8.6 Excellent
http://www.rvparkreviews.com/regions/texas

Hickory Creek COE (Closed until March 2019)

Lewisville, Texas


1801 N Mill St
Lewisville, Texas 75057
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 131
Recent Rate: $$$$

Add Review

Latitude: 33.11083
Longitude: -97.04588

Elevation: 558' (approx.)
Park Features
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • 55+ 55+ no
  • Kid Friendly Kid Friendly yes
  • Boondocking Boondocking no
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts no
  • Dump Station Dump Station yes
  • Group Camping Group Camping yes
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
Hookups
  • Full Hookup Full Hookup no
  • Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP)
  • Sewer Sewer no
  • Phone Phone no
  • Water Water yes
  • Cable/Sat. TV Hookup Cable/Sat. TV Hookup no
Connectivity
  • WiFi WiFi no
  • ATT Cellular Provider ATT
  • Verizon Cellular Provider Verizon
  • Sprint Cellular Provider Sprint
  • T-Mobile Cellular Provider T-Mobile
Amenities
  • Restrooms Restrooms yes
  • Showers Showers yes
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities no
  • Camp Store Camp Store no
  • Pet Area Pet Area no
  • Propane Available Propane Available no
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar ?
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse no
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available no
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen no
  • Horse Camp Horse Camp no
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip no
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter yes
  • Restrooms: vault Restrooms: vault yes
Recreation
  • Pool Access Pool Access no
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Recreational Trails Recreational Trails yes
  • Rec Room Rec Room no
  • Casino Casino no
  • Fishing Fishing yes
  • Beach Beach no
  • Biking Biking yes
  • Boating Boating yes
  • Golf Golf no
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities no
  • Horseshoes Horseshoes no
  • Mini-Golf Mini-Golf no
  • Outdoor Courts Outdoor Courts no
  • Pickleball Pickleball ?
  • Water Access Water Access yes

1 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Ask fellow campers about "Hickory Creek COE (Closed until March 2019)" and nearby attractions.

Review Details

Ratings overview

60 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews' member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 4
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: July, 2018 - $14.00
Overall Rating:

We booked 7 days and end up staying 9. Awesome campground with great site , walking trails , biking and boating. The water was warm and great sunsets. My only complaint is not enough 50amp and no sewer at the sites. They only have one dump station for 124 site. Even with that the wait time was not bad. The staff where helpful and friendly. We camped at Hickory Creek COE (Closed until March 2019) in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Clean Showers

Site Details

Site Number
22
Site Surface
Asphalt, Dirt, Sand, Grass
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady, Covered Forested
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 5
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2018 - $15.00
Overall Rating:

Could not get a pull through, but site was large enough that I could back in my toad and motorhome. The road to get in was very rough and unpaved in parts because of construction. We camped at Hickory Creek COE (Closed until March 2019) in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Site Number
80
Site Surface
Asphalt
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my motorhome
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table, Patio
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 484
States Visited: 54
Helpful Reviews: 61

Date of Stay: June, 2018 - $15.00
Overall Rating:

We came in mid week without a reservation, but we had checked that morning and had a list of available 50 amp sites open for 3 days. The wonderful women working at the entrance booth recommended site 87 to us and it was a fantastic lakeside site. We had a great breeze off the lake and could actually sit outside during the day. Temps were hitting 97 during our stay. Like many COE campgrounds, the sites vary big time. Check details on the reservation site (which does not describe grade) so a partial A list for MH's are 13, 14, 16, 18, 20, 26, 34, 48, 52, 60, 74, 79, 83, 85, 87, 88, 89, 97 & 99. Some B sites that will also work are 1, 3, 28, 29, 37, 43, 47, 50, 51, 54, 55, 64, 65, 81, 82 & 90. Smaller and towed units have much more options. OTA TV and Verizon were both very good. We camped at Hickory Creek COE (Closed until March 2019) in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
87
Site Surface
Asphalt
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Not much around in the way of a good local watering hole. We tried 3, Walter's is nearby and is a complete dump. Lake Dallas Point is a much the best option and has very good food, but it is a smoking bar so be warned. Tornado Alley Pub is non-smoking, but was not a place we would order food at.

1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 6
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: May, 2018 - $14.00
Overall Rating:

Typical COE park. It is very nice. . They really need to update electrical hookup on accessible sites, 30 amp makes the bigger units struggle in Texas weather (however, no points off, knew this going in) . The park appeared to be kept in very good order. The shower houses were clean, but a little dated. We stay in accessible sights when possible. Site 72 is listed as such... however, couldn't access picnic table.. quite a way down a small embankment, with gravel... wheelchair just couldn't cut it! (See photo). Would have preferred to give a strong 8.5. We camped at Hickory Creek COE (Closed until March 2019) in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
72
Site Surface
Asphalt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer (plenty of space) for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Featured Campgrounds Near Hickory Creek COE (Closed until March 2019)

Review Count: 79
States Visited: 30
Helpful Reviews: 7

Date of Stay: May, 2018 - $12.00
Overall Rating:

Widely spaced, wooded sites on or near the lake. Easy access off of I35E but far enough away to be undisturbed by traffic noise. Our pull-through was long enough for the truck and guest vehicles. Hiking trails, the lake, boating, wildlife - a peaceful setting so close to the big city. The restrooms are old and could be updated, but are clean and serviceable. Be sure to know when the gate closes at night. There is no after hours code, and you could be locked out. We camped at Hickory Creek COE (Closed until March 2019) in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Site Number
26
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer (plenty of space) for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Major retailers are just up the road.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 16
States Visited: 9
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: April, 2018 - $30.00
Overall Rating:

Pros: Long and level site with lots of room between sites in general. We enjoyed hiking the trail to the boat ramp. Great views of the lake. Reasonable proximity to DFW. Cons: no sewer (but excellent dump site) and bathrooms didn't get any attention while we were there. Showers were fine. Price is high compared to other CoE parks we've used in neighboring states. We camped at Hickory Creek COE (Closed until March 2019) in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
55
Site Surface
Asphalt
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my 5th wheel (had to disconnect)
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Check out the Bureau of Engraving and Printing tour. Free and very interesting.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 4
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: November, 2017 - $28.00
Overall Rating:

We stayed here over Thanksgiving after spending a week at Palo Duro Canyon State Park. While it might lack the grand views Hickory Creek was a pleasure to stay at. Our site looked out on the lake which was only 100' from the front door of our RV. What was also nice was the cluster of trees 20' from the camper which allowed us to string up our hammocks. We tried our hand at fishing but had no luck (likely a user error rather than a lack of fish). There were a few boats on the water but nothing that detracted from our stay. The only complaint (and its a very minor one) is how close the campground is from the DFW airport. If a silent sky is mandatory, this might not be the campground for you. After 20 years living in Houston, TX my family and I hardly even noticed the planes that passed over head every 10 - 15 minutes. Hickory Creek was great and has been put on our "to-do again" list. We camped at Hickory Creek COE (Closed until March 2019) in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
09
Site Surface
Asphalt
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 26
States Visited: 8
Helpful Reviews: 8

Date of Stay: November, 2017 - $14.00
Overall Rating:

This is a COE Park and is located in a great area with lots of amenities north of Dallas. We saw deer everyday some turkeys and had a lovely site (11) right on Lake Lewisville. The site was on broken asphalt and not level. This park is very quiet during the week but as soon as Friday comes the RV's start rolling in, so really crowded on the weekends, although still very quiet at night.

The COE has a policy of only 14 nights and then you can apply for an extension which we tried to do, you can apply 4 days before your date you are to leave. The rangers approve if you stay or not, the problem was they don't notify you until it is time to leave which doesn't leave time to make other arrangements if you are not given a spot.

There is no sewers but a dump station. Sites are well spaced apart. We camped at Hickory Creek COE (Closed until March 2019) in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
11
Site Surface
Asphalt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my 5th wheel (had to disconnect)
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 154
States Visited: 36
Helpful Reviews: 20

Date of Stay: September, 2017 - $14.00
Overall Rating:

A great RV Park right on the lake. Large sites with electric and water, with a picnic table, BBQ stand and a firepit. Close to all the things to see and do in Dallas & Ft Worth. Quiet at night. Just a great place to stay. We camped at Hickory Creek COE (Closed until March 2019) in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Asphalt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

We took in the Book Depository Museum and the George W Bush Presidential Library.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 23
States Visited: 17
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: August, 2017 - $28.00
Overall Rating:

Only stayed for 2 days, but was a BEAUTIFUL campground. Quiet and right on the lake. I stayed in a pull-through site, and it had a fire-pit, table, etc. Just beward that there are no sewer connections and only a dump-station that is pretty far from most campgrounds. However, given I only stayed for 2 days, it wasn't a big deal. We camped at Hickory Creek COE (Closed until March 2019) in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Site Surface
Asphalt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 51
States Visited: 15
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: July, 2017 - $10.00
Overall Rating:

Roomy long sites with a few pull through although 50 amp spotty. One crazy thing I'd never encountered before, an 11pm gate closing with no entry after that time, what a crock. Spoiled some of our tourist ventures for sure. This is beauracracy run amok. We camped at Hickory Creek COE (Closed until March 2019) in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
80
Site Surface
Concrete
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my motorhome
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Excellent to explore area except for the idiotic 11pm gates being locked, no entry allowed after that. That's just crazy.

1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 26
States Visited: 9
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: June, 2017 - $14.00
Overall Rating:

This is a lovely park. Lots of walking and biking trails. Very clean. We had trouble with defective circuit breaker on power pedestal. Were moved to another site because maintenance would take a week or longer to repair. Main complaint is 10:00 curfew. Gate locks at 10:00 and there is no access code, so no access after that. Cell service was great on Verizon and AT&T. There is a Pack 'N Mail in Corinth, right near by. They will accept packages for you for a small fee. Very nice and reliable. We camped at Hickory Creek COE (Closed until March 2019) in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
102
Site Surface
Concrete
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious, Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

There is a Pack 'N Mail in Corinth, right near by. They will accept packages for you for a small fee. Very nice and reliable. Shopping area in Corinth is very helpful. Groceries, banking, etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 13
States Visited: 7
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: March, 2017 - $30.00
Overall Rating:

Hickory Creek is a lovely COE campground with good access to Dallas on reasonably priced mass transit with a station within five miles of the campground. Road access to Dallas on 35 is currently under heavy construction making driving in more challenging. This campground is well maintained, sites are large and lovely, interior roads are easy to navigate and well laid out. Given its proximity to Dallas, the campground was a wonderful peaceful place to visit the area. Camphosts were welcoming and helpful with information both about the campground and the area itself. The views from the sites in the campground are beautiful. As other reviewers have noted, this campground does close all access at night. While we were there, it appeared that the closing time has been updated to 11 PM. We camped at Hickory Creek COE (Closed until March 2019) in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Asphalt
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Quite a bit longer (plenty of space) for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table, Patio
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 133
States Visited: 9
Helpful Reviews: 50

Date of Stay: March, 2017 - $30.00
Overall Rating:

Hickory Creek Park is a Corps of Engineers park on the north side of Lewisville Lake near Dallas, Texas. It has 121 RV campsites. All have water and electricity, but no sewer at sites. Some sites 50A electric, but most are 30A. Many sites have lake access and views. Two plus miles of wooded hiking trails. Walmart, Albertsons grocery and restaurants only a couple of miles away. Very popular, urban campground. We were in site 35 with 50A electric and great lake view. We've been here many times and will return. We camped at Hickory Creek COE (Closed until March 2019) in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
35
Site Surface
Asphalt
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 264
States Visited: 46
Helpful Reviews: 42

Date of Stay: March, 2017 - $15.00
Overall Rating:

What a nice park. Clean, quiet and open enough to feel like you are outdoors. Power and water are placed properly and worked great. ( no sewer but a dump station) Lots of sites with lake views and bank fishing. We camped here in a 40' motorhome. We camped at Hickory Creek COE (Closed until March 2019) in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Concrete
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table, Patio
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Featured Campgrounds Near Hickory Creek COE (Closed until March 2019)

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with Hickory Creek COE (Closed until March 2019) ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;
;