8.2 Good
     
North Conway, New Hampshire

Saco River Camping Area

North Conway, New Hampshire


1550 White Mountain Hwy
North Conway, New Hampshire 03860
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 146
Recent Rate: $$$$

Add Review

Latitude: 44.021370104649
Longitude: -71.116431717479

Elevation: 494' (approximate)
Campground Overview
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • Restrooms (Plumbed) Restrooms (Plumbed) yes
  • Pit Toilets Pit Toilets ?
  • Showers Showers yes
  • $0.00 Shower Fee Shower Fee 0.00
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities ?
  • $0.00 Laundry Fee Laundry Fee 0.00
  • Dump Station Dump Station yes
  • $0.00 Dump Station Fee Dump Station Fee 0.00
  • Propane Available Propane Available yes
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available yes
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts yes
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter yes
  • RV Wash RV Wash ?
  • $0.00 RV Wash Fee RV Wash Fee 0.00
  • Corral Corral ?
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip ?
  • Overflow Parking Overflow Parking yes
Hookups & Connectivity
  • Electric (30 AMP) Electric (30 AMP) yes
  • Electric (50 AMP) Electric (50 AMP) yes
  • Water Water yes
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • Free WiFi Free WiFi ?
  • Cellular Phone Service Cellular Phone Service yes
  • Verizon Cellular Phone Providers Cellular Phone Providers Verizon
  • Cable or Satellite TV Hookup Cable or Satellite TV Hookup yes
  • Phone Phone yes
  • Central Modem Central Modem no
Amenities
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • 0 Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) 0
  • Pool Access Pool Access yes
  • Family Friendly Family Friendly yes
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Pet Area Pet Area yes
  • yes-river Waterfront Waterfront yes-river
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse no
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar no
  • Business Center Business Center no
  • Group Camping Group Camping yes
  • Meeting Rooms Meeting Rooms no
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen no
  • Banquet Facilities Banquet Facilities no
  • Concierge Services Concierge Services no
Recreation
  • Walking Trail(s) Walking Trail(s) yes
  • Recreation Room Recreation Room no
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities no
  • Beach Access Beach Access no
  • Boat Ramp Boat Ramp no
  • Marina Marina no
  • Boat Rentals Boat Rentals yes
  • Fishing Fishing yes
  • Golfing Golfing no
  • Bike Path(s) Bike Path(s) no
  • Bike Rentals Bike Rentals no
  • Hiking Hiking no
  • Spa Spa no
  • Horseshoe Pit Horseshoe Pit yes
  • Volley Ball Volley Ball yes
  • Sports Field Sports Field yes
  • Arcade Games Arcade Games no
  • Live Entertainment Live Entertainment no
  • Amphitheatre Amphitheatre no
  • Putt Putt Mini-Golf Putt Putt Mini-Golf no
  • Billiards Billiards no
  • Ping Pong Ping Pong no
  • Lake Lake no
  • Pond Pond no
  • River River yes
  • Creek Creek no
  • Ocean Ocean no
  • Water Park Water Park no
  • Casino Casino no

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Ask a Question About Saco River Camping Area

Review Details

Ratings overview

41 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews' member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 12
States Visited: 10
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: September, 2017 - $55.00
Overall Rating:      

Stayed here for 3 nights. Very nice campground and extremely convenient to North Conway. We had FHUs and everything worked as expected. Only downside to hookups was that the sewer connection was higher than my hose even with supports under the hose. Cable tv channel selection was very good. Wifi worked good. We requested a gravel site as there was a chance of rain. Site was level, but the very fine gravel was easily tracked in. Bathhouses were clean, but the shower and toilet stalls are pretty small so if you are a big person they are kind of tight. I would definitely stay here again when in the area. We camped at Saco River Camping Area in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
53
Site Surface
Gravel, Sand
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Mt. Washington and the auto road are a must.

1 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: September, 2017 - $65.00
Overall Rating:      

We had a site right on the river, full hookup. Connection pipe too high making it difficult to get a slope on drain hose. Good location except for relentless pelting with acorns for two days. Just our luck! Asked to move over one spot, which was vacant, but were told someone was coming in to use it that day. No one ever showed. River was quite low, once again, our luck. I loved the occasional train whistle from the nearby excursion train. Clean park, friendly workers. When I accidentally dropped my keys and left without them, by the time we returned to hopefully find them, the crew had already found them and were attempting to contact us. Nice service! It was also quiet because the kids were back in school. We camped at Saco River Camping Area in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
B6
Site Surface
Sand
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Lots of outlet malls and shop very close by. Mount Washington is not too far and a nice day trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 35
States Visited: 21
Helpful Reviews: 14

Date of Stay: June, 2017 - $49.00
Overall Rating:      

When we arrived I couldn't figure out why this place was so empty during the busy season. It seems nice enough, spacious, etc. But I think I may have discovered the problem........rules, rules upon rules, upon rules. You are literally barraged with signs about what you can't do, they are EVERYWHERE! You have to use your gate code to get out of here, not just get in, but to get out and then they have a big metal gate that is locked at 11PM and you can't leave or come back unless you call them to open it. Our neighbors arrived after the 8p.m. closing time and they had to dry camp outside the office until the morning when someone came to open up! Seriously, who does that in the RV park world? You can't drive to the very small pool by the office, you have to walk, which is going to be an issue for someone with mobility issues because it is a LONG way from the camp sites. The check in process was incredibly long because they go over all the rules and tell you everything you are not allowed to do.....as through you could miss the signs posted every 10 ft. about what you are not allowed to do. Not once during that process did they welcome us, tell us to have a nice time or do anything remotely welcoming. Honestly, we felt like we were in a prison camp, not a campground. We have been RVing for 15 years, spending 3-4 months a year traveling and we have NEVER come across a less inviting place in all those years. Yes, the campground is pretty nice, but the attitude of the people that run it, make it not worth staying here. No, we would not come back and no we would not recommend this place to anyone. Camping is supposed to make your relaxed and enjoy your stay and this place makes you feel unwanted and uncomfortable. That is just sad because it could be a nice place otherwise. So my rating is due to the poor service and uninviting attitude, beyond that, this park would rate average to good, but sadly for us, that ruined it. We camped at Saco River Camping Area in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my motorhome
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
1 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

SRCA, manager at Saco River Camping Area responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. It's disappointing to hear you didn't feel welcomed. Early to Mid June is typically slow here as we wait for the kids to get out of school, so your lack of a big welcome from us is all the more disappointing. We dropped the ball and do apologize. Please know you can absolutely drive your car to pool area, and guests do it frequently. As for our policies, the vast majority of our families come to our campground because we enforce speed limits and quiet times and it's true we don't allow of vehicles coming and going all night long. We believe the sounds and lights of cars/trucks in the middle of the night are not what camping is about. We're very sorry our campground didn't meet your needs, but for families looking for a safe and fun place for themselves and their children, SRCA is fortunate to welcome over 50,000 guests annually for their family camping vacation.

Review Count: 77
States Visited: 30
Helpful Reviews: 17

Date of Stay: June, 2017 - $59.00
Overall Rating:      

This is an older campground, not very big rig friendly. The roads are asphalt and adequate, except there are trees on every corner. The pads are gravel/dirt and the sites have a table and fire pit. We were first assigned site 69 which we rejected because it is narrow, covered by trees, and oriented incorrectly for the back-in. We then got PT site 40 which was an open-sky PT; however, we backed out when we left because of poles and other obstacles in the way to pull out. The campground is busy with lots of activities for kids and recreational equipment for rent. As in many busy campgrounds, the wifi was slow. Interesting that a gate code is required for entry and exit to the campground, and they lock a farm gate at 11 pm each night, so entry and exit is impossible after that time. We would seek another campground if we are in this area again. We camped at Saco River Camping Area in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
40
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Interior Roads
Tight Turns, Obstacles
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo
alm

Review Count: 52
States Visited: 26
Helpful Reviews: 6

Date of Stay: October, 2016 - $43.00
Overall Rating:      

This is a very nice park. Right in town, but you'd never know as it is quiet and secluded. Fairly spacious sites, level and lots of beautiful shade trees. The river is on one side of the park with nice walking paths. We were there for 5 nights over Columbus Day holiday. The park was full, but everyone obeyed the 10 pm quiet hour. The town was very packed, so we stayed off the roads for a couple of days. Helpful and pleasant staff. Wifi was very good. We camped at Saco River Camping Area in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
85
Site Surface
Gravel, Sand, Grass
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

We were there to see the leaves and were not disappointed. We skipped the outlet mall shopping and enjoyed driving the area roads and stopping to hike or gawk at the stunning colors, going to Cathedral Ledge, lunch and views at White Mountain Lodge, seeing two nearby covered bridges, and breakfast at the Stairway Cafe (worth the wait!). I would not want to be there in high season due to traffic issues.

1 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 55
States Visited: 12
Helpful Reviews: 13

Date of Stay: October, 2016 - $50.00
Overall Rating:      

This is a large but segmented campground. They have 2 separate portions of the campground. We were in the section that was closest to the main field as you enter the park. None of these sites have full hook-ups, but they do have 20/30/50 amp, water, and cable (No sewer :( ). The other section that is closer to the river appeared to have many full hook-up sites. We camped the last weekend (Columbus Day Weekend) of the season. Check-in was easy and the staff were very helpful in the process. The campground was in preparation to close down for the season so there was minimal amenities. We stayed in site 236 which was a pull-thru site. The electrical, water, and cable post was at the rear of the site. You will need a fairly long hose and power cord. The electricity was sufficient and the water pressure was great. I did use the shower in the bath house ($.25 = 5 minutes). The shower was clean, but the bathroom could have used cleaning. We will be sure to camp here in the future. We camped at Saco River Camping Area in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
236
Site Surface
Gravel, Grass
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious, Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open, Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Fryeburg Fair, Outlets Shopping, North Conway

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 69
States Visited: 38
Helpful Reviews: 8

Date of Stay: September, 2016 - $48.00
Overall Rating:      

This is a very large family oriented park.
Lots to do for the kids and family.
It's clean and well kept and staff was very accommodating.
It has a variety of space that should be able to please just about anyone.
When we were their at the end of September the park was less than 10% occupied. With the park so Empty we were surprised that they charge so much. We camped at Saco River Camping Area in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Sand
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my motorhome
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

During the season it looks like there was lots to do for kids and family.
But when we stayed everything was put away for winter.

We did a day trip to Mt Washington, would recommend it to anyone.
Drove up the hill on a rainy day, not much of a view but still worth the drive.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 57
States Visited: 30
Helpful Reviews: 16

Date of Stay: August, 2016 - $57.00
Overall Rating:      

This is a large, family-oriented RV park. If you have a big rig and you want full hookups and satellite access, however, this probably isn't the best choice of parks. In order to have those amenities, we had to take one of the strangest sites I have ever encountered. It was a long pull-in (back-out) site with brushy trees which narrowed the width. After disconnecting our truck from our fifth wheel, I had to drive the truck through the RV park playground in order to get it back out onto the access road. Also, I had to do a bit of tree-trimming to ensure that we didn't scratch up our fifth wheel when we backed out to leave. Our site was a level, gravel/sand site with fire ring and picnic table with good hookups. The access roads were paved. There was a small heated swimming pool and a several nice play areas on attractive grounds. The WiFi was decent, but not extraordinary. Glass/plastic/aluminum recycling was available on site (no paper). We camped at Saco River Camping Area in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
72
Site Surface
Sand
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Quite a bit longer (plenty of space) for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $62.00
Overall Rating:      

We greatly appreciated having Site 111 because it is spacious, next to the entrance to the Audubon trail, and near the Saco River beach. We enjoyed walking in the woods and wading in the crystal-clear Saco River. The campground is located on a quiet road off Route 16 in close proximity to shopping centers, restaurants, and adventures, but it affords views of the surrounding mountains, offers tubing and boating in the river, contains plenty of trees, and connects to the Audubon woods. Our truck would not start on the morning of our departure, and the owners were extremely understanding. They graciously moved our trailer to the field while we had our truck repaired. We are very grateful for their kindness and highly recommend this campground. We camped at Saco River Camping Area in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
111
Site Surface
Dirt
Site Type
Other
Site Space
Long enough for my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 183
States Visited: 44
Helpful Reviews: 35

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $57.00
Overall Rating:      

The main road coming in is small and curvy. If two big rigs met, it could spell trouble. The main road is paved but the secondary roads are dirt, and the sites are dirt/grass. All sites are not level and some sites had two or three tents. A posted speed sign was in place showing your speed and many vehicles were well above the maximum speed limit. This policy was not enforced and there were LOTS of kids. The park also charges $4.00 per dog per night. We camped at Saco River Camping Area in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
63
Site Surface
Dirt, Sand
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my motorhome
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
1 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $57.00
Overall Rating:      

Staff was excellent , front desk was pleasant and very helpful with area

information. Sites were good large enough. Need more preparation for incoming campers, found papers on site, not raked, very little grass.

Pool is nice, plenty to do. Picnic tables need to be replaced or fixed. Campgound just needs some sprucing up. We camped at Saco River Camping Area in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
91
Site Surface
Dirt
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Hiking,tubeing,canoeing,miniture golf, 18 hole golf,shopping, zip line,

water park attached, swimming, biking. Food is a good a lobster yard.

Plenty to do. Enjoy, laid back atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 3
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: July, 2015 - $57.00
Overall Rating:      

Nice stay, sites vary in size and quality quite a bit, with some awesome sites and some really bad ones (like site 33). River sites are a bit over-hyped and are on a high slope. The entire campground was sandy & dusty though, with some sites completely dusty/dirt, with limited to no grass, which was a downer. Sites not well manicured. Clean restrooms, but not enough of them (only 2) for such a large campground, and with only two showers per restroom, waiting was an issue. .25 cents per 5 minutes at the showers, so bring plenty of quarters with you. Plenty for the kids to do, but the campground charges for some of it, like laser tag ($8), or the 3 wheeled bicycles ($6 for 30 min). Campground is in a great location for river access and shopping/restaurants. We camped at Saco River Camping Area in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
87
Site Surface
Dirt, Sand, Grass
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
1 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 41
States Visited: 22
Helpful Reviews: 8

Date of Stay: October, 2013 - $47.00
Overall Rating:      

Nice park and staff. They had nice showers that were separate for privacy. You had to pay .25 cents for 5 minutes in the shower, but you could adjust the water. They were very nice and hot water. Toilets were narrow and small, but nice. Park was very well maintained. We camped at Saco River Camping Area in a Motorhome.

1 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 32
States Visited: 7
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: September, 2013 - $60.00
Overall Rating:      

Very nice that if you are traveling with another unit, the pull through sites are so that you are facing each other. Good cable, slow and sketchy Wi-Fi, mostly sand in pull throughs. Back in sites have more grass. Nice access to Saco River and very convenient to downtown and all the mountain sights and trails. We camped at Saco River Camping Area in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 60
States Visited: 21
Helpful Reviews: 7

Date of Stay: September, 2012 - $49.00
Overall Rating:      

This is a good campground close to Traffic on Rt. 16 is heavy but the campground is off the road and backs up to the river. We had a site with very little grass and it was raining. Our site was muddy and water stood right where we stepped out of the rig. Not the best of places to be in the rain. Restrooms were in need of update but were clean. Understand you have to pay extra for the showers ??? Although we didn't need to use their showers I consider this a big negative. We would not stay here again. We camped at Saco River Camping Area in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with Saco River Camping Area ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;