9.3 Excellent
http://www.rvparkreviews.com/regions/south-dakota

Broken Arrow Campground

Custer, South Dakota


25446 Sidney Park Rd
Custer, South Dakota 57730
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 47 and 10
Recent Rate: $$$$

Office Hours:

Monday: 8:00am - 8:00pm
Tuesday: 8:00am - 8:00pm
Wednesday: 8:00am - 8:00pm
Thursday: 8:00am - 8:00pm
Friday: 8:00am - 8:00pm
Saturday: 8:00am - 8:00pm
Sunday: 8:00am - 8:00pm

Hours above shown for Mountain Time Zone

Add Review

Latitude: 43.71196
Longitude: -103.57616

Elevation: 5639' (approx.)
Park Features
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • 55+ 55+ no
  • Kid Friendly Kid Friendly yes
  • Boondocking Boondocking no
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts yes
  • Dump Station Dump Station yes
  • Group Camping Group Camping yes
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
Hookups
  • Full Hookup Full Hookup yes
  • Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP)
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • Phone Phone yes
  • Water Water yes
  • Cable/Sat. TV Hookup Cable/Sat. TV Hookup no
Connectivity
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • ATT Cellular Provider ATT
  • Verizon Cellular Provider Verizon
  • Sprint Cellular Provider Sprint
  • T-Mobile Cellular Provider T-Mobile
Amenities
  • Restrooms Restrooms yes
  • Showers Showers yes
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Pet Area Pet Area no
  • Propane Available Propane Available yes
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar no
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse no
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available yes
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen yes
  • Horse Camp Horse Camp yes
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip no
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter yes
  • Restrooms: vault Restrooms: vault no
Recreation
  • Pool Access Pool Access no
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Recreational Trails Recreational Trails yes
  • Rec Room Rec Room no
  • Casino Casino no
  • Fishing Fishing no
  • Beach Beach no
  • Biking Biking yes
  • Boating Boating no
  • Golf Golf no
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities no
  • Horseshoes Horseshoes yes
  • Mini-Golf Mini-Golf no
  • Outdoor Courts Outdoor Courts no
  • Pickleball Pickleball ?
  • Water Access Water Access no

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Ask fellow campers about "Broken Arrow Campground" and nearby attractions.

Review Details

Ratings overview

102 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews' member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2018 - $45.00
Overall Rating:

This camp ground is the nicest I have stayed in on my month long trip. Cleanest restrooms and showers so far. The view of the hills are awesome and this being a horse camp there was a lot to see. Roughly 3.5 miles out of town but well worth the little bit of travel for this park. Owners on hand and friendly staff members made us want to come back. If you're in need of a camping spot in Custer SD stay here you won't be sorry. We camped at Broken Arrow Campground in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
35
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open, Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 13
States Visited: 8
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: June, 2018 - $40.00
Overall Rating:

The name of this park is Broken Arrow Horse Camp and RV Park and it says a lot about the park. It must be said the facilities are very nice. Sites are long enough for a motorhome and toad to park. They are gravel with a grassy strip that has a picnic table and firepit. The Wifi is excellent, maybe the best we have encountered. That said, the camp is primarily populated with horse people and horse rigs. The emphasis here is the horse camp. The camp itself has about 8 barns. The horse people stay to themselves and are not welcoming to RVers. Horse people will love this place; RVers not as much. We camped at Broken Arrow Campground in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Don't miss the hamburger shop in town- Black Hills Burger and Bun Co. The best.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 52
States Visited: 18
Helpful Reviews: 8

Date of Stay: August, 2017 - $40.00
Overall Rating:

Predominantly horse trailers and horse people but there are a few trailers and Class-A motor homes there. Sites are reasonably well-spaced - we had a full hookup pull-through site that was 2 degrees non-level side-to-side. Campground maintenance is active daily and we had no problems with trash pick-up and overall cleanliness. They have a feral cat problem so keep your dog leashed, especially at night. Central location for Wind Caves NP, Rushmore NM and Custer State Park. We camped at Broken Arrow Campground in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
24
Site Surface
Gravel, Grass
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Coming from the south, Google Maps will direct you to turn off Hwy 385 on Sidney Park Rd, which is dirt-gravel for 4 miles to the park. Its a good-quality dirt road, but if you are averse to that, take 385 into Custer, drive through Custer and take Sidney Park Road a few miles to the park from the opposite direction, which is paved. Sage Creek Grille is a good dinner choice, in Custer.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Broken Arrow, owner at Broken Arrow Campground responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The feral cat problem has been addressed. 8 cats have been neutered/spayed this past week, 7 kittens have been adopted, and 6 more are scheduled for adoption. We have 2 more females to capture and will be able to take care of the remaining 3 cats when they become a little older.
Our dog policy has been strictly enforced for the safety of guests, equine and canine alike. Dogs are never permitted to be off leash on any part of our campground. We hope to have you back in the future. Vicki

Review Count: 86
States Visited: 22
Helpful Reviews: 11

Date of Stay: August, 2017 - $34.00
Overall Rating:

This is probably the nicest location in Custer. Great views of the surrounding area. There are a lot of horses, which did not bother us. The drawbacks are 1) all the sites are sloped side to side, 2) the interior roads, and the road in to the park, are dirt and there is a lot of dust when vehicles go by, 3) the internet access was very up and down. Overall, a nice place to stay. We camped at Broken Arrow Campground in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Featured Campgrounds Near Broken Arrow Campground

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2017 - $48.00
Overall Rating:

Their Wi-Fi is virtually nil besides that it's a great campground great people close to everything. We camped at Broken Arrow Campground in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
88
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Close to everything in Custer and Black Hills.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 111
States Visited: 12
Helpful Reviews: 13

Date of Stay: June, 2017 - $45.00
Overall Rating:

Really nice park with wide spaces, grass between sites, and nice views. Utilities work well and the staff is nice. Much of the park is horse campers, but that is not a big deal as horse barns are kept to the side so you can visit them but don't have fly or other issues. Only complaint is people tend to drive too fast in the loaner 'gators' and kick up dust. Only thing keeping this park from being a 10 is a pool and paved access roads, (but if I owned the park, I would not add those either). We camped at Broken Arrow Campground in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open, Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

4 miles out of town. Note if coming from South on 385, Sidney Park is a dirt road. Instead come into Custer and access Sidney Park from town, as it is paved.

Also, ignore the 6 ton max sign on Sidney Park as park owners have no idea why it is posted. (And told us to ignore it.)

1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 66
States Visited: 36
Helpful Reviews: 10

Date of Stay: November, 2016 - $30.00
Overall Rating:

One of my favorite parks thus far. Lots of room between sites. Nice long sites, which served our 43' toy hauler well. Plenty of room for the kids to ride their bikes and play on the playground. The owners are some of the nicest people you'll ever meet. Incredibly clean bathrooms. Clean laundry room. A TON of DVDs to use for free. Would definitely stay here again. We camped at Broken Arrow Campground in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer (plenty of space) for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Excellent place to see all the Black Hills have to offer. The weather tends to be much better in Custer than Rapid City--cooler in the summer and warmer in the winter.

2 campers found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: September, 2016 - $110.00
Overall Rating:

Wow, has to be the best campground I have stayed in. Washer dryer. Super clean almost bug free for the out of doors, because it's kept up. Gave it a nine because who's really perfect? However don't know how they could improve. We camped at Broken Arrow Campground in a Cabin.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
12
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Run with buffalo in Custer state park!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $100.00
Overall Rating:

This is my second time this year. Beautiful, peaceful, and very clean!! This is not just a horse camp, it is a five star RV park!! The cabin was decorated in a western theme and had all the amenities I needed for my weekend getaway. Loved using the outdoor grill right next to my cabin. I have made arrangements to return later this season. Owners made me feel right at home. We camped at Broken Arrow Campground in a Cabin.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
Cabin 13
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table, Patio

Campground Details

Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tips for other Campers:

5 hours from Denver.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $35.00
Overall Rating:

This a great campground and horse camp. Horses are not allowed in the campground so if you are an RV'er you would never know they were there. Owners and camp hosts are the best. They treat you like family. Good store onsite and only 4 miles from Custer. Close to all attractions. Very peaceful place to stay. We camped at Broken Arrow Campground in a Motorhome.

Site Details

Site Number
17
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Good grocery store in town. If you like pie and/or ice cream go to the Purple Pig Pie Place.

2 campers found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 58
States Visited: 17
Helpful Reviews: 15

Date of Stay: June, 2016 - $35.00
Overall Rating:

This campground is primarily for people with horses, but we stayed because finding a campsite in the area was a bit tough; most everything was full. That said, it was enjoyable and the owners were very nice. We enjoy seeing the horses also. There are corrals and stables scattered throughout. There are full hookups and it is very dry and dusty, with lots of activity. The place was pretty packed when we stayed, and navigating in and out could be challenging for some. If you have horses this is a great place to stay. If not it is just so so IMO, but there are no glaring deficiencies, it is just close quarters. They really pack em in. We camped at Broken Arrow Campground in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Interior Roads
Tight Turns, Obstacles, Poor Conditions
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

We really enjoyed the Black Hills, Custer State Park & Mount Rushmore.

2 campers found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 10
States Visited: 6
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: June, 2016 - $33.00
Overall Rating:

This is a horse camp that backs up to national forest trails. I love horses, so being able to camp among them in our teardrop was awesome! I got my horse fix in for sure. The bathrooms were beautiful with slate floors and wonderful pine trim. They were decorated in everything horse and were immaculate. Individual shower stalls with good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Lots of counter space and had the place to myself in the morning.

Nice grounds with lots of grass and some trees. There is a pretty trail up the ridge behind the campground with great views of the Black Hills. Horses and dogs were quiet during the night. The usual stirring in the morning when the riders were getting up to go out. Our neighbors were friendly and we had a nice chat about their horses and upcoming rides.

Campground is not far from Crazy Horse Memorial, Mt. Rushmore and Custer State Park. Well located for visiting the Black Hills area. We camped at Broken Arrow Campground in a Tent Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
forest service side
Site Surface
Grass
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my tent trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

Hike up the ridge trail behind the campground for a lovely view of the Black Hills.

1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 10
States Visited: 8
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: August, 2015 - $30.00
Overall Rating:

Park has campground and horse stables and cabins. All campsites appear to be pull through and are well maintained. All though we do not have horses it was wonderful to walk the grounds and look at all of them. Stalls were maintained daily, we never smelled a thing. Water pressure was a bit high but easily controlled with a water pressure gauge. Broken Arrow is close to the black hills and Custer State park. Park has great laundry facilities. There are tons of DVDs in the office for you to borrow, and they sell firewood. There is a playground for the kids and a large open area. Campground is quiet and safe. Owners are very nice and helpful. We camped at Broken Arrow Campground in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Site Number
21
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tips for other Campers:

Town of Custer is about 5 miles from campground. Neat little shops, wineries, great dining and two grocery stores.

3 campers found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 83
States Visited: 28
Helpful Reviews: 16

Date of Stay: August, 2015 - $50.00
Overall Rating:

Stayed at Broken Arrow for Sturgis bike week. The site was gravel, level with fire pit. Even though it was bike week, the campground was quiet in the evening. the owners are very friendly and helpful! The campground backs up to the National forest, great for hiking and horseback riding. We aren't horse people but their facilities seem very well built! Close to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State parks as well as Custer, Hill City, Sturgis, Deadwood. Easy in and out to main road, far enough so no road noise. However, please have owners give directions! We camped at Broken Arrow Campground in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Gravel, Grass
Campsite Features
Fire Ring

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious, Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
4 campers found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 5
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: July, 2015 - $35.00
Overall Rating:

We stayed for a week. Close to Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse monument. Park caters to people with horses. They have several nice barns and unlimited places to ride. Park manager is very nice. Nice view of the mountains. We camped at Broken Arrow Campground in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
23
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tips for other Campers:

Nearby shopping in Custer. Good restaurants. Horseback riding. Sit back and enjoy the beautiful view of the mountains.

1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Featured Campgrounds Near Broken Arrow Campground

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with Broken Arrow Campground ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;
;