7.1 Good
     
Wytheville, Virginia

Wytheville KOA

Wytheville, Virginia


231 Koa Rd
Wytheville, Virginia 24382
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 115
Recent Rate: $$$$

Add Review

Latitude: 36.933118
Longitude: -81.003427

Elevation: 2340' (approximate)
Campground Overview
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • Restrooms (Plumbed) Restrooms (Plumbed) yes
  • Pit Toilets Pit Toilets no
  • Showers Showers yes
  • $0.00 Shower Fee Shower Fee 0.00
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • $0.00 Laundry Fee Laundry Fee 0.00
  • Dump Station Dump Station yes
  • $0.00 Dump Station Fee Dump Station Fee 0.00
  • Propane Available Propane Available yes
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available yes
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts yes
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot ?
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter yes
  • RV Wash RV Wash no
  • $0.00 RV Wash Fee RV Wash Fee 0.00
  • Corral Corral no
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip no
  • Overflow Parking Overflow Parking ?
Hookups & Connectivity
  • Electric (30 AMP) Electric (30 AMP) yes
  • Electric (50 AMP) Electric (50 AMP) yes
  • Water Water yes
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • Free WiFi Free WiFi yes
  • Cellular Phone Service Cellular Phone Service yes
  • Verizon Cellular Phone Providers Cellular Phone Providers Verizon
  • Cable or Satellite TV Hookup Cable or Satellite TV Hookup yes
  • Phone Phone no
  • Central Modem Central Modem no
Amenities
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • 0 Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) 0
  • Pool Access Pool Access yes
  • Family Friendly Family Friendly yes
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Pet Area Pet Area yes
  • Waterfront Waterfront no
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse yes
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar yes
  • Business Center Business Center ?
  • Group Camping Group Camping yes
  • Meeting Rooms Meeting Rooms ?
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen ?
  • Banquet Facilities Banquet Facilities ?
  • Concierge Services Concierge Services ?
Recreation
  • Walking Trail(s) Walking Trail(s) yes
  • Recreation Room Recreation Room yes
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities no
  • Beach Access Beach Access no
  • Boat Ramp Boat Ramp no
  • Marina Marina no
  • Boat Rentals Boat Rentals no
  • Fishing Fishing no
  • Golfing Golfing no
  • Bike Path(s) Bike Path(s) ?
  • Bike Rentals Bike Rentals ?
  • Hiking Hiking ?
  • Spa Spa no
  • Horseshoe Pit Horseshoe Pit ?
  • Volley Ball Volley Ball ?
  • Sports Field Sports Field ?
  • Arcade Games Arcade Games yes
  • Live Entertainment Live Entertainment ?
  • Amphitheatre Amphitheatre ?
  • Putt Putt Mini-Golf Putt Putt Mini-Golf ?
  • Billiards Billiards ?
  • Ping Pong Ping Pong ?
  • Lake Lake no
  • Pond Pond yes
  • River River no
  • Creek Creek no
  • Ocean Ocean no
  • Water Park Water Park no
  • Casino Casino no

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Ask fellow campers about "Wytheville KOA" and nearby attractions.

Review Details

Ratings overview

31 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews' member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Review Count: 15
States Visited: 10
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: November, 2017 - $58.00
Overall Rating:      

Good stop over location. Never had seen a campground with a 6 lane bowling center and indoor batting cages before. Only negative thing I can say has nothing to do with the campground, the intersection on the highway exit is a nightmare!!! Really needs a traffic light. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table, Patio
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2017 - $46.00
Overall Rating:      

Stopped for an overnight stay. We arrived well after the office hours and expected to have to check in and find our site by ourselves but when we pulled up a young man jogged over and got us situated. The campgound was quiet and clean and the parking space was level and generous. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
27
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 15
States Visited: 12
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: July, 2017 - $48.00
Overall Rating:      

We had a breakdown on I-80 and chose this park to stay while our truck was being repaired. We were towed here and stayed two nights. It was a very stressful experience, but the people we dealt with in the office were outstanding. They went out of their way to help us while we were without our truck. Our truck was repaired at a service facility approx. 60 miles north of the park, as arranged by our Roadside Assistance insurance. We had no way to pick up our vehicle after repair. We were on a waiting list for a rental car, so instead, the park owner's father in law took us to pick up our truck. They made a real effort to make an unpleasant experience so much better. The park is quiet, well maintained and the people offered us true southern hospitality. We can highly recommend this park and will stay here again as we travel from our home to visit family. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
3
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer (plenty of space) for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 7
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: June, 2017 - $51.00
Overall Rating:      

Very clean park, and the staff is super friendly. We were in a pull thru site, and had plenty of room for our 42' fifth wheel and the truck.

There is a lot going on at this park, they had a nice pool with a water slide, a large game room, batting cages, and to top it off a 6 lane bowling alley. Felt the price was fair for all the amenities, actually cheaper than a lot of other KOA's we've stayed at. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 43
States Visited: 16
Helpful Reviews: 8

Date of Stay: June, 2017 - $50.00
Overall Rating:      

We last stayed here in July of 2013 on the way to Myrtle Beach. I was pretty hard on them in that review. We once again were headed to Myrtle Beach and tried them again. What a difference 4 years make. We stayed in one of their newest pull-thru sites below the activity center and along side the fishing pond. Sites were plenty long enough to not have to un-hook for our overnight stay and pretty level. Lots of activities for all ages, some cost extra, some included in the price. We would have no qualms about coming her again. If I had to pick out something to complain about, it would be the exterior roads getting to the campground, but they can't help that. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 11
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: May, 2017 - $35.00
Overall Rating:      

Great place! We have stayed here twice. Very convenient and right along side I-81. Very clean. Hospitable staff. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
Far right side
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 9
States Visited: 6
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: December, 2016 - $45.00
Overall Rating:      

Loved this park. The location is great, tucked away in a quiet area surrounded by trees. Our site was great, easy in and out, very spacious with great power supply.

The staff was friendly. The park immaculate even in December and the cell reception and wifi worked fine. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
4
Site Surface
Concrete
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
No Others In Sight
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

We took our 6 year old son to bowl (at the bowling alley located on the premises) for the first time and we all had a blast even the pizza was decent.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 3
States Visited: 3
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: November, 2016 - $54.00
Overall Rating:      

This is a very laid back, relaxing place to stay. The owner/operator is friendly and didn't bother you. Rules were reasonable. We were there late in the season, so the park wasn't very busy. The pool was closed. Laundry facility was excellent with newer washer/dryers. They have a arcade with a batting cage and a 6 lane bowling alley (for a fee) that was very nice. Pizza available with delivery to your RV. Nice wooded spaces on the back of the park. In the front of the park sites were much closer together but they seemed to be used for RV's that were just stopping for the night. Bathrooms and showers were well maintained and clean. Camp store was well stocked with reasonable prices. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
57
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

Lots to do here with the Blue Ridge Parkway. Wytheville is about 5 miles away and is a pretty big town. Two antique stores in close proximity.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Wytheville KOA responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, Margie! We're so pleased to hear that you had a great camping trip and hope to see you again soon!

Review Count: 5
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: October, 2016 - $47.00
Overall Rating:      

Overall this location is great for kids. Lots to do. Sites are very close with little space between. They had very nice rec area with 6 lane bowling area . This KOA is hard to find as signage is poor. Site was not level so a challenge to set up. We were on the back loop. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Clean Restrooms
Clean Showers

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
51
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my 5th wheel (had to disconnect)
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
1 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Wytheville KOA responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review, Bill and Brenda! We appreciate your comments and will pass your suggestions along to our management team. We hope that you will come camp with us again sometime.

Review Count: 5
States Visited: 3
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: October, 2016 - $39.00
Overall Rating:      

Very friendly staff. Lots ranged from spacious to very close. Sites are gravel and feature a fire ring. Great site for a quick overnight stop where sewer not required.

Owner noticed a problem emanating from our coach. Knocked on the door to point it out and tried to see if he could fix it. (Leaking HW pressure valve) Came back with a new one but unfortunately it was not the correct size.

Large games area with food and a bowling alley. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
1
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious, Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Wytheville KOA responded to this review

Thank you for your amazing review! We're glad that you found our campground to be perfect for your overnight visit. We are sorry to hear about the small issue with your rig and wish we had the correct size piece that was needed to fix it. We appreciate your feedback about our helpful staff and great amenities. We hope to see you again real soon.

Review Count: 12
States Visited: 7
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: September, 2016 - $46.00
Overall Rating:      

We originally planned to stay 1 night but extended for a 2nd and spent our second day touring around Wytheville. The office staff was cheerful and helpful. Interior roads were dirt/gravel but well maintained. There is a bowling alley on property and Hunt Brothers Pizza is available. Our site was perfectly level. The cable was excellent and we had no issues with our w/s/e. We would consider using this KOA as a base of operations for an extended stay in SW Virginia. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
12
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Between the campground and Wytheville and on the service road is Wytheville's Smallest Church. It is quite quaint and worth a visit.

1 of 1 found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Wytheville KOA responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us and Wytheville, George! We are glad you enjoyed our grounds, bowling alley, pizza, and your campsite. We appreciate the review, and we'd love to have you back sometime for a longer stay!

Review Count: 9
States Visited: 7
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: August, 2016 - $46.00
Overall Rating:      

Quick check in. Site level with plenty of room for toad, slides out and patio awning.

Rained while here: ordered pizza. Was delivered to our site, the quality good.

Easy in and out of CG. Appeared to have plenty of activity space. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
6
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Wytheville KOA responded to this review

Thank you for camping with us! We are glad you enjoyed your campsite, our pizza, and our grounds. We appreciate your great review, and hope to see you again sometime soon!

Review Count: 7
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $60.00
Overall Rating:      

Very nice campground, can tell new owners are taking pride in campground and fixing it up. We camped here with 3 very active boys between 7 and 15. They loved the water slide and pool. Slide seemed to run slow at times but they didn't care. We were camped up the hill near pavilion. Sites are good size up here with plenty room you don't feel like your touching your neighbor. Sites near office and pool are very close together. The bowling alley is a great deal. Shoe rental only $2 and game $3. Cant can't the price. Easy on/off highway. Restaurants and gas stations close by. Town just a short 10 min drive without having to get on highway. Great place to spend a weekend or to stop for a few days if traveling further south/north. Plan on heading to TN next summer and will be making this as a stop over for few days since it's half way for us. All the employees were courteous and check in was quick. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
56
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

If you have time visit Fort Chiswell Animal Park. Animals are so used to visitors they will stick their head right into bus to get some food. There's a $2 off coupon on KOA map.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Wytheville KOA responded to this review

We're so happy to hear you and your family had a wonderful stay with us! We are glad you enjoyed your campsite, our pool, the bowling alley, and nearby restaurants and attractions. Thank you so much for your awesome review, and we look forward to seeing you again next summer.

Review Count: 77
States Visited: 22
Helpful Reviews: 18

Date of Stay: May, 2016 - $44.00
Overall Rating:      

We really liked this park and would have liked to spend more time here. We were sorry that we had already made reservations for the next night several states away. We were told that it has recently been taken over by new owners and it is very obvious that they are working hard and making lots of improvements. The roads and sites are gravel but very well maintained, grass is mowed and everything is exceptionally neat. They have batting cages, 18-hole mini-golf and arcades plus a bowling alley will be opening shortly. Cable and wi-fi worked well. Staff waited for us to check in and were helpful and friendly. Free coffee is available in the office after 8 am. It's only a few minutes from the interstate and, although the road leading in is fairly narrow, there was little traffic and it was no problem for our 40' rig. We will definitely stay here again, hopefully for several days next time. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
2
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Wytheville KOA responded to this review

We'd love to have you back for a longer stay soon, Sandy! We are thrilled you had a great time with us, and enjoyed our grounds, your campsite, and our amenities and activities. Thanks so much for your kind words, and safe travels!

Review Count: 40
States Visited: 19
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: December, 2015 - $38.00
Overall Rating:      

The campground has a country feel but very convenient to Rte 81. Nice and quiet at night, though. Large new dog park. Nice views. Seems to be quite a few kids activities on the campground for the summer months.

The manager helped us with some systems problems we had on the coach's maiden voyage. Very nice and friendly, willing to take the time to help us find the source of the problems. A lifesaver, really. We were very apprehensive that something was very wrong with the water pump but he found a loose filter and tightening that did the trick.

As usual, KOA very organized with the reservations and sending you an email receipt, which is a help rather than having a lot of loose slips of paper to deal with.

We will stay here again when we are on our way back from Florida. We camped at Wytheville KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
     
Clean Restrooms
Service
     
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
     

Site Details

Campsite
     
Site Number
B-2
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

CamperSupport, employee at Wytheville KOA responded to this review

We look forward to having you back! It was our pleasure to help fix and find the problem with your RV, and we're glad it wasn't anything major! We're so happy you had a great stay with us. Thanks for your kind review!

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with Wytheville KOA ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;