV Park, manager at Golden Rule RV Park responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your stay with us.
Very Best,
Golden Rule Rv

Review Count: 7
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $32.00
Overall Rating:      

Simple overnight stay. Arrived late, allocated spot already taken. Recommend better management of spaces. Never saw anyone in charge. Pool and restrooms close by. Nice layout and location. A bit off the beaten track and a bit hard to find. No WiFi. Good value for money. We camped at Golden Rule RV Park in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
33
Site Surface
Concrete
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Golden Rule RV Park, manager at Golden Rule RV Park responded to this review

It is a bit off of the beaten path agreed, but a lovely road to drive.
Wildlife is abundant!
Thank you for taking time for your review.
Very Best,
Golden Rule RV

Review Count: 7
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: May, 2016 - $32.00
Overall Rating:      

One mile down a steep, winding, paved road off highway. Campground is in a beautiful setting, next to a mobile home community. Old park, but fairly well maintained, lots of shade, tightly grouped gravel/grass lots. The MAJOR FLAW in the park is the old, weak, 30 amp electricity. We hooked up to site 24 and discovered we couldn't run any two items at once. While drawing less than 25 amps, our voltage crashed to under 100 volts and set off an alarm in our RV. That low level of voltage will destroy electronics. Park office said they thought site 24 problem had been fixed and told us to connect to site 23 box which was fine. When I plugged in to 23, I got an alarm showing the box had reverse polarity, also dangerous. At that point we decided to cut short our planned 3 day stay and left. It's a shame such a beautiful park setting has a serious, potentially catastrophic and costly problem for rvers. We camped at Golden Rule RV Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
24
Site Surface
Gravel, Grass
Campsite Features
Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Golden Rule RV Park, manager at Golden Rule RV Park responded to this review

We apologize for your electric problems and feel that we have addressed the issue.
Please visit us again and thank you for taking the time to review here.
Very Best,
Golden Rule RV

Review Count: 256
States Visited: 41
Helpful Reviews: 21

Date of Stay: May, 2016 - $40.00
Overall Rating:      

This pretty park is truly a gem. It is next to the ranch where the racehorse, Seabiscuit, lived out his retirement. The property is lush and beautiful, with lots of grass and trees. There are wild turkeys, deer, rabbits and squirrels. The only downside is there is no tv or WiFi reception and in fact, cell phone reception is poor too, because it is located at the bottom of a canyon. But if you prefer peace and quiet, it is great. The other RV in town has more amenities, but they charge extra for everything. This park is a much better bargain unless you have lots of kiddies that need entertaining. We camped at Golden Rule RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
14
Site Surface
Grass
Campsite Features
Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tips for other Campers:

WalMart in Ukiah, about 30 mi south, but not a Super store.
Safeway in both Ukiah and Willits. Willits is just 15 min north.
Lots of shopping and restaurants in downtown Ukiah... very cute.
The Branding Iron is nearby and excellent for steaks and seafood.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Golden Rule RV Park, manager at Golden Rule RV Park responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, and we couldn't agree more!
It truly is a gem.
Hope to see you again.
Very Best,
Golden Rule RV

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: October, 2015 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

Here are the pros and cons

Pros:

Quiet- good electric-scenic

Cons:

Poor signage for exiting off 20

Sewer difficult to use

No cell service in campground

No cable

No wifi

No Fire ring. We camped at Golden Rule RV Park in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
31
Site Surface
Dirt

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 154
States Visited: 36
Helpful Reviews: 78

Date of Stay: May, 2015 - $32.00
Overall Rating:      

Golden Rule is located right off Rt 101 but the road to the RV Park is twisty and a bit narrow. The hostess was very friendly and helpful with various sites in the area. Looks like most of the back-in sites are taken by permanent residents. The pull-throughs are long enough but are a bit narrow so the camping side is a little tight. There are a fair number of trees so getting the slides out can be a little tricky. No wifi, our ATT worked here but no Verizon at all. The campground is a bit small but there is a private road that is great for walking dogs. The resort is about 15 minutes from downtown Willets and about 1 hour from Fort Bragg. There is a bit of traffic noise from 101 but it's not intrusive. The resort felt very quiet and comfortable. The permanent residence kept their areas very tidy and it felt like a nice neighborhood. We would stay here again if we were in the area. We camped at Golden Rule RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 65
States Visited: 27
Helpful Reviews: 15

Date of Stay: May, 2015 - $32.00
Overall Rating:      

Sweet park in a valley off 101. One mile down a road to find the park. Office lady was very nice. Site was nice, long and level for us. 30 amp only, and cash/check only. Turkeys and deer and rabbits come visit nightly and in the morning. We'd stay here again. We camped at Golden Rule RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
35
Site Surface
Gravel

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tips for other Campers:

Call for directions, otherwise you'll have trouble finding the turnoff. Also, nearby is the ranch where Seabiscuit was trained.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 254
States Visited: 28
Helpful Reviews: 34

Date of Stay: January, 2015 - $32.00
Overall Rating:      

It is about 3 miles downhill from the highway turnoff, but still relatively close to the highway. There is some road noise but earplugs where not needed. When you check in for only a night or two you will probably be assigned one of the pull-thru sites right beside the pool. Take the short walk to the lower level where the sites are and have a look first. Right beside the pool there is some sort of power transformer which is buzzing permanently. We rather choose a back-in site at the very end which provided good privacy. Sites are gravel with some grass in between and a few trees. Hookups were ok. Wifi is available in the laundry room only. Our Verizon MiFi didn't work here. Very friendly staff. For supermarkets and/or gas stations you have to drive five miles back to Willits. If you want to see the Seabiscuit Statue, you have to walk or drive to the adjacent farm about a mile away. We'll stay here again when travelling on 101. We camped at Golden Rule RV Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 35
States Visited: 12
Helpful Reviews: 9

Date of Stay: July, 2014 - $32.00
Overall Rating:      

We stopped for one night on our trip north. This park is about a mile off Hwy 101 down a fairly steep incline. The lady who checked us in was very friendly. The RV section is located on a lower level than the mobile home village. There are nice trees in the pull thru sites. Electric is only 30A but the daytime high was only 80, so that was no problem as we didn't use the a/c. There is a pool and restrooms by the RV section, and a laundry located by the front office. There is no cable or WiFi, but my AT&T hotspot worked fine here. Our rate includes a Good Sam discount. We would stay here again. We camped at Golden Rule RV Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 184
States Visited: 33
Helpful Reviews: 24

Date of Stay: June, 2014 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

We had a large pull-through, the park is quiet and well maintained for an older park. The laundry room was very clean. The park is part of Ridgewood Ranch the home of Seabiscuit; we had a great tour there. The park is about 1 mile down a wide road that is fairly steep, but it is not a problem. It has only 30 amp service and the sewer is not well located, other than that it is a nice small park. We will return. We camped at Golden Rule RV Park in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with Golden Rule RV Park ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;