5.2 Average
http://www.rvparkreviews.com/regions/nebraska

Captain Critters Country Campground (formerly Route 26 Campground)

Scottsbluff, Nebraska


180454 Highway 26
Scottsbluff, Nebraska 69361
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 33
Recent Rate: $$$$

Office Hours:

Monday: 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tuesday: 10:00am - 9:00pm
Wednesday: 10:00am - 9:00pm
Thursday: 10:00am - 9:00pm
Friday: 10:00am - 9:00pm
Saturday: 10:00am - 9:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Hours above shown for Mountain Time Zone

Add Review

Latitude: 41.90728
Longitude: -103.72864

Elevation: 3930' (approx.)
Park Features
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • 55+ 55+ no
  • Kid Friendly Kid Friendly yes
  • Boondocking Boondocking no
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts no
  • Dump Station Dump Station yes
  • Group Camping Group Camping yes
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
Hookups
  • Full Hookup Full Hookup yes
  • Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP)
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • Phone Phone no
  • Water Water yes
  • Cable/Sat. TV Hookup Cable/Sat. TV Hookup no
Connectivity
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • ATT Cellular Provider ATT
  • Verizon Cellular Provider Verizon
  • Sprint Cellular Provider Sprint
  • T-Mobile Cellular Provider T-Mobile
Amenities
  • Restrooms Restrooms yes
  • Showers Showers yes
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities no
  • Camp Store Camp Store no
  • Pet Area Pet Area yes
  • Propane Available Propane Available no
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar no
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse no
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available no
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen no
  • Horse Camp Horse Camp no
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip no
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter no
  • Restrooms: vault Restrooms: vault no
Recreation
  • Pool Access Pool Access no
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Recreational Trails Recreational Trails yes
  • Rec Room Rec Room no
  • Casino Casino no
  • Fishing Fishing yes
  • Beach Beach no
  • Biking Biking yes
  • Boating Boating no
  • Golf Golf yes
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities no
  • Horseshoes Horseshoes no
  • Mini-Golf Mini-Golf no
  • Outdoor Courts Outdoor Courts no
  • Pickleball Pickleball no
  • Water Access Water Access yes

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Ask fellow campers about "Captain Critters Country Campground (formerly Route 26 Campground)" and nearby attractions.

Review Details

Ratings overview

11 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews' member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: September, 2018 - $25.00
Overall Rating:

The park is a work-in-progress with mature trees and new saplings. Electric, water, sewer, and WiFi all were good. Our site was pull-through and double-sized; we parked our tow next to our coach with plenty of room. Other than the trains, which did not bother us, the place is quiet. The owner has plans for improved sites and a good-sized dog run. Her joy-filled commitment to her property and business is refreshing. We camped at Captain Critters Country Campground (formerly Route 26 Campground) in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
C9
Site Surface
Sand, Grass
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Flyover Brewing Company--newly opened with good craft beer.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Captain Critters Country Campground, owner at Captain Critters Country Campground (formerly Route 26 Campground) responded to this review

Thank you for such a kind review, and thank you for staying here at Captain Critters Country Campground. As time goes by, I hope that I can accomplish my plans to continue making improvements to the park. It was great to meet you and I hope your travels are fun, adventurous, and safe!!

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2018 - $25.00
Overall Rating:

Park is a work in progress. New owner and she works very hard to make your stay enjoyable. Park was closed for quite awhile and new owner is working hard to reestablish a nice park. We stayed two nights and would return. There is a train nearby but owner obviously has no control of that. Decent park for the cost. We camped at Captain Critters Country Campground (formerly Route 26 Campground) in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Dirt, Grass
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Captain Critters Country Campground, owner at Captain Critters Country Campground (formerly Route 26 Campground) responded to this review

Hello and thank you for posting your awesome review of my campground. :-) I hope you continue to have safe, fun, and exciting travels!! Thanks again!!

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2018 - $40.00
Overall Rating:

Stayed at Captain Critters Campground for 3 months while working, great price, great service, good WiFi and large sites. Still needs works but owner has had property for less than a year and is working on renovations. Owner is super friendly and more than accommodating. We camped at Captain Critters Country Campground (formerly Route 26 Campground) in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Dirt, Sand
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Captain Critters Country Campground, owner at Captain Critters Country Campground (formerly Route 26 Campground) responded to this review

Hello Z, E, and beautiful little L!! Thank you so much for your review and for choosing to stay here at my campground. Your input is invaluable to me and I truly appreciate it. You are really great campers and friends, so I hope to see you again sometime down the road. Travel safely, and I can't wait to hear about how you someday out golf Tiger Woods!!!! :-)

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2018 - $40.00
Overall Rating:

Very poorly managed. No effort to upgrade, clean or improve the camgroud. Very unclean. A train blows a horn every 20 minutes, loudly 4 to 6 times. Tacky tires around little trees & a trashy busted swimming pool with thousands of mosquitoes. We camped at Captain Critters Country Campground (formerly Route 26 Campground) in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
Middle 1st camper
Site Surface
Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Interior Roads
Poor Conditions
Tips for other Campers:

Stay else where. Unfortunatly only one other camp site avaible in town. It's the Hylton of campgrounds. We'll be going there this weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Captain Critters Country Campground, owner at Captain Critters Country Campground (formerly Route 26 Campground) responded to this review

Dear M Davis,
I'm sorry to hear your stay was less than satisfactory. If I may, I'd like to address your concerns to hopefully make it a better experience for future campers. Admittedly the grasses/weeds got long in July when the mowing service was temporarily unavailable, and for this I humbly apologize. The trains across the highway blow their horns 4 times (2 longs, 1 short, and 1 long) with each intersection passing. This is a federal law over which I have no control. I feel that your description of "tacky tires" deserves an explanation. They protect the 79+ seedling trees that I've planted throughout the grounds, and they were painted by a group of high-functioning adults with down syndrome in a heartfelt effort to give them something to do. The swimming pool was in such poor shape when I purchased the park last year that it is in the process of being "buried" which is why it's filled with branches. As for mosquitoes, this is Nebraska and they will be present wherever you go.

Featured Campgrounds Near Captain Critters Country Campground (formerly Route 26 Campground)

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: June, 2018 - $25.00
Overall Rating:

Love love love the staff! Lots of room for dog walking and bike rides. Will definitely be back!!! We camped at Captain Critters Country Campground (formerly Route 26 Campground) in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
33 I
Site Surface
Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Very friendly and helpful! Scottsbluff is nearby, as well as other entertainment, the zoo and eats! Shopping very close by as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Captain Critters Country Campground, owner at Captain Critters Country Campground (formerly Route 26 Campground) responded to this review

It was such a pleasure to have you, your husband, and your sweet fur-babies stay here at the campground. You are truly special and I hope some day to see you here again. Travel safely, and please give "Zero" a big cuddle from me!! :-)

Review Count: 52
States Visited: 9
Helpful Reviews: 7

Date of Stay: May, 2018 - $23.00
Overall Rating:

had a really hard time rating this CG. We stayed for 1 night on our way to SD. The only thing poor about this CG is the train nearby....running all night long...could not give it an "average" rating because of the grounds. This CG needs some TLC, has potential, grounds need attention. host tries hard, good water pressure and elec. The host refunded $10 of our fee because the water in the RR was being sanitized and could not be used. Not a problem for us. We camped at Captain Critters Country Campground (formerly Route 26 Campground) in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
A3
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Power Hookups
20 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

stop at Daylight donuts in Scottsbluff

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Captain Critters Country Campground, owner at Captain Critters Country Campground (formerly Route 26 Campground) responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I humbly apologize that your stay here at Captain Critters Country Campground was less than satisfactory. You arrived on the only day that the water heater was being "bleached" for the bathroom. So, for your protection, I ensured that you were aware of it and didn't use it. To compensate you for the inconvenience, I refunded you $10 out of the $23 that you paid, so I'm truly disappointed that you didn't find "value" in it. Lastly, I apologize for apparently not explaining that your RV site was not only extra long (65-70'), but it was also 45+ feet wide to allow for plenty of vehicle parking.

Prior to July of 2017, the campground was closed for nearly five years and we've worked hard to "rehabilitate" it. It is a work in progress, so I hope as time goes on, it will become the kind of beautiful park that meets or exceeds your satisfaction.

Review Count: 57
States Visited: 30
Helpful Reviews: 8

Date of Stay: November, 2017 - $25.00
Overall Rating:

Captain Critters is a new campground (looks like it was previously an old KOA) and is being renovated. New water lines, double wide sites. Owner is great and will do anything to help. Lower rate because of construction. Easy in and out from 26. Convenient to Scottsbluff and sights in the area. If you like trains: this is a great place! Busy tracks nearby give plenty of opportunity for train watching. Owner has big plans for the park so I'm sure it will only get better. We camped at Captain Critters Country Campground (formerly Route 26 Campground) in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
D5
Site Surface
Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my 5th wheel (had to disconnect)
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Scott's Bluff, Agate Fossil Beds and Fort Laramie National Park sites are all nearby. Scottsbluff is a nice little city with plenty of amenities.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Captain Critters Country Campground, owner at Captain Critters Country Campground (formerly Route 26 Campground) responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Captain Critters and for your kind review. I hope you will come back and stay with us sometime in the future. Wishing you safe travels!!
JWT

Review Count: 91
States Visited: 27
Helpful Reviews: 6

Date of Stay: July, 2009 - $23.00
Overall Rating:

This is a former KOA that is clean and well maintained and a lot more reasonably priced now that it is not a KOA. The bathrooms were spotless and the lady at the check in must have been a reincarnation of Abraham Lincoln. She accidentally overcharged me a nickle and made a special trip to refund same to us. The only down side is the trains across the street that come through Scotts Bluff. The engineers love to hit those horns. We were so tired that we did not notice. The campground is just west of downtown Scotts Bluff on US-26. We camped at Captain Critters Country Campground (formerly Route 26 Campground) in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 13
States Visited: 8
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2007 - $35.00
Overall Rating:

This campground is a Dump! It was a KOA, but they dropped it or it went broke. It is currently being managed by some nice folks, I assume hired by the bank holding the mortgage, but they are doing only minimal maintenance. There was a sign on the wall that the CG is for sale. The pool and bathrooms are being maintained. The drive up appeal is awful. We only stayed because it was the end of a long day and I just couldn't drive on any further. It is also only about 100' from a very busy freight train line and a railroad road crossing, so train horns go all night long! Our electric was the old screw in fuse type, I has to re-tighten the fuse several times during the night as the power kept going off. Go north 10 miles to Lake Minitare SP if you're planning to stay and tour Chimney Rock, Scott's Bluff and other Oregon trail sites. We camped at Captain Critters Country Campground (formerly Route 26 Campground) in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 13
States Visited: 8
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2007 - $35.00
Overall Rating:

This park is no longer a KOA, it is now Rte 26 Campground and it is a dump! Do not stay there. A rip off at any price and only 100' from a very busy coal and freight train line. My suggestion, go 10 miles north of town and stay at the Lake Minitare SP. They have electric sites only, but nice paved back in sites. Nice showers and bath facilities also. We camped at Captain Critters Country Campground (formerly Route 26 Campground) in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 3
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2006 - $26.00
Overall Rating:

Like other reveiers, BN layes the Horn on every hr on the hr. Its not the most restful place for ZZZZZ's Also we are pretty new at camping but I ended up with a darn itchy case of the chiggers :-( On the Positive most sites if not all are pull thru and the owners are friendly and stated if we need more time than the 11am checkout it was no big deal. We have family in Scottsbluff but will have to try out the other grounds next time. We camped at Captain Critters Country Campground (formerly Route 26 Campground) in a Travel Trailer.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Featured Campgrounds Near Captain Critters Country Campground (formerly Route 26 Campground)

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with Captain Critters Country Campground (formerly Route 26 Campground) ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;
;