6.8 Good
     
Benton, Illinois

Benton KOA

Benton, Illinois


1500 N Du Quoin St
Benton, Illinois 62812
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 52
Recent Rate: $$$$

Add Review

Latitude: 38.013239549898
Longitude: -88.927845954895

Elevation: 428' (approximate)
Campground Overview
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • Restrooms (Plumbed) Restrooms (Plumbed) ?
  • Pit Toilets Pit Toilets ?
  • Showers Showers ?
  • $0.00 Shower Fee Shower Fee 0.00
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • $0.00 Laundry Fee Laundry Fee 0.00
  • Dump Station Dump Station ?
  • $0.00 Dump Station Fee Dump Station Fee 0.00
  • Propane Available Propane Available ?
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available ?
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts ?
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot ?
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter ?
  • RV Wash RV Wash ?
  • $0.00 RV Wash Fee RV Wash Fee 0.00
  • Corral Corral ?
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip ?
  • Overflow Parking Overflow Parking ?
Hookups & Connectivity
  • Electric (30 AMP) Electric (30 AMP) yes
  • Electric (50 AMP) Electric (50 AMP) yes
  • Water Water yes
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • Free WiFi Free WiFi ?
  • Cellular Phone Service Cellular Phone Service ?
  • Cellular Phone Providers Cellular Phone Providers
  • Cable or Satellite TV Hookup Cable or Satellite TV Hookup yes
  • Phone Phone no
  • Central Modem Central Modem no
Amenities
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • 0 Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) 0
  • Pool Access Pool Access yes
  • Family Friendly Family Friendly yes
  • Playground Playground ?
  • Pet Area Pet Area ?
  • yes-stream Waterfront Waterfront yes-stream
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse ?
  • Camp Store Camp Store ?
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar ?
  • Business Center Business Center ?
  • Group Camping Group Camping ?
  • Meeting Rooms Meeting Rooms ?
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen ?
  • Banquet Facilities Banquet Facilities ?
  • Concierge Services Concierge Services ?
Recreation
  • Walking Trail(s) Walking Trail(s) ?
  • Recreation Room Recreation Room ?
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities ?
  • Beach Access Beach Access ?
  • Boat Ramp Boat Ramp ?
  • Marina Marina ?
  • Boat Rentals Boat Rentals ?
  • Fishing Fishing ?
  • Golfing Golfing ?
  • Bike Path(s) Bike Path(s) ?
  • Bike Rentals Bike Rentals ?
  • Hiking Hiking ?
  • Spa Spa ?
  • Horseshoe Pit Horseshoe Pit ?
  • Volley Ball Volley Ball ?
  • Sports Field Sports Field ?
  • Arcade Games Arcade Games ?
  • Live Entertainment Live Entertainment ?
  • Amphitheatre Amphitheatre ?
  • Putt Putt Mini-Golf Putt Putt Mini-Golf ?
  • Billiards Billiards ?
  • Ping Pong Ping Pong ?
  • Lake Lake ?
  • Pond Pond ?
  • River River ?
  • Creek Creek ?
  • Ocean Ocean ?
  • Water Park Water Park ?
  • Casino Casino ?

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Ask a Question About Benton KOA

Review Details

Ratings overview

50 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews' member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 38
States Visited: 18
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: September, 2017 - $48.00
Overall Rating:      

We picked Benton KOA for an overnight stop because it offered cable and we wanted to watch the season opening game for our favorite college team while traveling. Not usually a fan of KOA's from previous experiences and still not although this campground was "OK". The facilities were all clean but the grounds looked like they could use some TLC. Our site was near the highway, so there was a lot of road noise. At least we had our AC running and drowned it out. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Convenient for overnight stay, but we thought it was a bit overpriced. We camped at Benton KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
22
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 114
States Visited: 32
Helpful Reviews: 30

Date of Stay: August, 2017 - $43.00
Overall Rating:      

We have stayed at this KOA before. Very nice place. They now have opened up a new section, but it is across the road from the main campground. When you are coming to this KOA, call ahead and find out which side of the road your campsite is. It will save you a drive though the main camp if you are across the road. The new section is P-57 - P-75. Roads are packed gravel and easy enough to navigate with a class A. There are tent sites and cabins at this KOA. There is a nice camp store on site. Also free cookies on check in and escort to site. Food can be delivered to site by on site camp restaurant or local restaurants. FHU's good. Verizon and T-Mobile 4g signals. Park has many trees, satellite reception by roof top unlikely. Park has good digital cable with many channels. Propane on site, easy pull up. Nice park for an overnight or a few days. We camped at Benton KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
P-69
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

Call ahead to find out which side of the road you are on, since the camp is on both sides of the street. Will save you a drive around the camp in case you turn the wrong way.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 12
States Visited: 3
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: August, 2017 - $45.00
Overall Rating:      

We were fortunate enough to stay in the newer pull in sites across the road from the campground. Much quieter on that side. Still need grass. Wifi unable to be accessed from our site. Verizon good. Owners friendly. Stayed during eclipse so campground was busy and full at all times. Close to highway, Walmart and fuel stations. We camped at Benton KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
69
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Town of Benton has nice antique malls on the square. Walmart and Rural King nearby. Number of restaurants and fuel stations in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo
myo

Review Count: 13
States Visited: 9
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: June, 2017 - $43.00
Overall Rating:      

This KOA looks like it needs an upgrade, it appeared beat. For the money which did not include sewer it felt $10 over priced. They are opening 7 new pull thru sites around the street which will be nice once they are complete. The hosts were friendly, the pool was refreshing but really deep. We camped at Benton KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
54
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Went to town for supper, ate at Applebees which the host recommended - Applebees are Applebees, enough said

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 13
States Visited: 8
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: September, 2016 - $37.00
Overall Rating:      

Adjacent to the Interstate and it was noisy and also heard trains all night. Cable TV was fuzzy, but plenty of channels. Was guided to campsite by park worker and hookups were explained. We camped at Benton KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
52
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

Just an overnight stop. Did use the Post Office on the way our of town.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Benton KOA responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us! We are glad you had a nice time, and were impressed by our helpful staff. We hope to have you back sometime soon!

Review Count: 21
States Visited: 12
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: August, 2016 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

Camp host is very friendly and helpful. That's as good as it gets. They need to grade the gravel road to sites, rough. Don't get site 23. We could not get level, its on a hill. They need to level some of the sites. We were in the back by the interstate and could hear the noise. It seems like a lot of long term people in here.

Cable with about 100 channels and wifi worked good as well. We camped at Benton KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
23
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Interior Roads
Tight Turns, Scraping Branches, Poor Conditions
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Benton KOA responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your past stay with us 'VIRGINIAGIRL2015'! We appreciate your feedback and will pass along your comments to our management team as we are always looking for ways to improve our campers' experiences here at our KOA. We do hope to see you again sometime in the future. Take care!

Review Count: 156
States Visited: 39
Helpful Reviews: 20

Date of Stay: August, 2016 - $44.00
Overall Rating:      

Directions were good. Access good. Interior roads and sites are all gravel. Despite lots of rain the park drained well. This is an older KOA and sites are a little tight. Limited number of pull thru sites so call ahead. Great places to walk the dogs across the street and around the owner's pond. Nicest folks run this place. We camped at Benton KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
23
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Benton KOA responded to this review

Thank you for camping with us this past summer! We're glad to hear that you had a great stay and hope to see you again sometime.

Review Count: 114
States Visited: 32
Helpful Reviews: 30

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $38.00
Overall Rating:      

Rustic KOA. Camp hosts very nice and friendly. Nice escort to the campsite made it much easier for our 35' class A. Many pull-though sites. But for a Class A with a toad that you do not want to disconnect, sitez 50 to 54 are along a straight row with a lot of spacing. Verizon signal good for voice/data. Many trees makes sat. reception unlikely. We were in 50 and could not get DirecTV. But the camp has very good cable. WiFi slow but usable for basic. We did note street noise but it did not bother us. Laundry was small but seemed to fit the need. Water pressure and electric were good. No sewer at our site. Site gravel and level. Watch the bumps as you move though the campground. Good spot for an overnight stay, and free cookies on check in. They also have a small restaurant on site and will deliver to your camper. Well stocked RV store on site and has a very good ice cream selection! We camped at Benton KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
50
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

Have a good burger delivered to your coach. There is also a Pizza Hut in the area that delivers a coupon is on the back of the KOA folder.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Benton KOA responded to this review

Thanks for camping with us! We are happy to hear you had a great stay, and enjoyed your campsite, food delivery, and that our staff was helpful and friendly for you. We have an awesome team that we're very thankful for - the guests are always our first priority! We hope to see you again sometime!

Review Count: 115
States Visited: 33
Helpful Reviews: 7

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $41.00
Overall Rating:      

This is an older park. The roads are gravel but fairly navigable. Their cable is incredible, with over 100 channels, most of which aren't listed in their channel lineup. The hookups are fine. The staff was friendly (they escort you to your site). The sites are very close to the interstate so it is a bit noisy if you are sensitive to that. Unfortunately, RV park options in the area are limited and the price reflects that. At $30 I would have given this park a higher rating. We camped at Benton KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
19
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my 5th wheel (had to disconnect)
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Benton KOA responded to this review

Thank you camping with us during your recent trip to the area! We appreciate your feedback and have passed along your comments to our management team. We wish you safe travels & hope that you have a wonderful rest of your summer!

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $45.00
Overall Rating:      

Staff friendly and accommodating but this KOA is limited, old and tired, pool was ok but very old. Park in general was not what we expected from a KOA, basic kid play area with backyard equipment. Not much for the kids to do, they were excited about staying at a KOA and this park was a big let down. Camped by the highway: VERY noisy. We camped at Benton KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
22
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Benton KOA responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review, 'Scunie'. Please accept our apologies for your less than perfect stay. We appreciate your feedback and have passed along your comments to our management staff.
We do hope that you will give us a second chance the next time you are in the area, but if not, we wish you the best.

Review Count: 10
States Visited: 7
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: June, 2016 - $36.00
Overall Rating:      

Stayed 2 nights on way to TN. Campground is very run down - has that "run down" look. Backs up to the interstate highway with lots of traffic noise. Staff was friendly. Spoke with another camping family who agreed that the campground was in poor shape. He was there from AR on a long-term work/construction job. Good cable...so/so Internet. or Really surprised for a KOA campground. We camped at Benton KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
7
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my travel trailer
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Interior Roads
Poor Conditions
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Benton KOA responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. Please accept our sincere apologies that you were not satisfied with the condition of the campground, our staff works very hard at upkeep and we will continue to do so in the future. Some of our sites do backup near the highway but others are more secluded depending on what you prefer. We do hope you have safe travels and wish you all the best.

Review Count: 16
States Visited: 13
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: June, 2016 - $38.00
Overall Rating:      

Easy access from interstate. Gravel roads and sites are good, fairly level. Noise from highway not too bad. Escorted to site. Camp help was very friendly and helpful. They also make BBQ sandwiches, burgers, fries, onion rings and deliver to your site. Very reasonable price and large helpings, quite good. We camped at Benton KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
0 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Benton KOA responded to this review

We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us, and enjoyed your campsite, our delicious food, and that our staff was friendly and helpful for you! Thank you for your kind review, and we hope to see you again sometime soon!
JBu

Review Count: 31
States Visited: 15
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: May, 2016 - $38.00
Overall Rating:      

This was a one night stay for us. Check in was quick and pleasant, and we were escorted to our site. Campground was neat and well maintained. nice gravel interior roads and no shared hook-ups. Other reviews mentioned the freeway noise, there is, but not a problem for us. We would most definitely stay here again. We camped at Benton KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
22
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
0 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Benton KOA responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us! We are so glad to hear that your stay was pleasant and you had a great time. We hope to see you again soon!

Review Count: 53
States Visited: 16
Helpful Reviews: 13

Date of Stay: February, 2016 - $34.00
Overall Rating:      

A reasonably priced KOA. Access was easy. Right off the Interstate, so a little noisy, but we got used to it. Decent accommodations. Escorted to site, and then they delivered freshly made chocolate chip cookies to us. Nice touch. What we saw was well maintained, with gravel sites and roads. Sites are good size and service connections were good. We camped at Benton KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
1 of 2 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Benton KOA responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review! We are so happy you had a great stay with us, and enjoyed your campsite, our location, and the chocolate chip cookies. :) We hope to see you again sometime!

Review Count: 36
States Visited: 17
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: June, 2015 - $36.00
Overall Rating:      

Just stayed for one night as we passed through. It was just O.K. There was a lot of highway noise where we were parked. We camped at Benton KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
0 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with Benton KOA ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;