6.8 Good
http://www.rvparkreviews.com/regions/new-mexico

Santa Rosa Campground & RV Park

Santa Rosa, New Mexico


2136 Historic Route 66
Santa Rosa, New Mexico 88435
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 100
Recent Rate: $$$$

Add Review

Latitude: 34.94584
Longitude: -104.66191

Elevation: 4782' (approx.)
Park Features
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • 55+ 55+ no
  • Kid Friendly Kid Friendly yes
  • Boondocking Boondocking no
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts yes
  • Dump Station Dump Station yes
  • Group Camping Group Camping no
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
Hookups
  • Full Hookup Full Hookup yes
  • Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP)
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • Phone Phone no
  • Water Water yes
  • Cable/Sat. TV Hookup Cable/Sat. TV Hookup yes
Connectivity
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • ATT Cellular Provider ATT
  • Verizon Cellular Provider Verizon
  • Sprint Cellular Provider Sprint
  • T-Mobile Cellular Provider T-Mobile
Amenities
  • Restrooms Restrooms yes
  • Showers Showers yes
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Pet Area Pet Area yes
  • Propane Available Propane Available yes
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar yes
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse no
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available no
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen no
  • Horse Camp Horse Camp no
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip no
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter no
  • Restrooms: vault Restrooms: vault no
Recreation
  • Pool Access Pool Access yes
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Recreational Trails Recreational Trails no
  • Rec Room Rec Room no
  • Casino Casino no
  • Fishing Fishing no
  • Beach Beach no
  • Biking Biking no
  • Boating Boating no
  • Golf Golf no
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities no
  • Horseshoes Horseshoes no
  • Mini-Golf Mini-Golf no
  • Outdoor Courts Outdoor Courts no
  • Pickleball Pickleball ?
  • Water Access Water Access no

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Ask fellow campers about "Santa Rosa Campground & RV Park" and nearby attractions.

Review Details

Ratings overview

279 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews' member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 19
States Visited: 11
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: July, 2018 - $27.00
Overall Rating:

Like so many others we found the owner to be a surly grouch. Immediately upon arrival he blocked me with a golf cart and accused me of backing into something. He went behind my trailer to check for damage. Finding nothing he mumbled something I couldn't hear. Then told me I was going the wrong way. There are no arrows or signs. I found the 30 and 50 amp outlets were badly worn out. The 50 looked burned. We used the 30 but didn't need our AC since it was a cool night. All good until the skunk came out later. Pass this one if you can. I would not stop here again. We camped at Santa Rosa Campground & RV Park in a Travel Trailer.

Site Details

Site Number
20
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 4
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: July, 2018 - $32.00
Overall Rating:

This park is your basic desert camp. I spend considerable time in Baja and this is the kind of RV park you find there except the food down there is much better. The water supply is directed at the electronic supply box. Therefore, when disconnecting your hose, the residual water runs onto your neighbors electrical cord. We camped at Santa Rosa Campground & RV Park in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Site Number
32
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my travel trailer
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

I recommend you opt for another restaurant. I ordered the bbq rib / brisket combo. They never saw a bbq nor smoker. They were baked in an oven and bbq sauce drizzled over just before being served. The brisket was tough and obviously not cooked "low and slow", as required for the expected results. Just a sloppy, no effort cook. Two available sewer connections at the site. However the one you'll need (at the rear) could not be opened. Obviously it's been non functional for a long time.

3 campers found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 12
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: June, 2018 - $38.00
Overall Rating:

Have stayed here twice but only because of convenience but probably won't stay again. The pull-thru spaces are very tight and hard to get into with the tow. It would be nice if they would escort you to your site. It's okay for one night. We camped at Santa Rosa Campground & RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
10 Third St
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my motorhome
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Interior Roads
Tight Turns
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
2 campers found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 3
States Visited: 3
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: June, 2018 - $34.00
Overall Rating:

We are full time RVers and my wife always checks campground reviews before we make a reservation. Wanting to see Blue Hole in New Mexico, we very unwisely ignored the multiple reviews to avoid the Santa Rosa Campground and RV Park thinking it couldn't be that bad. Trust me - do not ignore these reviews. Many reviewers call the owner a "bully" and we found that to be true. My wife, trying to ask him where to park our truck/fifth wheel for registration, was yelled at her for leaving the office door open and "letting in the heat". The electrical system kept shutting down. I discovered the 50 amp breaker on my campsite was defective. The owner's response was he would replace it in the morning and we could either spend the night on 30 amps or leave! With New Mexico temperatures in the 90's, we told him we would leave in the morning and I went to the office to have the rest of our reservation refunded to my credit card. A half hour later, the owner came to our campsite demanding to know why we were still there. He said he had refunded our money and we were to leave the campground immediately or he was calling the police! We are in our mid-seventies ... and with dark approaching, we had to take down and re-hitch our fifth wheel and travel to Tucumcari ... where, gratefully, we were given a site at another rv park. Our experience with Santa Rosa Campground and RV Park caused us to take our tourist dollars away from Blue Hole and we will not be returning to Santa Rosa. We camped at Santa Rosa Campground & RV Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Clean Restrooms
Clean Showers

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my 5th wheel (had to disconnect)
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Interior Roads
Tight Turns, Poor Conditions
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Stay elsewhere -- the owner is very rude and does not care about customer service. Park layout is difficult to navigate. Unfortunately, there are not many choices in the area -- Tucumcari is about an hour east.

4 campers found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Featured Campgrounds Near Santa Rosa Campground & RV Park

Review Count: 6
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: June, 2018 - $48.00
Overall Rating:

The WORST campground we have ever had the displeasure of staying at. Very basic park for overnighting only. No shade and perimeter of park is not gated or secure. Upon checking for reservations we had for 6 months for full hook up, was told they didn't have any full hook up. Then another person walked in after us with a reservation and was given 50 amp with full hook up. I was told well he reserved it and that this guy at the front desk "does this for a living a doesn't make mistakes". I provided the name of the person I reserved with, which also happened to be him. I was told no discount for the inconvenience, he could refund me and I could leave looking for a new place. Seriously! My husband asked that we receive some form of a discount for their mistake and was advised the manager could issue that in the morning. The manager came to our site in the morning and said we had 10 mins to leave. I wouldn't recommend you staying here as they definitely had the upper hand we could stay and pay for less than we reserved or leave. As an RVing family we should not support businesses that are dishonest and have zero customer service! We camped at Santa Rosa Campground & RV Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
Pull thru
Site Surface
Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my 5th wheel (had to disconnect)
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
3 campers found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 60
States Visited: 19
Helpful Reviews: 36

Date of Stay: June, 2018 - $35.00
Overall Rating:

There is nothing special about this place. The sites are close. The drive way not very wide. And the interior roads can be difficult to navigate. This was once a KOA and looks like it. (not a compliment). That being said - the cable, WiFi and water pressure were all fine. We used this as a base camp to visit several sites. It is convenient on and off to I-40 and there was very little highway noise. The only downside, as others have mentioned, is the owners attitude. Maybe it is just a weird sense of humor - but he can be difficult to deal with. There is a restaurant on site but we did not use it so can not attest to its quality. We camped at Santa Rosa Campground & RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Interior Roads
Tight Turns
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

The Route 66 museum only a few blocks away. Take a drive to Fort Sumner to see the Billy the Kid Museum - it is very fascinating

1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 18
States Visited: 10
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: May, 2018 - $38.00
Overall Rating:

Stayed here passing through on a road trip. They upgraded us go a pull through site when we arrived which was great. Sites are close together. Facilities were clean and nice. Camp host was nice. Had a great stay. We camped at Santa Rosa Campground & RV Park in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my travel trailer
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 3
States Visited: 3
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: May, 2018 - $34.00
Overall Rating:

This RV Park is a hidden gem in Santa Rosa, NM. The site we had was level, had trees & rose bushes. The staff was great & the owner lives onsite & protects the park guess 24 hours a day. The WIFI was amazing best I have had in 8 months of traveling. Left feeling like we made new friends with the staff. We will stay again for sure. We camped at Santa Rosa Campground & RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
29
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my motorhome
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 48
States Visited: 14
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: May, 2018 - $29.00
Overall Rating:

This is a convenient campground to the Interstate. It sits on the historic Route 66. This is an older campground that is very well maintained and clean. This campground is in the desert so there is not much grass, mostly gravel and dirt. There are a variety of different hook up options. We took a 30 amp electric and water only. There is a dump station. There are 50 amp full hook up sites available too. The sites are pull thru and are very long and can accommodate any size RV. We only unhooked because we needed our truck to run errands. Otherwise we could have stayed hooked up. The laundry room has 4 washers and 4 dryers. $1.50 for a wash and $1.00 for 45 minutes of drying. The pool is open during the summer,starting on Memorial Day weekend. We will definitely stay here again when in the area! We camped at Santa Rosa Campground & RV Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
63
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer (plenty of space) for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

The BBQ restaurant located behind the campground office is OK. Limited selection of items and the food was plain. If you don't want to drive somewhere to eat then this is an OK option. By the way if you order the cheese stick appetizer, know that they do NOT have marinara sauce to dip it in. Like I said it was a limited selection of items to choose from.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 104
States Visited: 13
Helpful Reviews: 12

Date of Stay: May, 2018 - $32.00
Overall Rating:

Older well kept park. Apparently lots of options for hookups - nothing 30/50, EW, W etc. Easy in / easy out at least in an uncrowded park. If it was full up it might be more difficult. Our site was long enough for a 40 footer and toad. Our picnic table was on the off side since the next site was so close. Good Verizon signal so didn't bother with wifi. We camped at Santa Rosa Campground & RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 62
States Visited: 22
Helpful Reviews: 27

Date of Stay: May, 2018 - $38.00
Overall Rating:

Very pleasant at check-in, wide roads and good written directions to campsite. Level site with rigs parked in opposite directions so a bit close together but neatly landscaped. Restaurant on site was convenient and reasonably priced. Pool was closed for maintenance. We camped at Santa Rosa Campground & RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
12A
Site Surface
Dirt, Sand
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 20
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: May, 2018 - $38.00
Overall Rating:

3 bars on cell phone signal. Internet OK, but up and down, Easy in/out and big rig friendly. Check-in very courteous and great barbecue Make reservation as they fill up. Good location and nice staff. Glad to find this park. We camped at Santa Rosa Campground & RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
10
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 82
States Visited: 18
Helpful Reviews: 18

Date of Stay: April, 2018 - $37.00
Overall Rating:

Easy park to find and use for a one night stop. Manager was funny and did his job well. We also walked to McDonalds. We camped at Santa Rosa Campground & RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
12
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my motorhome
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

McDonalds and some pubs in the area. Pilot is just down the street for all fuel needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: April, 2018 - $30.00
Overall Rating:

I stayed on Easter. The office was closed and the phone message did not say this so I kept leaving messages. When I arrived two other RVs were there and not knowing which sites were open, we all went into the camp. I was going to fill out envelope when a guy who said he was the owner basically accosted me and rudely asked why I hadn't paid. I then paid him and had the envelope in my hand. I have dogs and wear a belt with the bags to clean up clearly visible. He told me to be sure and clean up and said I always do. He then told me he only liked little dogs. I was walking my dogs and he came up on a golf cart and loudly said, mam, you have to clean up after your dogs and I said I know and I do. Later I was walking on paths through tent site area which was completely empty and he came over on golf cart and said, mam get your dogs out of there. I asked if tent campers could have dogs and he just said, I said get out of there, no dogs. It was not posted as no dog walking. I am an older woman, camping by myself. He scared me. He was loud and rude. I locked my door to my RV and know I will never stay there again. In a few minutes I heard him yelling at a guy who hadn't paid yet. The man said there were no envelopes and the owner of the RV park told him he was full of sh---t. The man just quickly went into his RV to get away from the owner. When he came out I told him the owner had yelled at me too. He just said, write a review and leave in the morning and don't come back is all you can do. I have never been treated like that and have stayed in a lot of RV parks. I don't really know that this guy was the owner but he said he was. I feel like someone will get hurt if he keeps acting like that. We camped at Santa Rosa Campground & RV Park in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
2 campers found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 7
States Visited: 3
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: March, 2018 - $28.00
Overall Rating:

It's the desert....no nice green grass, trees, etc. So, with that said...the campground was gravel, easy to maneuver in and just fine. Level sites, and various amenity options. We chose 30 amp and water only. Office guy was awesome. Nice, funny, and very helpful. I would stay here again since it was fine for an overnight. And with the cost, a resort atmosphere couldn't be expected. We camped at Santa Rosa Campground & RV Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Featured Campgrounds Near Santa Rosa Campground & RV Park

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with Santa Rosa Campground & RV Park ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;
;