7.8 Good
     
Monticello, Minnesota

River Terrace Park

Monticello, Minnesota



1335 RIVER ST W
Monticello, Minnesota 55362
Phone: (763) 295-2264

Sites: 87
Recent Rate: $35 9/2016

Latitude: 45.321661723664
Longitude: -93.81787776947

Add Your Review

Campground Overview
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • Restrooms (Plumbed) Restrooms (Plumbed) yes
  • Pit Toilets Pit Toilets ?
  • Showers Showers yes
  • $0.00 Shower Fee Shower Fee 0.00
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • $0.00 Laundry Fee Laundry Fee 0.00
  • Dump Station Dump Station yes
  • $0.00 Dump Station Fee Dump Station Fee 0.00
  • Propane Available Propane Available ?
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available yes
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts no
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter no
  • RV Wash RV Wash no
  • $0.00 RV Wash Fee RV Wash Fee 0.00
  • Corral Corral no
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip no
  • Overflow Parking Overflow Parking yes
Hookups & Connectivity
  • Electric (30 AMP) Electric (30 AMP) yes
  • Electric (50 AMP) Electric (50 AMP) yes
  • Water Water yes
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • WiFi WiFi no
  • $0.00 WiFi Fee WiFi Fee 0.00
  • Cellular Phone Service Cellular Phone Service no
  • Cellular Phone Providers Cellular Phone Providers
  • Cable or Satellite TV Hookup Cable or Satellite TV Hookup no
  • Phone Phone no
  • Central Modem Central Modem no
Amenities
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • 0 Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) 0
  • Pool Access Pool Access no
  • Family Friendly Family Friendly yes
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Pet Area Pet Area yes
  • yes-river Waterfront Waterfront yes-river
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse no
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar no
  • Business Center Business Center no
  • Group Camping Group Camping yes
  • Meeting Rooms Meeting Rooms no
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen no
  • Banquet Facilities Banquet Facilities no
  • Concierge Services Concierge Services no
Recreation
  • Walking Trail(s) Walking Trail(s) no
  • Recreation Room Recreation Room no
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities no
  • Beach Access Beach Access no
  • Boat Ramp Boat Ramp yes
  • Marina Marina no
  • Boat Rentals Boat Rentals no
  • Fishing Fishing yes
  • Golfing Golfing no
  • Bike Path(s) Bike Path(s) no
  • Bike Rentals Bike Rentals no
  • Hiking Hiking no
  • Spa Spa no
  • Horseshoe Pit Horseshoe Pit yes
  • Volley Ball Volley Ball yes
  • Sports Field Sports Field no
  • Arcade Games Arcade Games yes
  • Live Entertainment Live Entertainment no
  • Amphitheatre Amphitheatre no
  • Putt Putt Mini-Golf Putt Putt Mini-Golf no
  • Billiards Billiards yes
  • Ping Pong Ping Pong no
  • Lake Lake no
  • Pond Pond no
  • River River yes
  • Creek Creek no
  • Ocean Ocean no
  • Water Park Water Park no
  • Casino Casino no

Review Details

Ratings overview

19 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: September, 2016 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

This was a very nice R.V park. You do drive though a trailer park so can be a bit confusing. And the sign for the office is too. It's not the first house trailer like arrow suggests, but down the road about a block. Owner seemed very nice ,they also have a military discount but need to ask for it. Over all very nice and clean. We would visit it again. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Clean Restrooms
Clean Showers

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
119
Site Surface
Concrete
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my 5th wheel (had to disconnect)
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Many stores in town,stayed only one night didn't do much sightseeing.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 13
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

This park is a mixed bag. The RV area itself is pretty nice, with a number of sites under beautiful tall trees and others that back right up to the Mississippi River. The river was high when we visited, so high that the boat ramp was blocked off with sandbags to keep the water out. Not sure how normal that is, but I wouldn't want to stay in one of those waterfront sites with a small child -- the water is close and moving fast. Other than that, the main downside to this park is that it's situated in the middle of a pretty sketchy trailer park, so the first impression is not good. Also, the owner uses his house as his office, which felt odd and unprofessional. And he doesn't take credit cards. And finally, though the owner was friendly and helpful, I was a put off by all the signs on his home and truck with right-wing political messages. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Minnesota 1234, manager at River Terrace Park responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to do a review. On the river issue, we have no control of the high water or high rainfall this year. We do our best to keep low areas dry. As for office being in the house, the owner is there 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and it works out great for most people. A lot of people love the personal attention they get there, either with camping business or just to shoot the bull. We don't do credit cards to keep the costs down of staying here. We have the cheapest rates around by far. We don't have extra hidden charges. The camp grounds and mobile home park have been with this one owner for over 40 years and they work well together to meet peoples needs. As for the political signs, it is America and everybody has their right to their opinion. We respect and fight for the right of every one to have their own political opinions.

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

This campground is conveniently located just far enough from 94 so you don't hear traffic. Monticello has everything you may need, great restaurants, Target, Home Depot... The staff is very nice. I drive a 45' motorhome and there is plenty of room to maneuver. Nice level site right on the Mississippi River. Nice walking trails just outside the park. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
31
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table, Patio
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious, Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Lots of great restaurants and shopping very close. For restaurants I really like Beef O Brady's Chatters Sports Bar.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Minnesota 1234, manager at River Terrace Park responded to this review

We thank you for your business and glad you stayed here. We try to make every ones stay here a peaceful and happy time. We work to keep rates low, the campgrounds looking good, and customers happy. We hope to see you in 2017.

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: August, 2015 - $18.00
Overall Rating:      

Great location between Minneapolis and St Cloud. Nice sites right on the Mississippi River. Paved roads, plenty of room to maneuver a 44' class A with tow. Nice level gravel and paved sites. The only complaint I would have is no WiFi. I will continue to spend 1-2 months here every summer. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
31
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table, Patio

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tips for other Campers:

In between Minneapolis and St Cloud. Only about 45 minutes to the Mall of America. Lots of shopping, restaurants and a movie theatre within 5 miles.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 4
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: July, 2015 - $16.00
Overall Rating:      

This is our third full summer at this park and we plan to come back every summer from now on. We like that there are tar roads throughout the park and the electricity cost is included in your rent. If you want wood for a campfire, the owner delivers a bundle to your site for $5.00. It's nice to be able to just set your daily garbage out by the street and the caretaker comes by a couple times a day and picks it up for you. He also keeps the park looking nice with plants and flowers. There is a cute little dog park to let your dog off leash occasionally. It's pretty quiet during the week, but it's fun to see all the campers come in on Fridays for the weekend. All the campsites are together on the river side of the park, so if you don't like camping in a mobile-home park, it won't be an issue. The owner, caretaker, and lots of the people who camp here are very friendly and respectful. There is a dump station too. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     
Tips for other Campers:

The town of Monticello has everything you might need. Even a nice movie theatre if you get a rainy day. Cub Foods is real close and there is an Aldi too. Target and Walmart also have groceries and the Home Depot or Ace Hardware has anything else you could need.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 25
States Visited: 14
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2014 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

Beautiful, large grassy sites. Many on the shore of Mississippi River. Boat ramp. Large mobile home community with campsites in back. Closed pool full of green water and trash. Rest rooms and showers filthy and need demo and re-build. Will stay there again for week or less. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 21
States Visited: 15
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: July, 2014 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

This park is right along the Mississippi River and is a quiet, sleepy park. There is a playground for children in the center of the park. Although there is no cable, we were able to get many channels on our antenna. In many of the spaces, there are too many trees to receive a satellite signal. On the other hand, the trees provide a nice, shady park. We have stayed here several times while visiting family in the area and will be happy to stay here again. The grounds of the park are kept neat and tidy, making this a pleasant place to stay. Our rate reflects the park policy of a free night if you pay for six nights. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 14
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: September, 2012 - $31.00
Overall Rating:      

Nice sites with grassy areas between. Plenty of room for our three slides. Only access to the river is at the boat launch or at individual riverside sites. Nice playground for kids. Wi-Fi access only available by the office, which is past the mobile homes and quite a ways from the campground. Pool appears to be permanently closed. Lots of back to back spots so we were able to pull through since the park wasn't full. You drive through the mobile home park to get to the campground, which is surrounded on three sides by mobile homes. Laundry is in mobile home portion of park. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 68
States Visited: 33
Helpful Reviews: 6

Date of Stay: August, 2012 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

Bathroom/showers old and hard to keep clean. Need updating badly. Beautiful river setting, sites paved. No Wi-Fi or TV. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 71
States Visited: 26
Helpful Reviews: 7

Date of Stay: July, 2012 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

Nice wooded park off the Interstate. Right on the Mississippi. Good utilities and pull through sites. Owner a little different, but be patient and you will have a good stay. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 27
States Visited: 15
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: September, 2011 - $32.00
Overall Rating:      

What a nice place! Right by the river. We stayed here for two nights so rate reflects daily 50 amp rate. If you have kids you will love the play area for them. Park is clean. River view is fantastic. The manager was one of the most helpful I have ever encountered. Just a real nice guy. Does not accept credit cards but takes checks or cash. It is late in the season but this place must be at least 90% full. Has two pull through sites but the back in sites are paved and great access. If they had wireless internet it would be a ten plus! We camped at River Terrace Park in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 16
States Visited: 9
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: August, 2009 - $16.00
Overall Rating:      

We stay here all summer, every summer, and this is an update. We still love it here: it's beautiful, treed, grassy, right on the river. The power seldom fails, no problem with the sewer. The water smells bad and is yellow, but he posted a notice that it's safe to drink. The little store is rarely open, but the town has everything you need anyway. Don't know how the bathrooms/showers are; never used them. He doesn't intend to ever have the swimming pool open again (new costs/legislation/insurance-something related to a toddler's pool-drain death somewhere else in the state). But you can swim in the river, although the current is fast. A few full-timers are unhappy with the owner and manager's recent obsession with the geese. The geese make droppings on the grass, and now endure constant harassment by the manager (sticks thrown at them, etc.) in an attempt to drive them away, "Or we'll have to shoot them." The DNR assures me nobody will ever be granted a permit to shoot geese for droppings on the grass: that's only for geese threatening crops. I've lowered my previous rating because of the water quality and the goose thing. Anyway, a nice park, well-kept, quiet (empty) except for weekends. He doesn't advertise, and nobody knows it's here. And that price is for a premium river site, based on a monthly rate. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 12
States Visited: 10
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2009 - $29.00
Overall Rating:      

This was a very nice park, but a bizarre experience. To find the campground office, you had to drive through a mobile home park. When we found the office, no one was there. I called the phone number and talked to a very nice man who told me to pick any open site as they all have full hook-ups. There were no registration forms available to pay for the site, so we had to find an envelope and hope we got the price right. The sites were level pads. The campground appeared very well kept with a nice view of the Mississippi river. The pool was not open. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 6
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: May, 2008 - $15.00
Overall Rating:      

Only RV park we found in this area. Overall is a nice park, appears to be older park but well-kept. Has playground with jungle gym for kids. As noted in previous reviews, there are permanent trailer homes surrounding the RV sites, some of them vacant, some occupied. Some RV sites are on the river. RV park owner is very nice, courteous, and helpful. Your trash is picked up for you. No internet or cable hookups here. Picked up 3-4 channels with antenna. We used our Sprint wireless card for internet which had great reception, also Sprint cell reception was good. Some sites are close together, some not, some gravel, some blacktop. Lots of trees. Owner will inform you which sites are available and let you choose, but will depend if you want 30 amp or 50 amp and availability at the time. Park had both seasonal extended campers and overnight/short stay campers. Would stay here again. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 64
States Visited: 30
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: August, 2007 - $29.00
Overall Rating:      

This park is a sleeper. Very laid back with paved streets throughout and tall shade trees. Only real drawback was lack of internet as well as few satellite compatible sites due to all of the trees. Park even offers access to 46 private acres for atv's. River is low this year so boating is not possible except light paddle boats. Don't be turned off by permanent trailer homes as you drive into park as they are separated and not really part of the campgground. We are definitely returning with the grandkids. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with River Terrace Park?

Pre-Register below to access free and enhanced features coming in the near future.

PLANNED ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


More Information about our Campground Owner Management and its enhancements are coming very soon. Features subject to change.