215245 User submitted reviews online!!
Happy Hills Family Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (740) 385-6720
CGID10011

Happy Hills Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   10   10   5   8   7   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$50
Sites were fairly level. Dusty gravel entrance road, which the manager/worker made sure the dust was flying. As small as the CG is, they should be able to get rid of the speeding ATVs. Other than those couple of gripes, it is a nice CG and if in the area. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
Nice campground. Kids enjoyed it. Trees were nice but the top of our RV was extremely dirty from them & we had a lot of spiders in camper. I think also due to them. Store was never open and people were hardly ever at the office. Pond area was OK but had tons of geese droppings which didn't make it very appealing to go in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$45
We camped here on Halloween weekend October 20-22 and stayed in Site 13. The site was large and level. The entire campground was very wet due to 4 solid days of hard rain. The owners were very friendly and willing to assist any way they could to make sure their guests were happy. They had hay rides for the kids, a haunted forest, pumpkin painting,and plenty of activities for the kids. The adults had a Karaoke night with a DJ for dancing. The park was a nice scenic ride away from the state park and all the attractions. The only thing that could use improving is the restrooms. They were older but clean. The showers had push buttons and they only stayed on for 15 seconds and that was very annoying. Other than that I would rate this campground excellent. Oh they also deliver firewood right to your campsite That was very handy. I would definitely come back for another visit. They are very pet friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
This is one of our favorite campgrounds it is very clean, with nice helpful owners. We were there for their hog roast weekend and can't wait to go back for their Halloween weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$47
The campground is quiet and the staff is friendly. One of the owners walked around and reminded everyone who was setting out about the evening entertainment. The sites were plenty level and the water and 30 amp electric seemed ok. The twenty amp plugs were not hooked up. There was only one shower house for all 67 sites. On the mens side it contained 2 urinals, two stalls and two showers. The women's side was four stalls and two showers. You had to wait in line to do anything in the shower house. The pool is about 10 feet from a private residence and about a quarter mile cross country from the campground. Never used it, it would be like swimming in someone's private pool. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$27
We stayed for 3 days and this was a very nice campground. The owners were more then helpful and were very friendly. The restrooms are older, but clean. They are new owners and are working on the place. I recommend if you are tent camping to go to the back corner. The view is nothing short of spectacular seeing the sunset across the hills. The campsites were very quiet and there are no wild party sites. A great place for kids. They have movie night on the weekends for the kids and have a nice little place for them to play. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$42
We camped here to be close to Athens/OU so that our sons could ride the Athens Skatepark (which is awesome by the way) and my husband and I could ride the Adena Bikeway which begins at the skatepark. This campground was about 25 minutes from Athens and in good proximity to all of the Hocking Hills sites. It is by no means a destination campground, but does have friendly owners and a great family atmosphere. We don't typically join in with the activities, but found ourselves entertained with karaoke night. Most of the sites were shaded and had ample space between them. The bathrooms could use a remodel and a little elbow grease as they weren't the cleanest that I've seen. Overall, we would definitely come back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$41
This is an older campground that has been under new ownership for the last four years. Evidently it was pretty run down at one time, and the current friendly owners have done a lot to clean things up and make various improvements. This was obvious in the restroom and shower building, which was clean when I checked and has seen some upgrades. There is also a small coin laundry in one corner of the building. The location is somewhat out of the way for the usual Hocking Hills attractions but that makes it nice and quiet, and if you don’t feel like driving much this campground could easily be a destination in itself. Very much a family oriented place with lots of planned activities, and a camp store that stocked a lot of candy. They also stock the usual items and night crawlers if you want to go fishing in the pond. The pool was small but clean and fairly modern. The front of the campground is mostly open but with some decent shade trees, and probably your best bet it you have a big rig. The back section has a handful of full hookup sites, mostly occupied by seasonals, and lots of shade. The gravel roads in the back are narrow and winding but in very good condition. One drawback may be that the dump station is back there on one side of a road, with no pull-off or passing lane. No matter where your site is you will probably have to do a little leveling, but nothing outrageous. Tent campers should check out the no hookup sites in the very back which have a nice view over some rolling wooded hills. Note that the price I paid was higher than normal since I was there on a holiday weekend. It is tempting to say that I feel I paid too much for a water and electric site, but then again I could see that my money was being put back into the campground so I’ll consider it an investment for return visits. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$42
We camped here before the season really started and they were just getting things up and running. The owners could not have been nicer though. They are new owners and are doing a lot to fix up the facilities. The sites are not jammed together and are nicely shaded. The electric was being updated while we were there and the sewer was next. The showers were to be next and they do need it. Overall though, the facility was nice and we plan on returning. That is the best compliment that you can give. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com