8 Good
     
Brattleboro, Vermont

Kampfires (formerly Hidden Acres Campground)

Brattleboro, Vermont


792 US Route 5
Dummerston, Vermont 05301
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 40
Recent Rate: $$$$

Office Hours:

Seasonal Hours: April 15th - October 15th

Monday: 10:00am - 8:00pm
Tuesday: 10:00am - 8:00pm
Wednesday: 10:00am - 8:00pm
Thursday: 10:00am - 8:00pm
Friday: 10:00am - 8:00pm
Saturday: 10:00am - 8:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 8:00pm

Hours above shown for Eastern Time Zone

Add Review

Latitude: 42.915501117
Longitude: -72.536741996017

Elevation: 435' (approximate)
Campground Overview
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • Restrooms (Plumbed) Restrooms (Plumbed) yes
  • Pit Toilets Pit Toilets no
  • Showers Showers yes
  • $0.00 Shower Fee Shower Fee 0.00
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • $1.00 Laundry Fee Laundry Fee 1.00
  • Dump Station Dump Station yes
  • $9.99 Dump Station Fee Dump Station Fee 9.99
  • Propane Available Propane Available no
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available yes
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts yes
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter yes
  • RV Wash RV Wash no
  • $0.00 RV Wash Fee RV Wash Fee 0.00
  • Corral Corral no
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip no
  • Overflow Parking Overflow Parking yes
Hookups & Connectivity
  • Electric (30 AMP) Electric (30 AMP) yes
  • Electric (50 AMP) Electric (50 AMP) yes
  • Water Water yes
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • Free WiFi Free WiFi yes
  • Cellular Phone Service Cellular Phone Service yes
  • ATT, Verizon, Sprint, T-Mobile, U.S. Cellular Cellular Phone Providers Cellular Phone Providers ATT,Verizon,Sprint,T-Mobile,U.S. Cellular
  • Cable or Satellite TV Hookup Cable or Satellite TV Hookup yes
  • Phone Phone no
  • Central Modem Central Modem no
Amenities
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • 500 Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) 500
  • Pool Access Pool Access yes
  • Family Friendly Family Friendly yes
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Pet Area Pet Area yes
  • Waterfront Waterfront no
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse yes
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar yes
  • Business Center Business Center yes
  • Group Camping Group Camping yes
  • Meeting Rooms Meeting Rooms yes
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen no
  • Banquet Facilities Banquet Facilities yes
  • Concierge Services Concierge Services no
Recreation
  • Walking Trail(s) Walking Trail(s) yes
  • Recreation Room Recreation Room yes
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities no
  • Beach Access Beach Access no
  • Boat Ramp Boat Ramp no
  • Marina Marina no
  • Boat Rentals Boat Rentals no
  • Fishing Fishing no
  • Golfing Golfing no
  • Bike Path(s) Bike Path(s) yes
  • Bike Rentals Bike Rentals no
  • Hiking Hiking yes
  • Spa Spa no
  • Horseshoe Pit Horseshoe Pit yes
  • Volley Ball Volley Ball yes
  • Sports Field Sports Field yes
  • Arcade Games Arcade Games yes
  • Live Entertainment Live Entertainment yes
  • Amphitheatre Amphitheatre yes
  • Putt Putt Mini-Golf Putt Putt Mini-Golf yes
  • Billiards Billiards yes
  • Ping Pong Ping Pong no
  • Lake Lake no
  • Pond Pond no
  • River River no
  • Creek Creek no
  • Ocean Ocean no
  • Water Park Water Park no
  • Casino Casino no

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Ask a Question About Kampfires (formerly Hidden Acres Campground)

Review Details

Ratings overview

24 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews' member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 442
States Visited: 47
Helpful Reviews: 90

Date of Stay: September, 2017 - $21.00
Overall Rating:      

September 27, Kampfires Campground, Dummerston, VT Passport America $19, 39 sites, full hookups, amphitheater, basketball, volleyball, playground, dump station, dog area, horseshoes, pool, mini golf, Scoops ice cream shop, laundry, bathhouse, pets are charged extra, Wifi included, cable available We stopped here for our last night before we head home because it honored Passport America. Very reasonable and it had full hookups which we needed. I believe this was a private campground and recently changed owners. Easy off from I91 to the campground. Very peaceful on a very hot day in October. We were pleased with our checkin and the girl that was working there. Nice stay and we would stop here again if in the area. We had a back in site but pull-throughs were available. Good stop! We camped at Kampfires (formerly Hidden Acres Campground) in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
C7
Site Surface
Dirt
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Just long enough for my motorhome
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 11
States Visited: 7
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2017 - $29.00
Overall Rating:      

This is a small park in a very convenient location off of I-91 and close to Brattleboro. We would recommend it for passers by. There is a nice farm-stand just north of the campground with fresh produce. Also close by all necessary shopping. There seem to be new owners who would like the business to be profitable and this is a little too obvious. They ask for $5 for unlimited wi-fi, in theory unlimited streaming. However they don't allow more than two devices on the free wi-fi, so to connect more than two one needs to pay the $5/day. Not good internet anyway. Also they ask for $5 for late departure, even for one hour. These are not large amounts but they indicate a certain attitude that is not very generous, so we didn't feel like staying a minute longer than necessary. In fact had it not been for PA discount (4 nights max) this wouldn't have been good value. The price above reflects an average of 3 nights PA and one night full price. Even though it is a small place we couldn't locate the facilities easily. The laundry room has a code, given upon arrival, but it wasn't indicated on the map so we didn't bother. There are sites under nice trees and sites in full sun. We didn't think to ask and we got the full sun, unfortunately. All sites seemed to be pull-throughs. We camped at Kampfires (formerly Hidden Acres Campground) in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Grass
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Kampfires, owner at Kampfires (formerly Hidden Acres Campground) responded to this review

Thanks for your visit. Our WiFi is brand new, with a 100Mb fiber backbone. 2Mb service is included at no cost with every campsite booking. The upgraded WiFi option is to bump up to 10Mb service, which even supports streaming Netflix in HD! We camp onsite ourselves and use the premium WiFi daily! The premium offering does have a small charge of $4.99/day or $15.99/week through our provider, but seriously beats the pants off any WiFi we've ever come across at a campground! Sorry for any confusion about our offerings, it's brand new (like most of the amenities at our newly renovated campground!). Based on your feedback we've just started handing out a flyer at checkin that explains it better. We wish you many happy travels!

Review Count: 72
States Visited: 22
Helpful Reviews: 16

Date of Stay: September, 2016 - $20.00
Overall Rating:      

Rate reflects PA rate. Park and site were easy to access as were the utilities. The site was reasonably level. Verizon barely worked there. It has been some time since I have been there but I recall my stay as pleasant and considered staying again on my return route. I just feel that the prices charged are excessive for only water and electric--and I stayed an extra day over the weekend and the weekend rate was increased significantly. But I have found this to be typical of parks in the eastern US so I am not singling out this park in particular. Only explaining why I only gave "satisfactory" on "value". The swimming pool was delightful. It looks new and is well maintained. The laundry room did not have near enough washers and dryers for the size of the park. They have an ice cream shop on the premises so beware. We camped at Kampfires (formerly Hidden Acres Campground) in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
A6
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Brattleboro is not far. They have a wonderful Co-op.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 32
States Visited: 7
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: September, 2016 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

First time campers in the area. Friendly staff, large site but gravel and grass. Our site was nice and shady, beautiful pool. Site B10, 30 amp, no sewer. But honey wagon comes around every other day free if you need it. Very nice off leash dog area. Close to several covered bridges. We camped at Kampfires (formerly Hidden Acres Campground) in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
B10
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 7
States Visited: 6
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

This was the third time we stayed at this park. New owners this year just starting to upgrade older park. New pool and surrounding area. Understand plans include full hookup vice current water/electric sites. Also new 50 amp FHP sites are planned.

Campground is centrally located for easy sightseeing/exploring. Lots of crafters in the area. We camped at Kampfires (formerly Hidden Acres Campground) in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
B3
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my motorhome
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Several craft brewery/dining places. Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery should top your list. Don't miss Katy's Restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 51
States Visited: 19
Helpful Reviews: 8

Date of Stay: June, 2016 - $20.00
Overall Rating:      

Hidden Acres is a very nice, quiet campground that is framed by Vermont beauty. The roads are a little narrow, but absolutely no problem to navigate. Some sites are in wooded areas; others in the open. Most sites don't have sewer hookups but 3x weekly honey-truck service mitigates this shortfall. 30 amp power appeared stable, OTA television reception was limited to NBC, PBS and several Christian stations and Verizon 4g-3bars was good. Sites were grassy, fairly level but did require some front-to-back adjustment. Check-in staff was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable of the area. Cost is PA and is available for 4 weekdays. We liked this campground and would stay here again. We camped at Kampfires (formerly Hidden Acres Campground) in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
A8
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 104
States Visited: 33
Helpful Reviews: 39

Date of Stay: September, 2015 - $22.00
Overall Rating:      

We came on Highway 9 from I91 Exit 4 with no problem, but Exit 3 has 13 feet 9 inch clearance and it is also no problem for us but aa tall fifth wheel didn't lost air conditioner. Exit from Highway 9 to campground is hidden and on curve. Once at campground, plenty of room to register and negotiate campground. RV sites are level grass/gravel, weak 30amp, good water pressure, with dumpstation at entrance to camping area which makes for inconvenience. Evidently a honey wagon will dump you at site and know that if you use dumpstation, it has its own very leaky dump hose to use as it is connected to drain in dumpstation. Many tent sites and campground is quiet, dark but some of the longer term sites are quite messy as there aren't very many rules. Don't believe pool or miniature golf are usable. Very friendly and helpful host. We camped at Kampfires (formerly Hidden Acres Campground) in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel, Grass
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open, Some Shade
Tips for other Campers:

Vernont's longest covered bridge, Brattleboro, Basketville all close with gas station at exit four very accessible.

1 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 32
States Visited: 16
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: July, 2014 - $39.00
Overall Rating:      

This is an attractive park. We couldn't get TV on our satellite because of the trees around us, but it appeared other people could. We also had no sewer hook-up at our site, but they do have a dump station & some sites to have hook-up for it. They have a lot of amenities here. If ever in this area again we would consider staying here. We camped at Kampfires (formerly Hidden Acres Campground) in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 41
States Visited: 24
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: October, 2012 - $22.00
Overall Rating:      

Very nice comfortable park. We were there just before they closed for the season so we nearly had the place to ourselves. Very quiet with good long pull-through sites, good Wi-Fi, and good water pressure. The only knock is the very weak electrical. Even with a nearly empty park the voltage was low. We camped at Kampfires (formerly Hidden Acres Campground) in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 24
States Visited: 14
Helpful Reviews: 8

Date of Stay: August, 2012 - $22.00
Overall Rating:      

This is a nice park with big, pull-through sites available in shady area. There is no 50-amp, but it was fine, as it was relatively cool outside. There was also no sewer, but unlike other reviews here, we have not seen a honey wagon in two days. We were here over a weekend, so maybe they don't do the service on weekends, though the owner told us he would be around at least every other day. There is a large agility course/dog run on the hill above the campground, and there was an agility competition over the weekend. Even with this, it was a pretty quiet campground. Main issue for us was the intermittent wi-fi. The connection could often not be made at all with the internet, and we used our own hotspot for the majority of our time here. I would stay here again for the location, and there are many covered bridges in this area to see, as well as farmers markets and scenic drives. We camped at Kampfires (formerly Hidden Acres Campground) in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 16
States Visited: 12
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2012 - $22.00
Overall Rating:      

This is a very friendly park. Wi-Fi was fast, satellite reception was great, site was big and owner was very friendly. No sewer on the pull-through sites but honey wagon service was free. Owner knocked on our door to ask if we needed to be pumped out. He also told us to feel free to let our Cavalier King Charles Spaniels run free in the large open field, up the hill, where a woman trains dogs for agility, twice a week. Unfortunately, she was on vacation. Please pick up after your dogs so places like this stay pet friendly. The rate was Passport America. We camped at Kampfires (formerly Hidden Acres Campground) in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 20
States Visited: 9
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: June, 2012 - $22.00
Overall Rating:      

A lovely little Campground. Pull throughs had no sewer (as of now) but sites in rear of park were fine. No cable TV, but you could pick up a few channels with a batwing. Pool was busy most days, as was ice cream shop. The wood they sell is more like carpenter leftovers, better left at a construction site. AT&T and Verizon worked well, but WiFi was hit or miss. Signal showed good strength, but would fade in and out and lose connection. Went on a farmers market tour and saw some amazing scenery. Will stay here again. Rate reflects PA discount. We camped at Kampfires (formerly Hidden Acres Campground) in a Travel Trailer.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 28
States Visited: 16
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: June, 2012 - $40.00
Overall Rating:      

A beautiful, quiet and spacious park, marred only by lack of 50 amp, sewer hookup, and cable TV. (Although we have a big rig and normally require 50 amp, the day and evening were so cool that 30 amp was sufficient for us.) A portable black-water emptying service (honey wagon) comes by once a day, and was very accommodating to our schedule. Because there are no trees near most of the sites, satellite reception is excellent. Our hard-gravel site was huge and surrounded by lush grass. The park also operates an ice-cream store and putt-putt golf on the premises, which were very nice; campers, however, receive no discount for these amenities. Wi-Fi was excellent. We would stay again. We camped at Kampfires (formerly Hidden Acres Campground) in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 77
States Visited: 32
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: May, 2012 - $40.00
Overall Rating:      

Nice family owned park. Spacious pull through sites--but those sites do NOT have sewer hookups. But never fear, the owners bring the honey wagon around at least every two days or on request if you need it to clean out your tanks. No cable but really good Wi-Fi. Only mis-steps is the check in information. We had to call back up for the Wi-Fi code and didn't know about the honey-wagon till he came around. That information would have been nice to hear or be included with the rules pamphlet at check-in. Located close to the interstate, so it was convenient. Would recommend to stay there. We camped at Kampfires (formerly Hidden Acres Campground) in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: October, 2011 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

We have stayed here for two full seasons and love this campground. It is a family campground in a rural setting. The sites are grass and gravel. The campground and bathrooms are clean. The owners are friendly, very accommodating and always helpful. The campground is very dog friendly with lots of room for your dog to walk and play. It is important to understand this is not a Class A "resort" park. It allows all types of RV's and also tents and children laugh and play here. The pool is open to the community which allows you to meet Vermonters who can give you the best tips on what to see and do. We have had friends from all over the country visit us and they love the campground and the feeling of the camping of our youth. We highly recommend this campground. We camped at Kampfires (formerly Hidden Acres Campground) in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with Kampfires (formerly Hidden Acres Campground) ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;