6.3 Average
http://www.rvparkreviews.com/regions/pennsylvania

Shady Grove Campground

Denver, Pennsylvania


65 Poplar Dr
Denver, Pennsylvania 17517
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 112
Recent Rate: $$$$

Add Review

Latitude: 40.23892
Longitude: -76.08419

Elevation: 500' (approx.)
Park Features
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • 55+ Only 55+ Only no
  • Kid Friendly Kid Friendly yes
  • Boondocking Boondocking no
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts yes
  • Dump Station Dump Station no
  • Group Camping Group Camping no
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
Hookups
  • Full Hookup Full Hookup yes
  • Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP)
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • Public Phone Public Phone no
  • Water Water yes
  • Cable/Sat. TV Hookup Cable/Sat. TV Hookup yes
Connectivity
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • ATT Cellular Provider ATT
  • Verizon Cellular Provider Verizon
  • Sprint Cellular Provider Sprint
  • T-Mobile Cellular Provider T-Mobile
Amenities
  • Restrooms Restrooms yes
  • Showers Showers yes
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Pet Area Pet Area no
  • Propane Available Propane Available yes
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar no
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse no
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available yes
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen no
  • Horse Camp Horse Camp no
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip no
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter yes
  • Restrooms: vault Restrooms: vault no
Recreation
  • Pool Access Pool Access yes
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Recreational Trails Recreational Trails no
  • Rec Room Rec Room yes
  • Casino Casino no
  • Fishing Fishing yes
  • Beach Beach no
  • Biking Biking no
  • Boating Boating yes
  • Golf Golf no
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities no
  • Horseshoes Horseshoes no
  • Mini-Golf Mini-Golf no
  • Outdoor Courts Outdoor Courts yes
  • Pickleball Pickleball ?
  • Water Access Water Access yes

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Ask fellow campers about "Shady Grove Campground" and nearby attractions.

Review Details

Ratings overview

22 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews' member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 14
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: October, 2018 - $45.00
Overall Rating:

First off I'd like to say that the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The campground is very conveniently located near an entrance to the Pennsylvania turnpike. With that said, there was no traffic nose from the turnpike, there was some road noise from a nearby road but that wasn't too bad. The interior roads were wide but they did have a few bumps that were rather large. The campsites were all gravel. From our campsite there was a grassy area for walking our dog, so that was nice. Our campsite was pretty level. The hook ups were conveniently located. The water pressure was ok for most of our visit although there were a few times where it seemed a little weak. The electric was fine, no sags that I noticed. Sewer was convenient for me, however the connection was not threaded. I did not care for that. You needed to place something heavy on the sewer hose to keep it in the connection while dumping the black and gray tanks. The store had a few basics but was not really well stocked. They did have gold cart rentals that ran $40.00 for 24 hours and they rented paddle boats which you could use to explore the pond. The price for that was $2.00 per half hour, one of the cheapest prices I've ever seen for that that of thing. The fishing in the pond was pretty good. The pond has Bass, Bluegills and Catfish. We camped at Shady Grove Campground in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
T7
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table, Patio
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

There are many antiques shops in the area. It is not far from Lancaster's attractions. There is also a grocery store a few minutes down the road.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

crochelle17, manager at Shady Grove Campground responded to this review

Tim, thank you for taking the time to review our campground! We love to see when campers have a good experience!

I do apologize for the bumps in the road, they are speed bumps tied in with our drainage for the rain run off. Unfortunately we have been forced to install speed bumps for people to slow down for the 5mph speed limit in the park. We have too many families with young children that camp with us, so for their safety we are doing what we can to slow the speeders down.
D-S

Review Count: 9
States Visited: 3
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: September, 2018 - $50.00
Overall Rating:

Had planned on a two-day weekend stay but had family emergency. Campground refunded second night without penalty or complaint. Excellent customer service. Site was back-in and not level. But backed to trees and spacious when sites on either side were empty. Barking dogs everywhere. Roads were in terrible shape - dips and bumps. Would stay here again - nice place to walk - large pond on site with fishing. We camped at Shady Grove Campground in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
94
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my motorhome
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Interior Roads
Poor Conditions
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

crochelle17, manager at Shady Grove Campground responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our campground! We do understand that emergencies happen and were glad we were able to help!

None of our sites are perfectly level, there is a slight grade (4-6 degrees) so when it rains the water will run off instead of puddling on the sites.

Unfortunately we have been forced to put in speed bumps (the bumps) to slow people down. We have a lot of families with children that stay with us so to help with their safety we did put in speed bumps to slow people down to obey the 5mph speed limit.

Review Count: 3
States Visited: 3
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: June, 2017 - $48.00
Overall Rating:

Back in sites very close together no grass all gravel. Pool nice but bathrooms were from what we could guess were only cleaned once a week. Few activities. Peaceful close to market n turnpike. All in all our stay was okay. Staff always seemed put out. We camped at Shady Grove Campground in a Tent Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
33
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my tent trailer
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

crochelle17, manager at Shady Grove Campground responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our park! I can assure you that the bathrooms were cleaned more then once a week. During your stay we were cleaning them at least twice a day to ensure there were no fires or burn holes from your continual smoking in our bathroom facilities. Yes, signs were clearly posted no smoking on all exterior and interior doors.

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: October, 2016 - $42.00
Overall Rating:

Nice friendly staff, nice small pond, close to many antique shops and flea markets. Only dislike were most sites are stone covered and kind of dusty, grass would have been much nicer for the dogs. We camped at Shady Grove Campground in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my motorhome
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Not Convenient
1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

crochelle17, manager at Shady Grove Campground responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our park!

Featured Campgrounds Near Shady Grove Campground

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: August, 2016 - $115.00
Overall Rating:

We were never informed that the cabins were not equipped with linens or towels. We were pleasantly surprised to have Saturday night entertainment of a Rodeo and also a great ice cream store. We found the camp very well maintained and management very helpful in directing us to near by stores. We camped at Shady Grove Campground in a Cabin.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

crochelle17, manager at Shady Grove Campground responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review out park! I apologize profusely that you were not informed about the sheets and towels. Since reading your review we have made sure that the office staff informs anyone renting a cabin that towels and linens are not provided and also putting it on our web site.

Review Count: 3
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2016 - $55.00
Overall Rating:

We stayed here while visiting with family. The campground is conveniently located from the 76 Turnpike. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Our site was gravel, large, and very clean, with the exception of some cigarette butts left by an earlier camper. We stayed here for nearly two weeks and enjoyed it. Even though there were many seasonal sites, it was always peaceful and serene. Laundry facilities were clean and fairly priced, and the fishing pond had a nice walking trail around it. We would definitely stay here again. We camped at Shady Grove Campground in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
90
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: May, 2015 - $53.00
Overall Rating:

This campground is more like a trailer park with a lot of permanent residents that have separate rules than the campers do. There is no grass at all and the dust is overwhelming from the cars and trucks driving by. Also there is no activities all week and any activity on the weekend you have to pay additional for. We camped at Shady Grove Campground in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
Site Surface
Gravel
Tips for other Campers:

Stay at Walmart trust me it will be better

1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 21
States Visited: 13
Helpful Reviews: 8

Date of Stay: August, 2014 - $53.00
Overall Rating:

The park has many permanent residents. I only saw a couple other motor homes. It was mostly trailers. We had 50 amp electric, but had problems daily with it blowing the circuit and shutting everything down. The cable didn't work at our site, but when neighbor left we plugged in to his, and it worked. (In fairness to the campground, we didn't report that our cable wasn't working.) We did report the electric and they checked it out and couldn't find any problems. We have never had a problem with electric at any other campground. The owners were nice, but I would not stay here again. We camped at Shady Grove Campground in a Motorhome.

1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 28
States Visited: 11
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: August, 2014 - $50.00
Overall Rating:

We have found our new base camp in Lancaster County, with the improvements we see here. We camped here at least five years ago, before the change of ownership, and the place was pretty sketchy, with lots of drainage problems. The new owners have done a splendid job of cleaning up, re-grading, installing lots of huge (2 cubic yard) industrial concrete blocks to create retaining walls that work. We pulled into the one pull-through site and found it was dead level (with one degree, as measured), with no need for adjustment. Probably 2/3 of the sites are seasonal campers, but all those sites are well-kept, and you don't see any tired old campers that need to be junked. Management of the place is very unobtrusive, but even when the office/lodge is closed, there always seems to be someone about the place, working on maintenance. It's easy to find and to get in and out of the place, and the location is about half a mile off route 272, the main drag through the Denver/Adamstown area. It appears there is one planned activity each Saturday and another on Sunday, and in between those the pool provides plenty of "kid" appeal. There are some sites near the pool, but from where we were, the noise from children at play could barely be heard, and there was not a lot of highway noise, despite the proximity to 272 and US 222, which carries a lot of traffic. We camped at Shady Grove Campground in a Motorhome.

1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2014 - $55.00
Overall Rating:

Shady Grove is a nice campground they have bingo on Friday nights, Saturday they have a kid activity and hay rides, dj's and bands, a very nice pool and great fishing pond, paddle boats, two area's for dog walking and great people . This is a place where memories are made. I know you will enjoy camping here and come back again.I have been going there for 4 years now. We camped at Shady Grove Campground in a Travel Trailer.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 15
States Visited: 10
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: June, 2014 - $53.00
Overall Rating:

Though I hate to do this I have to state the naked truth about what is going on at this camp ground. We have stayed here several years and in the last couple of years the camp has become filled with pipeline workers. These campers leave there trailers with a mess of items outside which makes the campground look messy. They get up and leave early in the morning, disregarding the quiet hours posted. And because the CG is almost full of "seasonal" workers the owner has increased the daily rate to $53. This rate is WAY too high for a gravel parking lot with no landscaping, a dilapidated toilet facility, and gravel roads so your unit becomes dust covered because of all the workers leaving and golf carts running around. I suggest going to one of the CGs close by - much nicer and a more reasonable rate. We will not be back! We camped at Shady Grove Campground in a Fifth Wheel.

2 campers found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 557
States Visited: 50
Helpful Reviews: 67

Date of Stay: June, 2010 - $42.00
Overall Rating:

The site was a gravel back-in and not level. There is a fishing pond on site as well as a pool. The Cable TV fairly extensive channels, though some were blurry. The WIFI worked fine. There was no grass on our site, but another level of campsites up the hill had grass. Some of the campers were on the noisy side. We camped at Shady Grove Campground in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 5
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: May, 2010 - $40.00
Overall Rating:

Camped here once and will not go back. This campground reminded me of a big parking lot with large stones and gravel for their sites. They do have trees but there is no walking areas and it was very small and contained. There were some activities. Just did not seem like a campground at all. They did say new owners had bought it and were fixing it up but I really do not know what else they could do with the location they were in. Did not see grass at all!! We camped at Shady Grove Campground in a Fifth Wheel.

1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: May, 2010 - $42.00
Overall Rating:

I stayed here with my husband for a weekend and we'll never stay here again... we dealt with lady in office when we made our reservations and she was great! The downfalls of the park. There is no privacy in the shower area, you had to strip in front of everyone. There was also a lot of dirt/grime along the bottom of the shower stalls, quite nasty! We also noticed that the owner will only hang out at one site and that is it. Meanwhile there was kids running all over the place creating a lot of noise after 11pm, which was their quiet time. All in all we would not stay here again with all the noise that was going on and the owner did not care at all. We camped at Shady Grove Campground in a Travel Trailer.

1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 8
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: May, 2010 - $42.00
Overall Rating:

We stayed here with friends and would stay again. Our children enjoyed the playground, fishing at the pond and would have enjoyed the pool, if it were open. Our site was level, the hook-ups were in the back of the site and in great shape. The only seasonals we noticed were friendly and their sites and campers were in great shape. There did not appear to be a ton of seasonal campers. It would appear that the new owners are spending a lot of time and money to fix up this campground. It shows. There was one activity for the children on Saturday, again, they had fun. One thing I would change would be to add some grass to the sites. Most sites were gravel only and I like to have grass at the site, too. Gravel under the camper is fine, but grass surrounding would be nice. We camped at Shady Grove Campground in a Travel Trailer.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Featured Campgrounds Near Shady Grove Campground

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with Shady Grove Campground ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;
;