7.1 Good
     
Wytheville, Virginia

Wytheville KOA

Wytheville, Virginia


231 Koa Rd
Wytheville, Virginia 24382
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 115
Recent Rate: $$$$

Add Review

Latitude: 36.933118
Longitude: -81.003427
Campground Overview
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • Restrooms (Plumbed) Restrooms (Plumbed) yes
  • Pit Toilets Pit Toilets no
  • Showers Showers yes
  • $0.00 Shower Fee Shower Fee 0.00
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • $0.00 Laundry Fee Laundry Fee 0.00
  • Dump Station Dump Station yes
  • $0.00 Dump Station Fee Dump Station Fee 0.00
  • Propane Available Propane Available yes
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available yes
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts yes
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot ?
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter yes
  • RV Wash RV Wash no
  • $0.00 RV Wash Fee RV Wash Fee 0.00
  • Corral Corral no
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip no
  • Overflow Parking Overflow Parking ?
Hookups & Connectivity
  • Electric (30 AMP) Electric (30 AMP) yes
  • Electric (50 AMP) Electric (50 AMP) yes
  • Water Water yes
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • Free WiFi Free WiFi ?
  • Cellular Phone Service Cellular Phone Service yes
  • Verizon Cellular Phone Providers Cellular Phone Providers Verizon
  • Cable or Satellite TV Hookup Cable or Satellite TV Hookup yes
  • Phone Phone no
  • Central Modem Central Modem no
Amenities
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • 0 Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) 0
  • Pool Access Pool Access yes
  • Family Friendly Family Friendly yes
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Pet Area Pet Area yes
  • Waterfront Waterfront no
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse yes
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar yes
  • Business Center Business Center ?
  • Group Camping Group Camping yes
  • Meeting Rooms Meeting Rooms ?
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen ?
  • Banquet Facilities Banquet Facilities ?
  • Concierge Services Concierge Services ?
Recreation
  • Walking Trail(s) Walking Trail(s) ?
  • Recreation Room Recreation Room yes
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities ?
  • Beach Access Beach Access no
  • Boat Ramp Boat Ramp no
  • Marina Marina no
  • Boat Rentals Boat Rentals no
  • Fishing Fishing no
  • Golfing Golfing no
  • Bike Path(s) Bike Path(s) ?
  • Bike Rentals Bike Rentals ?
  • Hiking Hiking ?
  • Spa Spa no
  • Horseshoe Pit Horseshoe Pit ?
  • Volley Ball Volley Ball ?
  • Sports Field Sports Field ?
  • Arcade Games Arcade Games yes
  • Live Entertainment Live Entertainment ?
  • Amphitheatre Amphitheatre ?
  • Putt Putt Mini-Golf Putt Putt Mini-Golf ?
  • Billiards Billiards ?
  • Ping Pong Ping Pong ?
  • Lake Lake no
  • Pond Pond no
  • River River no
  • Creek Creek no
  • Ocean Ocean no
  • Water Park Water Park no
  • Casino Casino no

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Ask a Question About Wytheville KOA

Review Details

Ratings overview

97 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews' member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 30
States Visited: 13
Helpful Reviews: 8

Date of Stay: July, 2017 - $40.00
Overall Rating:      

This is a very lovely park, especially for families. So many activities, including a water slide in the pool, an arcade, a fishing pond, even a bowling alley! Has cafe and pizza place on site. Sites are spacious and shady, and the premises are very well kept. Wish I could stay more than overnight. Only real drawback is the cost (which is expected for a KOA), but we arrived earlier than check in time and had to pay an add'l $10 for early check in. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
1
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 15
States Visited: 12
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: July, 2017 - $48.00
Overall Rating:      

We had a breakdown on I-80 and chose this park to stay while our truck was being repaired. We were towed here and stayed two nights. It was a very stressful experience, but the people we dealt with in the office were outstanding. They went out of their way to help us while we were without our truck. Our truck was repaired at a service facility approx. 60 miles north of the park, as arranged by our Roadside Assistance insurance. We had no way to pick up our vehicle after repair. We were on a waiting list for a rental car, so instead, the park owner's father in law took us to pick up our truck. They made a real effort to make an unpleasant experience so much better. The park is quiet, well maintained and the people offered us true southern hospitality. We can highly recommend this park and will stay here again as we travel from our home to visit family. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
3
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer (plenty of space) for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 7
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: June, 2017 - $51.00
Overall Rating:      

Very clean park, and the staff is super friendly. We were in a pull thru site, and had plenty of room for our 42' fifth wheel and the truck.

There is a lot going on at this park, they had a nice pool with a water slide, a large game room, batting cages, and to top it off a 6 lane bowling alley. Felt the price was fair for all the amenities, actually cheaper than a lot of other KOA's we've stayed at. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 41
States Visited: 16
Helpful Reviews: 7

Date of Stay: June, 2017 - $50.00
Overall Rating:      

We last stayed here in July of 2013 on the way to Myrtle Beach. I was pretty hard on them in that review. We once again were headed to Myrtle Beach and tried them again. What a difference 4 years make. We stayed in one of their newest pull-thru sites below the activity center and along side the fishing pond. Sites were plenty long enough to not have to un-hook for our overnight stay and pretty level. Lots of activities for all ages, some cost extra, some included in the price. We would have no qualms about coming her again. If I had to pick out something to complain about, it would be the exterior roads getting to the campground, but they can't help that. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 5
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: May, 2017 - $40.00
Overall Rating:      

We had our site assigned in the upper part of campground which I would call not completed yet compared to the bottom one. The site itself There are no light and no walkways to showers/bathrooms. So you have to walk on crosscountry terrain at night to get to bathrooms. To get insult to injury, they had a busload of tenters there, so by 11pm there was no water in the bathrooms and all the toilets were clogged. We left about 7am next morning, the lower campground bathrooms were working fine. Needless to say, we picked another campground going back home on the same route. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Truck Camper.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 11
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: May, 2017 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

Great place! We have stayed here twice. Very convenient and right along side I-81. Very clean. Hospitable staff. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
Far right side
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 9
States Visited: 6
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: December, 2016 - $45.00
Overall Rating:      

Loved this park. The location is great, tucked away in a quiet area surrounded by trees. Our site was great, easy in and out, very spacious with great power supply.

The staff was friendly. The park immaculate even in December and the cell reception and wifi worked fine. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
4
Site Surface
Concrete
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
No Others In Sight
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

We took our 6 year old son to bowl (at the bowling alley located on the premises) for the first time and we all had a blast even the pizza was decent.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: November, 2016 - $54.00
Overall Rating:      

This is a very laid back, relaxing place to stay. The owner/operator is friendly and didn't bother you. Rules were reasonable. We were there late in the season, so the park wasn't very busy. The pool was closed. Laundry facility was excellent with newer washer/dryers. They have a arcade with a batting cage and a 6 lane bowling alley (for a fee) that was very nice. Pizza available with delivery to your RV. Nice wooded spaces on the back of the park. In the front of the park sites were much closer together but they seemed to be used for RV's that were just stopping for the night. Bathrooms and showers were well maintained and clean. Camp store was well stocked with reasonable prices. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
57
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

Lots to do here with the Blue Ridge Parkway. Wytheville is about 5 miles away and is a pretty big town. Two antique stores in close proximity.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Wytheville KOA responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, Margie! We're so pleased to hear that you had a great camping trip and hope to see you again soon!

Review Count: 19
States Visited: 11
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: November, 2016 - $44.00
Overall Rating:      

All gravel roads with some ruts and pot holes. The small sites had concrete pads, but the pad where we were was on the pinacle of a small hill, so the pad was flat but you had to climb up to it and climb down when leaving it, making it impossible to unhook or hook up a tow vehicle when parked. Utility hookups were good (although spaced fairly far apart), there was a picnic table, but if there had been motor homes in the adjacent sites, it would have seemed "crowded". Internet was spotty and not much use. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
2
Site Surface
Concrete
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Wytheville KOA responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, Don. Please accept our sincere apologies that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We appreciate your feedback and will pass along your comments to our management team. We hope that you will give us another chance to impress and wish you all the best.

Review Count: 25
States Visited: 12
Helpful Reviews: 8

Date of Stay: October, 2016 - $40.00
Overall Rating:      

About 1 mile from I 81. good interior gravel roads,, site level but grass overgrown. Pizza and wings delivered to site. Bowling alley on property. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Fire Ring
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Wytheville KOA responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us! We are glad that you enjoyed our food delivery service and hope that you had a chance to check out our new bowling alley during your stay. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again real soon.

Review Count: 5
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: October, 2016 - $47.00
Overall Rating:      

Overall this location is great for kids. Lots to do. Sites are very close with little space between. They had very nice rec area with 6 lane bowling area . This KOA is hard to find as signage is poor. Site was not level so a challenge to set up. We were on the back loop. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Clean Restrooms
Clean Showers

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
51
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my 5th wheel (had to disconnect)
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
1 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Wytheville KOA responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review, Bill and Brenda! We appreciate your comments and will pass your suggestions along to our management team. We hope that you will come camp with us again sometime.

Review Count: 35
States Visited: 16
Helpful Reviews: 12

Date of Stay: October, 2016 - $45.00
Overall Rating:      

We stayed here just for an overnight visit. We took the kids bowling on the grounds and it was a blast. Kids liked the pizza too. It was very safe and clean, close to the highway and they had good cable tv. We got to watch Sunday football and the kids enjoyed the playground too. Highly recommended! We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
17
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Wytheville KOA responded to this review

We're so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful overnight stay with us! Thank you for your kind review and warm recommendation. We hope to see you all again real soon.

Review Count: 95
States Visited: 29
Helpful Reviews: 27

Date of Stay: October, 2016 - $47.00
Overall Rating:      

Nice park off the interstate. FHU's quality good. The sewer was back a bit far but doable on this site. Version signal good. Wifi from site 24 good quality, camp part-full. Satellite signal from sites near office, but park also has good cable TV. Site gravel and level a bit of grass in between. Sites in the shaded area have more room. It can be dusty if you are on one of the main roads. There is a bowling alley, batting cages, mini golf, and a family fun center on site. They deliver pizza and wings to site. Staff was friendly and efficient at check in. If you choose sites 38-43 watch your approach so you are backing in on driver's side. There are shaded sites as well as open (sat friendly) sites that you can request. Would stay here again. Enough space to walk Rover, but keep mindful of the ticks in this area in the heavy foliage. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
24
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Patio
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Wytheville KOA responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and detailed review! We're glad that you had a great stay and hope that you were able to enjoy some of our great amenities during your camping trip. It was a pleasure to have you camp with us and hope that you will visit us again soon.

Review Count: 3
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: October, 2016 - $39.00
Overall Rating:      

Very friendly staff. Lots ranged from spacious to very close. Sites are gravel and feature a fire ring. Great site for a quick overnight stop where sewer not required.

Owner noticed a problem emanating from our coach. Knocked on the door to point it out and tried to see if he could fix it. (Leaking HW pressure valve) Came back with a new one but unfortunately it was not the correct size.

Large games area with food and a bowling alley. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
1
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious, Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Wytheville KOA responded to this review

Thank you for your amazing review! We're glad that you found our campground to be perfect for your overnight visit. We are sorry to hear about the small issue with your rig and wish we had the correct size piece that was needed to fix it. We appreciate your feedback about our helpful staff and great amenities. We hope to see you again real soon.

Review Count: 38
States Visited: 14
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: September, 2016 - $41.00
Overall Rating:      

We used this Campground for an overnighter on our way south. Convenient to the interstate, pull through site long enough for 31' motorhome pulling car. Bathrooms were clean, swimming pool looked nice. We would stay here again for an overnighter. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my motorhome
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
1 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Wytheville KOA responded to this review

Thank you for stopping by during your travels! We're glad you enjoyed our convenient location, your campsite, and our facilities. We appreciate the review, and hope to have you back sometime!

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

     

Claytor Lake State Park

38 Ratings
Dublin, Virginia

     

Dixie Caverns Campground

87 Ratings
Salem, Virginia

     

Interstate Campground

4 Ratings
Marion, Virginia

Are you affiliated with Wytheville KOA ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;