Copake KOA

Copake, New York



2236 County Route 7
Copake, New York 12516
Phone: (518)329-2811

Sites: 250
Recent Rate: $58 7/2016

Latitude: 42.0935015046141
Longitude: -73.5822308063507

Add Your Review

Campground Overview
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • Restrooms (Plumbed) Restrooms (Plumbed) yes
  • Pit Toilets Pit Toilets no
  • Showers Showers yes
  • $0.00 Shower Fee Shower Fee 0.00
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • $0.00 Laundry Fee Laundry Fee 0.00
  • Dump Station Dump Station yes
  • $0.00 Dump Station Fee Dump Station Fee 0.00
  • Propane Available Propane Available yes
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available yes
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts yes
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter yes
  • RV Wash RV Wash ?
  • $0.00 RV Wash Fee RV Wash Fee 0.00
  • Corral Corral ?
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip ?
  • Overflow Parking Overflow Parking yes
Hookups & Connectivity
  • Electric (30 AMP) Electric (30 AMP) yes
  • Electric (50 AMP) Electric (50 AMP) yes
  • Water Water yes
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • $0.00 WiFi Fee WiFi Fee 0.00
  • Cellular Phone Service Cellular Phone Service yes
  • Verizon, T-Mobile Cellular Phone Providers Cellular Phone Providers Verizon,T-Mobile
  • Cable or Satellite TV Hookup Cable or Satellite TV Hookup yes
  • Phone Phone no
  • Central Modem Central Modem no
Amenities
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • 0 Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) 0
  • Pool Access Pool Access yes
  • Family Friendly Family Friendly yes
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Pet Area Pet Area yes
  • Waterfront Waterfront no
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse yes
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar yes
  • Business Center Business Center no
  • Group Camping Group Camping ?
  • Meeting Rooms Meeting Rooms no
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen no
  • Banquet Facilities Banquet Facilities no
  • Concierge Services Concierge Services no
Recreation
  • Walking Trail(s) Walking Trail(s) no
  • Recreation Room Recreation Room yes
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities no
  • Beach Access Beach Access no
  • Boat Ramp Boat Ramp no
  • Marina Marina no
  • Boat Rentals Boat Rentals no
  • Fishing Fishing no
  • Golfing Golfing no
  • Bike Path(s) Bike Path(s) no
  • Bike Rentals Bike Rentals yes
  • Hiking Hiking no
  • Spa Spa no
  • Horseshoe Pit Horseshoe Pit yes
  • Volley Ball Volley Ball yes
  • Sports Field Sports Field yes
  • Arcade Games Arcade Games yes
  • Live Entertainment Live Entertainment yes
  • Amphitheatre Amphitheatre no
  • Putt Putt Mini-Golf Putt Putt Mini-Golf yes
  • Billiards Billiards yes
  • Ping Pong Ping Pong yes
  • Lake Lake no
  • Pond Pond no
  • River River no
  • Creek Creek no
  • Ocean Ocean no
  • Water Park Water Park ?
  • Casino Casino no

Review Details

Ratings overview

36 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 18
States Visited: 9
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $58.00
Overall Rating:      

Very nice park. Really back in the hills. FHU back-in site is really long and very level. There is a mix of back in sites and LONG pull through sites. Very quiet at night. All utilities work properly. Office staff and aids are super great. ATT and Verizon data and voice are okay. For long phone calls, we needed to step outside to keep a quality signal. Provided WiFi works fine. They have data usage limits but I never detected a decline in speed or service. Though a bit off the beaten path, this is an excellent place to stop. We camped at Copake KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
148
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Make sure your tow vehicle and trailer brakes are working properly before traveling over the roads that lead here. You are going to use them!

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Copake KOA responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of your recent trip to our KOA, 'Moderate Camper'! We are so happy to hear that our staff provided you great customer service during your stay. We hope that you will come camp with us again the next time you are in the area.
Take care & have a GREAT summer!

Review Count: 4
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $64.00
Overall Rating:      

Extremely well run park. Lot's of activities. Super clean showers and facilities. Fun stuff for adults only, kids only and family events. We camped at Copake KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
TR25
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Copake KOA responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, Bill! We appreciate your kind words and will pass them along to our staff. We hope to see you again sometime! Happy camping!

Review Count: 17
States Visited: 10
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: June, 2016 - $65.00
Overall Rating:      

Overall this is a great campground, though a bit pricey. We stayed 5 nights (Thursday - Monday) and it is obviously a weekend getaway. Friday & Saturday nights were packed and there were lots of activities planned, including a band on Saturday night. By Sunday night, there were only a handful of us left, other than the full timers. Most sites were not very shaded, but were fairly level and easy to get in & out. My biggest complaint was the showers. They were very clean, spacious and private but the water did not stay on. You had to continuously hold down the faucet...frustrating enough when trying to wash your hands; even more so when taking a shower. Most of the full time residents were in a separate part from the temporary sites, and the full time sites were very well kept; probably the nicest we've seen. We camped at Copake KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
TR12
Site Surface
Grass
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

The Church Street Deli & Pizzaria in Copake had great food at reasonable prices.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Copake KOA responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your recent stay with us! We do hope that you had a wonderful time here at the campground. We do appreciate your feedback about our showers and have passed your comments along to our management. We hope that you have a wonderful summer!

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: May, 2016 - $125.00
Overall Rating:      

Really enjoyed my weekend here. They just recently made 3 of their basic cabins pet friendly. I was traveling with my dog. The cabin was very clean. It was a wet weekend but anytime I went to the bathrooms they were exceptionally clean despite the weather. The had 2 dog park areas. The one in the front was smaller with some agility equipment. The one back by the pool and mini golf was quite large and plenty of room for the dog to run around and have fun. As we were walking around I noticed they were lots of activities going on for children and adults. Even though I was traveling alone I felt very secure. I constantly saw camp personnel out and about. Everyone appeared to be having a very good time but nobody was out of control and the quiet hours were actually quiet. I wish I had the time to be a seasonal because this would be the perfect place for it. Will definitely be back again, in fact going to try the tent camping in June. We camped at Copake KOA in a Cabin.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
cabin area
Site Surface
Gravel, Grass
Site Type
Other
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tips for other Campers:

There is a local farmers market on Saturday.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Copake KOA, owner at Copake KOA responded to this review

Lori, So happy you liked being in a pet friendly cabin. We have been trying for a few years to figure out what to do to balance those with allergies versus those who want to bring pets and thought designating specific cabins with pets was a good solution. Glad you agree. See you soon.

Review Count: 76
States Visited: 7
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: September, 2015 - $31.00
Overall Rating:      

Price included free night for KOA members. Our first stay and the end of our vacation. We arrived after a 7 hour drive from DC and it was a little tricky finding it as we had to avoid the Parkway but we made it. Very friendly greeting by the owner and we were given a very nice site that she picked for us. Very nice campground and so friendly, everyone was waving to us while driving, walking or sit at the site. They had a band in Sat night which is rare once Labor Day is over. It was an extremely enjoyable bank and we were able to sit at our campfire to enjoy them. This was a great find for us but they are 3.5 hours away without traffic so we will see if we make it back, hopefully we will. We camped at Copake KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Dirt
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 10
States Visited: 9
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2014 - $62.00
Overall Rating:      

It is a difficult park to review in that in some respects it was very nice where in others it was strange. I felt as if I was "nickeled and dimed" more than I usually am at a campground. Wi-Fi was only for 2 consecutive hours without a hefty surcharge and even after paying on one occasion, the service was spotty. The hot water service in the showers are a pain in the rear end (there are not enough for that size campground either), especially when considering what they charge. The pool times are also pretty tight for the middle of summer. However, the campground is clean, the owners live there, and given how clean and together the campground looks, they seem to work hard. In short, given the price I payed for less than a week's stay, I feel as I did not quite get enough for the premium dollars I paid. We camped at Copake KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 53
States Visited: 11
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: July, 2014 - $70.00
Overall Rating:      

Like this campground. Very nice sites. The Wi-Fi is really silly the way you have to pay and the "two hours free time". Also loads of seasonals and their golf carts. We camped at Copake KOA in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 129
States Visited: 33
Helpful Reviews: 27

Date of Stay: July, 2014 - $62.00
Overall Rating:      

Rate is average rate over an 11 night stay and includes KOA 10% discount. The rate also included special rates for weekend, holiday (4th of July) and special event (fireworks display). This is a nice campground to use as a home base when visiting the Hudson Valley area. Full hookups including cable. Wi-Fi is free for only one connection per day with a 2-hour limit. It is $5/day for full Wi-Fi access. Owners are quite friendly and helpful. Laundry was $2.25 per wash load and dryer load. Several of the dryers were inefficient and did not do a good job of drying. We will stay here again to visit family in the area. We camped at Copake KOA in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2014 - $40.00
Overall Rating:      

Absolutely wonderful KOA. Grounds were well maintained. Facilities clean and up to date. High marks for availability, attentiveness and helpfulness of staff. Camped for 5 nights in early July 2014. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend. We camped at Copake KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 5
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2014 - $40.00
Overall Rating:      

This is a very well maintained RV park and great care is made to keep it that way. There are a lot of permanent sites but most of them are located in the outer perimeter in more wooded areas. Each site was very level with lots of room to spread out. When you check in you are taken via golf cart to your site and shown where to pull or back in. Lovely pool, very clean. Many planned activities on weekends and holidays. Be aware that you are only allowed 2 hours/day on the wifi. Once you signed on -- even if for only 20 minutes -- your time was gone for that 24 hrs. Would definitely camp here again. We camped at Copake KOA in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 53
States Visited: 11
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: August, 2013 - $65.00
Overall Rating:      

Nothing about this campground we didn't like. Very nice place and we will be back. We camped at Copake KOA in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 64
States Visited: 33
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: August, 2013 - $55.00
Overall Rating:      

Rate is KOA Value Card rate. Seems although there is a lot to do at this campground. We were assigned a site in the T section --- no shade at all and grassy site which is likely to be soggy or muddy when it rains. Office staff was nice. Security looks to be great. Difficult to get to when traveling north on I-81 unless you connect with I-90 and then take Route 22 which is a two lane road into Copake. Facility offers themed weekends which seems to go over well with campers. We camped at Copake KOA in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 12
States Visited: 10
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2013 - $62.00
Overall Rating:      

The staff was friendly and helpful. They helped us to our site. Since the site was really level, we were able to leave our trailer connected. When we departed they filled our propane tank quickly for us. We camped at Copake KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 171
States Visited: 46
Helpful Reviews: 26

Date of Stay: May, 2013 - $56.00
Overall Rating:      

Outstanding KOA--Founders Award winner given to top 10% of KOAs. They have everything--plenty of stuff for the kids to do, a variety of sites, activities on weekends, cable, WiFi, well stocked camp store & more. The weekend I was there they had a live band and the campground was full with families. My only complaints are there is not much nearby and the KOA is pricy, charging even more on weekends. This KOA is a destination campground. Weak ATT data signal, moderate Verizon data signal. We camped at Copake KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 8
States Visited: 3
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: May, 2013 - $60.00
Overall Rating:      

This is our 2nd stay here. The people are so nice, and the sites are pretty big. I would say that 80% of the sites are very level, and the others are nothing that is too bad. The campground is VERY well kept, all the lawns mowed, never see a paper or anything on the ground. We are coming again at the end of June for another weekend, and probably again before the end of the season! Actually, we are seriously thinking of getting a seasonal site here for next year!! You won't go wrong staying at the Copake KOA!!! On the border of Connecticut & Massachusetts in New York, so lots to do in the area! We camped at Copake KOA in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with Copake KOA?

Pre-Register below to access free and enhanced features coming in the near future.

PLANNED ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


More Information about our Campground Owner Management and its enhancements are coming very soon. Features subject to change.