Oak Harbor, Washington

Staysail RV Park(closed July 6th, 2012 to 2018)

Oak Harbor, Washington



Oak Harbor, Washington
Phone: (360) 279-4500

Sites: 82
Recent Rate: $25 6/2015

Latitude: 48.2857202148665
Longitude: -122.657375335693

Add Your Review

Campground Overview
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites no
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • Restrooms (Plumbed) Restrooms (Plumbed) yes
  • Pit Toilets Pit Toilets no
  • Showers Showers yes
  • $0.00 Shower Fee Shower Fee 0.00
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities no
  • $0.00 Laundry Fee Laundry Fee 0.00
  • Dump Station Dump Station yes
  • $5.00 Dump Station Fee Dump Station Fee 5.00
  • Propane Available Propane Available no
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available no
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts no
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter yes
  • RV Wash RV Wash no
  • $0.00 RV Wash Fee RV Wash Fee 0.00
  • Corral Corral no
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip no
  • Overflow Parking Overflow Parking yes
Hookups & Connectivity
  • Electric (30 AMP) Electric (30 AMP) yes
  • Electric (50 AMP) Electric (50 AMP) no
  • Water Water yes
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • $0.00 WiFi Fee WiFi Fee 0.00
  • Cellular Phone Service Cellular Phone Service yes
  • ATT, Verizon, Sprint, T-Mobile Cellular Phone Providers Cellular Phone Providers ATT,Verizon,Sprint,T-Mobile
  • Cable or Satellite TV Hookup Cable or Satellite TV Hookup no
  • Phone Phone no
  • Central Modem Central Modem no
Amenities
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • 0 Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) Maximum Pet Size (lbs.) 0
  • Pool Access Pool Access no
  • Family Friendly Family Friendly yes
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Pet Area Pet Area yes
  • yes-ocean Waterfront Waterfront yes-ocean
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse no
  • Camp Store Camp Store no
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar no
  • Business Center Business Center no
  • Group Camping Group Camping yes
  • Meeting Rooms Meeting Rooms no
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen yes
  • Banquet Facilities Banquet Facilities no
  • Concierge Services Concierge Services no
Recreation
  • Walking Trail(s) Walking Trail(s) yes
  • Recreation Room Recreation Room no
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities no
  • Beach Access Beach Access yes
  • Boat Ramp Boat Ramp no
  • Marina Marina no
  • Boat Rentals Boat Rentals no
  • Fishing Fishing yes
  • Golfing Golfing no
  • Bike Path(s) Bike Path(s) yes
  • Bike Rentals Bike Rentals no
  • Hiking Hiking yes
  • Spa Spa no
  • Horseshoe Pit Horseshoe Pit no
  • Volley Ball Volley Ball no
  • Sports Field Sports Field no
  • Arcade Games Arcade Games no
  • Live Entertainment Live Entertainment no
  • Amphitheatre Amphitheatre no
  • Putt Putt Mini-Golf Putt Putt Mini-Golf no
  • Billiards Billiards no
  • Ping Pong Ping Pong no
  • Lake Lake no
  • Pond Pond no
  • River River no
  • Creek Creek no
  • Ocean Ocean yes
  • Water Park Water Park no
  • Casino Casino no

Review Details

Ratings overview

22 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an RVParkReviews’ member and not the views of RVParkReviews.com

Mandalayjo

Review Count: 8
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: June, 2015 - $25.00
Overall Rating:      

This is an excellent park to stay at. On this web site it says it has closed, however the city council voted to keep the park open till July 6th. At that time it will be close for three years to update the sewer facility and the r.v. park. We were able to receive satellite t.v., verizon cell service etc. There is an amazing amount of things to do there. I would recommend Island Cafe if you are going out to eat..Very good. We camped at Staysail RV Park(closed July 6th, 2012 to 2018) in a Motorhome.

      Value

      Service

      Campsite

      Cleanliness

Clean Restrooms

Clean Showers

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

User3748

Review Count: 10
States Visited: 3
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: October, 2014 - $25.00
Overall Rating:      

There aren't many RV parks on Whidbey Island, only state parks that wouldn't work for our 40 ft bus and jeep we travel with, so we felt fortunate to find this one. It's right on the water in Oak Harbor. The park is roomy and clean. Back-in sites only but wide enough to park our jeep next to us. Each site has a picnic table. There are no laundry facilities. We were able to drive all around the island while we stayed here so the park was in a good location for us. Many grocery and service type stores very close by. We would stay here again. We camped at Staysail RV Park(closed July 6th, 2012 to 2018) in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

bradydane2009

Review Count: 61
States Visited: 10
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: August, 2014 - $30.00
Overall Rating:      

Improvements: Wi-Fi that is very good. New online reservations that leave something to be desired. New gravel throughout - no more pot holes. But the same and needs help: the electricity is only 30 amp but voltage is as low as 102 in the morning. That is unsafe - appliances groan. And there was a outage one morning which lasted only seconds but the DirecTV system reset in my coach. And I lost the work I was doing on my computer. It could be a great park if they improved the electric service. Can't beat the location, location, location - right on the harbor. We camped at Staysail RV Park(closed July 6th, 2012 to 2018) in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

NiekaKnitter

Review Count: 8
States Visited: 3
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: August, 2014 - $25.00
Overall Rating:      

Nightly rate finally went up $5 to $25, but the new reservation system and good WiFi made up for it. We were here 3 months from August to October. Excellent park; half the sites are reservable and half are first come/first serve. Stays busy. Fair amount of road noise, especially sirens, from Oak Harbor area. Have camped here before; will camp here again. We camped at Staysail RV Park(closed July 6th, 2012 to 2018) in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

The Chouters

Review Count: 12
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: August, 2014 - $25.00
Overall Rating:      

In 2014, we began fulltiming in our motorhome and Staysail was one of our first destinations. We had visited friends here before so we knew the view of the harbor was nice. When we arrived at the beginning of August, however, there was significant construction taking place by the waterfront. From one side of our rig, we had a view of the water but from the other side, it was a construction eyesore. It was also pretty loud for a good portion of the day. That was the bad. The good was all about proximity to local shopping, a very fun farmers market and a lovely park and walk by the water's edge. Staff was friendly and our campsite was adequate to extend our awning without interfering with neighboring rigs. We didn't use the facilities so I can't comment on that. Park wifi was weak and unreliable so don't count on it. Our site was right by the parking lot that sometimes doubles as an event space. During our stay, it was home to a car show. We didn't mind that because it made for some fun people-watching. When there is no construction and/or events going on, this can be a very quiet and peaceful park. Looks like the park is going to be closed for some time while they do some updates so be sure to check their Website before you make plans. We would return to this park. We camped at Staysail RV Park(closed July 6th, 2012 to 2018) in a Motorhome.

      Value

      Service

      Cleanliness

Clean Restrooms

Clean Showers

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

pyrthkr

Review Count: 60
States Visited: 16
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: July, 2014 - $20.00
Overall Rating:      

We decided to try this out after being shut out of the various state parks in the Anacortes area. We were not disappointed. Although only 30 amp service, even that was not needed as the temps were mild being so close to the water. There is one section pretty much on a parking lot and another, the one we stayed in, just off the entry road where the camp host resides - these are diagonal, back in spots and have much more room than the parking lot folks. Site was very level. Wi-Fi was weak but usable. Rest room/showers were in the city park area but we did not use them. No laundry. It rained off and on the 2 days we resided there and the roads remained clear and no severe puddling was evident. Although they do not have a pool per se, the Oak Harbor city beach is right next to the park, as are kayak/SUP/wake board rentals and excursions. Safeway, Walmart, Albertsons are within one block, as is a wonderful little donut shop. The city park also has lots of play equipment for kids. Be patient driving south from Anacortes if you have a big rig, especially across the Deception Pass bridges. We camped at Staysail RV Park(closed July 6th, 2012 to 2018) in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

rmckee

Review Count: 29
States Visited: 14
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: May, 2014 - $25.00
Overall Rating:      

This is a great park for a base to see all the area sights. They have made some changes for this year. They now have WiFi that works pretty well in sites 1 through 31, not as well on the other side. They are working on that issue. They have leveled and put new gravel in all sites. They now do reservations on about half the sites. They are putting in a kiosk for registration and credit card payment but it isn't operating as of this post. Big rig friendly, busy through the day in the park area but very quiet at night. Shopping and eating very close, within walking distance. All in all a great park for the cost. We camped at Staysail RV Park(closed July 6th, 2012 to 2018) in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

bradydane2009

Review Count: 61
States Visited: 10
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: August, 2013 - $20.00
Overall Rating:      

I have stayed at this park a number of times before and can only say it has not improved at all. In fact it is going downhill. Pads are gravel which are now mostly dirt. My pad had a number of potholes which filled with an overnight rain. I had to walk thru them to get to my car. Electricity is 30 amp, but very weak. I had only 103 volts most mornings causing my microwave to groan. The city spends no money on maintenance. Does not spend any of the revenue on the park, but it goes into the cities general Parks and Rec fund. And they are generating about $10,000 per month from the park. I sure wish there was a better park in the area. They say there are plans to add Wi-Fi and reservations next year. A work camper host is useless. I never saw him interacting with the guests. There were no handouts telling about the many amenities in Oak Harbor. A typical publicly run facility. There is no person or persons who have a vested interest it making the park what it could be - a jewel on Oak Harbor. We camped at Staysail RV Park(closed July 6th, 2012 to 2018) in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

rmckee

Review Count: 29
States Visited: 14
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: July, 2013 - $20.00
Overall Rating:      

We have stayed here before, a great park considering the cost. All sites are back-in but plenty of room to get around. Next to the city park and the bay, well kept park with a lot of daytime activity. Nights are quiet, a lot of shade. TV reception is somewhat limited via antenna, satellite may be limited in some sights because of the tree rows. Lots of shopping within walking and eating places also. We will stay here anytime we are in the area, my sister lives close by and we usually spend a couple weeks will traveling the northwest. We camped at Staysail RV Park(closed July 6th, 2012 to 2018) in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

lmg

Review Count: 131
States Visited: 39
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: July, 2013 - $20.00
Overall Rating:      

This park has a lot of potential due to its location right on the bay. Yet, it is very run down. Sites are somewhat graveled and not that level. Not many sites adequate for rigs over 40 feet. And since the park is first come first served, this is a problem for big rigs not able to secure a site mid week. Grass between the sites is full of weeds. We were in the park for 5 nights and we didn't see anyone cleaning anything. Yes, it's cheap and in a beautiful location but the park itself needs work. We will not stay here again. We camped at Staysail RV Park(closed July 6th, 2012 to 2018) in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Joe Robel

Review Count: 14
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: February, 2013 - $20.00
Overall Rating:      

We have stayed here several times during the winter months, which means the weather can be a bit iffy. This is a first-come, first-get a site park in downtown Oak Harbor, WA and can be rather busy in the summer. It is part of a city park so there is usually a lot of public use. We will stay here again. We camped at Staysail RV Park(closed July 6th, 2012 to 2018) in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

TheJim

Review Count: 246
States Visited: 33
Helpful Reviews: 23

Date of Stay: December, 2012 - $20.00
Overall Rating:      

The city of Oak Harbor is certainly to be commended for providing this wonderful RV park near the heart of the city. We had planned on staying for two or three nights and ended up staying for nine nights. It is a great park for exploring this area, including taking the ferry over to Victoria from Anacortes. There are RV sites, some with sewer and some without and there are tent sites. The rate for full hookup is only $20 per night. It is 30 amp service. A prior reviewer complained about the power being weak but we certainly had no problem. We were there in the late fall and many of the sites had the water turned off, but they even use heating cables to have many of the sites open throughout the winter. When we were there there were only a couple of other RV's. The park is very close to the city but on a dead-end street so that it was very quite. Thankfully, they do not have a lot of bright street lights to destroy the night sky. The RV sites are right next to a great city park and the beginning of a short, but nice, hiking and biking trail. This is definitely a park that we will return to. We camped at Staysail RV Park(closed July 6th, 2012 to 2018) in a Motorhome.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

pawatt

Review Count: 82
States Visited: 17
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: September, 2012 - $20.00
Overall Rating:      

This park is part of the city park system of the city of Oak Harbor. The actual rv parking area is not fancy but there are full hookups in good condition. There are also picnic tables for each site. The park is first come, first serve with self registration. You must pay by cash or check the very reasonable rate of $20.00 a day. The RV park adjoins a very well maintained city park on the bay. The grass is watered, green and well groomed. There is beach access and a boat ramp. There are also extensive paved walking trails along the harbor with many benches and picnic tables. There are several playgrounds as well as a swimming lagoon and many other amenities. The park is located near 2 large grocery stores and many shopping and dining opportunities. You can walk downtown and to the marina. We enjoyed our stay here so much that we wrote a thank you email to the mayor and park department. We camped at Staysail RV Park(closed July 6th, 2012 to 2018) in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

rmckee

Review Count: 29
States Visited: 14
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: June, 2012 - $20.00
Overall Rating:      

Great little park. Payment can be cash or check (out of state checks are OK). An antenna works well on most sites. Easy to back into sites; we have a 40' rig and had no problems. It is first come first serve, we were here two weeks and it was only full the last weekend because it was the weekend before July 4th. This is a great base for seeing all the sights on the island and using any of the ferries. The City Park is used a lot by residents and it will seem busy during the day but it is very peaceful at night. We were visiting family in the area, it worked great, would stay here again. We camped at Staysail RV Park(closed July 6th, 2012 to 2018) in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Navy89

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: March, 2010 - $20.00
Overall Rating:      

This is a beautiful park along the water in Oak Harbor, WA. Shopping and restaurants all within easy walking distance. We have stayed here many times and never had a problem with power, believe that must have been a fluke with the previous posting. Sites are spacious enough, gravel and pretty darn level. All back-in sites. We backed in our site this visit and ended up perfectly level! Oak Harbor has new rules where they "close" the park at 10 pm to get rid of any vagrant problems and it has worked very well. Beautiful biking/walking paths. Two kiddie pools open in the summer months as well as a swim lagoon with lifeguards and paddle boat/kyak rentals. Beachcombing is great fun here as well as flying kites in the wide open spaces. Several playgrounds as well. This is a favorite that we will continue coming back to again and again. We camped at Staysail RV Park(closed July 6th, 2012 to 2018) in a Travel Trailer.

Was this campground review helpful? Yes No

Undo

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Are you affiliated with Staysail RV Park(closed July 6th, 2012 to 2018)?

Pre-Register below to access free and enhanced features coming in the near future.

PLANNED ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your RV Park Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


More Information about our Campground Owner Management and its enhancements are coming very soon. Features subject to change.