7.6 Good
http://www.rvparkreviews.com/regions/illinois

Casey KOA

Casey, Illinois


1248 East 1250th Road
Casey, Illinois 62420
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 80
Recent Rate: $$$$

Add Review

Latitude: 39.32355
Longitude: -87.98894

Elevation: 662' (approx.)
Park Features
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • 55+ Only 55+ Only no
  • Kid Friendly Kid Friendly yes
  • Boondocking Boondocking no
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts yes
  • Dump Station Dump Station yes
  • Group Camping Group Camping yes
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot ?
Hookups
  • Full Hookup Full Hookup yes
  • Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP)
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • Public Phone Public Phone no
  • Water Water yes
  • Cable/Sat. TV Hookup Cable/Sat. TV Hookup yes
Connectivity
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • ATT Cellular Provider ATT
  • Verizon Cellular Provider Verizon
  • Sprint Cellular Provider Sprint
  • T-Mobile Cellular Provider T-Mobile
Amenities
  • Restrooms Restrooms yes
  • Showers Showers yes
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Pet Area Pet Area yes
  • Propane Available Propane Available yes
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar ?
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse yes
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available yes
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen no
  • Horse Camp Horse Camp no
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip no
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter yes
  • Restrooms: vault Restrooms: vault no
Recreation
  • Pool Access Pool Access yes
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Recreational Trails Recreational Trails no
  • Rec Room Rec Room yes
  • Casino Casino no
  • Fishing Fishing yes
  • Beach Beach no
  • Biking Biking ?
  • Boating Boating ?
  • Golf Golf no
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities no
  • Horseshoes Horseshoes yes
  • Mini-Golf Mini-Golf yes
  • Outdoor Courts Outdoor Courts yes
  • Pickleball Pickleball ?
  • Water Access Water Access yes

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Ask fellow campers about "Casey KOA" and nearby attractions.

Review Details

Ratings overview

66 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews' member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 21
States Visited: 15
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: October, 2018 - $42.00
Overall Rating:

We stayed at this KOA for one night while passing through. Access from I70 is convenient and close and the main consideration for us in selecting this RV park. We were travelling west bound on I70 and used Exit 129 to leave the interstate and then travel approx. 1/2 mi N to a paved rural road which takes you approx. 1/4 mi to the KOA entrance driveway (gravel). The park itself is clean and well kept with large mature trees. Check-in was easy and access to our site was easily managed thanks to our guide. The park has been in place for many years so interior roads are a bit tight. Utilities were convenient and worked fine. Satellite TV was not available at our site due to trees and judging from the size of the trees in the park it would be doubtful if satellite TV was available at any site. Cable TV and WiFi worked fine. We camped in a 42' motorhome. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby, Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 23
States Visited: 8
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: September, 2018 - $40.00
Overall Rating:

Arrived as the office people were putting out a sign closed for lunch. Seeing as I interrupted their lunch, the greeting was cold, the check-in, hurried and instructions quickly given. I was guided to my assigned site and was given hurried introduction to the hookups. In fairness it had been raining hard and the park had lots of standing water, so other than quickly hooking up electric and cable, later water during a rain break, so no use was made of any facilities. Fire ring had trash in it, roads could use some attention as they were rough. I was given a chocolate chip cookie. Cable and Wi-Fi worked well. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Site Number
26
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my motorhome
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

Nearby town of Casey has many items claimed to be "Worlds Largest"

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 37
States Visited: 20
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: August, 2018 - $39.00
Overall Rating:

This place is ok for an overnight stop which is what we did so we could visit the delightful town of Casey IL, "the little town of big things". There had been a lot of rain just before we arrived which highlighted the big need for new gravel in the campground. The mud was everywhere and was slick as ice and the roads had lots of potholes and would benefit from grading and gravel. We welcomed the yummy cookies offered by the nice folks at check-in and liked the escort to our level, water / electric, pull through site; the services worked well but the mud was a big deterrent to proper setup. We did not use the WiFi or cable; Verizon and ATT service were fine. The campground is dated but was well-kept, freshly mowed, with immaculate bathrooms and laundry room ($2 washer, $.25 per 5 minutes dryers). We tried to use the nice-looking pool, but it was locked - perhaps something related to the rain? We would stay here again if in the area. We camped at Casey KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Interior Roads
Tight Turns, Scraping Branches, Poor Conditions
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 49
States Visited: 20
Helpful Reviews: 12

Date of Stay: July, 2018 - $42.00
Overall Rating:

Nice campground with good services for an overnight stop. Due to trees, no satellite coverage. The Park Wifi coverage was good. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
40
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Featured Campgrounds Near Casey KOA

Review Count: 23
States Visited: 8
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: July, 2018 - $46.00
Overall Rating:

Stayed in this park one night en route to Michigan. KOA located in the middle of farmland near interstate. Quiet at night. Did not hear the highway noise. The brochure listed many rules about the park. One of the questions they asked while I was paying was whether we planned to unhook our toad or not. At this point we were not sure whether we were going into town or not. The pull through was barely long enough for our 27' Class C plus our toad. We would not stay here again. Also, they did have wifi, but there was a warning on the rules page stating the wifi use would be monitored. I have never had much luck using public wifi once everyone is in their campers for the night anyway so ended up using personal hotspot. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
6
Site Surface
Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my motorhome
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Not Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

We drove into Casey, IL to see the popular tourist attraction of all the large objects (rocking chair, wind chime, mail box, etc.). Fun way to blow a couple of hours.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 40
States Visited: 20
Helpful Reviews: 6

Date of Stay: July, 2018 - $43.00
Overall Rating:

Very nice stopover KOA just off I70. Grounds are well maintained, utilities all worked as they should and the staff was both friendly and helpful. Site was fairly level and there was plenty of room as the campground was only about a third full. The road in is a little bumpy coming in, but certainly adequate. The pool is nice, lake and grounds quite pretty. This is a small KOA, and very friendly. We camped at Casey KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
41
Site Surface
Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 6
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: June, 2018 - $42.00
Overall Rating:

Nice park & people! Clean showers & rest room, but the pool needs work. Algae growing on sides of the pool, all the way around, lots of bugs floating on top, checked and filter wasn't running which explains all the bugs and leaves on the top, the skimmer wasn't getting them. Peeling paint/concrete also in the pool. There will be bugs, this is surrounded by corn fields. Have stayed here twice as an overnight stop, would go back for an overnight. Go slow, gravel road in, but in excellent condition. Easy on/off I-70. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Gravel, Grass
Site Type
Pull through
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

We've stayed here twice as an overnight stop. Only two turns and about 2 miles from I-70 exit. Don't try to find in the dark! Don't believe the road through the cornfield to the campground is lit. FYI There is nothing in walking distance and limited groceries at the campground. So plan ahead. When we do an overnight, we don't usually unhook our car, and we were okay with that.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo
TJJ

Review Count: 9
States Visited: 6
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: May, 2018 - $42.00
Overall Rating:

Didn't use pool but it looked great. They offered a ice cream social and pancake breakfast. Very nice shade trees, level sites. Some sites had sewer, not ours. Interior roads tight for big rigs. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
44
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Interior Roads
Tight Turns
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: May, 2018 - $42.00
Overall Rating:

Campground was easy-on, easy-off, clean, quiet, and well maintained. The staff went above and beyond to help us with an electrical problem with our coach. Would stay there again and recommend. We stayed in a 40 Motorhomes with toad. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: May, 2018 - $41.00
Overall Rating:

This park is overpriced, overrated and unhelpful. We stayed here one night recently to visit relatives in the area. We already had reservations, but realized we were going to arrive before noon. When we called to see if there was any chance of an early check in we were told check in is 1:00 pm, no exceptions. They explained that they had to have that time to do maintenance and prepare our site. They suggested we could park our motor home at a local gas station and unhook our car to go visit our relatives. When we arrived later that afternoon we were surprised to find a nearly empty campground with overgrown grass and a long gravel entrance road that desperately needed grading. Needless to say we will stay someplace else next time. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 65
States Visited: 20
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: May, 2017 - $45.00
Overall Rating:

We have been RVing for 12 years and have logged over 120,000 miles in our coach so we have seen the good, the bad and the ugly in all of those miles. This KOA has absolutely nothing going for it except a place to park. How it received the overall rating it has is beyond me, the other reviewers must have very low expectations. We paid $45 dollars a night for a water/electric hookup! I did call and made a reservation and the person said nothing about no full hookups available. The access road to this KOA is down a dusty road and the interior roads are in poor repair with lots of muddy areas (due to recent rains.) I had to be careful where I walked the dog to keep both out of the muddy parts. Our site had a fire ring which was filled with trash. The grounds keeping was neglected, grass (weeds mostly) needed mowing and the interior roads need a bunch of maintenance. If you casually looked at this place you would swear it was abandoned. Stay here if you are desperate. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
44
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my motorhome
Campsite Features
Fire Ring
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Interior Roads
Tight Turns, Poor Conditions
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 21
States Visited: 11
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: October, 2016 - $40.00
Overall Rating:

We had lots of room for our pull thru. We opted for no sewer to save $5; we just pulled in for 1 night. It was quiet sleeping which surprised us since it is 1/4 mile from the interstate but we could not hear the traffic. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
44
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Casey KOA responded to this review

We're so glad you had such a restful night's sleep with us! Thank you for stopping by during your travels, and we hope you'll come by and see us again sometime.

Review Count: 43
States Visited: 18
Helpful Reviews: 9

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $36.00
Overall Rating:

This is a great stop and a great park. We pulled in at noon and they set us up with a site for the night. They made sure we got into our site and the hook ups were working. The owners are great people and very friendly. The free pop corn for the movie night was great. There is a free fishing lake on the grounds that do not require a license to fish. The sites are level with gravel. Even with the expressway close there is very little noise from it. We will stop here again on our way through the area. We camped at Casey KOA in a Truck Camper.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
62
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my truck camper and travel trailer (plenty of space)
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Casey KOA responded to this review

Thank you for camping with us this past summer! We are glad that you were able to enjoy your time here and appreciate your warm feedback about our sites and staff. We hope that we will have the pleasure of having you camp with us again sometime in the future.

Review Count: 16
States Visited: 9
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $45.00
Overall Rating:

The road into the C/G is very dusty. The lady in office was very friendly, then she asked the older gentleman on the mower to take me to our site and all went south from there. He expected me to turn on a dime and he got all upset when I couldn't make the corner because of a fire ring. He sat in his golf cart while I moved the fire ring. After a long hard day I really don't need this treatment. If you can't treat customers better than that it is time to sell out and retire. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Fire Ring
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Interior Roads
Tight Turns, Poor Conditions
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
3 campers found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Casey KOA responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. We have passed along your feedback to our management team and will do our best to improve for future guests.

Review Count: 138
States Visited: 33
Helpful Reviews: 45

Date of Stay: June, 2016 - $45.00
Overall Rating:

We checked in after 2pm for our 2-day stay. The female owner was cheerful and helpful. They're not really dog friendly. More like dog tolerant. The park has lots of trees and shade, and sites were fairly level, so they get a star for that. This was the 105th park we've stayed at in 2 yrs of fulltime RVing and the absolute worst one in terms of customer service.

The old man in the golf cart guided us into our site at a sharp angle instead of parallel to the pedestal. He didn't wait to check that we were okay with it, and quickly drove off. It became obvious after he left that the door to our wet bay would hit the pedestal when we opened it and we were too far from the sewer. The park was still 75% empty and no one else had driven in or out during this time so we decided to go around again to straighten our rig. Well, the old man quickly drove back and went into a ballistic rant about how we shouldn't go around without asking first. Then he drove off in a hissy fit and sent his helper to rant at us some more. As he's ranting, we detached our dolly and unhitched our car and moved the coach back into the site. He yelled at us over the sound of a diesel engine saying "you people" can't do this or that and only they can decide where to put us and we were going to get kicked out if we didn't listen.

We finally got our coach in the right place for the utilities. This was a minor problem that every campground encounters occasionally. Plenty of rigs adjust their position either to get level or to get better placement for utilities. But the ranting of the two men was way over the top and didn't help. We considered leaving but we had plans in Casey and a couple of angry men on power trips weren't going to ruin them.

The owners and employee at Casey KOA need to remember that they're in the HOSPITALITY industry. So ranting at their guest should be a last resort. Also referring to a guest as "you people" could be deemed offensive. Not staying here again. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
3
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Interior Roads
Tight Turns
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
3 campers found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Casey KOA responded to this review

We appreciate that you took the time to leave us a review. Please accept our sincere apologies for your less than perfect stay. Our goal is to provide every single guest with the best experience here at the park and it appears that we have fell short this time.Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we wish you all the best on your future travels.

Featured Campgrounds Near Casey KOA

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with Casey KOA ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;
;