6.6 Good
     
Benton, Illinois

Benton KOA

Benton, Illinois



1500 North DuQuoin Street
Benton, Illinois 62812
Phone: (618) 439-4860

Sites: 52
Recent Rate: $37 9/2016

Latitude: 38.013239549898
Longitude: -88.927845954895

Add Your Review

Campground Overview
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • Restrooms (Plumbed) Restrooms (Plumbed) ?
  • Pit Toilets Pit Toilets ?
  • Showers Showers ?
  • $0.00 Shower Fee Shower Fee 0.00
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • $0.00 Laundry Fee Laundry Fee 0.00
  • Dump Station Dump Station ?
  • $0.00 Dump Station Fee Dump Station Fee 0.00
  • Propane Available Propane Available ?
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available ?
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts ?
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot ?
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter ?
  • RV Wash RV Wash ?
  • $0.00 RV Wash Fee RV Wash Fee 0.00
  • Corral Corral ?
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip ?
  • Overflow Parking Overflow Parking ?
Hookups & Connectivity
  • Electric (30 AMP) Electric (30 AMP) yes
  • Electric (50 AMP) Electric (50 AMP) yes
  • Water Water yes
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • $0.00 WiFi Fee WiFi Fee 0.00
  • Cellular Phone Service Cellular Phone Service ?
  • Cellular Phone Providers Cellular Phone Providers
  • Cable or Satellite TV Hookup Cable or Satellite TV Hookup yes
  • Phone Phone no
  • Central Modem Central Modem no
Amenities
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • 0 Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) 0
  • Pool Access Pool Access yes
  • Family Friendly Family Friendly yes
  • Playground Playground ?
  • Pet Area Pet Area ?
  • yes-stream Waterfront Waterfront yes-stream
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse ?
  • Camp Store Camp Store ?
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar ?
  • Business Center Business Center ?
  • Group Camping Group Camping ?
  • Meeting Rooms Meeting Rooms ?
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen ?
  • Banquet Facilities Banquet Facilities ?
  • Concierge Services Concierge Services ?
Recreation
  • Walking Trail(s) Walking Trail(s) ?
  • Recreation Room Recreation Room ?
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities ?
  • Beach Access Beach Access ?
  • Boat Ramp Boat Ramp ?
  • Marina Marina ?
  • Boat Rentals Boat Rentals ?
  • Fishing Fishing ?
  • Golfing Golfing ?
  • Bike Path(s) Bike Path(s) ?
  • Bike Rentals Bike Rentals ?
  • Hiking Hiking ?
  • Spa Spa ?
  • Horseshoe Pit Horseshoe Pit ?
  • Volley Ball Volley Ball ?
  • Sports Field Sports Field ?
  • Arcade Games Arcade Games ?
  • Live Entertainment Live Entertainment ?
  • Amphitheatre Amphitheatre ?
  • Putt Putt Mini-Golf Putt Putt Mini-Golf ?
  • Billiards Billiards ?
  • Ping Pong Ping Pong ?
  • Lake Lake ?
  • Pond Pond ?
  • River River ?
  • Creek Creek ?
  • Ocean Ocean ?
  • Water Park Water Park ?
  • Casino Casino ?

Review Details

Ratings overview

45 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 10
States Visited: 7
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: September, 2016 - $37.00
Overall Rating:      

Adjacent to the Interstate and it was noisy and also heard trains all night. Cable TV was fuzzy, but plenty of channels. Was guided to campsite by park worker and hookups were explained. We camped at Benton KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
52
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

Just an overnight stop. Did use the Post Office on the way our of town.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Benton KOA responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us! We are glad you had a nice time, and were impressed by our helpful staff. We hope to have you back sometime soon!

Review Count: 17
States Visited: 11
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: August, 2016 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

Camp host is very friendly and helpful. That's as good as it gets. They need to grade the gravel road to sites, rough. Don't get site 23. We could not get level, its on a hill. They need to level some of the sites. We were in the back by the interstate and could hear the noise. It seems like a lot of long term people in here.

Cable with about 100 channels and wifi worked good as well. We camped at Benton KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
23
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Interior Roads
Tight Turns, Scraping Branches, Poor Conditions
Tow Vehicle Parking
No

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 136
States Visited: 38
Helpful Reviews: 16

Date of Stay: August, 2016 - $44.00
Overall Rating:      

Directions were good. Access good. Interior roads and sites are all gravel. Despite lots of rain the park drained well. This is an older KOA and sites are a little tight. Limited number of pull thru sites so call ahead. Great places to walk the dogs across the street and around the owner's pond. Nicest folks run this place. We camped at Benton KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
23
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
No

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 37
States Visited: 17
Helpful Reviews: 12

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $38.00
Overall Rating:      

Rustic KOA. Camp hosts very nice and friendly. Nice escort to the campsite made it much easier for our 35' class A. Many pull-though sites. But for a Class A with a toad that you do not want to disconnect, sitez 50 to 54 are along a straight row with a lot of spacing. Verizon signal good for voice/data. Many trees makes sat. reception unlikely. We were in 50 and could not get DirecTV. But the camp has very good cable. WiFi slow but usable for basic. We did note street noise but it did not bother us. Laundry was small but seemed to fit the need. Water pressure and electric were good. No sewer at our site. Site gravel and level. Watch the bumps as you move though the campground. Good spot for an overnight stay, and free cookies on check in. They also have a small restaurant on site and will deliver to your camper. Well stocked RV store on site and has a very good ice cream selection! We camped at Benton KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
50
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

Have a good burger delivered to your coach. There is also a Pizza Hut in the area that delivers a coupon is on the back of the KOA folder.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Benton KOA responded to this review

Thanks for camping with us! We are happy to hear you had a great stay, and enjoyed your campsite, food delivery, and that our staff was helpful and friendly for you. We have an awesome team that we're very thankful for - the guests are always our first priority! We hope to see you again sometime!

Review Count: 94
States Visited: 30
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $41.00
Overall Rating:      

This is an older park. The roads are gravel but fairly navigable. Their cable is incredible, with over 100 channels, most of which aren't listed in their channel lineup. The hookups are fine. The staff was friendly (they escort you to your site). The sites are very close to the interstate so it is a bit noisy if you are sensitive to that. Unfortunately, RV park options in the area are limited and the price reflects that. At $30 I would have given this park a higher rating. We camped at Benton KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
19
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my 5th wheel (had to disconnect)
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Benton KOA responded to this review

Thank you camping with us during your recent trip to the area! We appreciate your feedback and have passed along your comments to our management team. We wish you safe travels & hope that you have a wonderful rest of your summer!

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $45.00
Overall Rating:      

Staff friendly and accommodating but this KOA is limited, old and tired, pool was ok but very old. Park in general was not what we expected from a KOA, basic kid play area with backyard equipment. Not much for the kids to do, they were excited about staying at a KOA and this park was a big let down. Camped by the highway: VERY noisy. We camped at Benton KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
22
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Benton KOA responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review, 'Scunie'. Please accept our apologies for your less than perfect stay. We appreciate your feedback and have passed along your comments to our management staff.
We do hope that you will give us a second chance the next time you are in the area, but if not, we wish you the best.

Review Count: 4
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: June, 2016 - $36.00
Overall Rating:      

Stayed 2 nights on way to TN. Campground is very run down - has that "run down" look. Backs up to the interstate highway with lots of traffic noise. Staff was friendly. Spoke with another camping family who agreed that the campground was in poor shape. He was there from AR on a long-term work/construction job. Good cable...so/so Internet. or Really surprised for a KOA campground. We camped at Benton KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
7
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my travel trailer
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Interior Roads
Poor Conditions
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Benton KOA responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. Please accept our sincere apologies that you were not satisfied with the condition of the campground, our staff works very hard at upkeep and we will continue to do so in the future. Some of our sites do backup near the highway but others are more secluded depending on what you prefer. We do hope you have safe travels and wish you all the best.

Review Count: 13
States Visited: 11
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: June, 2016 - $38.00
Overall Rating:      

Easy access from interstate. Gravel roads and sites are good, fairly level. Noise from highway not too bad. Escorted to site. Camp help was very friendly and helpful. They also make BBQ sandwiches, burgers, fries, onion rings and deliver to your site. Very reasonable price and large helpings, quite good. We camped at Benton KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
No

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Benton KOA responded to this review

We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us, and enjoyed your campsite, our delicious food, and that our staff was friendly and helpful for you! Thank you for your kind review, and we hope to see you again sometime soon!
JBu

Review Count: 19
States Visited: 11
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: May, 2016 - $38.00
Overall Rating:      

This was a one night stay for us. Check in was quick and pleasant, and we were escorted to our site. Campground was neat and well maintained. nice gravel interior roads and no shared hook-ups. Other reviews mentioned the freeway noise, there is, but not a problem for us. We would most definitely stay here again. We camped at Benton KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
22
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Benton KOA responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us! We are so glad to hear that your stay was pleasant and you had a great time. We hope to see you again soon!

Review Count: 45
States Visited: 16
Helpful Reviews: 12

Date of Stay: February, 2016 - $34.00
Overall Rating:      

A reasonably priced KOA. Access was easy. Right off the Interstate, so a little noisy, but we got used to it. Decent accommodations. Escorted to site, and then they delivered freshly made chocolate chip cookies to us. Nice touch. What we saw was well maintained, with gravel sites and roads. Sites are good size and service connections were good. We camped at Benton KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Benton KOA responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review! We are so happy you had a great stay with us, and enjoyed your campsite, our location, and the chocolate chip cookies. :) We hope to see you again sometime!

Review Count: 27
States Visited: 15
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: June, 2015 - $36.00
Overall Rating:      

Just stayed for one night as we passed through. It was just O.K. There was a lot of highway noise where we were parked. We camped at Benton KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 3
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: April, 2015 - $37.00
Overall Rating:      

We stayed at the Benton KOA for a month in our 35 foot RV. We had a back in site with full hook-ups. Monthly rate for us was $375 with metered electric to be paid upon check out. Our electric bill came to $43.00. Campground is managed by husband and wife team, very nice people. Campground is very clean and well maintained, close to town and freeway, has a catch and release pond, playground, clean laundry room with 4 washers and 3 dryers, nice general store/gift shop. WiFi works great most of the time, we didn't use the cable, we could see and hear the freeway though. We would definitely stay again if we were to come back to the Benton area. We camped at Benton KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
2
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade, Mostly Shady
Tips for other Campers:

If you have never been to the Benton area and love antiques, hit the "square" in town.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 22
States Visited: 11
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: January, 2015 - $31.00
Overall Rating:      

Level site with interstate noise. Seemed to be a lot of permanents. Adequate for overnight stop. We camped at Benton KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
25
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt
Campsite Features
Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 70
States Visited: 30
Helpful Reviews: 10

Date of Stay: October, 2014 - $34.00
Overall Rating:      

Our gravel pull-thru was level and more than long enough. Friendly staff. Clean and well maintained. Very good selection of cable channels. Our satellite TV was blocked by a tree and many other sites would have the same problem. Good Verizon signal. The campground is right next to the interstate and traffic noise was quite noticeable, even with our windows closed. Good for an overnight stay. We camped at Benton KOA in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2014 - $36.00
Overall Rating:      

This KOA was not like most that we had camped in. Upon entering the KOA, you are greeted by a row of what were obviously long term campers (or renters). Almost immediately, I found this off-putting because of the quality of and unsightliness of the trailers and vehicles. A fairly steep gravel road leads to the majority section of the campground, after the small hill, the camp opens up to approximately 35 or 40 pull-through and back-in sites. One can quickly see another row of long-term rigs lined up along the edge of the park that borders the highway fence. None of the campground is paved, but the gravel is level and dried out quickly after a brief rain. The spots are KOA close, but there was enough room for my 4 kids to play and not encroach on the other campers. The staff was like all other KOAs - helpful and immediately attentive to my questions and drowsiness-induced noob "there's a problem here" (there wasn't a problem). The bathrooms were clean and the pool was great. We really like the pool because it was 9 feet deep on one end and 3 at the other. A real adult use pool. Had I written a review after my first couple hours at the park, I would have told you it was the worst KOA that we had ever graced with our presence. But, that would have been incorrect. Upon researching the local area, we found some of the nicest, albeit far off the highway, Corps Of Engineers campgrounds we had ever seen. Also, there were many other campgrounds significantly closer to Rend lake - the local attraction. Taking all that in, the KOA is perfect for what it is - a great spot to overnight or spend a couple days. The pool is great, the camp is close to town and has easy access to the interstate, local big box stores, and restaurants. The KOA is open year round and there is a significantly sized underground coal mine close which I learned explained many of the long-term campers. 7 out of 10 stars for the gravel roads, shared fence line with the interstate and awkward/tight dumping station. Staff was great and can't beat a real pool. We camped at Benton KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with Benton KOA?

Pre-Register below to access free and enhanced features coming in the near future.

PLANNED ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


More Information about our Campground Owner Management and its enhancements are coming very soon. Features subject to change.