7.6 Good
http://www.rvparkreviews.com/regions/illinois

Casey KOA

Casey, Illinois


1248 East 1250th Road
Casey, Illinois 62420
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 80
Recent Rate: $$$$

Add Review

Latitude: 39.32355
Longitude: -87.98894

Elevation: 662' (approx.)
Park Features
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • 55+ 55+ no
  • Kid Friendly Kid Friendly yes
  • Boondocking Boondocking no
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts yes
  • Dump Station Dump Station yes
  • Group Camping Group Camping yes
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot ?
Hookups
  • Full Hookup Full Hookup yes
  • Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP)
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • Phone Phone no
  • Water Water yes
  • Cable/Sat. TV Hookup Cable/Sat. TV Hookup yes
Connectivity
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • ATT Cellular Provider ATT
  • Verizon Cellular Provider Verizon
  • Sprint Cellular Provider Sprint
  • T-Mobile Cellular Provider T-Mobile
Amenities
  • Restrooms Restrooms yes
  • Showers Showers yes
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Pet Area Pet Area yes
  • Propane Available Propane Available yes
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar ?
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse yes
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available yes
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen no
  • Horse Camp Horse Camp no
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip no
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter yes
  • Restrooms: vault Restrooms: vault no
Recreation
  • Pool Access Pool Access yes
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Recreational Trails Recreational Trails no
  • Rec Room Rec Room yes
  • Casino Casino no
  • Fishing Fishing yes
  • Beach Beach no
  • Biking Biking ?
  • Boating Boating ?
  • Golf Golf no
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities no
  • Horseshoes Horseshoes yes
  • Mini-Golf Mini-Golf yes
  • Outdoor Courts Outdoor Courts yes
  • Pickleball Pickleball ?
  • Water Access Water Access yes

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Ask fellow campers about "Casey KOA" and nearby attractions.

Review Details

Ratings overview

39 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews' member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 23
States Visited: 8
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: September, 2018 - $40.00
Overall Rating:

Arrived as the office people were putting out a sign closed for lunch. Seeing as I interrupted their lunch, the greeting was cold, the check-in, hurried and instructions quickly given. I was guided to my assigned site and was given hurried introduction to the hookups. In fairness it had been raining hard and the park had lots of standing water, so other than quickly hooking up electric and cable, later water during a rain break, so no use was made of any facilities. Fire ring had trash in it, roads could use some attention as they were rough. I was given a chocolate chip cookie. Cable and Wi-Fi worked well. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Site Number
26
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my motorhome
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

Nearby town of Casey has many items claimed to be "Worlds Largest"

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 49
States Visited: 20
Helpful Reviews: 12

Date of Stay: July, 2018 - $42.00
Overall Rating:

Nice campground with good services for an overnight stop. Due to trees, no satellite coverage. The Park Wifi coverage was good. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
40
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 22
States Visited: 8
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: July, 2018 - $46.00
Overall Rating:

Stayed in this park one night en route to Michigan. KOA located in the middle of farmland near interstate. Quiet at night. Did not hear the highway noise. The brochure listed many rules about the park. One of the questions they asked while I was paying was whether we planned to unhook our toad or not. At this point we were not sure whether we were going into town or not. The pull through was barely long enough for our 27' Class C plus our toad. We would not stay here again. Also, they did have wifi, but there was a warning on the rules page stating the wifi use would be monitored. I have never had much luck using public wifi once everyone is in their campers for the night anyway so ended up using personal hotspot. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
6
Site Surface
Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my motorhome
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Not Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

We drove into Casey, IL to see the popular tourist attraction of all the large objects (rocking chair, wind chime, mail box, etc.). Fun way to blow a couple of hours.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 6
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: June, 2018 - $42.00
Overall Rating:

Nice park & people! Clean showers & rest room, but the pool needs work. Algae growing on sides of the pool, all the way around, lots of bugs floating on top, checked and filter wasn't running which explains all the bugs and leaves on the top, the skimmer wasn't getting them. Peeling paint/concrete also in the pool. There will be bugs, this is surrounded by corn fields. Have stayed here twice as an overnight stop, would go back for an overnight. Go slow, gravel road in, but in excellent condition. Easy on/off I-70. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Gravel, Grass
Site Type
Pull through
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

We've stayed here twice as an overnight stop. Only two turns and about 2 miles from I-70 exit. Don't try to find in the dark! Don't believe the road through the cornfield to the campground is lit. FYI There is nothing in walking distance and limited groceries at the campground. So plan ahead. When we do an overnight, we don't usually unhook our car, and we were okay with that.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Featured Campgrounds Near Casey KOA

TJJ

Review Count: 9
States Visited: 6
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: May, 2018 - $42.00
Overall Rating:

Didn't use pool but it looked great. They offered a ice cream social and pancake breakfast. Very nice shade trees, level sites. Some sites had sewer, not ours. Interior roads tight for big rigs. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
44
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Interior Roads
Tight Turns
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: May, 2018 - $42.00
Overall Rating:

Campground was easy-on, easy-off, clean, quiet, and well maintained. The staff went above and beyond to help us with an electrical problem with our coach. Would stay there again and recommend. We stayed in a 40 Motorhomes with toad. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: May, 2018 - $41.00
Overall Rating:

This park is overpriced, overrated and unhelpful. We stayed here one night recently to visit relatives in the area. We already had reservations, but realized we were going to arrive before noon. When we called to see if there was any chance of an early check in we were told check in is 1:00 pm, no exceptions. They explained that they had to have that time to do maintenance and prepare our site. They suggested we could park our motor home at a local gas station and unhook our car to go visit our relatives. When we arrived later that afternoon we were surprised to find a nearly empty campground with overgrown grass and a long gravel entrance road that desperately needed grading. Needless to say we will stay someplace else next time. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 65
States Visited: 20
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: May, 2017 - $45.00
Overall Rating:

We have been RVing for 12 years and have logged over 120,000 miles in our coach so we have seen the good, the bad and the ugly in all of those miles. This KOA has absolutely nothing going for it except a place to park. How it received the overall rating it has is beyond me, the other reviewers must have very low expectations. We paid $45 dollars a night for a water/electric hookup! I did call and made a reservation and the person said nothing about no full hookups available. The access road to this KOA is down a dusty road and the interior roads are in poor repair with lots of muddy areas (due to recent rains.) I had to be careful where I walked the dog to keep both out of the muddy parts. Our site had a fire ring which was filled with trash. The grounds keeping was neglected, grass (weeds mostly) needed mowing and the interior roads need a bunch of maintenance. If you casually looked at this place you would swear it was abandoned. Stay here if you are desperate. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
44
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my motorhome
Campsite Features
Fire Ring
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Interior Roads
Tight Turns, Poor Conditions
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 21
States Visited: 11
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: October, 2016 - $40.00
Overall Rating:

We had lots of room for our pull thru. We opted for no sewer to save $5; we just pulled in for 1 night. It was quiet sleeping which surprised us since it is 1/4 mile from the interstate but we could not hear the traffic. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
44
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Casey KOA responded to this review

We're so glad you had such a restful night's sleep with us! Thank you for stopping by during your travels, and we hope you'll come by and see us again sometime.

Review Count: 16
States Visited: 9
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $45.00
Overall Rating:

The road into the C/G is very dusty. The lady in office was very friendly, then she asked the older gentleman on the mower to take me to our site and all went south from there. He expected me to turn on a dime and he got all upset when I couldn't make the corner because of a fire ring. He sat in his golf cart while I moved the fire ring. After a long hard day I really don't need this treatment. If you can't treat customers better than that it is time to sell out and retire. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Fire Ring
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Interior Roads
Tight Turns, Poor Conditions
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
3 campers found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Casey KOA responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. We have passed along your feedback to our management team and will do our best to improve for future guests.

Review Count: 138
States Visited: 33
Helpful Reviews: 44

Date of Stay: June, 2016 - $45.00
Overall Rating:

We checked in after 2pm for our 2-day stay. The female owner was cheerful and helpful. They're not really dog friendly. More like dog tolerant. The park has lots of trees and shade, and sites were fairly level, so they get a star for that. This was the 105th park we've stayed at in 2 yrs of fulltime RVing and the absolute worst one in terms of customer service.

The old man in the golf cart guided us into our site at a sharp angle instead of parallel to the pedestal. He didn't wait to check that we were okay with it, and quickly drove off. It became obvious after he left that the door to our wet bay would hit the pedestal when we opened it and we were too far from the sewer. The park was still 75% empty and no one else had driven in or out during this time so we decided to go around again to straighten our rig. Well, the old man quickly drove back and went into a ballistic rant about how we shouldn't go around without asking first. Then he drove off in a hissy fit and sent his helper to rant at us some more. As he's ranting, we detached our dolly and unhitched our car and moved the coach back into the site. He yelled at us over the sound of a diesel engine saying "you people" can't do this or that and only they can decide where to put us and we were going to get kicked out if we didn't listen.

We finally got our coach in the right place for the utilities. This was a minor problem that every campground encounters occasionally. Plenty of rigs adjust their position either to get level or to get better placement for utilities. But the ranting of the two men was way over the top and didn't help. We considered leaving but we had plans in Casey and a couple of angry men on power trips weren't going to ruin them.

The owners and employee at Casey KOA need to remember that they're in the HOSPITALITY industry. So ranting at their guest should be a last resort. Also referring to a guest as "you people" could be deemed offensive. Not staying here again. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
3
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Interior Roads
Tight Turns
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
3 campers found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Casey KOA responded to this review

We appreciate that you took the time to leave us a review. Please accept our sincere apologies for your less than perfect stay. Our goal is to provide every single guest with the best experience here at the park and it appears that we have fell short this time.Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we wish you all the best on your future travels.

Review Count: 869
States Visited: 27
Helpful Reviews: 97

Date of Stay: June, 2016 - $40.00
Overall Rating:

Due to a reservation screw up at a park near Springfield, we ended up here for the first time since last millennium. We had a full hookup, pull-through site with 25 channel cable TV and Internet that worked for our needs (e-mail and surfing). The park is heavily treed so I would not bet on getting a satellite TV friendly site. There were only about a dozen other RVs in the park the night we were here. Only 21 of the sites are full hookup with the other 42 being W&E. The sites are about 50/50 between pull-through and back-in. The RV pads are a combination of gravel, dirt, and grass. Site size was OK for us. I would advise calling ahead during the summer season if you want a full hookup site. We got here after some heavy rains and a lot of the park's interior gravel roads were impassable on foot. The owner told me that their ground is mostly clay and does not absorb water well. Although we were there post Memorial Day, was too cool to use the pool. There is are also a playground, a volleyball court, a basketball hoop, mini-golf, horseshoe pits, a rec hall, and a small fishing/boating lake. The main building houses the office, a typical KOA store, small laundry, and the bathroom facilities. All these are older but clean and functional. There are several dog walking areas. They also sell propane, have a dump station, and have a small RV repair shop on the property. Limited breakfast items are served on Saturday and Sunday mornings during the summer. The owners live on site and were friendly and helpful. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Casey KOA responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us, and for taking the time to leave such a detailed review that will definitely help other guests in the future. We do hope that if you are ever back in the area again that you will come back. We wish you all the best.

Review Count: 22
States Visited: 11
Helpful Reviews: 11

Date of Stay: July, 2015 - $49.00
Overall Rating:

Quick access from I-70 at exit 129.

Easy online reservation process - even for same day check in. They also have after hours check in outside the office. As with all KOA's this one is pricey at $49/night. Friendly, helpful check in host. Another staff member led us to our space, which given that we were in site 1 right next to the office was quite unnecessary but fine. We were given a KOA re-usable tote bag and 2 chocolate chip cookies at check in.

They have a small store that is very well stocked. There is an on site RV repair shop so they stock many rv parts in the store as well. My hubby found a fuse that he couldn't find it Walmart recently.

Roads are hard packed dirt, gravel and grass. It was dry during our visit but we could see ruts in many areas so it probably gets muddy with heavy rains.

Although near the interstate, road noise was not bad.

They have a dog walk area and quite a few signs restricting pets from other areas in the cg.

Large laundry room with 4 washers and 2 very large dryers. Pricing was steep $2/washer and .25/5 minutes to dry.

Clean restroom with 4 toilet stall and 3 shower stalls that had benches and hooks for hanging your belongings. Well-kept but dated.

Many Amenities: Nice large pool that is up to 9' deep. Pool is only open till dusk. A small lake with a ramshackle dock that you can fish from. They rent small john boats that you could paddle around in too. Game room with pool, ping pong and some old video arcade games. 2 horseshoe pits. A 9 hole mini golf course.

They also have 3 cabins for rent that looked very cute from the outside w/ porch swings and grills at each one. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
1
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt, Grass
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tips for other Campers:

Just across the interstate from the World's Largest Wind Chime and the World's Largest Golf Tee. We could not hear the chime from the cg, which we were glad about.

The cg is bordered by a corn field on 1 side. Some of the sites were right up next to it. During our stay the corn was 6 or 7 feet high. Something to be aware of if you are freaked out by Steven King's Children of the Corn!

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 16
States Visited: 10
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: July, 2015 - $36.00
Overall Rating:

Good location close to I-70 but far enough away for minimal road noise. Gravel roads with grass sites. Lots of shade and good wifi. We would stay again. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 4
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: June, 2015 - $36.00
Overall Rating:

We experienced a mechanical problem along our route and we weren't going to make it to our reservation in Indiana. The lady who answered the phone was very friendly and assured us they could accommodate our 44' 50 amp rig. When we arrived (somewhat frazzled) they greeted us warmly and escorted us to a pull-thru gravel/grassy spot. The next morning we enjoyed the park's all-you-can-eat pancake/sausage breakfast - attended by several other campers. The owners are very friendly people and create a welcoming environment. We would definitely stay with them if traveling this route again. We camped at Casey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Gravel, Grass

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Featured Campgrounds Near Casey KOA

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with Casey KOA ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;
;