214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Wanee Lake Golf and RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (229) 567-2267
CGID10003

Wanee Lake Golf and RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   9   6   10   10   7   9   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$16
Price reflects a Passport America discount. We have camped in many parks and rarely find a jewel like this. Off the beaten path, quiet and scenic. We are not golfers but if we were, this would be a good one. Excellent sites, great Wi-Fi and utilities and nice amenities. The good experience started with the friendly staff. Will stay here again and recommend it to others. Please keep it simple, some things should never change. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$23
This is a beautiful campground with a challenging 9 hole golf course. It has wide pull-through sites with 50 amp, good water and sewer. Fast Wi-Fi is included. Management and other campers very friendly. It is a well maintained park and golf course. Hope to come back next year We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$16
We stayed here 10 days at $16.00 a night using Passport America. The roads and spacious sites in the park are gravel. We had full hookups with 50 amp service and good Wi-Fi is included. If you are a golfer, this RV park is a goldmine. The 9-hole golf course is very nice and the use of the course is included in the daily rate. The park offers a small light fare menu so you can order food on site. Tables, fire ring, and charcoal grill at each site for grilling your own meals. The locals come to the park to play golf and socialize with the campers. The atmosphere is extremely friendly. What more can you ask for? We stayed in a 39 foot RV and had no problems maneuvering in the park. The owners are a delight as are the onsite Work Kampers. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$16
The down side is the single (1), small, shower. The door can be locked but the location in the Pro Shop is inconvenient. We opted to use our own. The pool looks great but is unheated and we were there out of season. The hot tub was covered and only lukewarm so we passed on that. Club House/Pro Shop/Lounge is modest but nice. It has a pool table ($1), TV, and very reasonably priced adult beverages. They allow you to take your own beverages onto the golf course, which is rare. $2 laundry. Tables, fire ring, and charcoal grill at each site. Good Wi-Fi. Golf course is a fair test and was in fair shape. They had recently over seeded the greens. The fee(s) are very reasonable. I would stay here again. 4 miles west of Ashburn on hard paved GA 112. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$16
Stopped overnight. Two miles off the main road, it is quiet and beautiful. A pleasant hike along trails around the golf course lead to a beautiful opening with a fishing lake. The office is also a lounge serving hot dogs, hamburgers and such. Very friendly helpful people. A bit of paradise off the beaten path. Would definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$16
This is a golf resort for RVers. Nice swimming pool, good fishing in the lake, and well maintained, moderately challenging nine hole golf course. Play nine, stop for lunch, play another nine, have a swim, back "home" for a drink and a nap. Fishing in the evening and do it again tomorrow. This place is great! The rate is for Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$15
If you use your own shower and restroom this park would rate a 9. Very nice sized pool and hot tub with well mannered owner/managers. Since we use park showers and restrooms, we felt very underwhelmed with the single small unlockable shower for everyone that was locked from 9 PM-8 AM. Very quiet park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$16
I hesitate a bit to review this gem of an RV park lest too many people discover it. This is a one of a kind park with sites set on the first tee of a golf course. The sites are wide and grassy. It is owned and run by a husband and wife team that really care and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. We would definite stay here when in the area. The rate reflects Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$16
The price reflects the PA discount, and at that price I shouldn't complain about anything. It was an OK overnight stop, and could be good for a golfer who wanted to spend time here. More and better signage would be very helpful. We don't mind gravel entrance roads, but the road to the campsite was at an angle over a drop that rocked our motorhome from side to side. Hookups were fine; we had no trouble leveling. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. At this price we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$23
There is plenty of space between the sites, some fairly level, some pretty bad; you have to look well before you pick and set up. The power, when we hooked up our Surge Protector, said it was ok, but when the AC kicked on it tripped out (1st time this ever happened). When reset, everything came on fine, then when the wife started the sweeper it tripped again. When she turned on the microwave the AC was off, but again it tripped. Something is up with the electric. Shower house (only one we saw was at the clubhouse) a simple stall, pretty basic, clean but run down. Pool looked very nice. Owners were very courteous and helpful, and in fairness to them they apparently acquired this about 4 yrs ago and are in the process of updating, landscaping, and wanting to put in cement pads. Until those upgrades happen, I probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$16
We stayed overnight and really liked the place. Full hook ups, plenty of space, and lovely green grass views of the golf course. It also has a rustic feel and is very peaceful. If the opportunity arises we will stay again when looking for an overnighter in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
Great place for a stopover whether headed north or south. Very quiet. Sites level and spacious. View was the golf course. Roads were a bit narrow, but no real problem . The roads were lacking in gravel which caused some dust. We would definitely use this as a stopover or for a few days when headed through GA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$15
This park is a shining oasis in rural southwest Georgia. If you're a golfer and RVer, this is the place for you. I'm not a golfer, but this place was so serene and peaceful that I ended up staying for 2 months. The new owners, who bought the place last July, worked from dawn to dusk to keep the pool/clubhouse and golf course in pristine condition. And it shows. There's not much to do in nearby Ashburn, but a continuous stream of Canadians headed back home who stay at Wanee Lake every year provided excellent conversations. The only drawback was gnats, who started appearing early May. I liken this place to 'The Baghdad Cafe' movie, only more upscale. Interesting and off the beaten track. I expect I'll go back next April. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$15
This is a small campground (not a Resort for sure) that has the basics (water, electric, sewer), fairly level, large sites, no pads, and golf (if you play it's a bargain). It has a bar with liquor and beer. There are no trees or shade. There is Wi-Fi available, a clear view of the southern sky (Dish network), friendly staff (husband and wife who just bought the campground in July of 2011), and a lot of possibilities. Apparently the golf course carries the entire "resort" but doesn't leave much money for improvements to the campground. Owners seem earnest in trying to upgrade the place. It's a good overnight stop close to I-75 and if you play golf or want to just get off the beaten path, this is it. Passport America rate has no stay restrictions. We've been here two nights and a lot of the rigs that were here when we arrived are still here. This place could be excellent in a few years as improvements are made. Campground needs to have shade trees planted now so that they will make a difference in a few years. We'll come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2012
$15
The new owners and that staff at this small campground are super friendly and if you're a golfer, this campground/golf course is a real find. We paid a Passport rate of $15 a night and another $12 for 18 holes of golf, including the cart. The swimming pool and hot tub were a lovely shade of green and the wi-fi reaches only a few of the sites. The clubhouse doubles as a small bar, and the night we were there, the boys were in playing poker. The music was loud, and the second-hand smoke was overwhelming, which makes the room pretty well unusable for families. The nine-hole golf course was in pretty good shape, but the sand traps desperately need to be raked, and the greens should be mowed more often. We'll definitely return to play golf. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$15
New Owners: very friendly hosts and campers. Passport America Rate. Sites wide and level pull throughs. Pool, Golf Course and Tennis Court very nice. Activities at the club house available and free Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$23
Very friendly people. Clean open area with large sites. Plenty of walking areas for our dogs. Two nights, with Good Sam discount, was $46.99. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$16
We really enjoyed our visit here & recommend it to anyone. The owners are super nice! They have a big beautiful pool that our children enjoyed while we played golf. Then we relaxed out at the pool while enjoying the scheduled activities. We will definitely be back soon! :) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2011
$16
Reading the other reviews, this seemed like a nice place. But, the reality is different. It is five miles off the beaten path. Nothing is paved or weed-whacked. There were a handful of old RVs and campers, obviously people living there. Registration was at the bar. Nice tennis courts in neglect. Did not look at the pool. A dog was staked in the ground at one RV, and then a dog was lose and came after our dog. On the good side, wide, open sites, as most of the place was empty (no shade) and very fast Internet. I would not recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$23
Very nice and the staff is working hard at making some great improvements. The roads and sites are being paved! New Owners as of July 2011 and these people actually care about making sure their guests have a positive experience. They are making improvements everywhere, club house, swimming pool, and on the golf course. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
Good place for an overnight or longer if you play golf. Good Sam discount. New Owners who plan to clean it up and install concrete pads. Grass/gravel now. Easy in and out. Quiet and peaceful. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$16
A small but nice park about 4.5 miles from I-75. The sites are good size. There are no shaded site, but this is a nice place to stay for a one night stopover. With our Passport America discount we paid $16 for 50 amp electric, sewer and water. We picked up a lot of love bugs on our windshield on the drive from Florida. The owner told us to use as much water as we needed to get them off. We thought that was pretty nice. There is also a golf course. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$16
Excellent park and people. Good fishing, caught a 5 lb bass, threw back, lots of smaller eating bass. Golf, $8.00 inc cart. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$16
Rate reflects Passport America discount. Nice campground with inexpensive golf if you play. Staff very friendly. We enjoyed the view of the golf course from our campsite. Level site, quiet area. No train noise! This stay was just one night, but we hope to return for a longer stay in the fall to enjoy the golf course. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$23
This park was exactly what we needed after a long day on the road. 9 holes of golf on a decent course with a cart for $8 apiece. Park could use some TLC but the pool was clean, the site was level and the utilities worked well. Use of Internet in the office. Very friendly owner and staff. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$16
We liked the concept of golf course integrated with the RV park. Our site was right across from the first tee and the golf course was not very busy. Management and staff are super nice and we were welcomed with open arms. Planned on spending one night but were there for three. We are Passport America members and they honor the 50% discount. We plan on returning at Wanee for more golf and camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
With all due respect to the previous reviewers, this is a nice little campground but it is not a 9 or 10. Yes, the manager is very friendly and helpful and goes out of his way to be nice. But the CG itself has some drawbacks. The sites are pull-throughs, but they are gravel and not much of it, and are just plopped down in a field. There is no effort at landscaping of any kind. The grass is mowed but clippings are not picked up, so it is impossible not to track dirt into the unit. The buildings are adequate but have a certain run-down, or perhaps never run up, look. It is nice to drive around the golf course in one of the carts. For a golfer this would be a good place for a few days. On the whole, not bad and a good stopover while traveling I-75, but don't expect a 10-level RV resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$15
We stayed there only one night, and it was a great experience. The manager and owner went above and beyond with courtesy, humor, and helpfulness in all of our dealings with them. We were just passing through, and they made us feel like family as did the other locals and travelers that were there. Some folks had been there for two weeks already and had only been passing through like us. This was truly a terrific experience, and we would go out of our way to go back if even just to visit our old friends. Check out out their web site to see their amenities and be ready for a treat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
Short ride off I-75 in quiet country setting is this new Park with very friendly staff. Kevin manages both the RV area and the golf course is looking for RV'rs to make suggestions as to how they can improve the Park. How often have you had an RV Park ask for your help to make it more RV'r friendly!! It is Passport park. BIG pull thru sites with 50/30 AMP service, full hookups, charcoal grill and fire pit on each site. Besides the amenities mentioned in other reviews, you can rent a golf cart on an hourly basis to tour the grounds or go to the fishing lake and actually catch fish. Highly recommend this Park and suggest giving Kevin positive feedback on improvements for RV'rs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
We stay at a lot of RV parks, by far the best we have stayed at so far!! Staff very friendly, will help you any way they can. Great fishing and golfing.Clean and tidy grounds. Big pool and they have a tennis court. Just 4 miles from town.Would recommend park for one night or longer stay! Can't say enough about staff and locals, they make you feel like family! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
I came in planning to stay one night but ended up here for a week! The staff and the local golfer's were so nice and very accommodating! I caught some good fish down in the lake and played in a new thing called "night golf" which I really enjoyed and they offer it every Friday night! The sites are spacious w/ full hook up's just off hole #1. The campsite is only 50 yards from the clubhouse, pool, tennis court and driving range. They offer good deals on monthly stay's including walking for free! I plan to bring my family back for a vacation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Four miles off the Interstate on quiet state highway 112W. Newly constructed RV park on established 9 hole course country club. Sparkling pool, great fishing lake, tennis court. Sites are reasonably level, office staff friendly and helpful, regulars to the golf course are friendly and welcoming. Stayed here a week and will be back longer - a destination park in (almost) a transient location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
The owners and management are the most friendly and cordial people we have ever met in our camping experience in 5 years of traveling. They go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. There is a beautiful lake where I caught the biggest catfish ever and was able to fry it outside on the grill provided at each site. We enjoyed our camp fire rings on cool evenings. #1 Tee was only 50 yards away on a 9 hole course. What more could you ask for? We came for a week and stayed 3 months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com