7.5 Good
http://www.rvparkreviews.com/regions/georgia

Lookout Mountain / Chattanooga West KOA

Trenton, Georgia


930 Mountain Shadows Drive
Trenton, Georgia 30752
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 103
Recent Rate: $$$$

Add Review

Latitude: 34.91854
Longitude: -85.49033

Elevation: 1041' (approx.)
Park Features
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • 55+ 55+ no
  • Kid Friendly Kid Friendly yes
  • Boondocking Boondocking no
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts yes
  • Dump Station Dump Station ?
  • Group Camping Group Camping yes
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot ?
Hookups
  • Full Hookup Full Hookup yes
  • Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP)
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • Phone Phone no
  • Water Water yes
  • Cable/Sat. TV Hookup Cable/Sat. TV Hookup yes
Connectivity
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • ATT Cellular Provider ATT
  • Verizon Cellular Provider Verizon
  • Sprint Cellular Provider Sprint
  • T-Mobile Cellular Provider T-Mobile
Amenities
  • Restrooms Restrooms yes
  • Showers Showers yes
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Pet Area Pet Area yes
  • Propane Available Propane Available yes
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar no
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse no
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available yes
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen no
  • Horse Camp Horse Camp no
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip no
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter yes
  • Restrooms: vault Restrooms: vault ?
Recreation
  • Pool Access Pool Access yes
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Recreational Trails Recreational Trails yes
  • Rec Room Rec Room yes
  • Casino Casino no
  • Fishing Fishing no
  • Beach Beach no
  • Biking Biking no
  • Boating Boating no
  • Golf Golf no
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities no
  • Horseshoes Horseshoes ?
  • Mini-Golf Mini-Golf no
  • Outdoor Courts Outdoor Courts ?
  • Pickleball Pickleball ?
  • Water Access Water Access no

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Ask fellow campers about "Lookout Mountain / Chattanooga West KOA" and nearby attractions.

Review Details

Ratings overview

74 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews' member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 4
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2018 - $54.00
Overall Rating:

Very accommodating staff. Easy access to Chattanooga attractions. Kids activities get approval from our grandkids. ( pool, bouncing & playground). Best dog play area I have found. Sites offer lots of shade from the hot southern sun. Most sites have adequate privacy & size. The only negatives are the bright pole lighting at night & the hilly gravel roads. We camped at Lookout Mountain / Chattanooga West KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Site Number
57
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2018 - $48.00
Overall Rating:

Bathrooms are dated/need updating. Drive up to park was all uphill, twisty road. Spot 30 was a little tight and not too level. Pool was good but lots of kids (they we good, just lots of them.) Roads/sites in park are gravel, and a little tight. Park clean and grass mowed. My meter showed 114 volts, ran our AC's just fine. If you are just passing through, not the best of choices. If you want a relaxing spot off the beaten path, then probably OK. More of the $35/night park. We camped at Lookout Mountain / Chattanooga West KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
30
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my 5th wheel (had to disconnect)
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo
myo

Review Count: 29
States Visited: 14
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: May, 2018 - $52.00
Overall Rating:

The park was crowded, spaces were tight, they did not enforce quiet hours. We camped at Lookout Mountain / Chattanooga West KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
21
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 19
States Visited: 11
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: April, 2018 - $55.00
Overall Rating:

The sites were gravel and not level. The price we paid is too much for this KOA. We camped at Lookout Mountain / Chattanooga West KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
58
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my motorhome
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Interior Roads
Tight Turns
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

Way off the Interstate highway... winding road to get to the park... would not stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Featured Campgrounds Near Lookout Mountain / Chattanooga West KOA

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: December, 2017 - $72.00
Overall Rating:

This place was OK. We are new RV owners but have been to a few campgrounds before this one. First, it was a little far from Ruby Falls and Rock City. It took probably 20 or so minutes to get to the campground. Uber was going to be like $40.00 to take us to the attractions. I was thinking with the name Lookout Mountain that it was right on the side of these attractions, but it is not. The lady who booked us who was the owner was nice enough. I had explained that I didn't know what time we would arrive and may need a late check out. Since we had to drive ourselves to Rock City we ended up arriving well after 10 PM. Well, the next day, a rather stern woman called basically insisting we pay the late checkout fee. And, indignant we hadn't left yet. Ok, no problem we were late. But, seriously there was no one at this place. They were closing the next day or so for their off season. We hadn't even arrived till well after 10 PM. The rate was really high considering this was off season. Nothing onsite was running. No kids' jumpies, game room, or other activities, etc. Otherwise, everything was pretty nice and clean. I just think the attitude could use some adjusting. We did not experience this at other campgrounds. I'm not sure we would be back. I think the lady later apologized to my husband when he went to pay it, but it left a really bad impression for me. We camped at Lookout Mountain / Chattanooga West KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Type
Pull through
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
No Others In Sight, Spacious
Tips for other Campers:

You'd better have toad as this campground is not located close to Ruby Falls or Rock City, etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 11
States Visited: 9
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: October, 2017 - $40.00
Overall Rating:

We stayed at this park several times in 2017 as we built a new home near Jasper, Tennessee, about 20 miles away. We stayed 5-7days each time. People were very friendly and helpful with information on things in the area. Sites were generally easy to navigate given our 40 foot motorhome. Utilities were easy to access. The park is about halfway between our home and our builders office in Chattanooga so it was very convenient for us. Like many KOAs, somewhat near an interstate but I59 is not a really heavy travelled highway like some, so not too noisy. We would stay again if in the area and wanted to use our coach. We camped at Lookout Mountain / Chattanooga West KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
Various
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 18
States Visited: 7
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: October, 2017 - $50.00
Overall Rating:

Friendly and helpful staff. Campground was clean and everything appeared to be in good shape and well maintained with plenty of facilities and activities for kids. Campground is on a hillside so the layout can be a little confusing. Some sites appear to be very close to others, while others were well spaced. The hookups were well placed on our site (70) and in good operating condition. We did have a bright dusk to dawn light near our site, but we actually liked it as it made outdoor activities easier after dark, but could be a problem if you don't have dark window shades. We camped at Lookout Mountain / Chattanooga West KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
70
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 18
States Visited: 10
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: October, 2017 - $48.00
Overall Rating:

Park had very spacious sites. You weren't packed in and right on top of your neighbor. Sites were level. We had a back in site that was easy to back in to. We had a good sized deck which was nice to put our chairs on. It was very quiet and relaxing. Staff was friendly, laundry facilities were good-including an iron and full sized ironing board. The playground was in back of us. It was always busy but not annoying. Kids were just having fun. We would stay here again when we are in the area. We camped at Lookout Mountain / Chattanooga West KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
56
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Quite a bit longer (plenty of space) for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Patio
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Recommend going to Ruby Falls, Rock City and ride the IIncline Raroad. The Corner Cafe at Park Pointe had excellent hamburgers.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 9
States Visited: 3
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: September, 2017 - $45.00
Overall Rating:

Staff was very friendly and able to accommodate all of our requests. Site #12 was tight with several trees on both sides of the gravel site. Our we navigated around the tress our slideout was 6-8" from touching the tree that was next to the power pedestal. Limited basic cable, AT&T signal was good, we streamed Netflix and several football games in SD. Very friendly and helpful campers around us. Pool and jumping pad were still open. K9 park and small store on site as well as laundry. Bring plenty of leveling blocks because most site will require the use of them. We had to use 4wd to pull over concrete section of roadway leading to the exit. Train can be loud at night. We would stay here again. We camped at Lookout Mountain / Chattanooga West KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
12
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my travel trailer
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

The I59/I24 interchange is a mess, often with traffic stopped for miles going into Chattanooga, look for an alternate route into Chattanooga and enjoy the scenery. Trenton is a short drive for fuel and groceries.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 16
States Visited: 8
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: July, 2017 - $51.00
Overall Rating:

Location is good. In close proximity to historic civil war battlefields as well as downtown Chattanooga. However, we paid extra for a pull through site. The site was in fact "pull through" but all the services were at the rear of the site. The area at the rear of the site was level in an area just large enough for our trailer, but our tow vehicle had to park on a curved incline. This made it difficult to hitch and unhitch.

Cable did not work at the site. (It worked fine at the campground we just left, and works fine at the one we just arrived at, so we know it was the site not our equipment.) We camped at Lookout Mountain / Chattanooga West KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
83
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt, Grass
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my travel trailer
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade, Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 3
States Visited: 3
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: July, 2017 - $55.00
Overall Rating:

Roads into and out of the campgrounds were easy to navigate. We came in the back way and left through the main roads and both paths were not a problem with our 29 foot TT. The roads in the campground were rocked, which made the hills a bit tricky and prevented our young kids from riding bikes. We had a good site that was fairly close to the pool, bath house, and game room. The site was wide enough that we didn't feel too cramped, but there wasn't much room for anything other than the trailer, picnic table, fire ring and hookups. I did see a couple sites that were even tighter, making it difficult for some people to back into. A tree close to the road caused particular problems for one TT. The pull-through site I saw looked nice, but was also the cut-through for the bath house, pool, etc. The pool was a nice size. Even when it filled up, it didn't feel too small. The game room had a pool table and air hockey. Though it had video games, they were all quite dated and underwhelming. Overall, the campground is lush and shaded with tall trees and a fun pool. We enjoyed it more than expected and stayed an additional night. We camped at Lookout Mountain / Chattanooga West KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
22
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my travel trailer
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Covered Forested
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Not Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Rock City is fabulous and worth leaving the campsite to see.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 5
States Visited: 3
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: April, 2017 - $45.00
Overall Rating:

This is a great little KOA outside of Chattanooga that is convenient to Lookout Mountain and all of the cool things there (Ruby Falls, Rock City, etc.) The landscaping is really nicely done and the park itself is quiet and beautiful. There is a hiking trail around the park (probably about a mile in total), an arcade, pool, outdoor games, and a big playground with a bounce pillow. Roads were gravel but easily accommodated our 40 foot RV. There are also some really neat little cabins for rent. Each site seemed to have a picnic table and fire ring. Some of the sites have been taken to the next level with very cool rock sitting areas and one even had a neat fence that surrounded an outdoor dining table with chairs. I'm not sure if these are special sites (there were only 2-3 of them) but they were really cool. Our site (20) didn't have a great outside area - it was sloped and there was a huge stump there but I assume its something they are working on clearing out. Staff was totally excellent and the young gentleman who checked us in on Sunday had some great recommendations on things to do around the area. The camp store was outstanding and very well stocked. Definitely one of the best KOA's that we've ever stayed in. We camped at Lookout Mountain / Chattanooga West KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
20
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my motorhome
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

There is an old style drive-in movie theater less than a mile away. If you like minor league baseball the Chattanooga Lookouts are a fun team to watch downtown. Rock City and Ruby Falls are spectacular. We did a lantern tour of Ruby falls late at night which was fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Lookout Mountain / Chattanooga West KOA responded to this review

Wow, we're honored by such a wonderful review! We are thrilled you enjoyed our convenient location, hiking trail, the camp store, and some of our other amenities. Our local area is so much fun and we're happy you were able to take advantage of some of the fun attractions. Thank you for camping with us, and we hope to see you again sometime soon.

Review Count: 156
States Visited: 34
Helpful Reviews: 43

Date of Stay: March, 2017 - $38.00
Overall Rating:

We found ourselves in Sunday afternoon traffic on the interstate and also needed propane so we decided to bail to this campground to get off the road and to re-supply. What a pleasant surprise. The campground is clean and well run. It is on the side of a hill, so the roads slope, though our campsite and the others we saw were pretty level. There is a nice double dog run so you have an option to be with other dogs or not. The utilities were convenient and worked well. We camped at Lookout Mountain / Chattanooga West KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
15
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: March, 2017 - $50.00
Overall Rating:

Staff-Helpful Location-Close to Chattanooga & attractions. Wooded Trail-Could use some clearing and more defined paths. Jump Pillow-Fun for kids but extremely dirty. Kids were filthy after playing on it. WiFi-hit&miss Playground-Could use an updated playset. Site#52-Unlevel but longer site compared to others. Sunny spot. Just know that this site is a cut through for kids to playground even though the entrance is on down and there is a make shift fence. Dog Park-Great area with two separate dog areas. Water dish didn't work. We camped at Lookout Mountain / Chattanooga West KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
52
Site Surface
Gravel, Grass
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my 5th wheel (had to disconnect)
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Lookout Mountain / Chattanooga West KOA responded to this review

Thank you for camping with us, 'KEKA', and for taking the time to leave a review! We are glad that you had a good stay overall and we'll make sure to pass along your suggestions to our management team. We hope that you will come back to camp with us again sometime in the future.

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: October, 2016 - $38.00
Overall Rating:

We were here during one of their Halloween weekend events. Stayed on site 56, which has a deck. Very nice site. Backs up to the jumping pillow and park. Great site if you have kids with you. Nice pool area, however it was closed for the season. Excited to visit again. Thanks for a great long weekend. Concrete slabs would be great instead of the gravel but this doesn't keep me from returning. Park is well maintained. We camped at Lookout Mountain / Chattanooga West KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
57
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table, Patio
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Lookout Mountain / Chattanooga West KOA responded to this review

We're excited to have you back as well, Tony and Tammy! We are glad to hear you enjoyed our Halloween weekend festivities, as well as our amenities and your campsite. We appreciate such a kind review!

Featured Campgrounds Near Lookout Mountain / Chattanooga West KOA

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with Lookout Mountain / Chattanooga West KOA ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;
;