We made last-minute reservations to stay here over 4th of July weekend, and they were very accommodating and helpful in finding us a spot for our tent camper. The only "bad" thing that I can say about Balsam Cove CG is that when the power goes out, as it did when we were there, the toilets won't flush; the toilets backed up and they were slow to respond to the problem. Other than that, they do a good job, and Toddy Pond is a beautiful lake! Definitely a good Maine campground! - gardenbug
Nice campground with large level grass and gravel sites and good utilities. The pull-through sites do not have shade but this made it easy to acquire a satellite signal, they do not have cable. The Wi-Fi worked OK but was slow at times and our Verizon signal would drop out at times. The dirt road into the campground is a little tight but not a big problem. They have a huge bonfire at the pond on Saturday nights and activities sometimes during the weekend. The young lady at the office was very nice and helpful. Tip: site 75 has a large cement pad, the only one in the campground. We would stay here again. - dandg
Went camping there with our daughter's family. We had a great time. Our trailer was parked across the road from the lake. Very family oriented campground with hayrides and bonfires if you like, plus other activities. We had full hookups so I can't say much about the restrooms. My husband showered there and said the showers were fantastic and restrooms were clean. This is one we'll go back to. - SharonW.
East Orland, Maine
Sites: 50 | Latest Rate: $25.00 |
I don't remember how much per night. I do know the sites, although very close together were pleasant, as were the camp owners. - Patunia
This campground is no longer in operation - Trucker Lady
This review is pretty useless at this point, because the owners are retiring after this season, which is almost already over. The campground is quaint and rustic, the grounds very clean and the owners pleasant enough. The campground sits on a lake (Toddy Pond) and the owners have some small canoes and a rowboat that you can use for free (no oars for the rowboat, though, and only one canoe paddle). If you bring your own boat you will need a special sticker from the town of Orland ($20), and the fishing licenses are expensive for out-of-towners. The location is convenient, about 50 minutes from Bangor and Bar Harbor/Acadia National Park, only a few miles to Bucksport, and about 15 minutes from Fort Knox and the Penobscot Bridge Observatory. We rode our motorcycle up Coastal Route 1 from here for a nice day trip including Machias and the lighthouse at Lubec, with many more sites to see along the way. Detracting from the campground is its proximity to Route 1 and the constant drone of traffic, no WiFi or CATV if you care about such things, and worst of all only 20 amp service, meaning no running of air conditioners in RVs. Maybe that's not normally a big deal in Maine, but we happened to visit when the temperatures set records for heat, making for some very uncomfortable nights. Also, the owner commented about me walking around with an open bottle of beer, mumbling something about state laws. I didn't know state laws applied to private property. The owners sell firewood, but no other camping supplies at all. Not even ice, although I was offered a handful for free. We don't have kids going with us, so it's hard for us to judge, but there seems to be absolutely nothing for kids to do, so I would think this is not a family oriented campground. In fact, most of the campers were older couples. They do allow dogs, however, even though we were yelled at for our dogs barking during one of our daily excursions (in noisy campgrounds with closely spaced sites such as this one we normally leave all our windows closed with the AC running so our dogs are isolated, but again, only 20amp service. Our dogs don't bark unless provoked and we returned to find people on our site.) In all of the years camping with our dogs, this is the FIRST time we ever had a problem. Several days there was a pronounced sewer smell in our fresh water, even though we always run our water through 2 filters. And finally, they only accept cash or checks, if that matters to you. So, the location was pretty good, the price was reasonable, even without Internet or cable, BUT not being able to use our AC was a deal breaker for us. We would not return (if they were to still exist after this season) unless they made some MAJOR upgrades. - gmanfan1966