7.5 Good
     
Buckeye Lake, Ohio

Buckeye Lake / Columbus East KOA

Buckeye Lake, Ohio


4460 Walnut Rd
Buckeye Lake, Ohio 43008
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 205
Recent Rate: $$$$

Add Review

Latitude: 39.928760472433
Longitude: -82.490490674973
Campground Overview
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • Restrooms (Plumbed) Restrooms (Plumbed) yes
  • Pit Toilets Pit Toilets ?
  • Showers Showers yes
  • $0.00 Shower Fee Shower Fee 0.00
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities ?
  • $0.00 Laundry Fee Laundry Fee 0.00
  • Dump Station Dump Station yes
  • $0.00 Dump Station Fee Dump Station Fee 0.00
  • Propane Available Propane Available yes
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available yes
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts yes
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot ?
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter ?
  • RV Wash RV Wash yes
  • $0.00 RV Wash Fee RV Wash Fee 0.00
  • Corral Corral ?
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip ?
  • Overflow Parking Overflow Parking ?
Hookups & Connectivity
  • Electric (30 AMP) Electric (30 AMP) yes
  • Electric (50 AMP) Electric (50 AMP) yes
  • Water Water yes
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • Free WiFi Free WiFi ?
  • Cellular Phone Service Cellular Phone Service yes
  • Verizon Cellular Phone Providers Cellular Phone Providers Verizon
  • Cable or Satellite TV Hookup Cable or Satellite TV Hookup yes
  • Phone Phone no
  • Central Modem Central Modem yes
Amenities
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • 0 Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) 0
  • Pool Access Pool Access yes
  • Family Friendly Family Friendly yes
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Pet Area Pet Area yes
  • Waterfront Waterfront no
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse ?
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar ?
  • Business Center Business Center ?
  • Group Camping Group Camping ?
  • Meeting Rooms Meeting Rooms ?
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen ?
  • Banquet Facilities Banquet Facilities ?
  • Concierge Services Concierge Services ?
Recreation
  • Walking Trail(s) Walking Trail(s) ?
  • Recreation Room Recreation Room ?
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities ?
  • Beach Access Beach Access no
  • Boat Ramp Boat Ramp no
  • Marina Marina no
  • Boat Rentals Boat Rentals ?
  • Fishing Fishing no
  • Golfing Golfing no
  • Bike Path(s) Bike Path(s) ?
  • Bike Rentals Bike Rentals ?
  • Hiking Hiking ?
  • Spa Spa ?
  • Horseshoe Pit Horseshoe Pit ?
  • Volley Ball Volley Ball ?
  • Sports Field Sports Field ?
  • Arcade Games Arcade Games yes
  • Live Entertainment Live Entertainment ?
  • Amphitheatre Amphitheatre ?
  • Putt Putt Mini-Golf Putt Putt Mini-Golf yes
  • Billiards Billiards ?
  • Ping Pong Ping Pong ?
  • Lake Lake no
  • Pond Pond ?
  • River River ?
  • Creek Creek yes
  • Ocean Ocean no
  • Water Park Water Park no
  • Casino Casino no

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Ask a Question About Buckeye Lake / Columbus East KOA

Review Details

Ratings overview

78 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews' member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 4
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: September, 2017 - $61.00
Overall Rating:      

We stayed here for one night. I was disappointed in the online booking process that limited our options for the site selection. Our site ended up being very close to one of the cabins and our fire pit was basically next to the other site. It was not overly crowded in the park and there were plenty of other sites that would have accommodated our needs without having to be right on top of other campers. On a positive note, the bathrooms by the office appear to have been remodeled recently. They were very clean. Check in was quick and we were escorted to our site. We camped at Buckeye Lake / Columbus East KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: September, 2017 - $50.00
Overall Rating:      

Was attending the Country Living Fair in Columbus and also my cousin who lived near the campground. I was leery at first as they parked us next to a permanent resident who had a whole covered bar set up with stools and tv. Was no problem very quiet.they seemed to have lots for kids to do. Can't speak for all the lots but ours was a gravel pull thru 50 amp with plenty of parking for the toad. Best part that I didn't realize was this was the special weekend if you pay for Friday night you get Saturday night free. So two nights for 60.00 I would for sure come again. We camped at Buckeye Lake / Columbus East KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
50
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 71
States Visited: 15
Helpful Reviews: 15

Date of Stay: August, 2017 - $58.00
Overall Rating:      

Very good KOA located adjecent to Buckeye Lake. No view of the lake, but access is a short distance away. The campground is laid out in a square, with seasonal campers and rental cabins on the perimeter. In the center are the short-term campsites, all long and level pull-thrus with FHU. Interior roads are wide gravel boulevards among mature trees, so all sites have full shade. Amenities include pool, bounce pad, small mini-golf, picnic pavilions, and dog park. Easy to find with good signage. A restful overnite stop. We camped at Buckeye Lake / Columbus East KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
181
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady, Covered Forested
Tips for other Campers:

The Buckeye Lake area has a lot of mosquitoes in summer, so bring bug spray!

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo
pwr

Review Count: 14
States Visited: 7
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: July, 2017 - $71.00
Overall Rating:      

We are not people who hand out excellent reviews lightly. We stayed in the most expensive site in the park and in our life. It was totally worth it here. This is one of the nicest parks in the KOA chain. This KOA is well managed, beautiful, and customer centered. They have an abundance of very busy friendly employees constantly picking up garbage, standing guard, changing out flowers, helping guests, or coordinating games or events for children. They have several play areas from outside fields, to covered play areas, to a large barn where breakfast buffet is served. Showers and restrooms are well placed in at least three different areas. The laundry was spotless. Guests have their choice of shaded camp sites or satellite view. Fire rings were on most sites and wood was available with starter kits. The park has two dog parks. One is smaller and one hundred yards away is a larger dog park. Each has an abundant supply of doggy bags. Kids can swim in the pool, ride the real fire engine around the park, ride all size tricycles, participate in various events, or bounce on a safe trampoline type "mound" which keeps the bounce lower and safer. The owners and management are absolutely "hands on". They can be seen constantly riding around the park, standing guard at the entrance, or supervising registration or the well-stocked store. It appears to be an older park which has been updated all the way. The sites and roads are gravel. Most sites are virtually level. The pull throughs range from about 70 feet to 90 feet or so. There are many camping cabins ranging from a small family or couple size to a two floor cabin. They can accommodate groups in the cabins, tents, or RV sites. A group of 15 families with 46 kids were visiting during our stay. This group stayed in some of the cabins. We landed here with one night's reservation. Upon our Friday departure we desperately needed an engine repair. The necessary part was not r. We camped at Buckeye Lake / Columbus East KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
pull through section
Site Surface
Concrete, Gravel, Grass
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table, Patio
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

this is a very nice area across the road from Buckeye lake. A large number of restaurants exists in the surrounding areas including Chinese, Sushi, Thai, American, seafood, pizza, hamburgers, etc. The campground has Nathans hot dogs, hamburgers, and breakfast buffet. Columbus parks, zoo, museums is not far away and hiking trails are plentiful in the area. Many people are into boating of various types who stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2017 - $64.00
Overall Rating:      

I sure don't understand how this park got such a high rating! The RV spots are terrible! What little grass there is is pitiful! Spaces are way too close. We have small yorkies and typically set up a little pen for them to be in when we are outside... no room for that. Neighbors car is so close to us, we are waiting for the door to dent our RV. The creek that runs through the park is gross. The only reason we stayed was they took our money before they showed us the site. I will not stay here again. We camped at Buckeye Lake / Columbus East KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
370
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Not big enough for my motorhome
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Not Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 7
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: June, 2017 - $77.00
Overall Rating:      

The park is nice with a lot of activities, including a car show the weekend we stayed. The employees all seemed very friendly, and polite. A little pricey, but about the same as other koa's. one thing that stuck me, they give you 1 wifi access code, which is good for 1 device, $4 each for any additional codes. For almost $80 a night you would think they could forego the wifi charge. We stayed in a pull thru delux patio site, which was very nice, had a nice patio with a swing and charcoal grill, plus a nice table and chair set. We camped at Buckeye Lake / Columbus East KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
324
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my 5th wheel (had to disconnect)
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table, Patio
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 15
States Visited: 13
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $62.00
Overall Rating:      

We were out a month on this trip and this was the most over priced and rudest places we stayed. How it received the 2016 Presidents award is beyond us! The lady that took our reservation could have cared less if we stayed there or not and it was like playing 20 questions. The boys on their golf carts who 'escort' you to your site need some training and some manners. Several of the cabins there are COVERED with several inches worth of green moss and the Mosquitos were horrible - the worst we've encountered. We get that it's shady and whatever - however most of this comes down to maintenance; it didn't happen overnight or over the course of a week. There was standing water everywhere - thus the infestation of mosquitos. The sites are close together and the fire rings are dangerously close to vehicles. We were charged $62 instead of the posted $48 with no explanation. We requested a pull thru and didn't plan on unhooking since we were just passing thru. Well of course that didn't happen either - it seems we were charged a premium rate for pull thru (according to the golf cart kid) but the site was backwards. To stay hooked up we would have been over halfway out in the road and would have needed miles of hoses. He then tells us that 'maybe' he can find us a pull thru but we probably wouldn't have sewer. Really!?!? So we had to go thru the extra work of unhooking and hooking up.

Cable was good and wifi didn't work at all.

We would NOT stay here again; period. We would either stay at the truck stop, a Walmart, or just about anywhere else other than here. We spent the most closest to home and was the most disappointed! We camped at Buckeye Lake / Columbus East KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
152
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my travel trailer
Campsite Features
Fire Ring
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Interior Roads
Tight Turns, Scraping Branches, Poor Conditions
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Not Convenient
1 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Buckeye Lake / Columbus East KOA responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Please accept our sincere apologies that you were not satisfied during your recent stay with us. We would have done our best to moved you to another site if you would have notified a manager of the difficulties you were having with the site that was assigned to you upon arrival. We hope that you will give us another chance to impress and wish you all the best.

Review Count: 29
States Visited: 9
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: May, 2016 - $48.00
Overall Rating:      

Quiet park near Buckeye Lake. Management was great, good cable and wi-fi, level gravel pull thru site. plenty of room between sites. we would stay here again. We camped at Buckeye Lake / Columbus East KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
pull thru
Site Surface
Gravel, Grass
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Buckeye Lake / Columbus East KOA responded to this review

We're so happy to hear you had a great stay with us! We are glad you enjoyed your campsite, the grounds, and our cable and wifi services. Thanks for your great review, and we look forward to seeing you again sometime!

Review Count: 15
States Visited: 12
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: August, 2015 - $58.00
Overall Rating:      

Our site was level, and shaded. Fairly easy to get to from the freeway. Stayed here because it was closest to family. Price is too high for just over night stays. We camped at Buckeye Lake / Columbus East KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 358
States Visited: 50
Helpful Reviews: 17

Date of Stay: July, 2015 - $73.00
Overall Rating:      

Older KOA that has added a big rig pull through section. The section is easy to get to and leave and has a nice patio and chairs. Not sure $70 nice. However the park has a ton of stuff for families and children. So good park for a week or just one night when travelling through. We camped at Buckeye Lake / Columbus East KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
326
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Patio

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tips for other Campers:

Pizza Cottage next door delivers pizza.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 137
States Visited: 33
Helpful Reviews: 41

Date of Stay: October, 2014 - $48.00
Overall Rating:      

Well marked park with long narrow spaces for big rigs. Sites and roads in the park are gravel and level. Sites have large shady trees that have been trimmed. 2 dog parks - a large one and a small one. Cable TV and Wi-Fi for 1 device included. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rate reflects 10% VKR discount. Stayed one night only but would've stayed longer if we had the time. Nice park worth the price. We camped at Buckeye Lake / Columbus East KOA in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 127
States Visited: 30
Helpful Reviews: 30

Date of Stay: August, 2014 - $49.00
Overall Rating:      

This campground is over-priced for what you get. Our site was gravel and level. The utilities were convenient. If we had had neighbors, the campsite would have seemed very small. We looked out on a seasonal campsite that looked run down. There were tons of empty sites, and we weren't sure why we had to be stuck next to this eye sore. The Wifi didn't work. The water had a terrible mineral taste - we unhooked the water in the morning and remade our coffee with water we had on-board. My husband tested the water, although it was chlorinated, the conductivity was over 800. Normal tap water is usually between 200-300. There are lots of games and activities for kids. The campground is in close proximity to Buckeye Lake which would also draw families. We were two seniors just getting off the road for the night, so these amenities didn't really apply to us. However, the campground gave us what we needed, a clean and safe place to stay for the night. We camped at Buckeye Lake / Columbus East KOA in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 86
States Visited: 33
Helpful Reviews: 13

Date of Stay: August, 2014 - $58.00
Overall Rating:      

The utilities are good and the pull-thru sites are long enough to allow the tow to stay hooked up. The bathrooms are very, very clean and nice. However, the mosquito problem overwhelms everything else. You cannot enjoy the outside part of your site. We would not stay here again. We camped at Buckeye Lake / Columbus East KOA in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 57
States Visited: 21
Helpful Reviews: 14

Date of Stay: June, 2014 - $56.00
Overall Rating:      

Stayed here as an overnight stop while passing through. Campground is a mixture of tight pull-throughs on grass or gravel, shaded or in the open, along with tons of cabins and tenting sites. A few seasonals, but sites were clean looking. Staff was friendly, as were other campers. Restrooms and showers were clean, plenty of hot water, though the shower house in the back of the campground that I used was in a trailer with individual showers that could not be locked. Lots of amenities, nice pool, playground, shuffle board, game room, bouncing pillow, as well as planned activities for campers. Electric was good, water had a mineral taste to it, but Wi-Fi was terrible. It was slow and you could only connect one device per access code. Expensive for a stop over, but not far from the highway. We camped at Buckeye Lake / Columbus East KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 14
States Visited: 10
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: May, 2014 - $61.00
Overall Rating:      

Pretty typical KOA: overpriced and crowded. Road are very narrow and inconsiderate knuckleheads parked all over the place. I suppose that families with younger kids would have a good time here, as they make a pretty big effort to cater to that demographic. This particular park seemed to have quite a number of perms, which I found surprising. There were also a number of tent campers. Our gravel site was reasonably level. The Wi-Fi was slow to the point of being worthless. The cable TV was very limited in the amount of channels offered. Definitely not worth the amount paid. We camped at Buckeye Lake / Columbus East KOA in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

     

Cross Creek Camping Resort

102 Ratings
Delaware, Ohio

     

Lazy River At Granville

37 Ratings
Granville, Ohio

     

Alton RV Park

61 Ratings
Galloway, Ohio

Are you affiliated with Buckeye Lake / Columbus East KOA ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;