8.6 Excellent
     
Elephant Butte, New Mexico

Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort

Elephant Butte, New Mexico



402 Hwy 195
Elephant Butte, New Mexico 87935
Phone: (575) 744-5996

Sites: 145
Recent Rate: $1 11/2016

Office Hours:

Monday: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Tuesday: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Wednesday: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Thursday: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Friday: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Sunday: 8:00am - 4:00pm

Hours above shown for timezone: America/Denver

Add Your Review

Latitude: 33.182346977547
Longitude: -107.21741616726
Campground Overview
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping no
  • Restrooms (Plumbed) Restrooms (Plumbed) yes
  • Pit Toilets Pit Toilets no
  • Showers Showers yes
  • $0.00 Shower Fee Shower Fee 0.00
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • $0.00 Laundry Fee Laundry Fee 0.00
  • Dump Station Dump Station yes
  • $0.00 Dump Station Fee Dump Station Fee 0.00
  • Propane Available Propane Available no
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available no
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts no
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter no
  • RV Wash RV Wash no
  • $0.00 RV Wash Fee RV Wash Fee 0.00
  • Corral Corral no
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip no
  • Overflow Parking Overflow Parking yes
Hookups & Connectivity
  • Electric (30 AMP) Electric (30 AMP) yes
  • Electric (50 AMP) Electric (50 AMP) yes
  • Water Water yes
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • $0.00 WiFi Fee WiFi Fee 0.00
  • Cellular Phone Service Cellular Phone Service no
  • Cellular Phone Providers Cellular Phone Providers
  • Cable or Satellite TV Hookup Cable or Satellite TV Hookup yes
  • Phone Phone yes
  • Central Modem Central Modem no
Amenities
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • 0 Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) 0
  • Pool Access Pool Access yes
  • Family Friendly Family Friendly yes
  • Playground Playground no
  • Pet Area Pet Area yes
  • Waterfront Waterfront no
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse yes
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar no
  • Business Center Business Center no
  • Group Camping Group Camping yes
  • Meeting Rooms Meeting Rooms yes
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen no
  • Banquet Facilities Banquet Facilities yes
  • Concierge Services Concierge Services no
Recreation
  • Walking Trail(s) Walking Trail(s) yes
  • Recreation Room Recreation Room yes
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities yes
  • Beach Access Beach Access yes
  • Boat Ramp Boat Ramp yes
  • Marina Marina yes
  • Boat Rentals Boat Rentals yes
  • Fishing Fishing yes
  • Golfing Golfing yes
  • Bike Path(s) Bike Path(s) yes
  • Bike Rentals Bike Rentals no
  • Hiking Hiking yes
  • Spa Spa yes
  • Horseshoe Pit Horseshoe Pit yes
  • Volley Ball Volley Ball no
  • Sports Field Sports Field no
  • Arcade Games Arcade Games no
  • Live Entertainment Live Entertainment no
  • Amphitheatre Amphitheatre no
  • Putt Putt Mini-Golf Putt Putt Mini-Golf no
  • Billiards Billiards no
  • Ping Pong Ping Pong no
  • Lake Lake yes
  • Pond Pond no
  • River River yes
  • Creek Creek no
  • Ocean Ocean no
  • Water Park Water Park no
  • Casino Casino no

Review Details

Ratings overview

98 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 4
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: November, 2016 - $1.00
Overall Rating:      

We called the recording to find out when the office closed which said 5:00pm. We decided we didn't need to call ahead for a reservation but when we arrived at 4:30, the office was closed! We called the number on the door, nobody answered. Late arrival info told us to take a spot right behind the office. As we were staying for three nights, not just overnight, we decided to call the 2nd number in hopes of getting a spot. A man answered and told us that 5:00 was summer hours and they forgot to change the recording. This is November right? He came to help but said he had "No authorization to give us a spot". What? We came directly to the park before picking up our rig because we wanted to make it before closing so we were asked some strange questions about the shape of our rig and that he would have to inspect it before we could stay there. What? Not snobbish much are we? When he finally decided we were good enough to stay there, he told us to take one of the spots behind the office, and could move to another spot in the morning. That's not inconvenient at all! He then said we could stay there all 3 nights. We're not being difficult but we have a young dog in training and there is way too much commotion by the office, we didn't want her to bother everyone if she barked too much. When he refused to call someone to the office who could help and we realized we were getting no where, we decided to go to the other nice place and were checked-in, in less than 5 mins. Again, we're not being difficult, these spots are costly, you should be happy where you're at. We've been to Lakeside many many times, used to store our rig there too. I just hope management/ ownership hasn't changed for the worse. This used to be such a well managed and organized, friendly place. Not sure if we'll be back unless things improve. I sure hope so!

If you are going to have someone answering calls, please provide contact information for someone who has authorization to rent out the sites. He was very nice and tried to help as much as possible. I don't place any blame on him, this was a very poor MANAGEMENT decision, he just lacked the required customer service skills. We camped at Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Sewer Connection
Yes

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort, manager at Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort responded to this review

Dear Younger Campers,
We apologize for not updating our answering machine; that has been updated. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We will share your kind words with our staff.
Safe journeys!

Review Count: 6
States Visited: 6
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: October, 2016 - $51.00
Overall Rating:      

Lovely, clean park with roomy spots available would like to stay longer but thought pricey for overnight. Large variety of parking spaces, be sure what size you reserve for long term. We camped at Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Site Number
107
Site Surface
Concrete
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort, manager at Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort responded to this review

Hi Oregonian,
Thank you so much for taking time to post this review.
Safe journeys!
Liz

Review Count: 64
States Visited: 24
Helpful Reviews: 26

Date of Stay: April, 2016 - $40.00
Overall Rating:      

Beautiful resort with a lot of attention to landscaping. Wide lanes all concrete. Very wide sites with gravel. FHU w/50. & Picnic table. Nice huge fenced in dog run. Very friendly people. Big vacation spot for summer and Spring Break for residents of NM. Sits in a valley with a very large recreational lake and surrounded by mountains. We will definitely be back. This park is beautiful with very very long and wide RV spaces. Beautiful large fenced in off leash dog park. Indoor pool and spa. Nicely landscaped. Quiet in March. On a hill top with beautiful views. We camped at Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Concrete
Campsite Features
Patio

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open, Some Shade
Tips for other Campers:

Nice restaurant at hotel across the road. Quite a creative menu.
In summer, Elephant Butte Lake.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort, manager at Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort responded to this review

Hi Jannec,
What a wonderful review. We will share your comments with staff members and the Ivory Tusk Restaurant. We love the FMCA members...so much fun!! Hope to see you at the next rally.

Review Count: 13
States Visited: 7
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: April, 2016 - $40.00
Overall Rating:      

We stayed for nine days during a FMCA rally. The park has three distinct areas. The two lower areas are gravel roads and gravel sites. They seemed a little dusty. The upper level is all wide paved streets. with both gravel and paved sites. We stayed on the upper level on a concrete pad. The site was wide and very deep. Nice landscaping. Good hook-ups and great water pressure. The staff was very friendly and very accommodating. I had to have two packages UPS'ed to me - on both occasions they called to let me know my package had arrived. Two nice dog runs. Since we were at a rally we used the event facility. Nice facility with both indoor and outdoor gathering areas. I would definitely recommend and hope to return in the future.However, I would recommend staying in the upper section and avoid the dust. . We camped at Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
181
Site Surface
Concrete
Campsite Features
Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort, manager at Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort responded to this review

Hi cmwb,
Thank you for the kind review. The next time you call for a reservation, please be sure to ask for an upper level site! As we've told others, we love the FMCA rally and the members...you were all so much fun and very thoughtful. Can't wait until the next rally!

Review Count: 21
States Visited: 9
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: April, 2016 - $25.00
Overall Rating:      

We stayed 9 nights and got the monthly rate, which was a good deal. We had an issue on check in, someone was in our site and had left it there for a week. The park upgraded our site for the same price, so it was good in the end. They tried hard to make it right. Grounds are clean, bathrooms and pool area was very good also. We use the event center several times, also very nice. They would have got a 10 if the internet had worked, we used our Verizon hot spot, used a lot of our data plan. Internet needs an upgrade. We will back to this park. We camped at Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade, Mostly Shady
Tips for other Campers:

Walk to restaurant across the street, excellent ribs and fun atmosphere.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort, manager at Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort responded to this review

Hi Jeff n Anita:
Thank you so much for taking time to write this review. We are so glad you had a good stay. The FMCA Rally was so much fun and the participants were great! We truly hope to see you again!

Review Count: 17
States Visited: 7
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: April, 2016 - $50.00
Overall Rating:      

Enjoyed a very level concrete pad and extremely wide site. The resort exemplifies pride with outstanding desert landscaping and attention to cleanliness. Will definitely return. We camped at Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
Premium back in
Site Surface
Concrete
Campsite Features
Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort, manager at Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort responded to this review

Hi Travelling Anne: Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We certainly hope to see you again in the future.

Review Count: 178
States Visited: 33
Helpful Reviews: 18

Date of Stay: April, 2016 - $10.00
Overall Rating:      

We stayed here a month, and attended a FMCA rally while we were here. The rate reflects the monthly rate. There was an added charge for electricity used (about $135 in our case.

This is a beautiful park, with very nice level sites and up-to-date hookups, which all work. Some sites are a little tight for our 40-foot rig, but we were assigned initially to our site, when the park was sold out due to the rally. Later we moved a a spacious site with more than enough room for our rig, car, and space for a dining area.

We would certainly stay here again. This is a very nice place to come and stay for an extended period. We camped at Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort, manager at Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort responded to this review

Hoppytoad...thanks for the review on rvparksreview.com
It was our pleasure to have you here! The FMCA rally was so much fun for all of us.

Review Count: 21
States Visited: 6
Helpful Reviews: 9

Date of Stay: March, 2016 - $42.00
Overall Rating:      

This park has been remodeled in the last few years. The overnight sites are very large pull through and well lit. Hookups are very accessible. Cable TV and wifi were ok. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We camped at Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
5
Site Surface
Concrete, Grass

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort, manager at Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort responded to this review

Hi gwalter,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review for our Resort. It was a pleasure to have you back at the RV Resort and we hope you will return soon. Again, thank you for the kind words.

Review Count: 26
States Visited: 12
Helpful Reviews: 9

Date of Stay: February, 2016 - $42.00
Overall Rating:      

Rate reflects Good Sam discount. Beautiful pristine park with magnificent views of the mountains. Stayed here two nights on our way to Albuquerque and it was a wonderful respite. Excellently maintained park with immaculate restrooms and showers - combo type made for a large area to shower and dress. Laundry area very large with granite countertops for folding and laundry baskets to unload machines. Decent size heated indoor pool had aqua classes and a fitness area off pool area.
They have choices on types of sites desired. We went for a basic pull thru with gravel stone and no picnic table but other sites had plenty of room and table. This park is a bit out of the way and somewhat pricey, but well worth the cost. We camped at Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tips for other Campers:

Stayed here to go to Spaceport America but unfortunately tour was cancelled.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort, manager at Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort responded to this review

Hi Beachside Baby,
Thank you so much for your kind review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write this review of our RV Resort. We will share this review with our staff, who are dedicated to serving our guests. Again, thank you!

Review Count: 31
States Visited: 10
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: October, 2015 - $40.00
Overall Rating:      

We spent almost a month here, and even though we didn't use the bathroom or showers, they were spotless. They have a dog wash area here ($7), a very nice dog run, indoor heated pool & hot tub. Our lot was level, nice sized, and we had a picnic table. The lots are pea sized rocks, but the roads are wide and concrete in here. This is conveniently located near several restaurants. The staff is very friendly, and the park is super clean. It's quiet, and you feel safe in here. Alot of the people staying long term in there are quite friendly too. They have activities going on alot of times too. We had one problem only while staying here. Mice. We have never EVER had mice in the rv so it horrified us, and I still have nightmares about it. We did find out that the mice prob was very bad that year, and the old section of the park, has had the probs for years. If you stay, put steel wool at the bottom of all slides, as these nasty critters seem to find any place to come in. It took us 3 days to stop them, and we had 3 other "permanents" we met, say they deal with them all the time. They also laughingly said its a problem no one talks about, and isn't mentioned unless you say something. Other than that? This place is great. The prices are excellent, and its the best in the area to stay at as far as we are concerned. We camped at Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
0000
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tips for other Campers:

The sites are spacious as far as being able to get a large rv in, and your vehicle you park, but most sites are within a few feet of another in the back side of them all. If you like privacy, you will either have to keep your curtains shut all the time, or learn to live with someone being close to the back end of your rv.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 6
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: July, 2015 - $39.00
Overall Rating:      

This is a very nice park! Our site was gravel and had no picnic table, but it was clean and the entire park is well maintained and it appears to be not too old. All the facilities are up to date. It has a great indoor pool and hot tub. We have extended our stay because there is lots to do within a reasonable drive. We travel in a 20' travel trailer so we were in one of their smaller sites, but it was wide enough to have our car sit beside our trailer. We would come here again. We camped at Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
18
Site Surface
Gravel

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: May, 2015 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

Terrific RV park! Wide level spots with good Wi-Fi. The staff were very friendly and welcoming when we arrived and very helpful the next morning when we needed a tire service referral. The new bathrooms/showers/laundry area is absolutely gorgeous and spotlessly clean. It was worth the trip off the freeway for just an overnight stay. We camped at Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 37
States Visited: 12
Helpful Reviews: 8

Date of Stay: March, 2015 - $10.00
Overall Rating:      

This is the second time we have stayed here and while it is a wonderfully maintained facility we probably won't be back. It doesn't seem like the rules are enforced and if you are a retiree looking for a quiet, relaxing place this isn't it. Expect loud kids tearing around on scooters and bikes going through sites. Even though the reservation form asks the number of kids and ages in your RV, that's about the extent of it. Also, expect barking dogs tied up, even though the rules say that isn't allowed. We have a small dog, however always make sure he is attended. Also, expect sites with one, two or more dogs. On one occasion while walking our dog two dogs charged him. The owner basically said, "Oops." Also, expect the swimming pool rules to be lax. We read in the rules that "laps" were only from 8 - 9 AM daily (no sign in the pool though), however when 3 of us older folks were in the pool at 9:45 some young guy came in a took over the pool doing the most aggressive laps ever (no skill at all) causing the pool to be a torrent. We had to get out. We realize this isn't an "adult only" park, however in trying to be all things to all people it seems like this facility isn't suited for retirees. No offense to the management, because they have a beautiful facility. One would expect a more robust park in the summer with the resulting noise and hubbub, however in the winter months it seems like the retirees who would return year after year would be their priority. We camped at Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 6
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: February, 2015 - $37.00
Overall Rating:      

This is an excellent park! The park is beautiful and has excellent amenities including planned activities and an indoor heated pool. There are 3 levels with one level having concrete pads, while the other two are gravel. Sites are level. We had a gravel site on the 3rd level. It was not as scenic or spacious as the other 2 levels, but well maintained. The dog park is awesome! Wifi is so-so, but free. Management was very helpful and directed us to area attractions. There is no on-site propane, but we found a dealer nearby. This is a great park for full time RV'ers looking for a place to spend the winter. However, it is a significant drive to area national parks and other tourist sites. We camped at Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
23
Site Surface
Concrete, Gravel
Campsite Features
Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 8
States Visited: 3
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: August, 2014 - $10.00
Overall Rating:      

The park is very well maintained, the people who work here are like family, it has free cable (lots of channels) and free wifi (good reception). The fitness center, indoor pool and indoor hot tub were very awesome! They also offer yoga, water aerobics, Tai Chi, basic RV maintenance, Wii bowling, etc.! We loved our stay here and will find our way back during our travels. We camped at Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tips for other Campers:

The town of Elephant Butte has a great hike/bike trail and the lake offers all kinds of water sports and fishing. Unfortunately, we were here during the winter so we didn't participate in the water sports but we hear during the summer it is a blast!

T or C (Truth or Consequences) is about 4 miles away and has a Walmart and lots of "regional charm", shopping, artsy shops, natural restaurants, medical/dental offices, etc.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

     

American RV Park

446 Ratings
Albuquerque, New Mexico

     

Carlsbad KOA

209 Ratings
Carlsbad, New Mexico

     

Rose Valley RV Ranch

117 Ratings
Silver City, New Mexico

     

Agua Vista

6 Ratings
Elephant Butte, New Mexico

Are you affiliated with Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.