Knoxville, Tennessee

Southlake RV Park

Knoxville, Tennessee



Knoxville, Tennessee
Phone: (865) 573-1837

Sites: 123
Recent Rate: $35 10/2014

Latitude: 35.9212
Longitude: -83.8889

Add Your Review

Campground Overview
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • Restrooms (Plumbed) Restrooms (Plumbed) ?
  • Pit Toilets Pit Toilets ?
  • Showers Showers ?
  • $0.00 Shower Fee Shower Fee 0.00
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • $3.50 Laundry Fee Laundry Fee 3.50
  • Dump Station Dump Station ?
  • $0.00 Dump Station Fee Dump Station Fee 0.00
  • Propane Available Propane Available no
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available yes
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts no
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot ?
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter no
  • RV Wash RV Wash ?
  • $0.00 RV Wash Fee RV Wash Fee 0.00
  • Corral Corral ?
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip ?
  • Overflow Parking Overflow Parking ?
Hookups & Connectivity
  • Electric (30 AMP) Electric (30 AMP) yes
  • Electric (50 AMP) Electric (50 AMP) yes
  • Water Water yes
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • WiFi WiFi no
  • $0.00 WiFi Fee WiFi Fee 0.00
  • Cellular Phone Service Cellular Phone Service ?
  • Cellular Phone Providers Cellular Phone Providers
  • Cable or Satellite TV Hookup Cable or Satellite TV Hookup yes
  • Phone Phone no
  • Central Modem Central Modem yes
Amenities
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • 0 Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) 0
  • Pool Access Pool Access yes
  • Family Friendly Family Friendly no
  • Playground Playground no
  • Pet Area Pet Area no
  • yes-river Waterfront Waterfront yes-river
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse ?
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar no
  • Business Center Business Center no
  • Group Camping Group Camping ?
  • Meeting Rooms Meeting Rooms ?
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen no
  • Banquet Facilities Banquet Facilities no
  • Concierge Services Concierge Services ?
Recreation
  • Walking Trail(s) Walking Trail(s) no
  • Recreation Room Recreation Room no
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities no
  • Beach Access Beach Access no
  • Boat Ramp Boat Ramp ?
  • Marina Marina ?
  • Boat Rentals Boat Rentals ?
  • Fishing Fishing yes
  • Golfing Golfing no
  • Bike Path(s) Bike Path(s) no
  • Bike Rentals Bike Rentals no
  • Hiking Hiking no
  • Spa Spa no
  • Horseshoe Pit Horseshoe Pit yes
  • Volley Ball Volley Ball ?
  • Sports Field Sports Field ?
  • Arcade Games Arcade Games no
  • Live Entertainment Live Entertainment no
  • Amphitheatre Amphitheatre no
  • Putt Putt Mini-Golf Putt Putt Mini-Golf no
  • Billiards Billiards ?
  • Ping Pong Ping Pong ?
  • Lake Lake no
  • Pond Pond no
  • River River yes
  • Creek Creek no
  • Ocean Ocean no
  • Water Park Water Park no
  • Casino Casino no

Review Details

Ratings overview

15 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

dlouroberts0419

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: October, 2014 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

We have traveled the whole United States with the exception of Utah and North Dakota with our 5th wheel camper. I would have to rate this park as the absolute WORST experience we have ever had. The sites were cramped and unlevel. The built in decks were rotten and dilapidated. The whole park just had a dirty feeling about it with lots of permanent residents in rundown trailers. There is nothing wrong with something being old but it doesn't have to be rotting down. A Walmart parking lot would have felt like a Hilton Inn compared to this dump. We camped at Southlake RV Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

paks

Review Count: 10
States Visited: 8
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: April, 2014 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

Sites are not leveled. Very steep roads, so steep that my 5th wheel hit the truck bed when it got to the top. A lot of sites have a wooden deck but they are so old that I didn't risk stepping on mine. Will not go there again, ever. When we got there they sent a local to guide us to our site and the guy asked me $2 for the "service". We camped at Southlake RV Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

ksp

Review Count: 3
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: May, 2011 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

Unclean! The manager refused to allow the campers access to the bathrooms for 3 hours because he claimed he didn't have time to clean them. Park has 1 bathroom but has a capacity of 400 campers. The grounds are dirty and littered and have limited trash receptacles. Tent sites are wired to RV sites, so campers may have to drive 10 miles to purchase adaptors/converters. Office store has limited supplies. Lakeside tent sites have no water or electric and quite a bit of duck droppings. Location has laundry facilities but primitive appliances. The employees SPORADICALLY work in the office, so it may be hard to get any assistance. Travelers would be best advised to keep going and find a nice spot in Pigeon Forge. We camped at Southlake RV Park in a Tent.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Steve Ham

Review Count: 6
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2010 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

Tried to stay, but we arrived late (about 7:30 PM). No one around. No late arrival procedure. Blaring band in dump across the road. Junk everywhere. People looked as bad as the facilities. We would not have stayed if the office had been open. We were fortunate to be late. We camped at Southlake RV Park in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Traveler13

Review Count: 19
States Visited: 13
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: July, 2009 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

This park has friendly people and a good location. The driveway to the park is a little steep; we had to put our truck into 1st gear to inch up the slope to the office. A nice feature of this campground, since it is a bit unlevel, was the built-in deck at what seemed to be every site. There are trails down to the lake where you can fish or boat. I would have given the campground a higher rating save for the lack of Wi-Fi, a little upkeep, and that the dumpster was full both days we stayed. It was emptied the morning of our departure. The pool is always open, which increased my rating of this park. We camped at Southlake RV Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Mama2kai

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2009 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

This place was hillbilly hell. We didn't even set up because it was scary. No fire pits or grills, difficult to park, it didn't even feel comfortable to get out. We got our money back and moved on. WE DID NOT STAY HERE. We camped at Southlake RV Park in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

billeck01

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: June, 2009 - $34.00
Overall Rating:      

No help. Called twice before arriving. GPS wouldn't find the place. When I did get there, owner replied "I could have told you that". Pull through spot for 40' coach would not allow me to level. Sewer wouldn't reach. Management watched from deck. I will never go back. We camped at Southlake RV Park in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

camping1158

Review Count: 5
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: March, 2009 - $1.00
Overall Rating:      

This is not the place to take your kids! After going there to camp, we never un- hooked. We found another place! "We did not stay in this park". We camped at Southlake RV Park in a Travel Trailer.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

jc2

Review Count: 44
States Visited: 21
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: October, 2008 - $25.00
Overall Rating:      

Save your money and go elsewhere. People in the office argued in front of us about whether we could park at the first site they chose then decided to move us elsewhere. Roads are narrow with low overhead limbs. The place is trashy with a number of permanent residents. The BBQ grill at our site was rusted through and hanging from the pole. Would not stay there again if in the area. We camped at Southlake RV Park in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

rickl

Review Count: 12
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: April, 2008 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

The sites were cramped and very tough to maneuver in. It had rained when we pulled in and we got stuck. There are junk trailers, campers that people live in all over the place. We woke up the next morning to find our Toad stolen by one of the people that lives in the park. When the police came they said "sir we are out here all the time and that guy that stole your car just got out of jail and we just arrested his brother last week". The police also said "sir people like you should not be in here and we are shocked to see a motor home like yours in here, we suggest you leave ASAP". To me they were acting like we were lucky we didn't get robbed. I highly advise avoiding this park at all costs. We camped at Southlake RV Park in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

rayinalabama

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: March, 2008 - $24.00
Overall Rating:      

Not a bad start for our first camping experience. Quiet setting, friendly staff. Sites were a little uneven, gravel and dirt. Our site overlooked junk pile and firewood stack. Next time we'll ask for lakefront site. We camped at Southlake RV Park in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

merrielong

Review Count: 9
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: June, 2006 - $23.00
Overall Rating:      

We live in the area and were looking for a close place to getaway for a short weekend. We scouted this one out and man what a dump! Thank God we checked it out first. I cannot say whether the staff is friendly or the bathrooms are clean; we didn't get that far. Just one trip around the muddy, cramped loop full of skanky looking full time trailers told us plenty. We wouldn't stay here if they paid us! We camped at Southlake RV Park in a Travel Trailer.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Motorhome Madness

Review Count: 7265
States Visited: 55
Helpful Reviews: 45

Overall Rating:      

This has to be the worst park we ever went to. We were in Knoxville for the destination imagination tournament at the University of Tenneesee. We checked trailer life ratings , they seemed ok, at the time. We really don't like to reserve sight unseen, but with this going on and only 5 min from the college we took the chance. Boy did we get burned. We pull a 28ft fifth wheel, first they tried to cram us into a site wich requires backing up hill to the site. Well it was such an angle we could not make it as the trailer would touch the rails on the truck, I mean this site was overgrown with weeds, rotten picnic table on site, like the rest of the park, seems all sewer hook-ups run up hill. They told me they would do me a big favor by giving me one of only two pull thrus, wow could only open my awning three feet because the site was so tight. Bathrooms were bad. Had only one set of bathrooms for the whole park. In their ad in trailer life they say they have a petting zoo, what it actually is is an overgrown, nasty, smelly, barnyard! If this was in the state of Michigan they would close it down, and arrest the people for animal cruelty charges. Please folks don't waste your time or money. They charged us twenty three dollars a night plus three dollars a person, so it cost 35 dollars a night for this pig-sty. Needless to say we had reservations for five days with no hope for a refund. With going to the the tournaments, and to the Smokies, we mostly slept, there and stayed away. We camped at Southlake RV Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Motorhome Madness

Review Count: 7265
States Visited: 55
Helpful Reviews: 45

Overall Rating:      

I stay at this campground twice each year, in the spring/summer and fall. The staff is always friendly and more than willing to help at anytime. There are rabbits running about the park that the kids love to play with and animals for them to feed. This park is full of shade trees. I like the fact that there are bushes and shrubs between sites that give a little privacy. In the summer the pool is always clean and inviting! In October they have a fall display in front of the lodge that is always beautiful. I have always been happy with whatever site they choose for me and will be back again in October. We camped at Southlake RV Park in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Motorhome Madness

Review Count: 7265
States Visited: 55
Helpful Reviews: 45

Overall Rating:      

Don't even bother stopping here! It was raining, we had to bring our awning in because the water was running off our awning on to the camper next to us. These sites were short and small. No place to have a campfire. They let their own family members ride quads and they were riding them everywhere across campsite in the mud. They rode them real late at night and early in the morning. There were campers that must have been there for a long time they had rotten leaves and black mud it looked like on the roofs. It did not look like anyone had used them for quite a long time. One camper even had two by fours for legs on each corner going up to the top and they had a make shift roof made out of old lumber. Their(petting zoo) I feel so sorry for the animals as their pens were nothing but filth! The poor little pony hitting its hoof at the fence like he was saying get me out of here please. They had sites with bushes like a more private sites but they were in the back by a rotted out truck camper and a old trailer and a bunch of junk. Like a old city dump. Of course they want to put you in the nasty old site with weeds that were way unlevel. Down by the lake there was some boats but they were half sunk with holes. The best part was the pool no complaints there but it was next to the office and I don't have the energy to write anymore! Let me sum it up for you "Don't Even Bother" We camped at Southlake RV Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with Southlake RV Park?

Pre-Register below to access free and enhanced features coming in the near future.

PLANNED ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


More Information about our Campground Owner Management and its enhancements are coming very soon. Features subject to change.