7 Good
http://www.rvparkreviews.com/regions/illinois

Benton KOA

Benton, Illinois


1500 North DuQuoin Street
Benton, Illinois 62812
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 52
Recent Rate: $$$$

Add Review

Latitude: 38.01324
Longitude: -88.92785

Elevation: 428' (approx.)
Park Features
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • 55+ 55+ no
  • Kid Friendly Kid Friendly yes
  • Boondocking Boondocking no
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts yes
  • Dump Station Dump Station ?
  • Group Camping Group Camping yes
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot ?
Hookups
  • Full Hookup Full Hookup yes
  • Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP)
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • Phone Phone no
  • Water Water yes
  • Cable/Sat. TV Hookup Cable/Sat. TV Hookup yes
Connectivity
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • ATT Cellular Provider ATT
  • Verizon Cellular Provider Verizon
  • Sprint Cellular Provider Sprint
  • T-Mobile Cellular Provider T-Mobile
Amenities
  • Restrooms Restrooms yes
  • Showers Showers yes
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Pet Area Pet Area yes
  • Propane Available Propane Available yes
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar yes
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse ?
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available yes
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen ?
  • Horse Camp Horse Camp ?
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip ?
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter yes
  • Restrooms: vault Restrooms: vault ?
Recreation
  • Pool Access Pool Access yes
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Recreational Trails Recreational Trails ?
  • Rec Room Rec Room ?
  • Casino Casino ?
  • Fishing Fishing yes
  • Beach Beach ?
  • Biking Biking ?
  • Boating Boating ?
  • Golf Golf ?
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities ?
  • Horseshoes Horseshoes yes
  • Mini-Golf Mini-Golf ?
  • Outdoor Courts Outdoor Courts ?
  • Pickleball Pickleball ?
  • Water Access Water Access ?

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Ask fellow campers about "Benton KOA" and nearby attractions.

Review Details

Ratings overview

55 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews' member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 19
States Visited: 14
Helpful Reviews: 7

Date of Stay: June, 2018 - $43.00
Overall Rating:

The Benton KOA is pretty nice, very clean with long, spacious, pull-through sites available. Double check your route with Apple Maps, Google Maps or even a paper map - I have no idea where the RV GPS was going to take me. No need to unhook tonight. Sites have a fire ring, picnic table and BBQ. There is nice partial shade but this affected my Dish. No worries, they have a 60-channel cable line-up. I chose just to use OTA and got 13 hi-def channels which is good enough for over-night. Although there is a "green buffer" between the park and I-57 there is some road noice. I can't hear it inside the house and its not enough to bother me if I were sitting outside - but, some people get pretty bothered. The wifi is really good as is my Version signal. The park has a nice looking pool as well as a good children's playground, catch and release fishing pond and enclosed dog park. Laundry, showers, bathrooms available but can't comment. They also also a delivery menu - I had a pulled smoked chicken sandwich basket with onion rings and a 4-piece chicken strip - $13.05 - I spent more at McDonald's the other day. It was pretty darn good and they deliver to your site. Only saw a small portion of Benton as we drove through but seemed like a clean city with lots of dining options. Also saw a sign for the "antique district." This KOA would be good for a few days or excellent over-night. the rate for a pull-through, 50-amp full-hook-up was $43.20. We camped at Benton KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
22
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade, Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 814
States Visited: 27
Helpful Reviews: 92

Date of Stay: May, 2018 - $45.00
Overall Rating:

We haven't been to this park since last millennium. For years we passed on it because other parks had cable TV and/or satellite friendly sites. Now that they have cable TV and our "go to" park in Effingham no longer has cable, we decided to give this KOA a try. The site (FHU, pull-through) was fine as was the Wi-Fi for our minimal (e-mail and surfing) needs. Since it is still preseason and the pool is not open yet, I thought the rate was a bit high. We camped at Benton KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 5
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: February, 2018 - $36.00
Overall Rating:

Great staff and clean facilities. My only complaints were tight turns and sites too close. We camped at Benton KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
16
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my travel trailer
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Interior Roads
Tight Turns, Scraping Branches
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 39
States Visited: 15
Helpful Reviews: 14

Date of Stay: October, 2017 - $40.00
Overall Rating:

We stayed in the newer section of the KOA. There is a fairly busy street that separates the older campground (where the store and pool are located) from the new section. The bad news is that the new section is located directly next to a construction site, so Monday through Saturday from 7:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. you hear (and see) excavators and heavy equipment running. You also hear noise from a nearby train and road noise from the highway. We had a back in site with brand new gravel which made it more difficult to back into. On the plus side, there is a decent size catch and release pond in the new section and we caught several nice catfish. They also offer paddleboat rentals. There were two restrooms/showers that appeared to be new and were cleaned daily, however the floors become wet after someone takes a shower, so be careful. Also, the toilets need to be flushed several times before they actually flush. The owners are nice and helpful. If we come back to the area, we would stay at one of the Rend Lake COE campgrounds instead. We camped at Benton KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
P74
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my 5th wheel (had to disconnect)
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Walmart is close by. Pizza Hut delivers to your site. Rend Lake is just a few miles away and their visitor center is large and informative.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Featured Campgrounds Near Benton KOA

Review Count: 41
States Visited: 20
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: September, 2017 - $48.00
Overall Rating:

We picked Benton KOA for an overnight stop because it offered cable and we wanted to watch the season opening game for our favorite college team while traveling. Not usually a fan of KOA's from previous experiences and still not although this campground was "OK". The facilities were all clean but the grounds looked like they could use some TLC. Our site was near the highway, so there was a lot of road noise. At least we had our AC running and drowned it out. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Convenient for overnight stay, but we thought it was a bit overpriced. We camped at Benton KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
22
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 5
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2017 - $48.00
Overall Rating:

We stayed here for the eclipse last year. Many more people went further south as I-57 was a parking lot with people going back north. This KOA has many amenities including food such as chicken wings delivered to your site for a fee of course. The camp store is well stocked with souvenirs and camping supplies. The restrooms and showers were clean. The fishing pond is located across the road if you parking on the main lot. We did not use the pool but many people did and it appeared to be well maintained and clean. The owners also cut hair in the camp store. The only problem would be you have to back track and navigate through town to get here but don't let this deter you for making this home base during an extended stay as we did. For the cachers, there are tons of caches around the lake but we cached Memphis and the American Pickers store. We spent a whole day in here caching and walking around the city. Chester Ill. is home town for Popeye and the only Popeye Store in the world with many great caches. We camped at Benton KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 14
States Visited: 3
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: August, 2017 - $45.00
Overall Rating:

We were fortunate enough to stay in the newer pull in sites across the road from the campground. Much quieter on that side. Still need grass. Wifi unable to be accessed from our site. Verizon good. Owners friendly. Stayed during eclipse so campground was busy and full at all times. Close to highway, Walmart and fuel stations. We camped at Benton KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
69
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Town of Benton has nice antique malls on the square. Walmart and Rural King nearby. Number of restaurants and fuel stations in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 114
States Visited: 32
Helpful Reviews: 41

Date of Stay: August, 2017 - $43.00
Overall Rating:

We have stayed at this KOA before. Very nice place. They now have opened up a new section, but it is across the road from the main campground. When you are coming to this KOA, call ahead and find out which side of the road your campsite is. It will save you a drive though the main camp if you are across the road. The new section is P-57 - P-75. Roads are packed gravel and easy enough to navigate with a class A. There are tent sites and cabins at this KOA. There is a nice camp store on site. Also free cookies on check in and escort to site. Food can be delivered to site by on site camp restaurant or local restaurants. FHU's good. Verizon and T-Mobile 4g signals. Park has many trees, satellite reception by roof top unlikely. Park has good digital cable with many channels. Propane on site, easy pull up. Nice park for an overnight or a few days. We camped at Benton KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
P-69
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

Call ahead to find out which side of the road you are on, since the camp is on both sides of the street. Will save you a drive around the camp in case you turn the wrong way.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo
myo

Review Count: 28
States Visited: 13
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: June, 2017 - $43.00
Overall Rating:

This KOA looks like it needs an upgrade, it appeared beat. For the money which did not include sewer it felt $10 over priced. They are opening 7 new pull thru sites around the street which will be nice once they are complete. The hosts were friendly, the pool was refreshing but really deep. We camped at Benton KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
54
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Went to town for supper, ate at Applebees which the host recommended - Applebees are Applebees, enough said

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 18
States Visited: 8
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: September, 2016 - $37.00
Overall Rating:

Adjacent to the Interstate and it was noisy and also heard trains all night. Cable TV was fuzzy, but plenty of channels. Was guided to campsite by park worker and hookups were explained. We camped at Benton KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
52
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

Just an overnight stop. Did use the Post Office on the way our of town.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Benton KOA responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us! We are glad you had a nice time, and were impressed by our helpful staff. We hope to have you back sometime soon!

Review Count: 166
States Visited: 40
Helpful Reviews: 23

Date of Stay: August, 2016 - $44.00
Overall Rating:

Directions were good. Access good. Interior roads and sites are all gravel. Despite lots of rain the park drained well. This is an older KOA and sites are a little tight. Limited number of pull thru sites so call ahead. Great places to walk the dogs across the street and around the owner's pond. Nicest folks run this place. We camped at Benton KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
23
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Benton KOA responded to this review

Thank you for camping with us this past summer! We're glad to hear that you had a great stay and hope to see you again sometime.

Review Count: 21
States Visited: 12
Helpful Reviews: 6

Date of Stay: August, 2016 - $30.00
Overall Rating:

Camp host is very friendly and helpful. That's as good as it gets. They need to grade the gravel road to sites, rough. Don't get site 23. We could not get level, its on a hill. They need to level some of the sites. We were in the back by the interstate and could hear the noise. It seems like a lot of long term people in here.

Cable with about 100 channels and wifi worked good as well. We camped at Benton KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
23
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Interior Roads
Tight Turns, Scraping Branches, Poor Conditions
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Benton KOA responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your past stay with us 'VIRGINIAGIRL2015'! We appreciate your feedback and will pass along your comments to our management team as we are always looking for ways to improve our campers' experiences here at our KOA. We do hope to see you again sometime in the future. Take care!

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $45.00
Overall Rating:

Staff friendly and accommodating but this KOA is limited, old and tired, pool was ok but very old. Park in general was not what we expected from a KOA, basic kid play area with backyard equipment. Not much for the kids to do, they were excited about staying at a KOA and this park was a big let down. Camped by the highway: VERY noisy. We camped at Benton KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
22
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Benton KOA responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review, 'Scunie'. Please accept our apologies for your less than perfect stay. We appreciate your feedback and have passed along your comments to our management staff.
We do hope that you will give us a second chance the next time you are in the area, but if not, we wish you the best.

Review Count: 123
States Visited: 33
Helpful Reviews: 8

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $41.00
Overall Rating:

This is an older park. The roads are gravel but fairly navigable. Their cable is incredible, with over 100 channels, most of which aren't listed in their channel lineup. The hookups are fine. The staff was friendly (they escort you to your site). The sites are very close to the interstate so it is a bit noisy if you are sensitive to that. Unfortunately, RV park options in the area are limited and the price reflects that. At $30 I would have given this park a higher rating. We camped at Benton KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
19
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my 5th wheel (had to disconnect)
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Benton KOA responded to this review

Thank you camping with us during your recent trip to the area! We appreciate your feedback and have passed along your comments to our management team. We wish you safe travels & hope that you have a wonderful rest of your summer!

Review Count: 114
States Visited: 32
Helpful Reviews: 41

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $38.00
Overall Rating:

Rustic KOA. Camp hosts very nice and friendly. Nice escort to the campsite made it much easier for our 35' class A. Many pull-though sites. But for a Class A with a toad that you do not want to disconnect, sitez 50 to 54 are along a straight row with a lot of spacing. Verizon signal good for voice/data. Many trees makes sat. reception unlikely. We were in 50 and could not get DirecTV. But the camp has very good cable. WiFi slow but usable for basic. We did note street noise but it did not bother us. Laundry was small but seemed to fit the need. Water pressure and electric were good. No sewer at our site. Site gravel and level. Watch the bumps as you move though the campground. Good spot for an overnight stay, and free cookies on check in. They also have a small restaurant on site and will deliver to your camper. Well stocked RV store on site and has a very good ice cream selection! We camped at Benton KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
50
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

Have a good burger delivered to your coach. There is also a Pizza Hut in the area that delivers a coupon is on the back of the KOA folder.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Benton KOA responded to this review

Thanks for camping with us! We are happy to hear you had a great stay, and enjoyed your campsite, food delivery, and that our staff was helpful and friendly for you. We have an awesome team that we're very thankful for - the guests are always our first priority! We hope to see you again sometime!

Featured Campgrounds Near Benton KOA

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with Benton KOA ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;
;