East Orland, Maine

Whispering Pines Campground

East Orland, Maine



East Orland, Maine
Phone:

Sites: 50
Recent Rate: $25 7/2012

Add Your Review

Campground Overview
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access no
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping no
  • Restrooms (Plumbed) Restrooms (Plumbed) ?
  • Pit Toilets Pit Toilets ?
  • Showers Showers ?
  • $0.00 Shower Fee Shower Fee 0.00
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities ?
  • $0.00 Laundry Fee Laundry Fee 0.00
  • Dump Station Dump Station ?
  • $0.00 Dump Station Fee Dump Station Fee 0.00
  • Propane Available Propane Available ?
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available ?
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts ?
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot ?
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter ?
  • RV Wash RV Wash ?
  • $0.00 RV Wash Fee RV Wash Fee 0.00
  • Corral Corral ?
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip ?
  • Overflow Parking Overflow Parking ?
Hookups & Connectivity
  • Electric (30 AMP) Electric (30 AMP) yes
  • Electric (50 AMP) Electric (50 AMP) no
  • Water Water yes
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • $0.00 WiFi Fee WiFi Fee 0.00
  • Cellular Phone Service Cellular Phone Service ?
  • Cellular Phone Providers Cellular Phone Providers
  • Cable or Satellite TV Hookup Cable or Satellite TV Hookup no
  • Phone Phone no
  • Central Modem Central Modem no
Amenities
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed no
  • 0 Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) 0
  • Pool Access Pool Access no
  • Family Friendly Family Friendly no
  • Playground Playground ?
  • Pet Area Pet Area ?
  • Waterfront Waterfront no
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse ?
  • Camp Store Camp Store ?
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar ?
  • Business Center Business Center ?
  • Group Camping Group Camping ?
  • Meeting Rooms Meeting Rooms ?
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen ?
  • Banquet Facilities Banquet Facilities ?
  • Concierge Services Concierge Services ?
Recreation
  • Walking Trail(s) Walking Trail(s) ?
  • Recreation Room Recreation Room ?
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities ?
  • Beach Access Beach Access ?
  • Boat Ramp Boat Ramp ?
  • Marina Marina ?
  • Boat Rentals Boat Rentals ?
  • Fishing Fishing ?
  • Golfing Golfing ?
  • Bike Path(s) Bike Path(s) ?
  • Bike Rentals Bike Rentals ?
  • Hiking Hiking ?
  • Spa Spa ?
  • Horseshoe Pit Horseshoe Pit ?
  • Volley Ball Volley Ball ?
  • Sports Field Sports Field ?
  • Arcade Games Arcade Games ?
  • Live Entertainment Live Entertainment ?
  • Amphitheatre Amphitheatre ?
  • Putt Putt Mini-Golf Putt Putt Mini-Golf ?
  • Billiards Billiards ?
  • Ping Pong Ping Pong ?
  • Lake Lake ?
  • Pond Pond ?
  • River River ?
  • Creek Creek ?
  • Ocean Ocean ?
  • Water Park Water Park ?
  • Casino Casino ?

Review Details

Ratings overview

4 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Patunia

Review Count: 3
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2012 - $25.00
Overall Rating:      

I don't remember how much per night. I do know the sites, although very close together were pleasant, as were the camp owners. We camped at Whispering Pines Campground in a Travel Trailer.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Trucker Lady

Review Count: 3
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: May, 2012 - $1.00
Overall Rating:      

This campground is no longer in operation We camped at Whispering Pines Campground in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

gmanfan1966

Review Count: 10
States Visited: 8
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2010 - $45.00
Overall Rating:      

This review is pretty useless at this point, because the owners are retiring after this season, which is almost already over. The campground is quaint and rustic, the grounds very clean and the owners pleasant enough. The campground sits on a lake (Toddy Pond) and the owners have some small canoes and a rowboat that you can use for free (no oars for the rowboat, though, and only one canoe paddle). If you bring your own boat you will need a special sticker from the town of Orland ($20), and the fishing licenses are expensive for out-of-towners. The location is convenient, about 50 minutes from Bangor and Bar Harbor/Acadia National Park, only a few miles to Bucksport, and about 15 minutes from Fort Knox and the Penobscot Bridge Observatory. We rode our motorcycle up Coastal Route 1 from here for a nice day trip including Machias and the lighthouse at Lubec, with many more sites to see along the way. Detracting from the campground is its proximity to Route 1 and the constant drone of traffic, no WiFi or CATV if you care about such things, and worst of all only 20 amp service, meaning no running of air conditioners in RVs. Maybe that's not normally a big deal in Maine, but we happened to visit when the temperatures set records for heat, making for some very uncomfortable nights. Also, the owner commented about me walking around with an open bottle of beer, mumbling something about state laws. I didn't know state laws applied to private property. The owners sell firewood, but no other camping supplies at all. Not even ice, although I was offered a handful for free. We don't have kids going with us, so it's hard for us to judge, but there seems to be absolutely nothing for kids to do, so I would think this is not a family oriented campground. In fact, most of the campers were older couples. They do allow dogs, however, even though we were yelled at for our dogs barking during one of our daily excursions (in noisy campgrounds with closely spaced sites such as this one we normally leave all our windows closed with the AC running so our dogs are isolated, but again, only 20amp service. Our dogs don't bark unless provoked and we returned to find people on our site.) In all of the years camping with our dogs, this is the FIRST time we ever had a problem. Several days there was a pronounced sewer smell in our fresh water, even though we always run our water through 2 filters. And finally, they only accept cash or checks, if that matters to you. So, the location was pretty good, the price was reasonable, even without Internet or cable, BUT not being able to use our AC was a deal breaker for us. We would not return (if they were to still exist after this season) unless they made some MAJOR upgrades. We camped at Whispering Pines Campground in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

burt

Review Count: 26
States Visited: 13
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2007 - $27.00
Overall Rating:      

Nice owners but they charge extra for everything including electric. Loyal clientele We camped at Whispering Pines Campground in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

     

Shamrock RV Park

3 Ratings
Biddeford, Maine

     

Shady Acres RV Park

1 Ratings
Carmel, Maine

     

Cobscook Bay State Park

4 Ratings
Dennysville, Maine

Are you affiliated with Whispering Pines Campground?

Pre-Register below to access free and enhanced features coming in the near future.

PLANNED ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


More Information about our Campground Owner Management and its enhancements are coming very soon. Features subject to change.