8.1 Good
     
Monticello, Minnesota

River Terrace Park

Monticello, Minnesota


1335 W River St
Monticello, Minnesota 55362
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 87
Recent Rate: $$$$

Office Hours:

Seasonal Hours: April 1st - October 31st

Monday: 9:00am - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 9:00am - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 9:00am - 10:00pm
Thursday: 9:00am - 10:00pm
Friday: 9:00am - 10:00pm
Saturday: 9:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 9:00am - 10:00pm

Hours above shown for Central Time Zone

Add Review

Latitude: 45.321661723664
Longitude: -93.81787776947

Elevation: 918' (approximate)
Campground Overview
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • Restrooms (Plumbed) Restrooms (Plumbed) yes
  • Pit Toilets Pit Toilets ?
  • Showers Showers yes
  • $0.00 Shower Fee Shower Fee 0.00
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • $1.50 Laundry Fee Laundry Fee 1.50
  • Dump Station Dump Station yes
  • $10.00 Dump Station Fee Dump Station Fee 10.00
  • Propane Available Propane Available ?
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available yes
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts no
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter no
  • RV Wash RV Wash no
  • $0.00 RV Wash Fee RV Wash Fee 0.00
  • Corral Corral no
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip no
  • Overflow Parking Overflow Parking yes
Hookups & Connectivity
  • Electric (30 AMP) Electric (30 AMP) yes
  • Electric (50 AMP) Electric (50 AMP) yes
  • Water Water yes
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • WiFi WiFi no
  • Free WiFi Free WiFi ?
  • Cellular Phone Service Cellular Phone Service no
  • Cellular Phone Providers Cellular Phone Providers
  • Cable or Satellite TV Hookup Cable or Satellite TV Hookup no
  • Phone Phone no
  • Central Modem Central Modem no
Amenities
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • 0 Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) 0
  • Pool Access Pool Access no
  • Family Friendly Family Friendly yes
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Pet Area Pet Area yes
  • yes-river Waterfront Waterfront yes-river
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse no
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar no
  • Business Center Business Center no
  • Group Camping Group Camping yes
  • Meeting Rooms Meeting Rooms no
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen no
  • Banquet Facilities Banquet Facilities no
  • Concierge Services Concierge Services no
Recreation
  • Walking Trail(s) Walking Trail(s) no
  • Recreation Room Recreation Room no
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities no
  • Beach Access Beach Access no
  • Boat Ramp Boat Ramp no
  • Marina Marina no
  • Boat Rentals Boat Rentals no
  • Fishing Fishing yes
  • Golfing Golfing no
  • Bike Path(s) Bike Path(s) no
  • Bike Rentals Bike Rentals no
  • Hiking Hiking no
  • Spa Spa no
  • Horseshoe Pit Horseshoe Pit yes
  • Volley Ball Volley Ball yes
  • Sports Field Sports Field no
  • Arcade Games Arcade Games yes
  • Live Entertainment Live Entertainment no
  • Amphitheatre Amphitheatre no
  • Putt Putt Mini-Golf Putt Putt Mini-Golf no
  • Billiards Billiards no
  • Ping Pong Ping Pong no
  • Lake Lake no
  • Pond Pond no
  • River River yes
  • Creek Creek no
  • Ocean Ocean no
  • Water Park Water Park no
  • Casino Casino no

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Ask a Question About River Terrace Park

Review Details

Ratings overview

25 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews' member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 58
States Visited: 17
Helpful Reviews: 18

Date of Stay: July, 2017 - $39.00
Overall Rating:      

Appears to be lots of seasonals/long term residents, understandable due to proximity to the river and the town of Monticello that appears to have any service you would need. This park was not exactly our cup of tea, but okay for overnight. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Asphalt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my 5th wheel (had to disconnect)
Campsite Features
Picnic Table, Patio
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Minnesota 1234, manager at River Terrace Park responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your over night stay. The campgrounds has more monthly and more all summer campers now, than years ago. Times are a changing and we werent getting enough over night stays to be profitable. We are now reaching out to more all summer residents. We try and keep some sites open to short term stays. Don

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2017 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

Stayed for 4 days. found the office with no problem just followed the signs. It's hidden in the back of the trailer park. Owner was very friendly, visited with him for about 20 minutes before we went to my site. Lots of trees and shade. He gave the choice of 3 spots to park in the place was almost full. He took me there then helped guide me in. Will be going back again. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Site Details

Site Surface
Asphalt
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Minnesota 1234, manager at River Terrace Park responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to rate us. We used to be a Mom and Pop and Son run campgrounds. Now, its only the son, Gary, left. The office is in back, in his house, and he very people friendly. He can tell you many a tale. Some like this, and some want it to be more ''professional''. WE like the down to earth, friendly, one on one, people service. Don

Review Count: 12
States Visited: 11
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: June, 2017 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

Hard to find the office, it is actually a private house. We come in and wait at the door. She yells come on in. No office, man sitting at table eating an ice cream sandwich starts filling out our form. We felt ill at ease being in a private house, the Christmas tree was on a table still and man was not at all friendly. Not friendly.

We asked for a pull thru because the web site advertised them. They have 3 only and they are used by seasonal (installed wooden decks, lighting, flower pots), we did not have a choice but to unhook. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
70A
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my motorhome
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Interior Roads
Tight Turns
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Minnesota 1234, manager at River Terrace Park responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to reply. The 3 pull thru sites , you mentioned, each has a deck provided by us. Some other sites in the 'pock pad' section also have decks provided by us. You stopped in when they were taken. People bring their flowers an such along on their trips. We do have some other pull thru sites, but they too were taken when you were here. MOST sites are back in. Don

Review Count: 4
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: September, 2016 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

This was a very nice R.V park. You do drive though a trailer park so can be a bit confusing. And the sign for the office is too. It's not the first house trailer like arrow suggests, but down the road about a block. Owner seemed very nice ,they also have a military discount but need to ask for it. Over all very nice and clean. We would visit it again. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Clean Restrooms
Clean Showers

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
119
Site Surface
Concrete
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my 5th wheel (had to disconnect)
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Many stores in town,stayed only one night didn't do much sightseeing.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 13
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

This park is a mixed bag. The RV area itself is pretty nice, with a number of sites under beautiful tall trees and others that back right up to the Mississippi River. The river was high when we visited, so high that the boat ramp was blocked off with sandbags to keep the water out. Not sure how normal that is, but I wouldn't want to stay in one of those waterfront sites with a small child -- the water is close and moving fast. Other than that, the main downside to this park is that it's situated in the middle of a pretty sketchy trailer park, so the first impression is not good. Also, the owner uses his house as his office, which felt odd and unprofessional. And he doesn't take credit cards. And finally, though the owner was friendly and helpful, I was a put off by all the signs on his home and truck with right-wing political messages. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Minnesota 1234, manager at River Terrace Park responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to do a review. On the river issue, we have no control of the high water or high rainfall this year. We do our best to keep low areas dry. As for office being in the house, the owner is there 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and it works out great for most people. A lot of people love the personal attention they get there, either with camping business or just to shoot the bull. We don't do credit cards to keep the costs down of staying here. We have the cheapest rates around by far. We don't have extra hidden charges. The camp grounds and mobile home park have been with this one owner for over 40 years and they work well together to meet peoples needs. As for the political signs, it is America and everybody has their right to their opinion. We respect and fight for the right of every one to have their own political opinions.

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

This campground is conveniently located just far enough from 94 so you don't hear traffic. Monticello has everything you may need, great restaurants, Target, Home Depot... The staff is very nice. I drive a 45' motorhome and there is plenty of room to maneuver. Nice level site right on the Mississippi River. Nice walking trails just outside the park. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
31
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table, Patio
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious, Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Lots of great restaurants and shopping very close. For restaurants I really like Beef O Brady's Chatters Sports Bar.

1 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Minnesota 1234, manager at River Terrace Park responded to this review

We thank you for your business and glad you stayed here. We try to make every ones stay here a peaceful and happy time. We work to keep rates low, the campgrounds looking good, and customers happy. We hope to see you in 2017.

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: May, 2016 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

This is my second summer at River Terrace Park. 6 month resident per visit. Family and most importantly DOG friendly campsite. Friendly neighbors and many yearly return customers. Large playground park area for children. Fenced dog play area.Camp store, beautiful blooming flowers through out park. Magnificent display of wild birds, bald eagles,great blue heron, green heron, night heron, Canada geese,hummingbirds, robins & chickadees.River packed full of snapping turtles, painted turtles,carp, bass, many others. Park owner exceptionally outgoing, he delivers firewood to your campsite per request. Constantly patrolling campgrounds. Park manager always on site to answer questions and assist campers. Yes, the river rose this year due to torrential downpour and flooding, camp owner made sure everyone was safe and helped move those who needed to leave their front river sites. I highly recommend this campground for families and anyone needing an outdoor experience. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Travel Trailer.

Site Details

Site Number
River front
Site Surface
Concrete, Grass
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Chain of the Lakes regional park close by. Bike trails nearby. Library close as well as shopping. 8 miles from Albertville outlet stores.15 min drive into Buffalo.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Minnesota 1234, manager at River Terrace Park responded to this review

Thank you for the review. It just showed up 6-1-2017.

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: August, 2015 - $18.00
Overall Rating:      

Great location between Minneapolis and St Cloud. Nice sites right on the Mississippi River. Paved roads, plenty of room to maneuver a 44' class A with tow. Nice level gravel and paved sites. The only complaint I would have is no WiFi. I will continue to spend 1-2 months here every summer. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
31
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table, Patio

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tips for other Campers:

In between Minneapolis and St Cloud. Only about 45 minutes to the Mall of America. Lots of shopping, restaurants and a movie theatre within 5 miles.

1 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 4
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: July, 2015 - $16.00
Overall Rating:      

This is our third full summer at this park and we plan to come back every summer from now on. We like that there are tar roads throughout the park and the electricity cost is included in your rent. If you want wood for a campfire, the owner delivers a bundle to your site for $5.00. It's nice to be able to just set your daily garbage out by the street and the caretaker comes by a couple times a day and picks it up for you. He also keeps the park looking nice with plants and flowers. There is a cute little dog park to let your dog off leash occasionally. It's pretty quiet during the week, but it's fun to see all the campers come in on Fridays for the weekend. All the campsites are together on the river side of the park, so if you don't like camping in a mobile-home park, it won't be an issue. The owner, caretaker, and lots of the people who camp here are very friendly and respectful. There is a dump station too. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     
Tips for other Campers:

The town of Monticello has everything you might need. Even a nice movie theatre if you get a rainy day. Cub Foods is real close and there is an Aldi too. Target and Walmart also have groceries and the Home Depot or Ace Hardware has anything else you could need.

3 of 3 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2014 - $37.00
Overall Rating:      

We stay here for only 1 night. We would have liked to stay longer but we were on a schedule. We were met by a very nice man and taken to our site. He came to our site later to collect the $37. The campground is quiet and clean, and our site had a nice wood deck and picnic table. The river view is beautiful. we will stay here again on our travels. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 32
States Visited: 16
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: August, 2014 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

Beautiful, large grassy sites. Many on the shore of Mississippi River. Boat ramp. Large mobile home community with campsites in back. Closed pool full of green water and trash. Rest rooms and showers filthy and need demo and re-build. Will stay there again for week or less. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo
JTP

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2014 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

Manager was very helpful, taking us to the site and checking on us later. We had a pull through site as we only stayed one night and were passing through. The park is very clean, riverside spots are just a few feet from the Mississippi River. Views of the river were gorgeous. Note that our Nav took us past entrance; however, there is a big sign we should have noticed. We would definitely stay here again. No road noise, barking dogs or late night music. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 22
States Visited: 16
Helpful Reviews: 6

Date of Stay: July, 2014 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

This park is right along the Mississippi River and is a quiet, sleepy park. There is a playground for children in the center of the park. Although there is no cable, we were able to get many channels on our antenna. In many of the spaces, there are too many trees to receive a satellite signal. On the other hand, the trees provide a nice, shady park. We have stayed here several times while visiting family in the area and will be happy to stay here again. The grounds of the park are kept neat and tidy, making this a pleasant place to stay. Our rate reflects the park policy of a free night if you pay for six nights. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Motorhome.

1 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 26
States Visited: 9
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: September, 2012 - $31.00
Overall Rating:      

Nice sites with grassy areas between. Plenty of room for our three slides. Only access to the river is at the boat launch or at individual riverside sites. Nice playground for kids. Wi-Fi access only available by the office, which is past the mobile homes and quite a ways from the campground. Pool appears to be permanently closed. Lots of back to back spots so we were able to pull through since the park wasn't full. You drive through the mobile home park to get to the campground, which is surrounded on three sides by mobile homes. Laundry is in mobile home portion of park. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 68
States Visited: 33
Helpful Reviews: 7

Date of Stay: August, 2012 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

Bathroom/showers old and hard to keep clean. Need updating badly. Beautiful river setting, sites paved. No Wi-Fi or TV. We camped at River Terrace Park in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with River Terrace Park ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;