7.5 Good
     
Mount Vernon, Kentucky

Renfro Valley KOA

Mount Vernon, Kentucky


184 Koa Campground Rd
Renfro Valley, Kentucky 40456
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 122
Recent Rate: $$$$

Add Review

Latitude: 37.395493772365
Longitude: -84.333415031433

Elevation: 1007' (approximate)
Campground Overview
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • Restrooms (Plumbed) Restrooms (Plumbed) yes
  • Pit Toilets Pit Toilets ?
  • Showers Showers yes
  • $0.00 Shower Fee Shower Fee 0.00
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • $0.00 Laundry Fee Laundry Fee 0.00
  • Dump Station Dump Station yes
  • $0.00 Dump Station Fee Dump Station Fee 0.00
  • Propane Available Propane Available yes
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available yes
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts yes
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter yes
  • RV Wash RV Wash no
  • $0.00 RV Wash Fee RV Wash Fee 0.00
  • Corral Corral ?
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip ?
  • Overflow Parking Overflow Parking ?
Hookups & Connectivity
  • Electric (30 AMP) Electric (30 AMP) yes
  • Electric (50 AMP) Electric (50 AMP) yes
  • Water Water yes
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • Free WiFi Free WiFi yes
  • Cellular Phone Service Cellular Phone Service yes
  • Verizon Cellular Phone Providers Cellular Phone Providers Verizon
  • Cable or Satellite TV Hookup Cable or Satellite TV Hookup yes
  • Phone Phone no
  • Central Modem Central Modem no
Amenities
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • 0 Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) 0
  • Pool Access Pool Access yes
  • Family Friendly Family Friendly yes
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Pet Area Pet Area yes
  • Waterfront Waterfront no
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse ?
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar ?
  • Business Center Business Center ?
  • Group Camping Group Camping ?
  • Meeting Rooms Meeting Rooms ?
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen ?
  • Banquet Facilities Banquet Facilities ?
  • Concierge Services Concierge Services ?
Recreation
  • Walking Trail(s) Walking Trail(s) ?
  • Recreation Room Recreation Room ?
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities ?
  • Beach Access Beach Access ?
  • Boat Ramp Boat Ramp ?
  • Marina Marina ?
  • Boat Rentals Boat Rentals ?
  • Fishing Fishing ?
  • Golfing Golfing ?
  • Bike Path(s) Bike Path(s) ?
  • Bike Rentals Bike Rentals yes
  • Hiking Hiking ?
  • Spa Spa ?
  • Horseshoe Pit Horseshoe Pit yes
  • Volley Ball Volley Ball yes
  • Sports Field Sports Field ?
  • Arcade Games Arcade Games ?
  • Live Entertainment Live Entertainment ?
  • Amphitheatre Amphitheatre ?
  • Putt Putt Mini-Golf Putt Putt Mini-Golf yes
  • Billiards Billiards ?
  • Ping Pong Ping Pong ?
  • Lake Lake ?
  • Pond Pond ?
  • River River ?
  • Creek Creek ?
  • Ocean Ocean ?
  • Water Park Water Park ?
  • Casino Casino ?

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Ask a Question About Renfro Valley KOA

Review Details

Ratings overview

50 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews' member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 129
States Visited: 27
Helpful Reviews: 15

Date of Stay: July, 2017 - $15.00
Overall Rating:      

This was an overnight stop on way from northern OH to AL. We stopped here 6 years ago, and conditions have not changed; it is old, little used, and seeming to go down hill as an entertainment center. Talked to one gentleman who has been coming for years and he decried the slow decline. However, the older section (with a bathhouse and only 30 amp service) was fine. Sites were close but since few folks in, not a problem. Our site, though dirt, was amazingly level, WiFi worked well, and they had loads of free cable channels. Unlike last time, the gentleman checking me in gave he a cable guide, password for WiFi, and a map. Restrooms were clean and showers clean. Place needs TLC in places, but saw several groups enjoying their visit, sitting out after dinner and all were very pleasant and friendly. Clearly a good spot for an overnight on a trip, but unless you want to be there on the weekend for a concert (and the Passport America rate is not available then), it's not a destination location. We camped at Renfro Valley KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Site Number
48
Site Surface
Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

When approaching from I-75, pull in to buildings by motel on LEFT of road first, get your site, and THEN go to campground. Be sure and ask for cable guide and password for WiFi.

1 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 18
States Visited: 9
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: June, 2017 - $45.00
Overall Rating:      

This was an overnight stop for us on are way to Cincinnati, we have stayed here before. The campground is easy off and back on I75. We requested a pull-thru so we didn't have to disconnect our Toad. The PT was long enough for our 35 ft MH and car. Site was reasonably level. PT sites are opposing, so your picnic table and your neighbor's may be right next to each other We were in site 40, Water, Sewer and 50 amp (voltage was 117-122) all worked well. Cable did not work, WiFi was better than most campgrounds these days and our AT&T cells had 4 bars. Our site was paved, inner roads were stone. Big trees prevented our satellite to connect. Being just an overnight for us we didn't attend their movie night, but did stop by the 'Barn' for their $5.00 Saturday breakfast, which was great. The staff was very friendly. We'll stay here again when in the area. We camped at Renfro Valley KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Site Number
40
Site Surface
Asphalt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

Entrance and exit campground roads narrow and go up hill (in) and down hill (exiting). I had no problems with our 35 ft MH with toad attached

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: May, 2017 - $47.00
Overall Rating:      

Nice clean campground that you would expect from KOA. Site was level pull through but very tight with FHU & 50 amp. Restrooms/Showers very neat and clean. Campground has lots to do for the whole family. Very easy off/on I-75 We camped at Renfro Valley KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 11
States Visited: 7
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: May, 2017 - $32.00
Overall Rating:      

Easy exit from I-75. There seemed to be some long term campers here, but NOT permanent residents. We arrived late but our paper work was waiting for us. Though we didn't use it there was a covered outdoor kitchen with sinks and stoves. What a great idea. The campground is on the side of the hill and many of the sites are not level. We camped at Renfro Valley KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel, Grass
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

Renfro Valley is a popular bluegrass/country music venue. Campgrounds in the area will be full during the performance times. We would stay here again during off seasons but never when the campground might be fuller as the sites are too close together for our comfort.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 13
States Visited: 8
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: March, 2017 - $43.00
Overall Rating:      

This is a nice park with shaded pull thru sites. The attendants were very nice and helpful. I am not a big fan of KOA and so not a member and therefore no discount but this park provided full hook up with cable for $43 which seemed reasonable. We camped at Renfro Valley KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
14
Site Surface
Asphalt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 30
States Visited: 19
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: October, 2016 - $43.00
Overall Rating:      

The entrance and exit roads are a bit steep but doable. The roads could be wider. Not much swing room to get out of site.

Office staff friendly and quick check-in. We camped at Renfro Valley KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
116
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

We didn't find much to do in the area. No large grocery stores.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Renfro Valley KOA responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and we're glad you made it in and our of our park safely! We are also happy our staff was able to impress you with their friendly service. We appreciate the review, and hope to see you again sometime.

Review Count: 73
States Visited: 25
Helpful Reviews: 7

Date of Stay: September, 2016 - $45.00
Overall Rating:      

We had a nice big site with nobody else close. Utilities worked well. Wifi poor. Unfortunately, this KOA is like too many that are showing their age - many sites too small and not level. Steep climb to get in, but fortunately it was one-way. Nice playground for kids. We camped at Renfro Valley KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Renfro Valley KOA responded to this review

Thank you for camping with us this past fall, 'padre'! We are glad that you enjoyed your site during your stay. We are always open to suggestions on ways to improve our park and do appreciate your feedback. We hope that you give us another opportunity to impress and wish you all the best.

Review Count: 82
States Visited: 30
Helpful Reviews: 18

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $44.00
Overall Rating:      

The park was pretty nice, and even though the pool was fairly small, it was clean and nice. There was a Christmas in July event with Mr. And Mrs. Santa and make your own sundaes for $1. The road into the campground is a little steep, but not too bad. Our site was uneven, but still okay. We would stay there again. We camped at Renfro Valley KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my 5th wheel (had to disconnect)
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Renfro Valley KOA responded to this review

Thank you for camping with us during our fun Christmas in July event, Ginny! We are glad you enjoyed our Christmas-themed activities, as well as our grounds and pool. We appreciate the kind review, and look forward to having you back sometime.

Review Count: 9
States Visited: 8
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: April, 2016 - $43.00
Overall Rating:      

I was apprehensive about choosing this park after reading some of the reviews. However, I was very pleasantly surprised. We did not hear any highway noise either inside or outside the coach. While the entry and exit roads are a bit steep, I had no problem entering or leaving the campground. Our rig is a 41-foot motor home, and we unhooked the toad after entering our pull-thru site. The site was level so that my automatic leveling system worked fine. I do not agree that big rigs should avoid this campground.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The manager stood by and watched my dish antenna search for satellites. He said that we could move if I could not receive a signal. However, there was no problem, and our site was indeed satellite friendly as I had requested. He also delivered our forwarded mail to our site. I had forgotten that I had mail forwarded here, and may have left without it if he had not brought it to me.

I am giving the campground an overall rating of 8. My rating would be 9 if I had been able to use the Wi-Fi. Although, I believer that the campground was more than ½ empty, I had to use my Verizon Wi-Fi the entire time. We stayed here for 3 days, and would definitely stay again if we were in the area. We camped at Renfro Valley KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Asphalt
Campsite Features
Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
1 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Renfro Valley KOA responded to this review

Thank you for your kind, detailed review Carl! We are so glad that you chose us, and had a wonderful stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Review Count: 127
States Visited: 33
Helpful Reviews: 16

Date of Stay: March, 2016 - $41.00
Overall Rating:      

Got in late due to leaving repair facility late in Indiana. Road into park is up hill, swerving and very narrow with no shoulders and broken asphalt! Getting into the site was very difficult even though it was 70' long - very tight corners. Very narrow sites. Concrete pads that are broken and had pot holes. A few trees placed in the way. Not recommended for large rigs towing unless you unhook. Park in need of TLC. Would not stay here again. We camped at Renfro Valley KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
16
Site Surface
Concrete

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 33
States Visited: 9
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: October, 2015 - $41.00
Overall Rating:      

After climbing the approximate 400 ft high goat hill to get to the actual campground, everything was relatively level. Our site was level. Verizon 4G was 3 out 5 bars. Over the air TV was sparse but free cable was provided. Of course you had to descend the goat hill when leaving. We camped at Renfro Valley KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
92
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 16
States Visited: 8
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: October, 2015 - $46.00
Overall Rating:      

Semis with jake (engine) brakes on the hill oh so close to the park simply ruined my stay here. They are so loud! The park is OK, sites are very close together, bath is clean, but a bit chilly. Pretty hard to get in up the steep hill and pretty hard to negotiate the turns once in. Pull through sites leave your connections more than 20 feet away if you are towing. We camped at Renfro Valley KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Dirt
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 14
States Visited: 11
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: June, 2015 - $40.00
Overall Rating:      

No big rigs should use this KOA. The roads in and out are too steep. The sites are not level and to narrow. There is no water pressure. Not up to KOA standards. Small campers might be OK if very careful using exit road. We camped at Renfro Valley KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
Pull through
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 8
States Visited: 6
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: March, 2015 - $38.00
Overall Rating:      

Typical KOA, staff was very friendly. Was only here one night. One thing people need to know is about the entrance road and exit road. Google maps misrepresent the entrance and exit when viewed from aerial or street view. This campground is not at road level. You will have to go up a steep road to get to the entrance. Luckily this is a one way road. The exit road in our opinion was worse. We were told it was a two way road, we disagree. We camped at Renfro Valley KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Clean Showers

Site Details

Campsite
     
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 6
States Visited: 6
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: June, 2014 - $50.00
Overall Rating:      

Very nice staff, Water Pressure terrible!! Cable was just fuzzy was awful. WIFI was extremely slow kept shutting down on me very hard to work. Nice level premium site. Not worth the money. If these issues were corrected it would have been a great stay. We could not even get water to do dishes it was only a trickle and extremely difficult to take a shower I called the office and a nice guy came to site and said he did something to make it better. He finally got a little more pressure but not great. We camped at Renfro Valley KOA in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with Renfro Valley KOA ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;