214755 User submitted reviews online!!
04/2014
rating [ 7/10 ]
Good for over night stop. No facilities, so you must be self contained. Interior roads are wide and pull-through sites are long with utilities easy to reach. Located close to a fuel stop and restaurants are within a mile. Owner is very nice and accommodating.
04/2014
rating [ 9/10 ]
Still the best choice for the area, great deal of effort is taken to maintain the facilities. Sites can be tight, but they may combine some sites to accommodate larger RVs. Great staff and showers.
04/2014
rating [ 6/10 ]
Nice historic park, however campsites are tight and somewhat un-level. Not every site can except a big rig, many can. When you come into the full hookup area you must dodge trees and kids on bikes. Our site was very wet with leaves everywhere from last fall making it rather sloppy. The electrical system was being upgraded while we were there. Would we stay again, possibly, but will be in no real rush to return.
04/2014
rating [ 6/10 ]
Nice campsites, fairly level, but poor layout for utilities. It took about 25' of sewer hose to reach sewer access. Bath house is O.K. but rather basic and rough. No cable here, but sky is clear for satellite reception. Have a lot of "rules" so they must have had some problems in the past with loose pets and trash.
02/2014
rating [ 10/10 ]
Excellent park, with quick access to downtown Houston and within 10 minutes of the Texas Medical Center. All sites are wide, paved with grass and gravel site separators. The sites have full hookups and a picnic table. The bathhouse and is very modern and clean. Make sure to call ahead as Houston Rodeo and BBQ cook off can make renting a spot almost impossible.
02/2014
rating [ 8/10 ]
Great place for a stopover on the way to or from the Rio Grande Valley, located right off US59 without having to do any driving in town. The pull through sites all have back to back utilities and the streets are paved but narrow. The staff are some of the nicest we've seen in our 8 years of full time RVing. If you are a BBQ lover, make sure you get some real BBQ at Mumphord's Place, their food alone is worth a night's stop in Victoria.
11/2013
rating [ 7/10 ]
Nice city park, with paved inside roads and concrete campsites. There appears to be a great number of long term worker/residents. Which really isn't a negative since the park is clean and well maintained. The only downside is the entrance, it is an arch which looks quite low, however it cleared our 12'7" easily and the manager assured us that semi's use it also, just stay in the middle when entering or exiting. We will return.
11/2013
rating [ 6/10 ]
Average overnight stop park. Hookups were good and easy to access. Sites were back to back grass, pull throughs. This is basically just an open field beside a convenience store, where you check in. Yes we would return if needing to stop in the area
11/2013
rating [ 9/10 ]
One of the nicest state parks we have stayed in 8 years of full-timing. The only thing that kept me from rating it a 10 was the narrow drives and narrow paved sites. Our site was very level while others were not. Restrooms and showers were impeccable. Definitely will return again.
11/2013
rating [ 8/10 ]
Passport America rate shown. Very well kept park with paved sites, clean restrooms, and a very nice small laundry. Coffee and rolls are available in the office each morning. This park has been a stopping off spot for us a couple of years now on our way to the Rio Grande Valley.
11/2013
rating [ 7/10 ]
Above average RV park with about 50 park models. Many long term residents. Facilities are very good and in good repair. However, sites can be quite narrow and the site we had fell off at the back but we leveled easily. We were close to the interstate, but we were not bothered by the traffic noise as much as the "no-see-ums" biting us when we walked our dogs.
11/2013
rating [ 6/10 ]
Park is to close in March for most of next season for update of facilities. At present there are some very nice spots, but site 58 where we were was very tight for a 40' RV with 4 slides. Full hookup sites to be added as some sites will be eliminated and new power pedestals to correct some power problems.
11/2013
rating [ 7/10 ]
Nice campground now that it has full hookups and the long term campers have been thinned out some. Very well maintained county park. The 180 day maximum stay should be cut in half to discourage living in the park.
08/2013
rating [ 7/10 ]
Nice basic casino campground. Shuttle runs often. Had some very loud campers (about a dozen) 4 sites down from us playing "cornhole" and heavily drinking. Security evicted them with-in an hour of our arrival. Nice to see rules being enforced.
11/2013
rating [ 8/10 ]
Very nice level grass/gravel campsites. Power and water are good. With-in walking distance to Charlotte Motor Speedway. Managers are very nice and helpful.
08/2013
rating [ 8/10 ]
Very nice park. Well worth the price for the area it is located in. Well maintained and well laid out. Management was very helpful and friendly.
11/2013
rating [ 9/10 ]
Very well kept RV Park. Management very helpful and courteous. Drives are narrow as are sites, but are navigable with care. Close to I-95 but very little road noise. McDonalds and Waffle House at entrance.
10/2013
rating [ 7/10 ]
Rate shown includes 15% Escapees RV Club discount. Nice wooded campground with a small well stocked store and small restaurant. Cable, water, and power are very good. Easy access from I-64 on route to state park.
10/2013
rating [ 9/10 ]
Excellent facilities. Showers are much better than other parks in area. On-site owner/management do a great job of making visitors feel welcome. Wi-Fi is good close to office and cable is above average.
07/2013
rating [ 6/10 ]
Not that great of a "resort". Appears to cater to families, roads a little tight. Bathrooms in main building very dated and in need of an upgrade.
07/2013
rating [ 5/10 ]
Nice city campground just off Highway 16 Trans Canada Highway. Easy access, good check in experience. Sites are tree covered for the most part. Water available as is a dump station. Walking trail close to entrance to campground. Far enough off the road not to hear highway sounds. Would stay again if we were in the area.
07/2013
rating [ 4/10 ]
Two parking areas separated by railroad track, yep that's about as close as a train can get. Sites were muddy when we were there, but level. Bath house closes when office closes at 8PM.
07/2013
rating [ 6/10 ]
OK campground, level grassy sites, close to river. Staff very helpful. Showers could use some attention. Easy access off the Trans Canada Highway.
07/2013
rating [ 7/10 ]
Very nice location, a little noisy with Trans Canada Highway outside your door. Bath house one of the nicest we saw on our 3 month Alaska trip. About 30 feet above river, not on the river.
07/2013
rating [ 5/10 ]
If not on the water sites are very very tight, even for our B+ without slides. The water from the water hookup is tea colored (locally called Muskeg) from a pond that gathers run off from the surrounding trees. Only place with full hookups on in the Ketchikan.
07/2013
rating [ 6/10 ]
Mosquitoes are awful. But that is common in Alaska. WiFi, did not work, cable spotty. Our site required a bit of leveling and was oddly laid out, with the sewer closer to the front of the site. If we were to return to the area we would stay at another campground at Mendenhall Glacier, which also has full hookups for less money.
07/2013
rating [ 6/10 ]
Great place to park for access to town. Water and electric were very good. Located on small boat harbor. The view from the bridge of the channel based businesses was very interesting. Close to the airport so float-planes and jets can be heard. Toilets available at marina. No Showers. Only other RV park with hookups is 6-7 miles north by ferry dock.
07/2013
rating [ 7/10 ]
Located next to ferry terminal, full hookups. No on site staff. Payment made to drop box. Basics, but great if you have an early morning ferry. Power and water were fine.
07/2013
rating [ 9/10 ]
Great park, great staff. Everything promised worked which is quite odd for Alaska. Sites great, far above average for our two months in this state. Staff very helpful and knowledgeable. Only downer -- $3.00 per load in the washers and $3 per load in the dryers.
07/2013
rating [ 8/10 ]
It was a bit muddy when we were there. Power was good, and water also was very good. Great place to spend the night and see a dinner show between Tok and Haines Junction. However, the hotel has changed tour company ownership and will close at the end of the season, so the RV park's future is up in the air.
07/2013
rating [ 5/10 ]
Metered Wi-Fi, expensive, and lousy. It is best to go to Library for it. The price is high for public park; especially, without sewer hookups. Close to harbor and cruise ships, but the view blocked by overgrown bushes.
07/2013
rating [ 7/10 ]
Not a great park, but an adequate gravel lot by Alaska standards. Close to town, easy access to docks. Great staff. Well maintained.
06/2013
rating [ 9/10 ]
No hookups, no one on site. Payment done at vault box. Area checked for payment during mornings and evening by city park staff. Best camping deal in town.
07/2013
rating [ 9/10 ]
Close to town, very well laid out park. Nice management, quick to respond to problems. Shuttle buses run through park for transport to town. Would we return, yes.
07/2013
rating [ 5/10 ]
Electric hookups only, gravel lots, narrow in width. View of ocean is great, not a beach, but a shale shore with many rocks. Believe it or not this is a good deal price-wise for the area. But after seeing Homer once, we won't be back, really not much there other than a few shops and charter fishing.
06/2013
rating [ 7/10 ]
Should be renamed to Tern Terrace, no whales or any other sea-life seen in three days, not that we were not looking a lot! Showers good, laundry expensive even for Alaska prices. Office personnel very helpful, however. If we return to the area we would stay at one of the parks in Soldotna instead, way over priced for a gravel lot in a small, small town.
06/2013
rating [ 4/10 ]
Good location on north side of Anchorage for city access. Bad location for ease of access by run down trailer park residents who live to the north and east of the park. Both areas are owned by the same companies. No Cable, no Wi-Fi at site. Would look at other RV parks if we returned to area.
06/2013
rating [ 3/10 ]
Dump says it all, poor location behind shops with rooms for rent above. Tight, tight, tight sites. Cable didn't work. Wi-Fi a joke 100 feet from the office. Some rental trailers occupied by employees are the junkiest sites in park. We were parked by one and had to move when they started a camp fire 5 feet from our RV. Won't return, even for a free site.
06/2013
rating [ 6/10 ]
Nice park, sites tight. The drives are wide to allow easy parking of our B+, but our 40' class A would be a problem without a pull through, which they do have. Showers clean and up to date. Central location to town with easy access to shopping, restaurants, and activities. Water pressure good, cable poor, Wi-Fi poor at the north fence where we were parked.
06/2013
rating [ 8/10 ]
This park is the closest to being priced for what you get on our trip so far. Full hookups are available and they work. Water pressure very good as was the water's taste. Restrooms were old, but well maintained and clean. We will be staying again on our way to Haines after doing the "circle tour" of Alaska. Keep in mind on the Alaska Highway the price hardly ever reflects the quality of the campground.
06/2013
rating [ 3/10 ]
The nightly rate is Good Sam discount applied to an electric site. Worth the price? No. We were in town a night before the "Chickenstock" bluegrass festival. They sell gasoline and have a dump station. They gave a 10% discount on a campsite with fuel or Good Sam. Their price was $4.99, competition in town was at $4.49. Do the math, don't buy fuel from them. No potable water was on site during our stay. Would we stay again? NO. Won't drive the Top of the World Highway again either. I can't think of a better way to destroy your RV at 10-15 MPH. The speed limit is 50 MPH. The highway is nothing more than a bunch of hype to line the pockets of the businesses at end of the road.
06/2013
rating [ 5/10 ]
Gravel parking lot, with all hookups at rear of lot. Located in town, easy access to everything on foot. Not worth the price however by any means. But this is the Yukon and they have to make their money during the 4 month tourist season. So everything in town is about 2 times the price it should be.
06/2013
rating [ 6/10 ]
Wi-Fi does not work away from office. Laundry over priced at $15 for 3 loads washed and dried. Very limited on cable channels. Showers very nice. Store stocked with souvenirs only. Close to town and overpriced.
06/2013
rating [ 6/10 ]
Wi-Fi not working. No cable. Has propane and fuel at reasonable prices for the Alaska Highway. Low water pressure. No sewer hookups in campground. Would we stay again? NO.
06/2013
rating [ 5/10 ]
Nice owner, nicely laid out RV park. In need of some additional cleanup of old run down buildings. This campground is a rearranged old Alaska Highway lodge campground. Overpriced for what you get by about $10-$15, but in line with other Muncho Lake private parks.
06/2013
rating [ 4/10 ]
Overpriced for a grossly overgrown parking lot. Bath house is in need of major renovation. Wi-Fi was nonexistent. Price is with Good Sam card. Would we stay again? NO!
06/2013
rating [ 7/10 ]
Nice Park, sites small and gravel only. Owner/managers very friendly and helpful. Downside, laundry is overpriced as are the pay showers. Would we stay again, but not if we didn't need full hookups.
06/2013
rating [ 6/10 ]
Great city campground. The price is good for the region. The shower-house is very well maintained. Water for showers was hot and pressure strong. Our site required some blocking and was muddy at the front, but 30 days of rain can cause that. If we were return to the area, we would stop again at this campground.
06/2013
rating [ 2/10 ]
We were assigned a site without hookups, since all others were taken. Our site was muddy, unlevel and overgrown. The campsite was not worth half the charge, but then again most parks we've seen in Alberta have been at least 30-40% higher than comparable parks in the U.S. Would not stay here again, mosquitoes are terminal. But check-in staff was very nice and efficient.
05/2013
rating [ 4/10 ]
Nice location. Tourist trap pricing at it's best. Didn't use the pay showers ($1), didn't care for the windows to the outside in front of showers. Our site was un-level and required blocking under the front wheels. Chuckholes in drive and water standing in streets. Price show is with Good Sam discount.
05/2013
rating [ 6/10 ]
Price includes Good Sam discount. An O.K. campground, not great. Could use some T.L.C to grounds and grading to drive. Showers were average and cost $1 for 5 minutes. If we returned to the area, I would opt for another choice.
05/2013
rating [ 4/10 ]
Over-priced by $10-$12 even with Good Sam discount. Located between two airports and has railroad over-pass at entrance to campground. Showers are setup without privacy for men with a common dressing area. Woman at check-in was overly talkative and took a reservation over the phone while we had waited 10 minutes to check-in. Park appears to have many workers with small children as residents. Children were running in streets and yelling from about 1:30 PM until 8:00 PM. Gravel parking pads were fairly level and utilities were well laid out. We will not return
05/2013
rating [ 7/10 ]
Nice park, sites were level, utilities well placed. Management cordial and helpful. Bathrooms clean, showers were way too tight with a very small changing area. Did not use. Feel even with the Good Sam discount, this park is over-priced by $5-$7.
05/2013
rating [ 6/10 ]
Nice spot to stop overnight. The owner/manager was very helpful and friendly. The sites are fairly level with fresh gravel. Water pressure was good and power was steady. No facilities, no bath house, no playground or pool. The cable didn't work, but wasn't told about it or available stations in area. Devil's Tower is 35 minutes away. Would return if passing through.
05/2013
rating [ 8/10 ]
Great place, friendly staff, well maintained. Pool was clean though we didn't use it. Individual showers were modern and clean, but tight on space. Rate shown is for Passport America. This was our second visit; will return when in area.
05/2013
rating [ 7/10 ]
Great stopover spot. Electric only in paved lot. Check in with teller cage and security for unlocking of power pedestal.
05/2013
rating [ 9/10 ]
Excellent COE park. Paved sites with full hookups, very well maintained complex. The restroom are spotless. Only drawback was "non-working" check-in staff. Wanted us to go to campsites and see which one's were reserved rather than look at her computer screen.
04/2013
rating [ 9/10 ]
Excellent Park, a bit out of the way, but worth the trip. Management is great and the place is well taken care of.
03/2013
rating [ 9/10 ]
Very nice campground for a stopover, pull throughs for the traveler, easily accessible from the interstate. Several long term RVs on site. Manager/owner very nice and helpful. Would stop again.
03/2013
rating [ 9/10 ]
One of the nicest state parks we've stayed at. In the new section where we were parked were several pull through sites. Most sites look to be easy to level on, and could handle big rigs. The old section wasn't as well laid out, and sites looked out of level and short. Lack of full hookups only reason for not getting a 10. We will be back again.
03/2013
rating [ 6/10 ]
Nice campground away from the interstate, fairly well laid out and well maintained. Put us in 50amp/water site, all others taken. Many of the sites were occupied by workers it appeared. Would stop again.
03/2013
rating [ 4/10 ]
Have given this place good reviews before, not anymore. We stayed here 9 years ago when our son moved here for work after college, they put us in a very small site that was hard to get into with our 37' motorhome due to trees, didn't come back for 6 years. Since it was closer to our son's home we started coming again when they said we could reserve a longer wider site for our 40' DP. Been here for a week 5 times in the past 3 years, always placed on a large long site. This year reserved a spot 3 months before arrival and assured we would get a large site. Put us in the same site as 9 years ago. Almost took off my driver's mirror following the "parker's" instructions. They wouldn't let my wife park me, we full time so his directions were not what I was used to. The fellow on the site to left side of our coach parked within 12" of our slide-out. Other larger sites available, but we had to park there. Not again, going to another park 1/2 the price with full hookups and large areas to park in.
03/2013
rating [ 10/10 ]
Good Sam nightly rate shown. Prices are firm at this quality gated park. Close to MD Anderson Cancer Center and The Texas Medical Center, excellent location for those seeking treatment, with shuttle route stopping at park. RV sites available and rental park models at weekly & monthly rates also.
03/2013
rating [ 7/10 ]
Have stayed here several times. Very nice staff, reasonable rates for back to back hookups. Concrete pads are in great shape and utilities work well. Will stay again without and hesitation. Many sites were taken by oil field workers and snow birds.
03/2013
rating [ 8/10 ]
Rate is for 30 amp full hookup. Nice grass sites that are angled and level. Cable is not available, but skies are clear for satellite. Wifi was available, but we used our own access. Nice management and very friendly seasonal (snowbirds) residents at park. Great stop-over, 1/2 mile north of I-10.
03/2013
rating [ 9/10 ]
Rate included $6 on-line reservation fee. Excellent state park located within 30 minutes of the French Quarter in New Orleans. Level blacktop pads with good power and water pressure, dump station is easy to access. Bath house clean and up to date. Laundry facilities in top notch condition. Gates locked at night, so arrive before 9PM. Play ground equipment close to bath house. Wave pool is in park, but not in campground. Fishing at the bayou outside of the campground.
03/2013
rating [ 5/10 ]
Located on the Frog Festival grounds. Close to large city park, with ball diamonds and a walking path. No sewer available, but dump stations are listed on map. Bath house on site, but didn't use. Sites level and utilities located at rear. Payment is made at City Hall or the Police Station both of which are within 1/2 mile on the same street that the Interstate access is located. Excellent location for rallies.
10/2012
rating [ 5/10 ]
Retired airport runway, dusty, full hookups with 30/50 amp power. Not a place for kids; a place for RV service and to stay for plant tours. Free W-iFi is provided. Staff always very helpful.
11/2012
rating [ 9/10 ]
Only down side of this park is the narrow drives to the campsites. Well maintained facilities. Very nice staff. Rate shown is a 20% Escapees RV Club discount.
10/2012
rating [ 8/10 ]
The rate shown is a weekly rate for this very well maintained park. Our site had a concrete pad and clear view of the sky for our roof mounted satellite systems. The restrooms were very well taken care of and up to date. While there workmen were finishing work on a new swimming pool. The park has an RV section and mobile home section which is being converted to RV only as old residents leave, their trailers are removed and the sites are redone with new hookups and pads. Our site for the second visiting our son, was one of the rehabbed sites, which was great. This is a 55+ park, with very little for children to do, no playground or ball courts.
10/2012
rating [ 6/10 ]
Rate posted is for Passport America. Showers are in bad need of renovation, but we use ours anyway. Showers give no privacy. Sites are large and wide, and power is good at this older RV park. There is quick access to I-65. Yes, we could return.
10/2012
rating [ 7/10 ]
Very nice state park. Sites are tight on approach on most loops, and many aren't too level. Loop roads are narrow for backing. Great for walking; about 7 miles from Alexander City.
10/2012
rating [ 7/10 ]
Easy access off Interstate and in campground to sites. Long level gravel campsites. Concrete patios on sites. However the rate shown is discounted for FMCA and is still about $10 higher than it should be. We stayed here to visit the factory shops near by, if not for that, we would have stayed elsewhere.
10/2012
rating [ 8/10 ]
Rate for two nights includes $6 entrance fee to state park. Great state park beach front sites are large enough for any RV. Restrooms/showers are the nicest we've found in a state park in our 30+ years of RVing. Only draw back is the low hanging vegetation on road from check-in station to camping areas. The ocean is reached by a 500+ foot elevated walkway across sand dunes from the beach-side campground. We will be back!.
10/2012
rating [ 7/10 ]
Nice wide, level, long grass sites. No facilities, so your RV must be completely self contained. Very good water pressure. Power is also quite good. Easy access from route 315. Close for day trips to Savannah, which is about 10 miles away. Rate is for Passport America. We would stay again if in the area.
09/2012
rating [ 7/10 ]
Pull through sites are short for motorhomes towing. Had some very trashy rvs in some sites that appeared to be permanent residents. Rate shown is Escapees member price. We had read the park had been updated, where wasn't evident other than shower house had been painted since our last visit several years ago. Staff was excellent.
09/2012
rating [ 8/10 ]
Rate is for Passport America, well worth that price. Very nice management / owners. Nice long pull through sites in front of office. Others to side of office appear to be out of level, but being used by long term renters. We would return if through area again.
09/2012
rating [ 6/10 ]
Seasonal campground with about 20 pull through sites for transients. 30 amp full hookup sites, with sewer hookups elevated about 8-10", so sewer line cradle is a must for easy waste water flow. Transient parking is in an open area with easy satellite access. Tight 180 degree turn at entrance, so hug right side of the county road for easy access.
08/2012
rating [ 8/10 ]
Great people here, well maintained facilities with 50 amp full hookups. Level gravel sites with good water pressure, but filter use is advised due to rust in water. Rate shown is for a month.
09/2012
rating [ 7/10 ]
Nice state park, well taken care off. Sites are not that level overall on the north road in section A, can flood with heavy rain. Empty for the most park during the week but packed on weekends. No sewer, water available, bring 50' of hose, 30 amp electric.
08/2012
rating [ 7/10 ]
Very nice park. Dump station has easy access, water supply is close to dump off road. Showers cleanliness make up for the lack of sewers at camp sites. Pull through camping sites are "bellied" down in center making leveling for a short motorhome a bit hard. Rate is special 50% off pricing due to low occupancy at present. We will return.
08/2012
rating [ 7/10 ]
Back again, still a good value. Bare bones full hookups. No activities for children. Check in is still by walking a long lane to register, should have a resident manager on site, not outside of campground. Will return.
07/2012
rating [ 7/10 ]
Narrow unlevel sites. Power OK at about 110 volts. Nice pools, lakes are green ponds. Many sites ars occupied by seasonals. At the Passport America rate listed it is a acceptable deal. However $42 a night would be a deal breaker. No where, worth that amount.
08/2012
rating [ 7/10 ]
Nice facilities, lodge is impressive. Sites well laid out and well maintained. Did not care for the open dressing area for the showers. Nice place but we felt it was overpriced for a state facility. For $15 more you can use the lodge's amenities. Probably will not return.
08/2012
rating [ 2/10 ]
Three night stay was too long, but had pressing business close by. Electric hookups in need of upgrading as does electric service. 105 volts was about all we could get once another RV hooked to the same pedestal. EMS tripped in our RV until I pulled out a 30 amp cord and hooked up elsewhere. Showers are coin operated, some are 5 minutes, some are 3 minutes, some are out of order. One I used had no pressure at all, the one my wife used took 75 cents and after another 25 cents and ran 3 minutes. Pool had been neglected for a long time, dirt in the bottom and algae along top of wall. Mostly seasonals here, who like to party, cutting across campsites in golf carts. Many trailers are run down and in need of cleaning. Will not be back.
07/2012
rating [ 5/10 ]
No sewer hookups, almost all sites are seasonals, with all lake front sites taken. Sites are level and long. A family park with a lot of golfcarts running around. Power was good, water good. $26 is too much, Passport America rate of $13 is more in line with value for this campground.
06/2012
rating [ 2/10 ]
Lousy restrooms, would not use; in bad need of update or at least cleaning daily, not monthly. Power suspect; AC wouldn't fully power up, but did on our generator, however. Not worth half the price charged. Close to Stowe and Waterbury only pluses here. Will not return.
07/2012
rating [ 5/10 ]
Nice park, but way overpriced for 30 amp and water hookup. Showers at rear of park not that great, however showers in main building are very nice. Sites are back to back and not very level. Power is very good and water was OK. Would we stay again, probably not, just not worth the cost.
07/2012
rating [ 9/10 ]
Would have rated this Park higher, but the restrooms were in need of some updating. Overall even without water hookups at the campsite, it is one of the nicest state parks we have stayed at. Waterfront sites in loop "A" are great even though 10+ feet above lake. If in the area we would return.
07/2012
rating [ 6/10 ]
Trashy motel up front, but campsites are very good. Power good, water good, sewer a little far off to the side, took 10+' of sewer hose. Showers dated but very clean with plenty of hot water. We would stay again if in area.
07/2012
rating [ 7/10 ]
Good full hookup park. Mostly seasonal campers, very quiet during our visit. Cable had over 65 clear channels. Power very good. Felt at $30 it was over priced, and they give no discounts.
07/2012
rating [ 4/10 ]
Run down showers badly in need of updating. Trashy buildings line the way back to campsites. Road badly in need of grading after heavy rains. Sewer hookups are available, but not on transient sites. Dump station very close to road by shower house and toilet building that we didn't enter. Rate is based on Passport America membership, not worth $26 a night. Would we stay again? Yes, since we are fully self-contained.
07/2012
rating [ 4/10 ]
The 30 amp sites that were available were un-level side to side. The power was very poor at under 105V, so our AC didn't fully kick in. Very busy place with season sites being the norm. The area behind us was rented to a company picnic, which ran until well after dark. We will not return, way over priced for what is here.
06/2012
rating [ 8/10 ]
Nice campground, easy access off I-80. Very well maintained and well laid out for big rigs. Sites are a little narrow, but acceptable. We would return if in area.
06/2012
rating [ 8/10 ]
Nice campground, very quiet during the week. Only drawback I see is you need about 20' of sewer hose since the hookups are at the rear of the pull through sites, especially if towing a vehicle.
06/2012
rating [ 7/10 ]
Golden Access rate $11. No sewer hookups. Most RVs had sewer totes sitting by their drains. Many monthly campers are located here and no reservations are taken. Had a great water front site, "if" the lake hadn't been down 5-6 feet. Water that would have been at the edge of the concrete patio normally was 300-400 feet away. However we would return if our travels brings us back to the area.
06/2012
rating [ 7/10 ]
Golden Access rate that we get is $12 per night. Well maintained facilities. However more and more in the summer, it is crowded with kids that wander around campsites without any regard to other's rented space. Bathhouses could use a little work on insect control. Been coming to this lake for 25 years, this campground for about 8 years.
04/2012
rating [ 7/10 ]
Great for overnight stop, not a destination campground, since there are many seasonal campers. There are only about 20 full hook up pull through sites for overnight stops all others are taken by seasonal RVs. We will return.
04/2012
rating [ 2/10 ]
Quite a few long term campers, who were noisy and had trashed their sites. Sites very hard to level on for large motorhomes, most available sites for transients were off the lake. Almost all waterfront sites were taken by seasonal campers. Campground is very dusty. Rate given is Passport America and not worth that. We will not return.
04/2012
rating [ 9/10 ]
Great location on a nice lake. Close to Nashville. Tree covered with easy access to most sites. This park books up quickly when open, reservations for weekends would be advised. The rate shown is with the America The Beautiful Pass for seniors.
04/2012
rating [ 9/10 ]
Excellent park and value. Great vista of the Tennessee River in the center of a metropolitan area. One thing to note the local police use the roads in this park as an income source for the city. Every day we were there a local policeman in a marked pickup was making traffic stops in the park in the 20MPH zone, could the 5MPH campground zone be exempt? Beware. Senior Rate at 62 is $15/night.
03/2012
rating [ 10/10 ]
When compared to the runway, with it's dust and noise at the Tiffin factory service area, this place deserves a 10. No amenities, but clean, well maintained, very easy to navigate for parking in a gravel lot. Since the price is the same as Tiffin's, we plan to return on our next trip for service, since the tech's come here also.
03/2012
rating [ 9/10 ]
This park was completely full at 3 PM when we arrived, we've stayed here 5 or 6 times and never has it been even half full. Reason for being full, "snowbirds" per attendant. Offered us a no charge spot to dry camp in overflow parking, the use of showers and being able to dump & fill with water as soon as someone vacated in the morning. We will return.
03/2012
rating [ 7/10 ]
Nice park with back to back hookups, Road inside very narrow concrete. You are led to your campsite. We have stayed here 3 or 4 times and will return.
03/2012
rating [ 9/10 ]
Excellent facilities, very well maintained. However overpriced due to train and highway noise for an overnight. If you are in Houston for medical treatment, the monthly rate makes the noise a little more tolerable, since one can get used to it after a few nights.
11/2011
rating [ 9/10 ]
Excellent RV Park with easy access off I-10 not nearly as crowded as the park at the next exit west. Showers are as nice as any we've seen since leaving Florida last week. Appears to have quite a few workers staying there but in well maintained rigs. We will return
11/2011
rating [ 8/10 ]
Nice adult park, with good facilities. Concrete pads that are back to back hookups. Good power 20/30/50 amp plus cable. Only draw back is the narrow interior roads. Regular rate is $30 in season. Rate show is 20% discount for Passport America.
11/2011
rating [ 9/10 ]
The rate stated is the monthly rate. This is one of the better parks in the Melbourne area, however it is an "adult park" without any kid related activities. Streets are wide, but some sites are narrow and others are very wide. Many rallies were held at this park, while we were here this month.
11/2011
rating [ 7/10 ]
This park is very nice, but needs some attention paid to the interior roads, which are very rough dirt. Parking pads were un-level grass. The showers were very clean and up to date. On the plus side, a complementary continental breakfast was included during our visit.
11/2011
rating [ 8/10 ]
Very nice adult park. Streets are wide, however concrete pads are quite narrow. Nothing here for kids. Very nice hall, with excellent individual shower/restrooms. 40 minutes from the beaches at Gulf Shores. Plenty of shopping within 5 miles.
10/2011
rating [ 7/10 ]
Second time we have stayed at this park; 5 years ago we waited out hurricane Wilma here before heading farther south. Little has changed; still overpriced for what you get, which is basically a spot of sand under trees with full hookups. That said, it's still one of the better values in the area. We had 5 very large ant hills (1' in diameter or more) on our lot, which I quickly sprayed so we wouldn't have any additional travelers in our motorhome. A few notes: 1) buy propane before you arrive it, was $4.35 a gallon here on our stop. 2) If you have roof mounted satellite systems, reserve a spot in advance in the open. I believe there were 5 total that are satellite friendly. 3) If you like ice cream buy it at the grocery store; the going rate on our visit in town was $3.95 for a single dip.
10/2011
rating [ 8/10 ]
Fine city RV park, we stay here when visiting friends in the area. You must be self contained from what we see. No shower-house so no tents here. Just basic hookups which is great for us. Very close to downtown Kinston on the River Neuse. Check out the CSS Neuse, an ironclad that was recovered from the river, kind of neat to see history up close. We will return.
10/2011
rating [ 5/10 ]
Passport America rate shown. With satellite systems on the roof we find this park to be lacking due to tall trees. The highway sounds are constant, but tolerable. However the train at 2:35am that sounded it horn at the moment it reached the campground is a deal breaker. Of the 4 trains during our overnight stay and only the 2:35am one sounded their horn. Nice play Mr Engineer! The sites are all back in but one, which we had and it's about 75 feet from the rail tracks. Sorry Comfort Inn we won't be back!
10/2011
rating [ 9/10 ]
Still the best place to stay in the area; owners are great and very accommodating. Very clean and modern shower house. Well stocked camp store. Only things that keeps it from a 10 for us is very few sites are satellite friendly due to tree cover, but the cable is good, but not great, and the wi-fi can be spotty. We will return here in the spring, not to another campground, not due to price which is basically the same, but because of the other campground's uncaring management and lousy bathhouse .
10/2011
rating [ 7/10 ]
Nice park in the middle of Amish country. Easy access to the area away from the high activity of Lancaster. Some campground roads are narrow, and vehicles can encroach on the roadways. Few campsites have open sky for satellite systems.
09/2011
rating [ 8/10 ]
30 full hookups, that's it! But well set up for over-night in open sun. Some sites are out of level front to back. There are many seasonal campers at this park but the transient RVers are parked in pull throughs with easy access to utilities. The rate is for two weeks
09/2011
rating [ 7/10 ]
Great State Park, water requires plenty of hose to reach hydrant. Can be very busy on weekends, but plenty of sites on week nights. Sites are for the most part level, some are off quite a bit front to rear.
08/2011
rating [ 8/10 ]
Best deal in the area, close to the town of Shipshewana and on the grounds of the Shipshewana Flea Market. You must be self contained and the water hookups can require 50' of hose depending on the the direction you park on the campsite. There is no shower house or on site office. Registration is done at a drop box at the entrance to the campground. The sites can be un-level and some have potholes, but very few have these problems. This is our 4th trip here and will return again next year.
08/2011
rating [ 8/10 ]
Excellent location for viewing the freighters of the great lakes approaching to leaving the Sault Ste Marie locks. When you reserve a site there is a $2 reservation fee in addition to one night's site fee. There are no sewer connections, but two easily accessible dump stations with drinking about twenty feet away. The restrooms were some of the nicest we've seen this year.
06/2011
rating [ 7/10 ]
Nice little park away from the Interstate. A little tight on entry but can be done if careful. Owner-manager is a very cordial fellow eager to please. Newer bath-house is well done and clean. Rate reflects Passport America Discount.
08/2011
rating [ 8/10 ]
Very nice park, well maintained with excellent office staff. Restrooms were clean and showers very nice. The location in the country is handy to town with about a 5 minute drive. South Haven is a nice little harbor town on Lake Michigan with plenty of things to do.. The park has an expansion of planned pull throughs shown on their site map.
08/2011
rating [ 8/10 ]
Excellent staff, great little public park. Bathhouse is "new" and very clean with large showers. This park is 100 years old per the manager and it's one of the original Michigan Tourist Parks for auto campers. If in the area we will stay again, if they have a spot for us.
04/2011
rating [ 8/10 ]
Very well campground. The owner's have an excellent rapport with their customers and are constantly upgrading the facility. Heavy tree cover on most sites. Cellular service is very week for Verizon. Football weekends at UVA requires a reservation well in advance. Would we stay again, YES. The owners alone make this park a much better than experience than the other RV "resort" in Charlottesville area. We've been coming to Charlottesville for 10 years, learned our lesson and will stay no where else.
05/2011
rating [ 8/10 ]
The rate show is the monthly rate. This is a large campground in an area with many things to do. 20/30/50 AMP full hookups is the norm. Cable TV has been added recently to some campsites. The park's Wi-Fi is a little spotty but better than most we've been to. The owners are on site and do their best to make their customers happy. We spend a month each summer in the area and this is by far the best choice in Elkhart County.
06/2011
rating [ 7/10 ]
Golden Access Passport rate shown. Many sites are tree covered, bring portable satellite TV equipment. The staff was very friendly and helpful, let us choose our site before checking in due to size of our RV. We rented a "WALK-IN" site which could not be reserved. The park fills most weekends during the summer so reservations then are a must unless you are looking for a site midweek. Very nice park along the Tenn-Tom waterway, with a small museum of the canal project on site. Fishing piers are found in each of the three loops. Will stay again if in area.
06/2011
rating [ 6/10 ]
Passport America rate shown, good for 3 nights, some exceptions listed. Sites for overnight are as a rule narrow and fairly level. Hookups at rear of campsite, if a long RV and towing a car. I used about 30' of sewer hose since we left the car at the rear of the site. Many trees at front of sites that can interfere with satellite reception, awnings and slide-outs. We have stayed before and will again. Campgrounds closer to Tupelo are not to our liking and we have tried them.
06/2011
rating [ 9/10 ]
Golden Access Passport rate shown. Excellent, busy campground on weekends, reservations a must. Starts filling the "walk-in" campsites on Wednesday afternoon. Can be a bit noisy on weekends, but quiet during the week. Restrooms spotless until weekends, then could use a bit closer attention due to tent-campers. No offense to the tent campers out there, just the way it always as been this way for the past 16 years we've been staying here.
06/2011
rating [ 8/10 ]
Very well run and great staff. Sites are well maintained. Very few sites are satellite friendly, so bring along a portable TV dish. Rate shown is for Golden Access Card.
04/2011
rating [ 4/10 ]
I have no idea how others could have rated this campground so high. The sites are un-level and in need of grading. Registration is across the road from the main campground., so you have to make a U turn in front the office. The road to this park is narrow and rough. If you are here to visit the tourist traps in town, it would make more sense to stay at the KOA if you were northbound on I-81 and save some fuel. The rate stated is for two people using Passport America, no way would I pay the $53/night that was posted in the office, it just isn't worth it.
04/2011
rating [ 5/10 ]
Early in season restrooms and showers locked. Tight access of entrance road with 180° turn. Trees close to drive on way back to overnight campsites. Most campsites are filled with seasonal long term RVs, about 1/4 in poor shape. Still a good low priced overnight stop for the area. Rate stated is for Passport America discount.
04/2011
rating [ 7/10 ]
Older campground, good power and water, well laid out. Manager very nice and helpful. Plenty of trees so it would be well shaded in the spring and summer, but trees do not encroach on campsites. Quiet location within a 1/4 mile of I-44, with good access. Manager spots you in your campsite.
04/2011
rating [ 6/10 ]
Yep, there are trains and they only shook our motorhome slightly. Rate is $9 first night, next 2 nights free. All hookups are at rear of sites in campground, which is a fully paved parking lot. Your RV must be fully self-contained, since no facilities are on site. Buy one, get one dinner coupon with paid first night's rent. $10 casino cash for first time visitors when joining Player's Club.
04/2011
rating [ 9/10 ]
Excellent park, great staff. Well maintained and up to date services. Slightly sloping concrete pads sites with 2 sewer connections on each site. Rate reflects standard site w/o cable or covered picnic table. Free shuttle to casino.
04/2011
rating [ 8/10 ]
Former trailer park that has been upgraded to an RV/trailer park. Almost all of the manufactured homes are less than 10 years old. Easy access to sites with wide streets and wide approaches. Very well maintained, back in and pull-through sites available. Rate is Passport America discount with $2 additional charge for 50amp electric. No 50/30 power adapters are allowed, which makes sense as to not damage 30amp hookups by drawing to much amperage in the power socket.
12/2010
rating [ 9/10 ]
Rate reflects one week stay. Excellent park. Well maintained, clean and well planned. We were here for medical treatment overview at the Mayes Cancer Clinic. Plan to return for 2-3 months for actual treatment.
11/2010
rating [ 8/10 ]
Nice park, well taken care of. Sites are grass so watch out during the wet season: can be muddy. Associated with the Escapees RV Club, so rate is a member rate with additional charges for electric hookup. Plenty to do in the area: close to Mobile, Pensacola, the gulf, outlet and shopping at Foley.
11/2010
rating [ 9/10 ]
Great stopover park, well maintained, owner/managers couldn't be more accommodating. Only down side is the roads are narrow. Pads are all concrete with excellent placement of hookups. Rate is winter Passport America rate 20% off $30 a night. Summer rate $30/$15 with PPA. Will stay again if in area.
10/2010
rating [ 5/10 ]
Not a great place, but better than a couple of others in the Melbourne area. Our son lives in town and we fulltime, so it is an option since it's actually closer to him, even though across the Indian River. The place is for sale and has been for 4 years, the price must be the reason for no sale, since it's within 1/2 mile of the ocean and a county park access. Easy access can be had to the RV/mobile home park off the Eau Gallie causeway. When we were here, there were many open sites, but it fills in the winter season per the manager. Many older mobile homes can be found in the park. We walked the beach every morning for sunrise for 10 days we were here, excellent beach! Wal-Mart, Publix, Winn-Dixie and several restaurants are with in walking distance. Check out the Green Turtle store, down the street. Has a great assortment of wines and seafood.
11/2010
rating [ 6/10 ]
Next to Rocky's Convenience Store 4 miles west of Perry on US 98. Restrooms are some of the cleanest we've see. No graveled pads, RV's park on large grass back to back hookups. Many shaded sites, which are not very satellite friendly. However the staff is excellent. The store has diesel pumps for trucks behind the store. The store has a hot food counter and has many items to stock your RV's kitchen. A very good seafood restaurant is within walking distance. Overall a laid back place that caters to hunters and fishermen. No activities for children, just a good place to overnight for the traveler.
10/2010
rating [ 7/10 ]
Sites are narrow and run either up hill or down hill depending on the direction your RV points. Power is good with full hookups on all sites. Some highway noise since I-65 and US-41 are within 1500 feet of the campground. Due to location I would stay again since there is very easy access from the interstate.
10/2010
rating [ 8/10 ]
Very nice owners, who go out of their way to help you enjoy your stay. Most 30 amp sites are back to back hookups with the few 50 amp sites being back in only. Sites are somewhat tight, but no problem if you and your neighbors are friends. The pool was closed for the season during our visit. This campground is actually located 4-6 miles east of Nashville in "Gnawbone". Traffic during the fall "color" time is quite heavy on SR 46, but it didn't interrupt our sleep. The rate shown is the basically weekly rate for a 30 amp site.
10/2010
rating [ 9/10 ]
Best choice in the area. The owner's are very helpful and easy to deal with, not like others in the general area. We visit family several times a year and have been using this campground for several years now due to continued poor service at the "other" resort in the area. Restrooms very clean and well maintained. Camp store is very well stocked and clean, not dusty. The pool was closed for the season during our visit. Propane is available either by weight or metered.
10/2010
rating [ 6/10 ]
Well maintained, easy place to park. Full hookups easy to access. Good 20/30/50 amp power on most sites. No trees, which works for us. No activities on site for children. Great place to stop over night or to explore the area.
09/2010
rating [ 5/10 ]
The stated rate reflects the Passport America rate, we would not stay here at the published rate of $30 night. Restrooms were badly in need of cleaning and updating. Rather tight at entrance with a 180 degree turn when coming off the Interstate. When using Passport America this park offers a stopping off place at less than 1/2 the price of other RV parks along I-70 between Indianapolis and the Ohio state line. Both "by weight" and metered propane are also available for purchase.
10/2010
rating [ 5/10 ]
This park offers Escapees discount. The entrances are a little tight with ditches on each side of the drive. It had been raining so our pull through site had to be backed out of instead of pulling ahead on grass. The restrooms were clean but dated and without a private area for undressing for a shower. Since we cross WV a couple of times per year, it does give a viable option to not overnighting between Charleston and the VA state line.
07/2010
rating [ 3/10 ]
BIG RIGS stay away from this campground! What a mess. Of course, they are listed as "big rig friendly" in the books and their website, and I have to say our site was nice. HOWEVER, going in they have metal road signs on stands in the roadway: you have to wind your way around them. All traffic going to the west side of the campground (which is where the big rig sites are) must enter AND exit on the same road, and the approaches and the turn itself, are not much wider than one lane in dense trees. So you must sit and wait. As we approached the turn we notice a large semi truck waiting to come out, it been to the camp store we guessed. We couldn't turn and neither could he, so we drove on and used the map to get ourselves around the roads and headed back the right direction. We were back in an older section with very tight turns and two way traffic, on one lane roads. We finally ended up back where we were to take a turn and went the wrong direction and drove right back out of the park on the roads we were supposed to be going in the opposite direction! There was no where to turn around. We drove three miles back down the road to turn around and then drove back into the camp. This time a large 45-foot motorhome with a car in tow was coming out. We both squeaked by each other and we finally made the turn and got back into our camp. We met 5 more RVs getting to our campsite. We got parked without a problem once we got to our site. The site we were assigned to, was to be open to the SW sky for satellite TV and internet service. Wrong on the TV. The owner of this place needs to designate some roads one way and cut down some trees at major intersections. Would we go back: no way.
07/2010
rating [ 9/10 ]
This park allows the Good Sam discount Sunday through Thursday. What a surprise in the country, a great park with great on site owners and very well maintained. Well laid out with a rally section. There are several lakes located on this former farm ground that Rvs can park around. There are some seasonal sites which are kept very neat. Propane is available by weight or metered gallons for on-board tanks. Well worth the 10 mile drive off US127. Access roads are fine as are the interior roads of this park. Would we return, YES.
07/2010
rating [ 5/10 ]
Nice sites in loop W, not paved, but good level small gravel. Some sites flooded when we were there. Did not see any full hookup sites other than camp hosts. 30 amp electric with water available at dump station and the center of the loop.
06/2010
rating [ 6/10 ]
The name has been changed to Tiffin Service Area. No tents, no pool, no playground. This is a former airport runway, that is now used for parking for the Tiffin Motorhomes Service Center and for plant tours. Not a place for kids, yet some RVers brought their kids or grandkids, which was a real pain.
06/2010
rating [ 6/10 ]
This is a very nice park. Big rig sites are very tight. Water pressure is very high. Facilities were well maintained over all.
06/2010
rating [ 4/10 ]
Very tight sites, heavily wooded with little chance for satellite systems to work. Some big rig sites but few with 50 amp hookup. This is a 44 year old campground, and it shows.
05/2010
rating [ 3/10 ]
Adequate for a stop over, however quite muddy if it's been raining. Owner has commented before that he needs to gravel the drive, what it really needs is a deep ditch around three sides of the pull-through area to drain water away. The drives are on the same level or higher than the sites so it's hard for the water to leave. Located 14 miles north of I465 off I-69, one of the closest campgrounds to INDY.
04/2010
rating [ 9/10 ]
Am sure very few of your auxiliary satellite systems will work here. A portable dish is needed to receive Satellite TV. Verizon cellphones won't work except in text mode. But the new owners are as great as the previous ones. The restrooms and showers are 100x better than the only other RV Park close to Charlottesville, (Crozet). This park has always been well maintained and clean with larger sites than found elsewhere in the area.
04/2010
rating [ 6/10 ]
Rate has raised $5 since our last stay. Still well maintained, basic overnight stop. Ease of entry for a big rig is one of best reasons to stay here. There is a city campground at Point Pleasant across the Ohio River in WV, but the sites are tight, poorly maintained and outdated.
03/2010
rating [ 9/10 ]
Great park. We looked over Lake Texana State Park across road. Sites were short, tight and had way too many low trees for our 40' motorhome. These campsites are well maintained, and all services worked as promised. We parked in the big rig pull through circle, which was very easy to access. Really liked the "coded" access gate to the campground. Only negative would be poor signage at entrance. They need a sign to say "Campground office straight ahead" at the rodeo/4H complex. The rodeo arena has its own "campground" in a parking lot on the way back to "Brackenridge" that caused us to stop at that "office" first.
02/2010
rating [ 9/10 ]
Very nice park, well maintained. The meals prepared by the staff are excellent. Sites are wide and deep. No back to back hookups. Lots of things to see and do in the Texas "Hill Country".
09/2009
rating [ 8/10 ]
A very nice state park. However "stimulus" money was spent planting trees that will be to close to the roads in loop "A" in years to come and will limit the access of "Big Rigs". The campground can be very busy on weekends, but during the week occupancy is sparse. There is a beach in the park but not close to the campground as is a boat rental. Shower houses are in better condition than during our last visit in the spring.
08/2009
rating [ 9/10 ]
The rate shown is for a one month rental of a 50AMP/W/S site. It is a nice campground close to activities and sites in the RV Capitol. The grass and gravel RV sites that are easy to level on. The owners very helpful and are the on-site managers. There is easy access to Indiana Toll Road, I80/I90. There are plenty of restaurants close by.
03/2009
rating [ 7/10 ]
Nice park for a overnight stop. A bit of a hill to navigate to pull through sites, but easy. Nothing fancy but worked well for us.
03/2009
rating [ 5/10 ]
Very tight sites with tree canopy, none of our roof satellite systems would work. Narrow interior roads with little room to navigate with a big rig. Only game in town that we found. The "Painted Churches" are very interesting.
04/2009
rating [ 7/10 ]
About 1/2 mile south of I-20, north of Canton 1st Monday Trade Days grounds. A parking lot, closely parked with very little space for anything. The draw is Trade Days not the "park". Many other places to park in the area, but if it rains, watch out. Good spot to research the area if you are planning a return visit. 66 full hookups sites with cable and 36 water, electric and cable sites. Great place to be close to your fellow campers.
02/2009
rating [ 10/10 ]
Special Rally rate. Excellent facilities, well maintained, with friendly and helpful staff. Sites all paved with patio and grass.
02/2009
rating [ 4/10 ]
We were parked on a grass site with "fire ants" and it was not fun. All the gravel sites are assigned to long term residents. Only place to stay between Edinburg and Alice. Old RR crossing a little steep when gaining access, a lot of scrapes in asphalt from RVs. The Valero Truckstop about 1 mile south of town usually has some of the best fuel prices south of I-10.
02/2009
rating [ 5/10 ]
Not much there except a easy overnight stop. Close to the Tanger and Prime Outlets at San Marcos. Big rig sites, all pull throughs.
11/2008
rating [ 10/10 ]
Very nice, well maintained new sites opened this past summer. Easy access with shuttle to casino. Nothing here for kids. Several RVs for COE levee construction workers in the park
10/2008
rating [ 8/10 ]
This is a nice older campground in a grove of pecan trees. The office staff is very nice, and the area has things of interest: Lake Chicot, casino across river, and Lakeport Plantation.
10/2008
rating [ 9/10 ]
Only improvement we would make would be another exit rather than by office which can be congested. This is a very nice park with great view of river and close to Natchez, MS.
06/2008
rating [ 8/10 ]
Great COE park with paved sites, water & electric. Not a good place if you need satellite systems since there are many tall pine trees. Please note: Your Verizon Cell Phone will not work here.
06/2008
rating [ 8/10 ]
Old run way at Tiffin service facility. $10 night after 1st year of warranty. Good place to stay and see plant.
06/2008
rating [ 7/10 ]
Nice park, very clean. Sites are tight and have one tree on each pull through, which just happens to be located to block front mounted satellites if you have long RV.
04/2008
rating [ 5/10 ]
Sites were very muddy, need some grading and a lot of gravel. Drives were rutted and torn up due to water leaks on some sites. Our site was very narrow with a lot of the water on the back half of pad. We've stayed here 4 or 5 times and the decline of upkeep was surprising. The rate reflects Passport America discount + an up charge for 50 Amp.
03/2008
rating [ 6/10 ]
Good spot to overnight, not a destination park, for that I would go to the Holiday Travel Park about a mile west. Sites are narrow with large rocks at exit of sites, so caution on pulling out is needed. They will discount the rate with a Camping World President's Club membership.
04/2008
rating [ 6/10 ]
Very small campground, ran by resident owners, who are very nice and helpful. Several long term units, a couple are rather rough in appearance. This park accepts Passport America, so that is the rate shown. We stayed two nights. I do not advise heading north on US 127 until re-built after present road contruction. It has very steep grades and no shoulders.
03/2008
rating [ 6/10 ]
Stayed a week at this campground. Nice management by owners. This area of Georgia has many things to see and the owners are very helpful. Pads are OK but some are in need of grading. Helen GA about 20 minutes away.
04/2008
rating [ 6/10 ]
$38 seems about $18 too much for a overnight site here, but there are very few choices in the area, so they can get away with it. The campsite gravel pads are quite rough. The bath house was very clean and well kept. Some shaded sites but not many.
04/2008
rating [ 8/10 ]
Early in season water was not on. Bathhouses locked. Always well kept campsites.
03/2008
rating [ 4/10 ]
Not a great campground. Needs some work. Sites are very tight with narrow roads for big rigs. Most of sites are filled with snowbirds. Rainbow Country was $28 less per night with larger sites and no tidal marsh (swamp) at rear of RV promoted as "water-front". Might stay here again in 5 years or so, just to see how they finish the upgrades at Cedar Key on the wharf.
01/2008
rating [ 8/10 ]
Very nice state park. Easy access, wide long sites that many work well with big rigs. All of our satellite systems worked at our site. We would definitely stay at this park again.
03/2008
rating [ 8/10 ]
Excellent parking lot! A sites are a little off level with all hookups at rear of RV. Admission to Agrirama is included with RV parking. No restrooms or showers, RV must be self-contained. Very close to I-75. No shade, no grass, it is a parking lot which is fine with us.
03/2008
rating [ 5/10 ]
Entry is easy with wide access, road narrows to sites. Sites are wide open, some grading would be helpful. Several long term RVs owned by sportsmen are in the park. The owner was very nice and helpful, but the park could use some clean up of old vehicles off to the side of RV sites. We would stay here again if in the area, but right now I can't see a reason for us to return.
03/2008
rating [ 7/10 ]
Nice park close to the city. Well maintained with friendly office staff. Easy access for big rigs with ample side room for slides. We would stay again if in the area. Rate included the Good Sam discount.
03/2008
rating [ 2/10 ]
This city park needs about 3 days worth of bulldozer site work. The only level sites are the ones with concrete and they are awning to awning. There are major ruts in all roads. Also the trees need to be trimed/topped, there are many large overhanging limbs. Entrances both north and south of the "restaurant" are very tight and rough. You can get a big rig into the concrete sites but it's not fun.
02/2008
rating [ 6/10 ]
Would have gave a higher rating but the lady manager has a very negative attitude. She really acted like she hated dealing with the public anytime we saw her. The park is a very nice 55+ park with wide sites with the water and electric hookups behind the RV. All sites are back in. The pool was very nice as was the rec hall. But it is over priced for location, next to I-95.
01/2008
rating [ 1/10 ]
We checked this campground out before moving to the area from Manatee State Park. For the price quoted per night for a 3 night stay, it wasn't worth it at all, it's a dump. A rundown former KOA by the looks of it, with dirt roads and dirt pads. We opted instead for Little Willie's 5 miles north of town. We did not stay there and won't in the future.
02/2008
rating [ 8/10 ]
This park accepts Passport America for short stays during the winter, which is quite unusal for Florida in general. So the rate reflects the Passport discount. We found the park to be friendly and well mantained.
02/2008
rating [ 7/10 ]
Very clean Rv park with just what we require as fulltimers. Well kept up, but has been sold to a commercial developer, could be it's last year in business.
12/2007
rating [ 3/10 ]
A very neglected park. Power protection should be used on your RV since many "RED" 30 amp power posts have been hit. Worth about 1/2 the price charged for a water/electric site. Pool closed and in disarray. The facilities are ran down in general. The park is on the way to "Jellystone" CG, after reading the "review" for them that said "kids everywhere", since we were ready to stop, we opted for this park. Owner's give no discounts for any club memberships, stopped in January 2007. Won't be back to overnight close to this town at anytime, we'll drive to Lake City or Tallahassee.
12/2007
rating [ 2/10 ]
Called ahead about site for 40' motorhome with toad. I was told no problem unless I needed 50 amp. I told the lady 30 amp OK. I asked rate for the night, she asked if we were Good Sam or Passport America, I said Passport, she said rate would be $27/night. On arriving she told us to pick a site, hookup and come to office and check in. We found the sites to be level but very tight and have some intruding bushes. The power hookups are on the passenger side of the pad with the water and sewer on the driver's side. On opening the power panel the 30 amp plug was hanging out of the mount. The sites were pull-through as described except actually back-ins that share the same concrete pad. So I connected to the power panel on the rear of the pad and informed the office, she said she'd have her man to check it out. When we were ready to pay, she said they weren't Passport but, the same discounts were given to all clubs at the same rate of $27 a night. She actually charged us $32 without any notations on the receipt of taxes paid. They have a very good reason to have you pick a site 1st since the whole thing is a put-on. Looks to be a lot of Katrina victims and workers in the park, a lot of kids running around. Will not be back, the park is hard to find and isn't worth $20 a night.
11/2007
rating [ 6/10 ]
Camping fee includes two breakfast buffets at the Casino. Long unlevel sites with broken concrete, had to try three before, I could level. But it's about the best in the area if you are there for the history and casinos in Vicksburg.
10/2007
rating [ 5/10 ]
Prefer this park over the others in the area due to site size and being well kept. We have never had a problem at this park with management or things being clean. Will stay again when in the area.
12/2007
rating [ 5/10 ]
Great stopover park. Full hookups and accept Passport America $8/night. Basic, no frills, part of truck/stop/casino/bingo hall complex.
04/2007
rating [ 7/10 ]
We have stayed at this park 4 or 5 times. We've never had a problem with the staff. The time before this stop, we were given a site that was underwater. Told the office and got another spot, no problem. Will stay again handy, clean and easy access, even though I don't care for the covered entrance. BTW Lake = Pond.
02/2007
rating [ 6/10 ]
Nice park, we stay there when in the area. However, I must point out an error on their web site. There are NO pull through campsites, that we know of. Sites are no that good for big rigs.
10/2007
rating [ 8/10 ]
This is the Tiffin Motorhomes factory campground. It is an old airport runway with full 50/30/20amp hookups. Camping is free if your are in for warranty service at the service center, otherwise $10 per night. The customer lounge is large with a kitchenette and restrooms and seating for 20+ people. Many people just stop by when passing through to take the week day plant tours. The parts store is next to the office and restrooms with very good prices.
09/2007
rating [ 5/10 ]
Roads are very tight and narrow for the most part, We have stayed at this park many times due to closeness to our daughter's home. We would rather stay elsewhere, but have no other choices, and the owner knows it. Some improvements have been made by cutting down some trees and leveling many sites, but more are needed since water flows through the best big rig sites. We'll stay again, but would like another choice.
10/2007
rating [ 9/10 ]
Very nice park, nice management, well maintained, sites a little narrow, would stay again.
10/2007
rating [ 4/10 ]
Home park and headquarters of the Escapees RV Club. Not that great of a park for being the "home" of an organization. We were on a grass site that hadn't been mowed in quite a while and packed in pretty tight. You will pay extra for any electricity used during your stay at check out. Laundry facilities need some attention. Roads need to graded and trees trimmed along them. This was our second time there and little had changed in 4 years. But well worth the price, if a you are a member, however if I had to pay full price, I would look at what else is available in the area.
10/2007
rating [ 9/10 ]
Very nice park with full amenities. Free paper at office, mornings. Coffee and donuts free on weekends. Free shuttle to casino. All sites fully paved with 50/30/20 amp power. I don't know about WIFI since we use our own satellite internet system. Nothing here for children.
11/2007
rating [ 5/10 ]
This is a former KOA from the late 1960s The sites and roads very tight due to trees. Rate includes a free pancake breakfast every morning. Many trees need to be trimmed around sites. The park has free WIFI that has an excellent signal. The cable TV is very good and has many channels. This park accepts Passport America.
11/2006
rating [ 10/10 ]
Excellent Park, clean, well maintained. One of our favorite places to stay. The trip across US190 from Baton Rouge is far better than I-10 just because of this place. We have stayed there 3 times now, always look forward to the stop. Price discounted if you mention Woodall's advertisement.
11/2006
rating [ 5/10 ]
Several end to end sites, the coach in front has to leave before you can. TV Satellite wouldn't connect due to tree cover as our Datastorm wouldn't either. Cable end gone on post so I put new one on. Trees need trimmed lots of branches to dodge. Would stay again since one of few RV Parks in area and has quick access.
01/2007
rating [ 8/10 ]
Very nice park, with excellent support facilities. Just north of town and has easy access. Might check out others in the area next time, we felt price for 8 hours was high, since only reason to be there was to get somewhere else.
01/2007
rating [ 6/10 ]
Tight sites with unpruned trees interfering with slides. Nice management. Person who took me to the site changed our location 3 times. Ok for an overnight, wouldn't spend a week though.
12/2006
rating [ 3/10 ]
Passport America honored in this 55+ park. Cramped sites if paved, you better hope it doesn't rain since the unpaved sites for overnighters can turn into a mud bog. About 70 permanent units are in the park. Looks like it was well constructed then just let go. They park units with the steps almost in the street for some sites. Will not return
12/2006
rating [ 2/10 ]
This place is a dump, loaded with trashy RVs and very tight sites. Sits by a bridge over an inlet with much traffic noise. Will not be going back.
03/2007
rating [ 5/10 ]
We were assigned a site that had a drain pipe emptying into it leaving a pool at the edge of the pad. Park was well maintained, just needs some updating in camp area. Some downed trees still around from hurricanes. Will return when in area. Accepts Federal Golden Access Pass.
03/2007
rating [ 8/10 ]
Escapee Park, member discount not applied. No pads, but good level grass sites, many with shade. Rural setting, however plenty of shopping, activities and lots of restaurants within 10 miles. We stay here every time heading across the gulf coast.
03/2007
rating [ 8/10 ]
Very nice COE park, well maintained. Water front sites are great. Will try to stay again when in SE Alabama.
03/2007
rating [ 7/10 ]
Escapee park, members get discount. Park very friendly. Park needs some work done to sites and roads. Indoor pool is great as is activity center. Quite a few sites are used as seasonal rentals. We stay here whenever in area for a few nights.
03/2007
rating [ 3/10 ]
Passport America accepted. In general disrepair, needs updating. Roads need grading and sites leveling. Sewer hookups have to flow up hill due to placement. Has large pond on site with some camp sites close by.
03/2007
rating [ 5/10 ]
Long term adult park with 30% of space devoted to RV's. Clean and well maintained. On site owner and manager. Planning for month stay in late '07.
04/2007
rating [ 6/10 ]
Passport America accepted ($34 is regular rate). 65 total RV sites, can accommodate RVs up to 50 ft. Comfort station, cable and telephone on lots (just have to be connected). laundry, bathhouse, horseshoes, and shuffleboard. Located across from lake and boat launch. Campground is located 4 miles from Sebring, and 5 miles from Avon Park. Basic campground caters to 55+ crowd.
03/2007
rating [ 7/10 ]
Accepts Passport America, Nice park, well maintained. Not a lot of sites with full hookup, but has Monday, Wednesday & Friday pumpout service for a charge per valve.
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com