6.8 Good
     
South Fork, Colorado

Riverbend Resort

South Fork, Colorado


33846 US HWY 160
South Fork, Colorado 81154
Phone: Click to view

Sites: RV 48, Cab
Recent Rate: $$$$

Office Hours:

Monday: 8:00am - 8:00pm
Tuesday: 8:00am - 8:00pm
Wednesday: 8:00am - 8:00pm
Thursday: 8:00am - 8:00pm
Friday: 8:00am - 8:00pm
Saturday: 8:00am - 8:00pm
Sunday: 8:00am - 8:00pm

Hours above shown for Mountain Time Zone

Add Review

Latitude: 37.631277892287
Longitude: -106.67634487152

Elevation: 8378' (approximate)
Campground Overview
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • Restrooms (Plumbed) Restrooms (Plumbed) yes
  • Pit Toilets Pit Toilets ?
  • Showers Showers yes
  • $0.00 Shower Fee Shower Fee 0.00
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • $0.00 Laundry Fee Laundry Fee 0.00
  • Dump Station Dump Station ?
  • $0.00 Dump Station Fee Dump Station Fee 0.00
  • Propane Available Propane Available ?
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available yes
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts yes
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter ?
  • RV Wash RV Wash ?
  • $0.00 RV Wash Fee RV Wash Fee 0.00
  • Corral Corral ?
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip ?
  • Overflow Parking Overflow Parking ?
Hookups & Connectivity
  • Electric (30 AMP) Electric (30 AMP) yes
  • Electric (50 AMP) Electric (50 AMP) yes
  • Water Water yes
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • Free WiFi Free WiFi yes
  • Cellular Phone Service Cellular Phone Service yes
  • ATT, Verizon Cellular Phone Providers Cellular Phone Providers ATT,Verizon
  • Cable or Satellite TV Hookup Cable or Satellite TV Hookup yes
  • Phone Phone yes
  • Central Modem Central Modem no
Amenities
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • 0 Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) 0
  • Pool Access Pool Access no
  • Family Friendly Family Friendly yes
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Pet Area Pet Area ?
  • yes-river Waterfront Waterfront yes-river
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse yes
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar no
  • Business Center Business Center ?
  • Group Camping Group Camping yes
  • Meeting Rooms Meeting Rooms yes
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen yes
  • Banquet Facilities Banquet Facilities ?
  • Concierge Services Concierge Services ?
Recreation
  • Walking Trail(s) Walking Trail(s) yes
  • Recreation Room Recreation Room yes
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities ?
  • Beach Access Beach Access ?
  • Boat Ramp Boat Ramp ?
  • Marina Marina ?
  • Boat Rentals Boat Rentals ?
  • Fishing Fishing ?
  • Golfing Golfing ?
  • Bike Path(s) Bike Path(s) ?
  • Bike Rentals Bike Rentals ?
  • Hiking Hiking ?
  • Spa Spa ?
  • Horseshoe Pit Horseshoe Pit ?
  • Volley Ball Volley Ball ?
  • Sports Field Sports Field ?
  • Arcade Games Arcade Games ?
  • Live Entertainment Live Entertainment ?
  • Amphitheatre Amphitheatre ?
  • Putt Putt Mini-Golf Putt Putt Mini-Golf ?
  • Billiards Billiards ?
  • Ping Pong Ping Pong ?
  • Lake Lake ?
  • Pond Pond ?
  • River River yes
  • Creek Creek ?
  • Ocean Ocean ?
  • Water Park Water Park ?
  • Casino Casino ?

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Ask a Question About Riverbend Resort

Review Details

Ratings overview

16 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews' member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2017 - $34.00
Overall Rating:      

This was the worst RV park ever. Site 35 was a pull through but it was so short that we had to disconnect our truck and no where to park it. The site next to us was empty so management told us to park the truck there. I spent several hours trying to get the TV to work only to find out that the park had to do some work on that site to get it work. We had an issue with the sewer hose and had to get management out to the site. We were to stay a week but when the office told my husband that we had to check in and out with them (we were riding a motorcycle) because they may want to rent the site where the truck was parked. My husband was very upset because the site was so small the RV in that site would have their sewer hose crossing over to our picnic table where we had been eating. Plus the office told my husband they didn't know where we were going to park the truck. We decided to leave and we will never go back. Management was rude and didn't seem to care about the issue. We camped at Riverbend Resort in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
35
Site Surface
Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Not big enough for my travel trailer
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Interior Roads
Tight Turns, Scraping Branches, Poor Conditions
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Not Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Riverbend Resort, owner at Riverbend Resort responded to this review

The only reason to respond is to set the record straight on this review. This site is one of our smaller sites (47x22) and was all that was available when you called hours before your arrival. Yes, he was told he could park in the adjacent RV spot since it was not occupied unless it was to be rented. We had gotten full (July) and were "possibly" in need of the site since that was the only site left. We tried to contact him and left a message notifying him of the situation. He came up to the office totally belligerent since we were wanting to rent the vacant RV spot if needed and when I (the owner) went to site to speak with him it was "f"-this and "f"- that. That is when I decided there was nothing that could be said to calm this situation that had escalated far out of proportion.

Review Count: 3
States Visited: 3
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2016 - $38.00
Overall Rating:      

Power surges daily. Poor WiFi. Restrooms worn out condition but clean. Noisy right on highway. Aggressive breed dogs allowed (pit bulls and Doberman in park). Your neighbors fire ring's right next to your RV; burn all night and talk loudly. Mud puddles to jump over when walking.

Owners & staff friendly. Flowers in park a nice touch. River is beautiful. We camped at Riverbend Resort in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
47
Site Surface
Dirt
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Bring a fire extinguisher

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 7
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: June, 2016 - $34.00
Overall Rating:      

We stayed for a month, and found both the owners and camp hosts to be both friendly and helpful. The owners know the area and can point you the best hiking, fishing, ATV trails...whatever your interest is. Sites are level (not paved) and having just bought the park a couple of years ago, the owners are continuing to improve on the facility. They actually have a portion of the South Fork running behind the camp so you can fish without ever leaving home! We camped at Riverbend Resort in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
28
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table, Patio
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

There are so many beautiful places around South Fork! We explored many of the nearby park roads and hiked multiple trails. A day trip to Lake City to drive up Engineer Pass was a motoring adventure not for the faint-hearted; we even got to watch a moose feeding in a roadside pond. Another day trip was the headwaters of the Rio Grande; beautiful scenery and reservoirs. I feel we were fortunate to have a month in this area.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Riverbend Resort, owner at Riverbend Resort responded to this review

Sorry to just get to this but thanks Frankie and hope y'all come back soon!

Review Count: 9
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: September, 2015 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

This is a small park right on the river. It is a nice place to stay. The staff is very good and informative. The tent sites are right on the river while the rv sites are on a hill above. The wifi is basically non existent and even at the office is worse than a snail crossing the road. We will most likely stay here again. We camped at Riverbend Resort in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tips for other Campers:

It is a nice enough place to stay for awhile, if seeing the Pagosa Springs and Creede area.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 121
States Visited: 29
Helpful Reviews: 11

Date of Stay: August, 2012 - $26.00
Overall Rating:      

We stayed for a week at this park and enjoyed the area. The river is within walking distance and stocked for fishing. Wi-Fi is extremely unreliable, but cell phone service was good with Verizon. Camp hosts were rather unfriendly with the exception of one. Owners very pleasant. We would probably stay here again if going through Colorado. We camped at Riverbend Resort in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: August, 2012 - $28.00
Overall Rating:      

We stayed here a couple of weeks last year and stayed here a month this year (2012)and will probably stay here again in the future. This is an older park established in the 1950's I think, and was in a Chevy Chase movie "Vacation" made in the 1980's. Facilities are older but kept clean and usable. The WiFi does not reach all the campsites but an air card (Verizon)takes care of our needs just fine. A river on the south side of the campground has a good brown and rainbow trout population. They stocked it every two weeks while we were there with rainbow trout. Watched them stock in about five different locations (holes ?)in the stretch of river below the campsites. Most of the hosts were very friendly and helpful. Laundry facilities were acceptable, showers and restroom facilities were older but clean and working. We would return to this campground as it is a good central location to this part of Colorado. We camped at Riverbend Resort in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 149
States Visited: 38
Helpful Reviews: 6

Date of Stay: July, 2012 - $34.00
Overall Rating:      

This is an older park that caters to the fisherman. There is a river downhill from the park where they stock one hole with trout. The sites are quite narrow and nearly all of them are back in sites. Our neighbor had his awning staked down and the stakes and ties were into our site. There is a loop road on the west side of that park where I could not make the turn with my 38' motorhome. Luckily, I had unhooked my toad beforehand so I was able to back up and make the turn. I had made a reservation for about a week and then had mechanical problems so I called and changed the reservation to fewer days. They had charged my VISA with one night's stay and then sent me an e-mail showing the corrected reservation days and that I owed just over $2 more to complete our payment upon arrival. When we got there they charges us about $23 more. I quizzed them about the discrepancy and showed them a copy of the e-mail and they said there was a computer error and an employee error and would not honor the quote. Because they wouldn't budge on the difference and wanted to keep the money, they lost a possible repeat customer. I will not be back to this park. There are lots of other choices in the area. We camped at Riverbend Resort in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 16
States Visited: 7
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: September, 2011 - $42.00
Overall Rating:      

The staff is some of the nicest, most helpful we had ever experienced. We couldn't ask for better. The park, overall, very nice, but sites could use a little dressing to match other parts of the park. There are great grounds, open areas to access nature and river that flows by below for possible fishing. There is skiing close by. The nearby town of South Fork doesn't have much to offer, but is a good central location to access lots of other areas in southern Colorado. We stayed a week and would definitely stay again. We camped at Riverbend Resort in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo
dok

Review Count: 19
States Visited: 6
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: August, 2011 - $20.00
Overall Rating:      

Very friendly folks. Campground right on Rio Grand River that is stocked by the park. Excellent fishing. Large meadow for dog walking or exercise. Plenty of group activities organized by full time activities director. Most of the campers here have been here before and keep returning. We will definitely be back. We camped at Riverbend Resort in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 14
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: October, 2010 - $29.00
Overall Rating:      

Nice campground on a river. Has clean private showers. Will stay here again. We camped at Riverbend Resort in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 52
States Visited: 8
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: September, 2009 - $28.00
Overall Rating:      

Sites are closer together than I prefer, but area was still quiet at night. Upper sites are very close to US 160, but lower sites were shielded from a lot of traffic noise. Had good WiFi when we arrived but experienced some problems later on in our stay. Manager is very pleasant. It is a short walk to Rio Grande and fishing. Park says they plant the river, but a Colorado license is required. There is a table at each site but only a community fire ring. Only very basic supplies are available in South Fork. We would stay here again. We camped at Riverbend Resort in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo
jmd

Review Count: 8
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: June, 2009 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

We stayed a week. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Easy walk to the river. We would stay again. We camped at Riverbend Resort in a Travel Trailer.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 28
States Visited: 11
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: June, 2009 - $28.00
Overall Rating:      

This is a very friendly campground. It is convenient to fishing the South Fork of the Rio Grande (just a very short walk). The campground has a very nice private stretch of river. The sites are very close together. And the cable consists of just a few stations. The sites away from Hwy.160 are better as the road noise is slightly diminished. It is quieter at night. We traveled with our dogs and there is a nice meadow to walk them in. We camped at Riverbend Resort in a Travel Trailer.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 52
States Visited: 8
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: October, 2008 - $25.00
Overall Rating:      

A very nice location along the South Fork of the Rio Grande. You can’t see the river from a number of the sites but it is an easy walk. Sites are close to level. Small grass areas by most sites and fairly exposed location without much shade. Wi-Fi is a secured type. The office staff very friendly. It is close to the highway but it is quiet at night. The sites are closer together than I prefer, but we would stay here again. We camped at Riverbend Resort in a Travel Trailer.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo
dok

Review Count: 19
States Visited: 6
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: August, 2008 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

This park is located right on the Rio Grande River. Excellent evening activities and very friendly folks. Some of the sites are very close together and reservations need to be made several months in advance. Clean and very well maintained. We camped at Riverbend Resort in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with Riverbend Resort ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;