7.5 Good
     
Coatesville, Pennsylvania

Philadelphia / West Chester KOA

Coatesville, Pennsylvania



1659 Embreeville Road
Coatesville, Pennsylvania 19320
Phone: (610) 486-0447

Sites: 104
Recent Rate: $60 7/2016

Latitude: 39.928303853896
Longitude: -75.733607858419

Add Your Review

Campground Overview
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • Restrooms (Plumbed) Restrooms (Plumbed) yes
  • Pit Toilets Pit Toilets ?
  • Showers Showers yes
  • $0.00 Shower Fee Shower Fee 0.00
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • $0.00 Laundry Fee Laundry Fee 0.00
  • Dump Station Dump Station yes
  • $0.00 Dump Station Fee Dump Station Fee 0.00
  • Propane Available Propane Available yes
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available yes
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts yes
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter ?
  • RV Wash RV Wash no
  • $0.00 RV Wash Fee RV Wash Fee 0.00
  • Corral Corral ?
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip no
  • Overflow Parking Overflow Parking no
Hookups & Connectivity
  • Electric (30 AMP) Electric (30 AMP) yes
  • Electric (50 AMP) Electric (50 AMP) yes
  • Water Water yes
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • $0.00 WiFi Fee WiFi Fee 0.00
  • Cellular Phone Service Cellular Phone Service yes
  • Verizon, T-Mobile Cellular Phone Providers Cellular Phone Providers Verizon,T-Mobile
  • Cable or Satellite TV Hookup Cable or Satellite TV Hookup yes
  • Phone Phone yes
  • Central Modem Central Modem yes
Amenities
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • 0 Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) 0
  • Pool Access Pool Access yes
  • Family Friendly Family Friendly yes
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Pet Area Pet Area yes
  • yes-river Waterfront Waterfront yes-river
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse yes
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar ?
  • Business Center Business Center no
  • Group Camping Group Camping ?
  • Meeting Rooms Meeting Rooms yes
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen ?
  • Banquet Facilities Banquet Facilities ?
  • Concierge Services Concierge Services ?
Recreation
  • Walking Trail(s) Walking Trail(s) yes
  • Recreation Room Recreation Room ?
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities no
  • Beach Access Beach Access no
  • Boat Ramp Boat Ramp no
  • Marina Marina no
  • Boat Rentals Boat Rentals yes
  • Fishing Fishing yes
  • Golfing Golfing no
  • Bike Path(s) Bike Path(s) no
  • Bike Rentals Bike Rentals no
  • Hiking Hiking yes
  • Spa Spa no
  • Horseshoe Pit Horseshoe Pit ?
  • Volley Ball Volley Ball yes
  • Sports Field Sports Field yes
  • Arcade Games Arcade Games ?
  • Live Entertainment Live Entertainment no
  • Amphitheatre Amphitheatre ?
  • Putt Putt Mini-Golf Putt Putt Mini-Golf yes
  • Billiards Billiards yes
  • Ping Pong Ping Pong ?
  • Lake Lake no
  • Pond Pond no
  • River River yes
  • Creek Creek yes
  • Ocean Ocean no
  • Water Park Water Park no
  • Casino Casino no

Review Details

Ratings overview

73 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 119
States Visited: 46
Helpful Reviews: 10

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $76.00
Overall Rating:      

The roads into the campground are narrow. It's not a big problem but one has to pay attention in a big rig. Be especially careful if you are northwest of the campground as there are some very low railroad bridges in the area. We came upon one on Rt 322 with only a 12' clearance. Had to unhook and backup and take another route. Attractive CG and we had an easy access site, 81. Appreciated that shrubbery between the sites, hid our neighbors sewer and water connection. Nice table and umbrella. The biggest problem with the campground is that the electric presents a challenge. It was a very hot weekend so there was a lot of demand. But the incoming in one of our 50 amp legs was only 108 or less. Not suitable for anything; the other was 120. Management said that the power company had been on site for several days but to no avail and that in two weekends in a row a tree fell on the wires. Several units, including us, had to run generators . Wifi is very good. Would stay again if the electric is fixed. Price is a little high but it is close to Philly. We camped at Philadelphia / West Chester KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
81
Site Surface
Grass
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table, Patio
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

We enjoyed Valley Forge Historical Park. King of Prussia mall is nearby which is the largest retail area in the US.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Philadelphia / West Chester KOA responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the Philadelphia area. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues reaching our park, we continue to work with local map providers and navigation systems to correct these as much as we can. We will definitely have the electricity issue fixed for future guests and do hope you will consider returning to see us again. We wish you all the best.

Review Count: 12
States Visited: 9
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $40.00
Overall Rating:      

We have spent every summer here for the past five years. There is no comparison. The space is beautiful, the area of Brandwine Valley just lovely. Fabulous shopping and site seeing nearby. Canoeing on the creek available. The rapids on the creek give a wonderful sound. Dog friendly. The positives outweigh the few less than stellar issues. Getting here is accomplished on a narrow road with untrimmed bushes sticking into our path. Some of the employees are taken with a grain of salt. But those minor things can't tarnish the sparkling swimming pool, great gift shop and rolling hill views. Excellent. We camped at Philadelphia / West Chester KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
66
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

We highly recommend the restaurant Bella that will deliver to the site. Shopping in Chaddsford and Kennett Square is fantastic. The Mexican restaurant Azteca Plaza is good and Floga across Rt 1 very good. An excellent location with easy access to the Philadelphia Airport, Philadelphia, Jersey Shore, Delaware and Maryland beaches.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Philadelphia / West Chester KOA responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and helpful tips! We are honored that you've continued to choose us for five years, and are thrilled that we continue to deliver the awesome camping experience that you've come to know and expect. We absolutely love to hear that we are doing our job well, and that our guests are enjoying the fruits of our hard work. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, and look forward to seeing you again next year!

Review Count: 12
States Visited: 11
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $60.00
Overall Rating:      

Campground is a KOA Holiday level site. Facilities are top-rate. Restrooms and facilities were clean and well-equipped. Used campground as a base to explore the Philadelphia area. Campground provided good maps and tips to the local area. Took commuter rail line from Bryn Mawr to downtown Phil. Could use closer station, but trains more frequent closer to Philadelphia. Pool and recreation building was newer. Getting to the campground was a challenge - narrow roads, out in the middle of nowhere. On the positive, no freeway noise - it is out in the country with lots of horse farms. We camped at Philadelphia / West Chester KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
35
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Philadelphia / West Chester KOA responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind, detailed review Al! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities, pool and rec building, and our quiet location. We hope to see you again sometime!

Review Count: 48
States Visited: 24
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: June, 2016 - $65.00
Overall Rating:      

We stayed at this campground for a few days while visiting the area. For our tours of Longwood Gardens and Hagley Museum, the campground was very conveniently located. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, providing good directions and maps. The location was quiet and pleasant. The campground had a nice swimming pool, miniature golf, and rental canoes. Located on a very narrow, hilly, curvy byway, notice that an approach from the south is recommended. Even so, care must be taken on the narrow, sharp curves, especially around the Embreeville mill. Campground roads are basically gravel, and sites are dirt and gravel. Our back-in site (#66) was well shaded and long, but was far from level. A small "patio" was carved out of the side of a hill, but was just a mud hole in the rain. To get to the patio to enter the trailer, we had to walk carefully along the muddy dirt hillside. Sites were full hookups with cable, WiFi was spotty, Verizon signal good. Restrooms and showers were extremely clean. The price was by far the highest we have ever paid; we have stayed at much better campgrounds at much lower prices. Unfortunately, there is no competition in the area. We will never stay at this campground again. We camped at Philadelphia / West Chester KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
66
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Philadelphia / West Chester KOA responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. We are so glad to hear that we were conveniently located to the local attractions you wanted to see, but do apologize that your campsite was not as perfect as we would have hoped. We are located in the hills and do our best to ensure our sites are as level as possible. We do rely on feedback from guests like you to help us improve though and have passed along your comments to see what changes we can back. We do hope you enjoy the remainder of your summer camping season and wish you all the best.

Review Count: 5
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: June, 2016 - $70.00
Overall Rating:      

Very nice campground with lots of things to keep little people happy (river, woods to hike through, canoes, mini. Golf, pool, playground). the weekend activities are well done. The staff is always friendly and helpful, we have stayed here many times and have never had anyone be less than wonderful. The road leading to the campground is treacherous, narrow, blind curves but nothing the campground can do about that! We camped at Philadelphia / West Chester KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
41
Site Surface
Grass
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Lots to do in this area

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Philadelphia / West Chester KOA responded to this review

We're glad you made it here safely and had a wonderful stay, JoAnn! We are happy you enjoyed our fun activities and amenities, as well as the river, canoeing, mini golf, and pool. Thank you for your great review and for continuing to choose us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Review Count: 95
States Visited: 37
Helpful Reviews: 19

Date of Stay: September, 2015 - $57.00
Overall Rating:      

Very neat, clean and well-maintained. Our site was quite sloped back to front and many others didn't appear to be level. Staff was extremely nice. They are very helpful with routes to and from the campground. DO NOT follow GPS....either follow website directions or call them. Wifi was iffy, didn't work at all in the evenings and neither did our Verizon hotspot, but it is definitely out in the country. Good cable TV. Sites near back of campground are roomier than the ones up front which looked very cramped. Rates are quite high considering distance from Philadelphia and time-consuming access from main roads. Flip side is that it's very quiet. Convenient to Longwood Gardens and Winterthur but 45 minutes from Valley Forge. Would definitely stay again if in the area. We camped at Philadelphia / West Chester KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tips for other Campers:

Excellent places to visit: Longwood Gardens, Winterthur, Valley Forge National Park, Brandywine River Art Museum.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 52
States Visited: 21
Helpful Reviews: 7

Date of Stay: September, 2015 - $64.00
Overall Rating:      

Getting here in a big rig is an accident waiting to happen. The road this campground is on is limited to trucks under 25 feet. The road is narrow, no shoulder and low trees protruding into your path. In addition you have to make several 90 degree blind turns and cross a narrow bridge. When I asked at check in about this they just said the campground was built in the 70's when RV's were smaller.

Once in the campground you face a roller coaster ride of steep hills. It took us trying four sites to find one that was level as far as pitch and roll. Finally, on our first day my 50 amp power kept dropping out. I plugged in the site next to us with an extension cord. I advised the staff and they said they checked it so I tried again - same problem. I plugged into adjoining site for the rest of our stay.

Finally, the ground on both sides of our site was so slanted that you felt like a goat when trying to get to any of the RV compartments! We camped at Philadelphia / West Chester KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
55
Site Surface
Dirt, Grass

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 13
States Visited: 7
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: August, 2015 - $56.00
Overall Rating:      

The staff at this campground were very friendly and after a quick check in offered us several different sites to choose from. The campground roads out to the sites were gravel and narrow. Most sites appeared to be deep and generally level with varying amounts of shade. The pool at the campground was great and appeared to be well maintained. There is also a playground, mini golf and canoe rentals for a relaxing paddle on the adjacent Brandywine Creek. ChesLen Preserve is across Embreeville Road and offers ample hiking trails. Philadelphia area attractions are an easy drive away. When traveling to the campground we followed the directions on the campground website from US 1. PA 162 (Embreeville Road) becomes narrow and curvy closer to the campground with a hard right turn off the bridge across Brandywine Creek, but was not too difficult to navigate. We camped at Philadelphia / West Chester KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
40
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 3
States Visited: 3
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2015 - $67.00
Overall Rating:      

This is a lovely campground in a beautiful setting. The staff were so very helpful and accommodating. It was a bit tricky to get to but as we stayed there for 5 days, we eventually figured it out. It was a great location for visiting Longwood Gardens and The Brandywine Musuem. We spent time in both Wilmington and Philadelphia and it was a good location for that, too. My only complaint is that it is too expensive but it was the most conveniently located for our needs. We camped at Philadelphia / West Chester KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tips for other Campers:

Both Longwood Gardens and The Brandywine Musuem are close and well worth visiting. Just driving around the area is a history lesson!

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 18
States Visited: 13
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2015 - $65.00
Overall Rating:      

The campground was well kept and sites were spacious, however our site was not very level. Price seemed very high considering it was not that close to Philadelphia. Will look for other alternatives if ever in the area again. We camped at Philadelphia / West Chester KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
48
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: June, 2015 - $50.00
Overall Rating:      

This was our 6th stay at this KOA. It is 45 minutes from the historic sights in Philly. We love the sites on the Brandywine Creek! Just wish the only bathroom was not up a steep hill. The owner and employees have always been friendly. The onsite restaurant is not open often but is a real nice facility. We camped at Philadelphia / West Chester KOA in a Tent Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 17
States Visited: 13
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: May, 2015 - $65.00
Overall Rating:      

We stayed in a 45' RV. Great spot above the office. Great WiFi and satellite. Staff was very friendly. Trash pickup was nice. Big lot with potted plants, nice table and chairs along with fire pit. Very busy memorial weekend but very quiet after the holiday. Lots of tent campers but they are in a separate area than RVs. The resort looked great for just opening for the season. We camped at Philadelphia / West Chester KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Concrete, Gravel
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tips for other Campers:

We had fun renting canoes at the resort to paddle up the creek. Lots of fishing. Nice area for walking. 45 minute drive to Amish country and 1 1/2 hours to Hershey (kids haven).

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 16
States Visited: 9
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: October, 2014 - $61.00
Overall Rating:      

The KOA in Chester PA is very nice. The staff is super friendly, and very knowledgeable about the area and other things. The sites are very nice, and have ample room. My gravel site was not level, and I needed to use my leveling blocks on one side, which is not a big deal for me. The hookups were well placed, and everything worked as required. The cable TV was good. The internet was extremely slow, but that is typical. The bathrooms and other building were clean and well maintained. The campground itself was very nice, and we had a couple of very nice walks around the surrounding area. There is a short nature trail that leads from the river around the back side of the park, and back to where our site was located. There were no golf carts or other distractions there. However, this is a family park, and there were tons of kids and dogs everywhere. Since we brought one of each with us, we fit right in. We asked at the office where we could do some good mild hiking, and they pointed us to ChesLen Nature Reserve. It was quite a nice place to hike. You can access ChesLen by walking down the dormant railroad tracks right across from the KOA entrance. No need to drive. About a half mile in, you come to a trail that crosses the tracks. Make a right and you can access the main parts of the reserve. Get a trail map from the KOA office. You will need it. Bring ample water. We did the red trail back and forth. All of the trails were well marked, and the trails were in super good shape. Very dog friendly hiking too. We met a lot of nice people on the trail. There were some nice hills to climb. Nothing to adventurous. Round trip the red trail was a little over 8 miles from the beginning of the railroad track to the far end, and back again. This KOA was really nice. We will come back again. We would like to explore the battlefields and all that stuff next time. We camped at Philadelphia / West Chester KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 28
States Visited: 18
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: August, 2014 - $65.00
Overall Rating:      

Be sure to follow the directions on the web site and not your GPS or you will be in trouble. Their web site directions take you down a country, curvy road but directly to the campground. The campground is laid out nicely and the staff are very efficient in checking you in. Any questions about the area, they have the answers. The Brandywine River runs by the campground and great for canoeing…they rent the canoes. The campsites are large enough and almost easy to level. They have a very large pool and camp store. If you have children, they have a nice playground area. The train station is only 15 minutes away for transportation into Philadelphia and very cheap. As seniors we paid only $1.00 each one way. Beats driving and the Philly station is right in center city. We definitely recommend the campground. We camped at Philadelphia / West Chester KOA in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Review Count: 68
States Visited: 23
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: July, 2014 - $61.00
Overall Rating:      

Camped in a 35 foot rig. Narrow, winding country roads to reach campground from Route 1. Escorted to pull-through site 56. Needed two boards to level on open, grass site with shade tree nearby. Site on a hill with easy access, but sloping ground for picnic table and chairs. Close to neighbors on hook-up side; otherwise spacious site. Good Wi-Fi connection. Did not use laundry, but looked clean. Spacious area and play equipment for children. Quiet and dark at night. Did not use bath house or pool. Convenient to historic sites. We camped at Philadelphia / West Chester KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with Philadelphia / West Chester KOA?

Pre-Register below to access free and enhanced features coming in the near future.

PLANNED ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


More Information about our Campground Owner Management and its enhancements are coming very soon. Features subject to change.