6.9 Good
     
Odessa, Texas

Mesquite Oasis RV Park

Odessa, Texas


7601 W 42nd St
Odessa, Texas 79764
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 101
Recent Rate: $$$$

Office Hours:

Monday: 9:00am - 8:00pm
Tuesday: 9:00am - 8:00pm
Wednesday: 9:00am - 8:00pm
Thursday: 9:00am - 8:00pm
Friday: 9:00am - 8:00pm
Saturday: 9:00am - 12:00pm
Sunday: Closed

Hours above shown for Central Time Zone

Add Review

Latitude: 31.862323296928
Longitude: -102.47304439545

Elevation: 2967' (approximate)
Campground Overview
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping no
  • Restrooms (Plumbed) Restrooms (Plumbed) yes
  • Pit Toilets Pit Toilets ?
  • Showers Showers yes
  • $0.00 Shower Fee Shower Fee 0.00
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • $1.50 Laundry Fee Laundry Fee 1.50
  • Dump Station Dump Station ?
  • $0.00 Dump Station Fee Dump Station Fee 0.00
  • Propane Available Propane Available no
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available no
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts no
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter yes
  • RV Wash RV Wash no
  • $0.00 RV Wash Fee RV Wash Fee 0.00
  • Corral Corral no
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip no
  • Overflow Parking Overflow Parking ?
Hookups & Connectivity
  • Electric (30 AMP) Electric (30 AMP) yes
  • Electric (50 AMP) Electric (50 AMP) yes
  • Water Water yes
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • Free WiFi Free WiFi yes
  • Cellular Phone Service Cellular Phone Service yes
  • ATT, Verizon, T-Mobile Cellular Phone Providers Cellular Phone Providers ATT,Verizon,T-Mobile
  • Cable or Satellite TV Hookup Cable or Satellite TV Hookup yes
  • Phone Phone no
  • Central Modem Central Modem yes
Amenities
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • 0 Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) 0
  • Pool Access Pool Access no
  • Family Friendly Family Friendly yes
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Pet Area Pet Area no
  • Waterfront Waterfront no
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse yes
  • Camp Store Camp Store ?
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar ?
  • Business Center Business Center yes
  • Group Camping Group Camping ?
  • Meeting Rooms Meeting Rooms yes
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen yes
  • Banquet Facilities Banquet Facilities ?
  • Concierge Services Concierge Services ?
Recreation
  • Walking Trail(s) Walking Trail(s) yes
  • Recreation Room Recreation Room yes
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities yes
  • Beach Access Beach Access no
  • Boat Ramp Boat Ramp no
  • Marina Marina no
  • Boat Rentals Boat Rentals no
  • Fishing Fishing yes
  • Golfing Golfing no
  • Bike Path(s) Bike Path(s) ?
  • Bike Rentals Bike Rentals no
  • Hiking Hiking ?
  • Spa Spa no
  • Horseshoe Pit Horseshoe Pit yes
  • Volley Ball Volley Ball yes
  • Sports Field Sports Field no
  • Arcade Games Arcade Games ?
  • Live Entertainment Live Entertainment no
  • Amphitheatre Amphitheatre no
  • Putt Putt Mini-Golf Putt Putt Mini-Golf ?
  • Billiards Billiards yes
  • Ping Pong Ping Pong yes
  • Lake Lake no
  • Pond Pond yes
  • River River no
  • Creek Creek no
  • Ocean Ocean no
  • Water Park Water Park no
  • Casino Casino no

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Ask a Question About Mesquite Oasis RV Park

Review Details

Ratings overview

26 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews' member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 24
States Visited: 15
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: August, 2017 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

I picked up an entire kitchen garbage bag of trash just from my site. The weeds were all over the place and I spent most of the time removing the burrs from my clothes and dog's fur. Very desolate park with no landscaping--just desert that has not been tamed. Utilities were placed so far apart had to use two sewer hoses and two water hoses. We camped at Mesquite Oasis RV Park in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
101
Site Surface
Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 78
States Visited: 33
Helpful Reviews: 15

Date of Stay: June, 2017 - $33.00
Overall Rating:      

This is West Texas. It is a desert. There are no trees, no grass, just flat scrub land, dirt, and briers. All the RV parks look the same. Spaces here are long and level, full hookup sites. All utilities worked fine except the WiFi. The office even tells you not to bother with it. We had 2 bars of AT&T cell service, which sufficed. Our water hookup was at the far back of the site, while the electric box was mid-site. We had very little choice as to where to park so that our electric cord and hose would both reach. The park is on the far west side of town, but shopping, etc. is not too far away. People in the office were very nice, and guided us to our site. We had to go back to the office after 4 PM to pay. We were not impressed with Odessa; we will probably stay in Midland next time. We camped at Mesquite Oasis RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
100
Site Surface
Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Downtown is a replica of Stonehenge, a replica of the Globe Theater, a small art museum, and a Presidential Library, with info on all the presidents. True Texas BBQ, inside the HEB supermarket, is excellent!

1 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 15
States Visited: 11
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: May, 2017 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

This park is very rustic with scrub brush between the campsites. There's loads of sand spurs so watch out for your dog's paws. The cactus was in bloom which was a wonderful sight. There's a very large dog park, but we didn't use it because of the sand spurs. There's a duck pond that's cute but there was a dead duck in there, so we stayed away from it. The wifi was hit and miss and we never got the cable to work. The people in the park were nice and we felt safe. The staff were helpful. We camped at Mesquite Oasis RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
98
Site Surface
Gravel, Sand
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

We enjoyed the meteor crater and the presidential archive where they have a house that 2 presidents and a first lady resided.

1 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 28
States Visited: 12
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: May, 2017 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

Other reviews call this place rustic with a lot of scrub, that is definitely true. I didn't find the park to be clean. Lots and lots of weeds on dirt/gravel sites and in between sites. There were covered picnic areas throughout the park, but they were so overgrown with weeds, they were unusable. Lots of residents, probably oil workers. I wish the owners would do a bit more to clean up the park and make the residents feel a bit better about where they live. WiFi was non-existent. Even called the office about it and was told "we've had a few storms the past few days, I'll have the guys reset it". Say what? Don't waste your money. We will not be returning. We camped at Mesquite Oasis RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
VIP 100
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 35
States Visited: 20
Helpful Reviews: 12

Date of Stay: April, 2017 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

Perfectly adequate for what it is. In our case we were just looking for a easy to get into and out of place for an overnight stay. The pull through sites are long and wide, with a level gravel surface (at least our site was level). Site was plenty long enough to hold our 40-ft 5th wheel, without needing to unhook the truck. Staff was pleasant and friendly. Even led us to our site and explained the sewer, water and electric set-up. One drawback if you're looking for a one-night stay, is that's about 10 miles north and east of 1-20. Not necessarily convenient; but apparently Odessa has a city law prohibiting RV parks within the city limits. Remember West Texas is a desert so don't expect a lot (read none)of grass and trees. This isn't a glitz and glamor RV park by any means, but it worked for us. We camped at Mesquite Oasis RV Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Site Number
100
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer (plenty of space) for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

It's in a gritty part of Odessa, so there's not a lot to do within a short distance. So fire up the scrabble boards or get a deck of cards and enjoy.

1 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 6
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: April, 2017 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

This park is clean, but it's bare bones. Hookups for water, are at the front of the site, so for a pull through, you need long water lines. Few small trees, rely on your rig for shade. Pads are gravel, only weeds, mowed, in between. No tables. Adequate for short overnight stays, if you have no desire for amenities. Camp instructions say that they will tell you where to go if you want to swim or play golf, and there are some things to do around town. We camped at Mesquite Oasis RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
101
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

There was a rather large critter hole in the space between our campsite and the next, watch for snakes and your step.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 30
States Visited: 13
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: January, 2017 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

Bare bones RV Park. Staff is most accommodating and helpful. Spaces are very wide. This is a working town and I imagine that most people here work for the oil companies and transient. It was adequate for us for one night. We picked this park because it had the higher rating of what was available We camped at Mesquite Oasis RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

Not much at all going on in surrounding area

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 14
States Visited: 9
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: December, 2016 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

For the vacationer, this is a basic, overnight-stay campground. The majority of guests seem to be long term, but all their rigs appear well kept. The campground has long pull throughs, but the gravel and dirt site we were on was uneven. Electric and water pressure were okay, but the WiFi became very slow when, presumably, folks came home from work and got on line.The staff is friendly and helpful. One drawback for RVers stopping for the night is that the campground is 5 or 6 miles off I-20, and not through the best parts of Odessa. Overall, sufficient, especially for 30 bucks. We camped at Mesquite Oasis RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Site Number
site 100
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

gypsylady, owner at Mesquite Oasis RV Park responded to this review

We are glad that you chose our park for your stay. We are sorry that you had an issue with the WiFi. Yes when people come home from work and start sending in reports the WiFi will bog down for a bit. There are many people that come to the Permian Basin to do jobs that require them staying 2 months or more and because we are one of the few full service RV parks in the area with city water, they choose to stay with us, and they are not jam up next to their neighbor. Unfortunately the city officials do not allow RV Parks within the city limits, unless you are a mobile home park that has been grandfathered in and added some RV spaces. Yes, we are located 4 miles north of the interstate, with access to the interstate via state Hwys, and loops. Thank you for letting us know your sight was uneven and we have discussed that with our staff.

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2016 - $40.00
Overall Rating:      

This RV Park is basically an old oil digging site that has been turned into an RV Park. I do not know what happened but it feels as though the owners no longer care about their property. WiFi is extremely s-l-o-w like dial-up slow. There is a playground but I feel uncomfortable and won't let my children play anywhere here. The water pressure to shower, wash dishes is horrible, not even worth plugging into. You are better off saving your money and sleeping a few hours at a rest area. Good to stay overnight to rest and that is it. We camped at Mesquite Oasis RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
100
Site Surface
Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

Nothing to do, nothing to see.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

gypsylady, owner at Mesquite Oasis RV Park responded to this review

We are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay at our park. Your rate was $35.00 for the night, because we have never charged $40.00. There was a well that was drilled on our pasture more than 25 years ago and a pump jack was set, but again this was our pasture and over 25 years ago. You never mentioned to us that you were having problems with the wi-fi, so we cannot investigate the problem if we are unaware of the problem. We do not understand you being uncomfortable with your children playing in the playground, because we are a family oriented park and even have policemen and state troopers that live in our park. I don't know how much safer you could be. As for the water pressure, by state regulations we are required to have a back flow preventer on each faucet/hydrant and the pressure is 45-50 pound of pressure, possibly there was an issue with the screen on your hose hitting the back flow preventer, I can not say because again we were not notified of any problems, but can say that you are the only one that has said anything about it. As far as nothing to do or see, we wish you would have asked us about some very interesting things here in the Permian Basin you might have enjoyed. Again we are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at our park and we have checked and gone over with our staff the issues you mentioned. We wish you would have communicated with us, so maybe you would have enjoyed your stay more.

Review Count: 12
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: April, 2016 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

Nice campground for a few nights. I liked that they had large pull-through. A bit uneven and it's mostly dirt with gravel. Could be a problem when it rains. Clean, spacious bathrooms and showers.(2) Small but nice exercise room with a good selection of equipment. The owner showed us around and was very helpful & friendly. It's family run & the daughter was working the front desk. Very friendly. Nice laundry room & a room with pool table but didn't use. There's also a pond & a very nice kids playground with lots of new equipment. Large fenced in dog area as well. Would stay again for a few days. Not much ambiance in surrounding area to stay longer than a few days. We camped at Mesquite Oasis RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious, Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tips for other Campers:

Odessa has the largest jackrabbit statue downtown. Worth a picture. Also worth going to see the Stonehenge replica at University of Texas and we went to see the Odessa meteor crator. I thought it was worth seeing and you could walk into it. Yes, there are some criticisms in other reviews but personally enjoyed it. Biggest tip of all; don't eat at Smokey's Texas BBQ. Who serves pressed turkey at a BBQ place!

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 236
States Visited: 38
Helpful Reviews: 10

Date of Stay: March, 2016 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

This is essentially a parking lot in the desert. Our site was gravel and open. Quite a ways out of town. Sure not fancy. Appears to be many full time residents. We camped at Mesquite Oasis RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
101
Site Surface
Gravel

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 4
States Visited: 3
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: January, 2016 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

We were on our way to Arizona when a snow/ice storm hit Texas. They called and checked on us and were very concerned about us arriving before the storm started. Our reservation was for one night but we stayed for 3 nights. So accomodating! We camped at Mesquite Oasis RV Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 21
States Visited: 16
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: December, 2015 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

only overnight, but it works very well. Host was very welcoming and helpful. Pull through. We camped at Mesquite Oasis RV Park in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
100
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 121
States Visited: 31
Helpful Reviews: 36

Date of Stay: November, 2015 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

Rate of $30/night is with a senior's discount.

First, drivers of coaches and big diesel pickups - DO NOT sit and let your engines idle on and on and on!!! For those of us near you, the noise is aggravating.

As others have noted, this is a gravel parking lot. There is no pool. Nice restrooms, laundry, work out room in the main building. Staff are very nice as are the other rv'ers. Full hookups with 30 & 50 AMP. WiFi is okay but a bit spotty. No Cable TV. A few channels of TV over air. This RV park has easy access to hiway but far enough away. No disruptive train sounds as is quite normal in this part of the country. Park is on a very busy street. Using a fan on the dresser gave us enough white noise to be able to sleep with the windows open. We would return to this park in the future. We camped at Mesquite Oasis RV Park in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tips for other Campers:

Visit the Petroleum Museum. Beautiful paintings on display depicting the early days of wildcat oil drilling. And a big mineral display as well as the famous Chapparel race cars.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 28
States Visited: 17
Helpful Reviews: 12

Date of Stay: June, 2015 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

The sites are very long gravel and fairly level ones. Everything is dirt and gravel. There had been some rain prior to our arrival but it was dry while we were there. The park had mostly long term oil field workers there. It is probably a nice park for the area. Everyone had dogs but they were penned.There is a nice pond with ducks and fountain. We never did see grass cut even though there were several workers there. We camped at Mesquite Oasis RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
100
Site Surface
Gravel

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with Mesquite Oasis RV Park ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;