6.7 Good
     
Millinocket, Maine

Wilderness Edge Campground

Millinocket, Maine


71 Millinocket Lake Rd
Millinocket, Maine 04462
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 102
Recent Rate: $$$$

Office Hours:

Seasonal Hours: May 12th - October 15th

Monday: 5:00am - 12:00am
Tuesday: 5:00am - 12:00am
Wednesday: 5:00am - 12:00am
Thursday: 5:00am - 12:00am
Friday: 5:00am - 12:00am
Saturday: 5:00am - 12:00am
Sunday: 5:00am - 12:00am

Hours above shown for Eastern Time Zone

Add Review

Latitude: 45.675284156249
Longitude: -68.723527722382
Campground Overview
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • Restrooms (Plumbed) Restrooms (Plumbed) yes
  • Pit Toilets Pit Toilets no
  • Showers Showers yes
  • $0.00 Shower Fee Shower Fee 0.00
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • $0.00 Laundry Fee Laundry Fee 0.00
  • Dump Station Dump Station yes
  • $0.00 Dump Station Fee Dump Station Fee 0.00
  • Propane Available Propane Available no
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available yes
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts yes
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter yes
  • RV Wash RV Wash no
  • $0.00 RV Wash Fee RV Wash Fee 0.00
  • Corral Corral no
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip no
  • Overflow Parking Overflow Parking yes
Hookups & Connectivity
  • Electric (30 AMP) Electric (30 AMP) yes
  • Electric (50 AMP) Electric (50 AMP) yes
  • Water Water yes
  • Sewer Sewer no
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • Free WiFi Free WiFi ?
  • Cellular Phone Service Cellular Phone Service yes
  • ATT, Verizon Cellular Phone Providers Cellular Phone Providers ATT,Verizon
  • Cable or Satellite TV Hookup Cable or Satellite TV Hookup no
  • Phone Phone no
  • Central Modem Central Modem no
Amenities
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • 0 Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) 0
  • Pool Access Pool Access yes
  • Family Friendly Family Friendly yes
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Pet Area Pet Area ?
  • Waterfront Waterfront no
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse no
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar no
  • Business Center Business Center no
  • Group Camping Group Camping yes
  • Meeting Rooms Meeting Rooms no
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen no
  • Banquet Facilities Banquet Facilities no
  • Concierge Services Concierge Services no
Recreation
  • Walking Trail(s) Walking Trail(s) yes
  • Recreation Room Recreation Room no
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities no
  • Beach Access Beach Access no
  • Boat Ramp Boat Ramp no
  • Marina Marina no
  • Boat Rentals Boat Rentals no
  • Fishing Fishing no
  • Golfing Golfing no
  • Bike Path(s) Bike Path(s) no
  • Bike Rentals Bike Rentals no
  • Hiking Hiking yes
  • Spa Spa no
  • Horseshoe Pit Horseshoe Pit yes
  • Volley Ball Volley Ball no
  • Sports Field Sports Field yes
  • Arcade Games Arcade Games ?
  • Live Entertainment Live Entertainment ?
  • Amphitheatre Amphitheatre no
  • Putt Putt Mini-Golf Putt Putt Mini-Golf no
  • Billiards Billiards no
  • Ping Pong Ping Pong no
  • Lake Lake no
  • Pond Pond no
  • River River no
  • Creek Creek no
  • Ocean Ocean no
  • Water Park Water Park no
  • Casino Casino no

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Ask a Question About Wilderness Edge Campground

Review Details

Ratings overview

9 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews' member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: September, 2017 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

First, let me say, that when we arrived our original site had been changed without any notification. Second, we were nicely placed NEXT to a broken dump station and a four way road that tended to be busy quite a lot. Our site reminded me of an overflow camp site. So much for any privacy or being set back off the road. We were very lucky to listen to class A motor homes and UTV traffic most of the evening while they tried to be placed into sites that they were too big for. It was like stuffing 10 lbs of stuff into a 5 lb bag. Very comical. Third, on Sunday, while my husband was hiking at BSP and I stayed back at the site, I was fortunate enough to listen to a dual wheeled diesel pick up truck back up and pull forward ALL day long (because he didn't know how to drive the thing!) while he tried to remove stuff from the broken dump station into a loud sounding contraption on a trailer. This went on all day on Sunday of a long holiday weekend! Being way up north in Maine you can't find any music stations (which is fine unless you are listening to a dually truck and some kind of poop sucking contraption!) Needless to say, I was in tears when my husband arrived back from his hike. I didn't find this campground friendly at all, after signing in no one said hi to us all weekend or stopped by to make sure we were comfortable. They also told us we could dump at the Chamber of Commerce down the road and that they accepted donations but wasn't necessary. In my opinion THEY should be making a contribution to the Chamber, not us. And the WiFi was not good either. When I called for the code, I was informed it was posted in the bathroom. NOT ALL of us used their facilities so I wouldn't have known. From reading previous reviews this dump station issue is a continuous problem here. Only good quality that we could find was that the bathrooms were very clean according to my husband. We camped at Wilderness Edge Campground in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
1
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 3
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2017 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

Good jumping off stay for Baxter State Park, entrance only a few miles down the road. Also good place to get onto the golden road. No sewer hookup at our site or 50 amp. But the 30 amp ran everything we needed including the AC. Great wifi at our site, but Att cell service was almost nonexistent, not the campgrounds fault. The owners that live onsite were extremely friendly and very helpful. Bathrooms and showers were very clean. We were very happy with our stay and if in the area will stay there again. Sites were extremely large. Only a handful for big rigs, but all sites were very private. We camped at Wilderness Edge Campground in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
29
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt, Grass
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 18
States Visited: 14
Helpful Reviews: 10

Date of Stay: August, 2017 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

We are 37' and have a super duty truck. Made reservations months ago. Wound up in a site we barely fit in. The site was beautiful once we got in but the end cap rubbed on the side rails of the truck due to grade of site entrance. Roads are dirt and rock and are extremely bumpy. The sites are wooded with a nice site park feel. One washer and one dryer but they were nice. It's about a 30 min drive to Baxter State park entrance. Not sure but think that's as close as you can get with electric and water hookups at a camp site. With a few minor improvements this park would be great. To camp here you should love the woods and outdoors. This is not "City" camping. We camped at Wilderness Edge Campground in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
33
Site Surface
Dirt
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my 5th wheel (had to disconnect)
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady, Covered Forested
Interior Roads
Poor Conditions
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Baxter State Park, Mt Katahdin, Appalachian Trail, atv trails, canoeing/kayaking, rafting and biking.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2017 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

Pros: Free hot showers, Quiet, other campers are friendly and helpful, Baxter state park was beautiful - worth the trip Cons: drove 6 hrs to find out they cancelled our reservations after we inquired weeks before about what the cancellation policy was (they assumed because we inquired, we wanted to cancel and never asked or confirmed, then to accommodation us, they thought moving from site to site every-day was acceptable. We have a pop-up and 3 kids, moving every-night was not acceptable for me. A kind family from Texas in a driving RV gave us their site and they camped in the parking lot so we did not have to move every day. In speaking to other campers, they had similar experience, moving from site to site, small camp sites, no room to park. Seems the owners have little experience in running a campground and site scheduling. Our campsite was small and barely fit our popup when extended, we had no room to park our vehicle the entire stay. When booking they told us reservations not required for other outdoor adventures, such as tours and rentals; when we asked upon arrival, they told us they had no time or resources to help us. Wi-Fi never worked, when asked they were rude and said its our phone, other campers experienced same issue - no Wi-Fi and no help. We had a site with no septic. We were told they had pump out service, coincidentally, that was not available either during our stay. Camp store was small and overpriced, wood was dried to the bone and went up in flames easy and fast. Campground not family oriented, no kids activities, no campsite activities, they have a small pool and a small play ground that is it. You pretty much entertain yourself; we are used to kid friendly and kid oriented campgrounds. Overall, I would not stay here again, nor would I recommend this place to anyone. They way over-sold this place at Camping Expo and the brochure must be super photo shopped. Owner was rude and not helpful at all. Spend a bit more and stay somewhere else. We camped at Wilderness Edge Campground in a Tent Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
17
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Not big enough for my tent trailer
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade, Mostly Shady
Interior Roads
Poor Conditions
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Not Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Wendi Munson, owner at Wilderness Edge Campground responded to this review

My recollection of the conversation is that you called to cancel and since we have a NO REFUND policy for August, I offered to let you use that reservation at a later date for the 2017 season, you did not get back to me to confirm. All our sites are different sizes and we have gotten very good at determining which sites can fit certain size campers. Because we have limited resources for our excursions, we have always required payment up front for all our excursions. Wifi is very slow here and with a sold out weekend, service was indeed difficult. The dump station was down because NON flushable materials had been dumped and jammed up our pumps, even though signs are everywhere not to flush these materials. Pool is 18 x 36, playground is commercial grade, and families who camp in this area love to go and explore the area. We are not a KOA! and don't advertise to be. Photos are MY originals. Sorry you didn't like this type of camping.

Review Count: 26
States Visited: 18
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: July, 2017 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

We had a pull thru site but had to unhook the tow so we could park it in front of the motor home. Needed to put the motorhome as far back as possible to get it level. Dump station was very convenient. There was one washer and dryer for the whole Campground. They have a pool and playground. The dumpster is up by the office so it's inconvenient for disposing of pet waste. Roads are narrow and a little difficult to maneuver in spots. Office staff/owners? were very friendly and helpful. Sites were very close in our section. We camped at Wilderness Edge Campground in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
21
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Interior Roads
Tight Turns, Poor Conditions
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

We ate at the SawMill Bar & Grill just down the road. It was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 53
States Visited: 12
Helpful Reviews: 13

Date of Stay: August, 2016 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

This campground has new owners (excellent hosts) who has been making improvements throughout the season. With that said, this campground still needs some work to make it great. All of the roads are gravel and in pretty rough shape. You will need to go slow and be careful with the holes and rocks. We stayed in site 8 which was private as it faced the forest, but it was not set up properly. The electrical post and water were on the wrong side of the camp site. Not to mention that I had to park parallel to the road as my 30 foot trailer did not fit in the site as a back-in site. (Many of the sites on this stretch of the campground had the same set up and campers were parked in the same manner). The electrical outlet was upside down, which did not allow me to plug in my surge protector. This would be a simple fix and should be one of the items to be changed. Be sure you have a long electrical cord and a long hose as you will need to pull it under your camper in order to reach the hook-ups. The bathroom and the grounds were clean. The pool was nice and refreshing after our hike in Baxter State Park. I might return to this campground in a few years once some of the improvements are made. We camped at Wilderness Edge Campground in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
8
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt
Site Type
Other
Site Space
Just long enough for my travel trailer
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Interior Roads
Tight Turns, Poor Conditions
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Baxter State Park

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 4
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $32.00
Overall Rating:      

We stayed during a very rainy week. The owners were great hosts who answered all of our questions about the areas and shared information. Our campsite was lovely and our front yard was a beautiful Maine landscape with numerous trees and large boulders. The dump site was convenient to use. There is a pool and a large playground for kids. We camped at Wilderness Edge Campground in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
2
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Covered Forested
Tips for other Campers:

We enjoyed several of the restaurants in Millinocket as our outdoor time was limited due to the weather. Grocery stores, hardware stores, etc. are very close to the campground. We enjoyed breakfast at Ruthie's. The food and service were both good.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 74
States Visited: 29
Helpful Reviews: 25

Date of Stay: September, 2014 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

Great campground just south (10 miles) of Baxter State Park; ideal to stay here and hike the park. Owners purchased the campground in 2012 and are making steady improvements to an already good place - nice pool, new playground, outdoor dishes sinks, bathroom improvements. They were very flexible and helpful, going out of their way to ensure we had what you needed. Terrain in the area is rocky, so you'll encounter some bumps on the gravel loop roads, but we went slow and were just fine. Lots of trees surrounding the sites. Great fire rings with rock surround - very nice. Dry firewood available. We would definitely stay here again. We camped at Wilderness Edge Campground in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 13
States Visited: 9
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: September, 2013 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

This park is two years old. Owner is very nice. It is eighteen miles from Baxter State Park and one mile from Millinocket. Pool, playground, volleyball court, horseshoe pits and a small store with snacks, ice and firewood. On-site canoe outfitter, rafting trips, scenic flights can be booked. We camped at Wilderness Edge Campground in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

     

Lily Bay State Park

4 Ratings
Greenville, Maine

     

Sunset Point RV Trailer Park

61 Ratings
Lubec, Maine

     

Pumpkin Patch RV Resort

153 Ratings
Hermon, Maine

Are you affiliated with Wilderness Edge Campground ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;