224137 User submitted reviews online!!
Camp Lakewood Campground & RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 182 user reviews. Phone: (217) 342-6233
CGID1002

Camp Lakewood Campground & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
79
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   8   8   8   8   9   10   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2014
$32
We stayed here to attend a wedding. The park is great for a overnight stop, plenty of shopping and gas stations in area. The only complaint was the staff they could of been friendlier. I would stay again if when are in area since that is the only decent there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$26
We stayed on an all gravel pull thru site with no grass. All utilities are in close proximity, however cable TV is somewhat limited in selection. Good WiFi availability with services close to town (Wal-Mart). The lake is nice with a few sites directly on it but most are not. The close proximity to main roads makes road noise an issue at times. Overall, the park is quite functional and the employees are very accommodating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$30
Some recent reviews had me wondering if folks were reviewing the right park. One, a couple months ago talked about seasonals and looking like a trailer park. While most of my 30+ stays here over the past 20+ years have not been "in season, i have seen very few seasonal or extended stay sites. In fact, we almost always have one of the sites with a deck when we stay for our one night headed south or back north. The decks were built by the owners of the park years ago and do not automatically indicate seasonal customers. There is a "trailer park" next door, but it is not part of the RV park. More recent reviews talk about limited cable and needing a cable box to get their cable. This is a new issue that has come up in many parks this year. After trying this new "box" system for a few months, the management gave up on it because too many customers could not get it to work properly. They now have basic cable that has just the basic package (about 15 channels). The park has also been sold again. The "old" owners held it for only about 15 months and recently sold it to a corporation. It is being managed by a friendly couple. All sites are FHU with the aforementioned basic cable and a 802.11 network that worked for us in the RV. The park is heavily treed so there is little chance of good satellite TV reception with the exception of the site next to the office. The loss of good cable (this is a provider issue) reduces my rating by a point. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$35
Our second stop here this year. Once on the way going west and now returning home. Sites very nice with trees. Some dropping acorns/walnuts in the fall. Hookups great. Close to shopping and gas. First stop, we were able to get all the cable stations by putting a $50 deposit on a box. It was refunded when we left. This stop no box and only four regular stations. Good Verizon. We will stop here next trip out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$29
This park is convenient and close to restaurants and shopping. The sites were a bit close and you could tell it was an older park, but the price wad right. We would stay again. Our pull-thru was level and the hookups were well placed. The cable didn't offer much of a selection, but it offered the basics. The hosts were friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$31
Very nice small park. The staff was great and very helpful. The approach road is gravel and very dusty, with a trailer park to the right and Left. Our site was gravel but level. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$29
Nice campground with a very friendly staff. I stayed only one night while traveling my sales territory. The views from my site (#1) was spectacular. Quiet, peaceful park setting with reliable electric and cable hook ups. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$29
We enjoyed this campground. It is set in the trees and is very quiet. The sites are gravel, but level. There is a nice dog walk. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
This park was great in every way.People working in office was friendly and we were taken to our site. Very level pull thru site with all utilities working perfect.The wi-fi and cable tv both worked very well also. Camp was very clean and we would sure stop here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$18
We came here with reviews from the internet, There were a lot of Seasonal with decks and they were all scattered within the park. Was looking for a "RV" park to camp, not a trailer park. Seasonal should be kept away from camper's. However, the place was neat and kept up. Camp here for a week, No. To pull off road because being tired, Yes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$31
Very neat campground with extremely helpful owners. We had a level pull-through right by the office, which was perfect for overnight. I wish the lake could be used. Beautiful treed areas. Verizon voice and data was good. Others complained that the GPS took them to other parts of town and the owner commented not to use the GPS. We didn't have any trouble using our Rand McNally and selecting this campground in the points of interest. Good spot for an overnight. Not too far off the freeway but enough to be quiet. Rated as I did because it didn't have extra amenities like a pool but great overnight spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$29
Great clean park with very friendly staff. One of the best for the price. Would give it a 10 if could swim in lake or had a pool. We have kids. Overall, though great sites with lots of room and very nice views. Easy to get to, we only stayed one night on our way home. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
Rate includes tax and Good Sam discount. We were driving through and only stayed one night. We were in site # 19 which overlooked the River/Lake. We loved our location, the view, and the quiet. The campground is at the edge of town less than 1/2 mile by road to Walmart and a number of other stores. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$29
Courteous staff. Clean and neat campground. Away from town noise and rural setting in lake but 5 minutes from Walmart and fast food or sit down restaurants and shopping. Wi-Fi excellent at site 12, which was a drive-through site. We were driving through and only stayed one night but it was plenty nice enough to stay a while. We would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
This is a very good overnight park with full hook ups, cable, and WiFi at the sites. The park is heavily treed and the roads and sites are gravel. The owners are friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$31
Beautiful RV park on Lake Pauline very close to the highway but with no noise. All sites have many large trees providing great shade. Owner is extremely kind and helpful. Park is extremely neat and well maintained. Lots of room between sites, which are generally very long and level. Some of the sites are on the lake and have small decks so you can sit out and watched the birds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$34
This was an overnight stop for us and we wished we were staying longer. Charming, heavily treed, and well kept come to mind. We had a pull-through with full hookups. We did have neighbors on either side and there was ample room. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
We stayed here the last Sunday of September on the first night of our fall trip. Since we expected to stay again the beginning of November, I put off reviewing the park until now. We had a level, FHU, pull-through site with 60+ channel cable TV and at site WIFI that worked well for us. If you want satellite reception, there are only a few sites that might be good for satellite because the park is heavily treed. As others have noted, this is an excellent park from the owners to the sites to the setting. The bathrooms and laundry are older but clean. For those of you who don't like "parking lot" RV parks, this (gravel roads and sites scattered through a forest of mature trees) is a park for you. A pool would make this a destination (more than one night) park for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
We camped here for one night. The park was shady, clean, and scenic. Unlike many parks, it was off the Interstate, so there wasn't any highway noise. Although it was about 40% full, it was very quiet. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat if traveling through the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
When we first started camping, this is the first campground we went to for our shakedown trip. Only an hour from home, we found it delightful, shady, quiet, and quaint. When we traded for our 5th wheel, we decided to go back. The new owners are just as nice and helpful as the previous owners. They escort each camper to their site and help with parking. The lake is is really nice, so check out site #19 and #20, as well as others. Most of the camping traffic is of the overnight type, being near I-57/I-70, not open all year. But we like it for quick getaways. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
My husband's comment as we left this park, "If I owned an RV park, I would want it to look like this one." Lovely wooded site with fine roads, Wi-Fi, & cable. Easy in and out. We would return in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
What a great campground. We had space 43 - had a little deck (which a lot of the spaces do) overlooking the lake. Owner was so friendly and helpful and walks you to your space. Sites are large with picnic tables and fire rings. Convenient to interstate and shopping area. Wish we had more time to spend here. A great little find! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
The couple who own this park are energetic, helpful, and pleasant. Check in was efficient, and we were led to our site on foot, walking backwards! It was a good thing since the site arrangement is a little confusing. The park was clean, and all utilities worked well. Showers were immaculate. The game room, gas grill, and store are nice, but there is no pool. The lake is not the most pleasant feature, since it is a little scummy. It was fun to see the rescued baby raccoon who occupied an office chair. We would return here if in the area since it is easily reached from I-57 and is very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Nice park with lots of shade and if you're lucky get a spot with a view of the lake. Fishing is free and no license is required. I caught some bass but released them. Host are real friendly. Some sites are tight getting into or out of, but they assign them according to your size and there is a special place for you with the large motorhomes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Easy access via exit 160 from I57/I70. Owners very friendly and helpful. Their restaurant recommendation was right on the money. Nice wide sites are easily accessible by big rigs. All services plus a well stocked store were welcome attributes. We will definitely make this park a regular stopover when we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
This is a GREAT park ran by AMAZING people! We had a slight problem with our electrical cord upon our arrival, but the host didn't hesitate to help out and resolve our issue. The park is very beautiful with lots of tall shade trees. The sites are fairly level and there is plenty of grass in the common areas of the park for dogs to enjoy. Be sure to use your water pressure reducer as the water pressure in the park is very strong. The parts and accessories store inside the office has some unique, hard to find items as well as great gifts and souvenirs. Rest rooms and showers are VERY clean and well maintained. This park is close enough to the freeway but far enough away that you don't hear any noise. If you are passing through Effingham, IL on I-70 and need a place to stop, I highly recommend Camp Lakewood Campground & RV Park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
Loved this campground! The grounds are beautiful, and it is on the shores of a fishing lake (we're not into fishing, but we enjoyed the scenery). The owner was very helpful and friendly. This park is generally a "stop-over" point when traveling, but we would definitely enjoy a stay of several days here. The road leading into the park was in need of repair, as it was very bumpy (only about a quarter of a mile or so, but it gets your attention). A definite must-see park if you are in need of a resting spot when travelling. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
This is a very pleasant park with campsites in a hardwood forest, some of which overlook a small lake. The roads and driveways are coarse gravel, are reasonably level and the WI-FI is very good, There is no highway noise, just occasional train whistles in the distance several times a day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
This park has really improved over the last five years. You can see they put some money into improving it. The Wi-Fi was better than most parks that I have stayed in during the last 10 yrs of being on the road. The personnel are friendly and helpful. Our price is based on a week stay that we were here for my grandaugher's graduation and had a great time visiting with some relatives. The only bad things were the roads coming in. They were very bumpy and the RV park has gravel. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
This was our first stop of this year's travel season. The new owners seems very nice. The park still has the same excellent facilities - FHU, 70 channel cable TV, and at site Wi-Fi in a forested setting by a lake. As long as the new owners keep the park up, I am hoping to keep this as our go to first and last stop on our twice a year trips south. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$29
We stayed here for one night. The campground just changed hands but the old owner was there to help the new owners get started for the year. He walked in front of us all the way to guide us to our site which seemed to keep him in good shape too. The majority of sites are pull-through, all gravel pad & patio with decent site width and length. The campground was clean and the facilities were in very good shape. There are 10 - 11 sites that are on the lake front although set back a ways. The day we arrived the wind was blowing strong and it was a bit dusty. Because the roads and sites are all the same gravel base, it was a little confusing driving around the campground initially. There is very little vegetation around or near each site but the CG is nicely wooded and the lake is scenic. Wi-Fi and cable were good. We would come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$27
As usual, we stayed here on the first and last nights of our 5 week fall trip. We had our usual FHU, pull-through site with 70+ channel cable TV and Wi-Fi. Our site also had a new wooden deck. The park is heavily treed so satellite reception is unlikely in all, but a few sites. There is a small fishing lake with a few small craft available to rent. There is no pool, but there is playground equipment. The sites and roads are gravel. The bathrooms, showers, and laundry facilities are older but clean and well maintained. As almost all reviewers mention, the owners are friendly, helpful, and hands on in the running and maintenance of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$27
This is a well-run, very friendly, quiet park very conveniently located to restaurants and shopping. Small lake on property is an added bonus. It's big rig friendly--we were 43' plus towing a car, and had no issues getting in or out for this quick overnight stay on our way back to the west coast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$24
Beautiful park and well maintained by friendly people. Great fishing, level, clean and spacious sites close to interstate. Very nice and would stay again. If they had a pool and concrete sites I would give them a 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
Rate reflects a Good Sam discount. This was a great park, well maintained and clean, lots of trees for shade, conveniently located, and easy in/easy out. The office staff were friendly and there was an escort to the site. There was a picnic table and fire ring at each site. There was a book exchange in the office and a store that had a good selection of parts and other necessities. Although it was within a few minutes' drive of the city of Effingham, where there was a Walmart and many other stores/restaurants, the park was quiet. It was an oasis unto itself. All of the services were good, Wi-Fi worked well, but we didn't use any of their facilities. There is a lake abutting the property and the park offered a canoe and kayak for rent. We had initially planned to stay only two days, but decided to stay an additional three days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
Nice quiet park, lots of lake views, great people running the park and close to shopping. We have stayed here twice for a total of three weeks and will stay here again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
This is a good campground for an overnight stay. It is only 2 miles from I-70 and easy to find. Don't expect charm - this is a functional place. Very well-kept and clean, with level gravel pads. There is free fishing in the adjacent weedy lake. Several permanent mobile home parks are next door. There are no kids and fewer pets than usual in this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
We really like this campground. It was clean, had lots of trees and was quite scenic with a nice lake view. The owner led us to our site (#14) and spotted us perfectly so we didn't need to level our rig at all. We only stayed one night but would have stayed longer had our travel plans allowed. We will return again when in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$29
This park is a A+ for our needs. The site was level and had a lot of gravel. The Wi-Fi works very well, but no satellite because of the trees in the park. Every thing is very clean and cared for. The staff is very nice and there is a lake for your use. We stayed a week and kept busy. The town has everything you will need, and the Mid America (Corvette haven), and the Harley dealer is ten minutes away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
We planned to make this an overnight, but liked the park so well that we stayed 3 nights. The park is a good distance from the interstate, but I didn't have any problems finding it with help from GPS. Nice layout with lots of trees. My site (8) was well-graveled and level. No problems with power, water, sewer, cable, or Wi-Fi. There wasn't much grass between sites in the area we were in, but that didn't bother us much since there was a huge grassed area just across the park road from us. That area's great for dogs. Sites in the part of the park we were in are face-to-face, which might bother some. Friendly, helpful owners are on-site. All-in-all, one of our favorite parks -- we'll return. The rate shown is nightly GS. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
Very nice, stone sites. Cleanest showers we've experienced! After a long day complete with a tire blow out, it was convenient, safe and had helpful staff! Stocked camp store and lots of nearby shopping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
A very well-kept park. The owners were friendly and the husband led us to a very shady, very level pull-thru. We felt very welcomed. It's about 3 miles off the highway, but well worth it. This one goes on our "come back" list. We stayed here in a fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$24
Nice clean site. Unexpected location, but within 2 miles of Walmart. On a small lake/pond - no swimming, fishing possible. Very well kept, friendly, and quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Located in a very nice part of town, close to Walmart, restaurants, and clothing stores. Very wonderful owners, and the help was excellent. Very, very, well kept up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
We travel frequently and this is one of the nicest RV Parks where we have stayed. The owners are great, very pleasant and accommodating. The store is small but has the essentials for RV camping. Of special note, the Wi-Fi is encrypted, a nice extra touch. The sites are gravel, level and access is easy with an escort from the owner. The park is surrounded by trees with Lake views from some of the sites. It is quiet and peaceful. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$47
We stayed in a cabin that had a TV, microwave, and refrigerator. Nice place, quiet--nice staff. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Very clean, well maintained. The perfectly level, pull-through site was a welcome feature after a hard day on the road. Very homey, comfortable feel. Nice playground for the kids. Easy hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
The rate is with a Good Sam discount. Great, easy to follow directions on the campground's website allowed us to take the shortest distance entering from the south and exiting to the north off of I57. The campground was very peaceful and reminded me of a state park with the trees and lake. Several pull through sites with full hookups and lots of cable channels. Verizon air card worked here, but with the strong signal from the campground's Wi-Fi, we didn't need it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
This place was OK, but nothing as special as previous reviews indicate. The restrooms were clean, but the water wasn't hot enough to wash my hair on a cold morning, and there wasn't that much pressure in the shower either. What bothered me the most was that it seemed like many people were living there in 5th wheels. At 5 o'clock, all the pickups seemed to be rolling in from work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
A wonderful, wooded campground in central Illinois. Offering access to their own lake, one could certainly fish, boat and enjoy the outdoors. Sites are good size, offer fire rings and tables. This seems to be a great site for a summer outing with family. There is a small store with immediate needs, but you are only a couple of miles from a Walmart, and lots of restaurants. We would certainly stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
Nice park, lots of trees and close to water. Mix of dirt and gravel for roads and sites. Quiet. Easy to get to. Flying J at one exit and Pilot at the other made getting fuel easy. Rate is based on my (senior) memory. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$31
Pay attention to the directions from the Good Sam book as there are several turns that need to be completed to get to the park. The staff at the park is very friendly and helpful. The sites are level side to side but some are on an uphill grade. Some of the pull through sites had the sewer running uphill making it difficult to drain tanks.There are plenty of trees to offer shade and several of the guest were fishing, but none seemed to be having any luck. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$27
I agree with all of the positive things that have been said about this park. It is super clean. The owners are very friendly and will do anything to help you out. We will be staying here again. The weather was not that good when we where there. It would be a great place for a family get together as they have some cabins they rent out. There is a small lake around the campground and you can rent a canoe if you want. Shopping is very close. This is the best park we stayed in in our 10 days of travel home from Texas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
What a GREAT park. An oasis along the concrete hwy. The sites are a little tight but not too bad. I had no problem with the 40' motor home and 24' trailer. We'll definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$28
This is the 2nd time we've stopped here. Now that we have, we look forward to it. Good location for a quick stop when traveling and you can't beat the price. The owners/managers are extremely friendly and helpful. The park is very clean and has beautiful water views. There is plenty of Big Box Store shopping less than a mile away should you have the need. We are making plans for traveling through that area again this November and look forward to stopping at Camp Lakewood. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$28
As usual, this was the first (early Oct.) and last (early Nov.) stop of our annual fall trip. We were here the first Sat. of Nov. was the latest we have ever been here and the park was the emptiest it has ever been during any of our previous stays. With FHU pull throughs, 70 channel cable TV, at site Wi-Fi, in a nice treed (little chance of getting satellite) setting, this park has just about everything you could want in an overnight stop. There is no pool but the park has some playground equipment and a fishing lake with rental boats. A Super Walmart and numerous fast-food places are just a few minutes away by car or a 20-30 minute walk. You will pass them on your way to the park from the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$21
Nice park for an overnight or a week's stay. Quick and easy on/off Interstate. Owner escorts you to the site. Level sites, no sign of rocks placed on edge of road as stated by a previous poster. Must have been removed to give easier access. Good WiFi and Cable TV. We would stay here again. Nice clean park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$26
This was a very friendly park; a nice park which we were very impressed with. We would consider a longer stay here at a different time of year. The pull through sites were long but narrow. The roadway through the park also narrow. Watch the rocks that they use to outline the roadway and entrance and exits to sites. They cut down your turning radius and could damage a sidewall. Whoever put them in was not an RV person as no room for error was left. This park would be a 10 except for these minor issues. We did not use the showers but did check them out. They were clean but privacy was not great. A pool would make the park an 11. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
A very pleasant spot to spend a night or a few days. Most sites are under trees, some sites have a pretty view of the lake. Sites have level gravel drives that appear to be maintained regularly. Staff are very friendly and helpful and free Wi-Fi works well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
We came in for one night and stayed a week! The staff were all very supportive and friendly, the squirrels amusing, and the free (no license needed) fishing was great. Our trailer was backed up to the lake, nestled in trees, with a decent distance between camp sites. The WiFi was occasionally a bit "spotty", but in general all the services were good, and the selections at the camp store were extensive (I think I might have seen a kitchen sink in there). Just a bit off the beaten path, and perhaps that's it's charm. Well worth a return visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
Stopped here just for an overnight stay. Campground is a couple miles off the interstate and through a residential area. Office staff was friendly. Verizon air card and phones worked well. Wi-Fi was adequate. Campground was heavily wooded but office staff assists with parking and are very knowledgeable with how to get into and park on your assigned spot. There is some shade which was good because it was extremely hot while we were there so we did not check out the rest of the park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Perfect halfway point for us on the way to Branson, Missouri. Very friendly staff, quiet park. Clean and well kept. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Our Stay at Camp Lakewood was terrific! We were traveling from Ohio to KC, and stayed just one evening. The facilities are spotless, and the owners were very friendly. Close to town and the interstate. The restrooms were immaculate, and the grounds were extremely clean. A great stay. Will stay again when traveling in the area. Thank you for the hospitality! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
Just a very nice RV park in all respects. It will test your GPS however. Would stay again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
Park is situated next to a lake and within a shade tree setting. Sites are gravel but ours was very level and well maintained. Operators were very helpful with guidance to site and local direction. Great signage from I-70 for directions. This was a layover stop for us but we would not hesitate to stay longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Nice well maintained quiet park. Staff is friendly and helpful. Level heavily shaded spaces. I was at the edge of the park (#1 spot) and Wi-Fi worked fine. Bathrooms, showers, and laundry were all clean and in good repair. A little disconcerting the first time to drive through a mobile home park but Camp Lakewood is behind the mobile homes next to a nice lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26
Loved the park. Planned to stay one day and ended up staying 4 days because we loved it so much. I only rated them down because making the reservation was very difficult. Lady was not helpful or friendly on the phone. Office does not open until 12:00pm! No early check-in's unless you want to pay extra for the hour you are early. Almost didn't even go to the park but it was in the right area we needed for our travels. When we arrived it was entirely different. Very friendly and helpful. Clean, large areas, shaded and beautiful. A river runs very close to the campground so a peaceful place to read a book. I would recommend it if you can get some help making your reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
As usual, this was the first and last stop (Memorial Day weekend) of our annual May trip south to MS and LA. To be quite repetitious, this is a good park with FHU, free WiFi, and 60+ channel cable TV. Lots of trees so you probably won't get satellite reception except for a couple sites. Lots of travelers during the week and numerous locals come for the weekends. They also do some "group" business. The park is on a small lake and they have a few small boats for rent and a launch site if you have your own boat. Wonderful and helpful owners. The mile or so of roads (from where you turn just past the Wal-Mart) is not as bad as some recent reviewers have indicated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
Nice park, great management. Very neat and clean. Very scenic. My only problem was getting to the park. You have to go down a number of narrow, poorly maintained city streets to get here. But, it's worth it. Discount to all military. Crushed gravel streets and sites, no concrete. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$28
Keep going, you'll get there and it will be worth it - long road in looks very residential. Wonderful people, took us directly to our site, and recommended an RV service which came to our site and fixed our problem for a VERY nominal amount. Great end to an awful first day with our first "Mini" motor home. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
Once again we stayed here at the beginning and and end of our annual October trip south. In reading any more than a handful of the reviews for this park it become obvious that almost every reviewer thinks highly of this park: from the wooded setting to the FHU sites with free 60+ channel cable TV and reliable, at site, WiFi to the park owners and staff. This is about as good as a overnight RV park/campground gets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$27
This park has trees and more trees. We landed here when the leaves were falling. The semi-level sites are gravel and narrow. The staff is great and the small lake was beautiful. No satellite where we were , but cable works. We would like to return in the summer and check on the over hanging tree situation. If they trim the trees, this would be a good place for a week or so. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
What a great park!! Arrive early as the park filled fast. By 8 PM there were no sites available on a Saturday night. This is a family campground and there were campers there with their children. The restrooms and showers were spotless. Cable TV and Wi-Fi great. Pull-thru gravel sites well maintained. Close to the Interstate but no noise. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
We were pleasantly surprised to find this site on the spur of the moment. We had a nice water view from our camp site. This was our first time camping with a new travel trailer and there were no pull through sites available when we arrived. It wasn't necessary as we found because a staff person guided my husband parking the trailer and it was easily done. We only stayed one night, but wish we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
Found this with GPS for an overnighter--what a pleasant surprise. Great park, easy to get to, very quiet. Excellent for overnight or much longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
Very nice park with friendly staff. The park was very busy and we were shown to our site. However, we were shown through a deep dip that broke our trailer power jack. Park is clean, WiFI and cable TV work as advertised. Even had free popcorn at checkin. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
Very friendly staff. Excellent guidance to site - most appreciated. Many private sites. Ours was big rig pull through accommodating a 40 ft fifth-wheel with no problem. Very clean. Water on three sides. Quiet park. Gravel sites but level were one of the reasons it didn't get a higher rating. This is becoming a routine stop for us. If you want a nice place to eat try the Firefly Grill - great food and atmosphere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
The park was really nice with lots of shade. They have the cleanest shower house we have ever seen. Laundry facility was nice as well. Owner's were very friendly. The only thing missing here was a swimming pool. Great location right off the interstate and close to restaurants. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
This was a well maintained park. There was a playground if you have children. The owner was very friendly and showed us to our spot. There is a lake beside the park, but fishing would have been difficult because of all the pond scum close to shore. That's not a problem with the park, as we enjoyed it and would definitely stop there again if we were in the area. The sites are tree covered, so do not expect to use your satellite. Their cable TV made up for that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
We stay here quite often. We like this campground. It is clean and the owners are very friendly. The campground seems very well maintained and very clean. The only downfall is that our satellite system doesn't work well here because of all the trees, but they do have cable to compensate that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
We stopped here for an overnight. It is close to the highway. The facilities were very clean. We pulled in late and the owner came out to help us find our site and park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
A beautiful well maintained campground. Staff friendly & helpful. They walk you to your site. All hook ups are in the right place & easy to hook up. Stayed 3 days & will stay again if we are in the area. We have a 38ft MH towing & it was no problem getting in & out. Wal-Mart & many restaurants nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
Very nice park for the price. Staff was very helpful. Tents are allowed and have 20 amp electric service, but there are only 3 or 4 sites for tents. They have a nice, fully enclosed club house / rally room. Some pull throughs exceed 60 feet. Trees block satellite service on some sites but they have cable TV. Datacard service equals 4 bars and EVDO-A. If arriving after dark, watch for the signs. Ignore the mobile home park on the left. Continue on to the campground sign and then turn left. When you get to the sign you will see the road. I mention this because when you turn west a sign says "Dead End". Not really, if you miss the turn you can circle through a mobile home park on the right. Mobile homes in the area are nice. There is a Wal-Mart and shopping area nearby. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
They walk in front of you to guide you to the proper site and then help to make sure you are set up to your satisfaction! Clean, level sites were a bit close together, but not too bad. We only stayed for one night as we were passing through, but we will use this campground again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
The check-in was friendly and efficient with the owner escorting us to our site by walking us there! Nice touch! The park is shaded by mature trees with graveled, level sites. Each site had a firepit and picnic table. We were there only for an overnight and could have stayed longer! We will definitely return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
Pleasant, friendly park, with all sites shaded by mature trees. All sites have level gravel pads and most have gravel between sites. WiFi is very good. There is no road noise, sometimes distant train noise. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
Very nice park. Owners take great pride in their park and it shows. Other park owners would do well to spend a few nights here and see how a small park should be operated. This is one of the few parks meeting "AAA" standards. We look forward to our next stay at this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
Well run park, it's very convenient to the Interstate and Wal-Mart with diesel, but far enough away to be quiet. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
A very nice and nicely run park. Has lots of lovely trees, nicely spaced to give good shade yet good access to parking. Good feeling in general about this park. Has nice water views. Two week limit on stay, keeps rigs nice with no permanents. Highly rated and recommended. Very good value. Has very friendly and caring owners. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
This is a perfect park for overnight or a few days. Great host, quiet, very clean bathhouse, easy in and out for the largest rigs. Easy access to Wall-Mart. We stayed 3 days and everyone we talked to agreed this was a great RV park. Just off the highway but VERY quiet. The host are active and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It was a nice, quiet park, and the owner was extremely friendly. We were able to cook our dinner and s'mores over the camp fire, and our site had everything we needed. The cable and Wi-Fi worked great. The other people camping in the park were very friendly as well. We will definitely stay here again whenever we are in the area! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
This place is a real gem, super quiet and peaceful. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Other campers were very vocal in their praise for the place. My only negative comment is with respect to the sites, which required us to do some jockeying to fit in and to get level. We will make it a point to stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
Very nice park. Right off the interstate and well identified directions. The park is closed for the winter from 16 Dec to 1 Feb. We came in during a freezing cold spell and the owners were very helpful and friendly, guiding us to our site and answering any questions we had on the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
This was a wonderful place to stay. Owners are very accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
As has often been the case over the past 15 years, this was our last RV stop of the year. As indicated by most of the previous reviews, this is a great overnight stop near the I70/55 junction. Excellent facilities (FHU, cable, and Wi-Fi) with fairly level, adequate size gravel sites in an unpaved park in a forest setting on the edge of a small fishing lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$26
This is a great park. The owners are very nice and helpful. The sites were level, the restrooms were excellent. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
This is a small and family owned campground. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. We were escorted to our site. This is an older campground with lots of trees and is very dark at night. Roads and sites are level with gravel. They provide free hot popcorn on weekends. It costs $1.00 to do a load of wash and $.50 to dry. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
We camped here on our way home from a 3 1/2 week trip. We always stay here on the return from the south or east part of the USA. Owner and his wife are always so cordial and the camp is so well maintained: we suggest anyone needing to stay in this part of Illinois should make this their "go to" campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
We were late getting in because of a flat tire. We called to let them know, and they stayed open to show us to our site. Wi-Fi and cable TV both worked very well. Laundry room was spotless, and even included an iron (with distilled water) and ironing board. Very friendly people in the office. It's little confusing to come to, the first time in the dark, but it's close to stores and restaurants. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
Beautiful campground and friendly hosts. Satellite is about useless everywhere because of the great trees. This place is well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
This is a great overnight campground. The sites are clean and the overall maintenance of the campground was excellent. The cable TV was good and the picture was clear and sharp. The overnight Good Sam price is reasonable. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
This was a nice campground. We were given the site right next to the office since we specifically requested satellite TV from our dome. This site was too tight to get out our awning, and we could barely walk between the slide and the bush on the passenger side. We considered ourselves lucky to have satellite. Road beyond park has a low branch. Campground roads and sites are gravel. Staff was very nice. I'm personally a little suspicious of the number of reviews for this park: especially first time and second time reviewers. (And I have reviewed and read lots of them). Located close to interstate, restaurants and shopping. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
We used this campground as a quick overnight stop and were extremely pleased. Although there is really not much to do here, it is very well maintained. The playground was absolutely wonderful: clean and like new. The bathrooms and showers were spotless. If you are stopping for recreation or business in Effingham, or just need an overnight stop, I would highly recommend this campground. Another bonus, it's only 2 miles off the highway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Nice shady campground. Sites are gravel and level. Sites have campfire ring and picnic tables. Price if good. Rated a nine because it doesn't have a pool. If it did, it would definitely be a ten. Will return on our next trip to Denver. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
We paid the Good Sam discount rate for full hookups. This a small and exceptionally neat RV park. Staff are cheerful. Virtually all sites are shaded by large, mature trees, and the size of the sites varies. We noted that site assignments were carefully made to reflect the size (and presence or absence of slides) of each RV. Virtually the entire park are is graveled, and contrasting colors of gravel are used to define the road and site areas. Fishing (without license) is available in the lake at the edge of the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
Excellent deal at $26 with Good Sam card. Good cable TV and WiFi systems. Far enough from the interstate to be very peaceful. Helpful and friendly staff. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
What a pleasant surprise, we loved this park. It is so quiet and the people were so friendly. A friend recommended this park and we are recommending it as well. Cable and Wi-Fi worked great. Lots of shade and pull-thrus... It's worth a second trip back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
We called ahead and reserved a site here for one night on our way out west. The folks were very nice. We got site number 8 which was a pull through and very level. It was also next to the playground which was great for the kids. The bathrooms were really clean. We would stay here for an overnight again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
We have stayed here three times this year. We think this is one of the best campgrounds around. The owners are very accommodating and take you right to the campsite. We would recommend this to anyone. we will stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
This is an excellent park. We paid for the week so we could explore the area and had a nice shaded site, great cable and Wi-Fi. Park was clean, quiet, friendly with nice sized spaces. We decided to leave one day early simply because we through exploring and as we were getting ready the owner checked to see if anything was wrong. We assured him we would be back if we traveled this area again. Great park, we had plenty of room to maneuver. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
This is an older park but well keep and great attitude from the owners. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
This was the nicest park we have ever stayed in. It was very neat and clean, and well laid out. Every site was shady. We were on our way to northern Indiana to a family reunion and we like the place so well, we stayed here on our way back. I would recommend this park to anyone. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
This is a great place to stay. We would definitely return. The owner was very nice. We had to get a crack repaired in our windshield, and he let us stay 3 or more hours beyond check out to get it done. The camp is also very pet friendly. We took 2 dogs with us. The camp is very clean and very quiet at night so sleeping is great. Thank you for a great stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
Another great stay at one of my favorite stopovers. Love the lake, love the shade, the office staff is great. I just wish there was more grass (rocks are hard on my little dog's feet). Just a great place to stay and relax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
This campground is clean, neat, and well-cared for. It is almost fully treed-in and has a beautiful high canopy of hardwoods that provide shade throughout. There is zero mud! Clean gravel walkways and driveways, as well as some grassy areas provide a nice tidy feel to the place. The bathrooms are always sparkling clean. There are many shady lake-view lots. Nearby is a Wal-Mart Super Center and many other places to shop and eat. Despite their convenient location close to the interstate, the songs of birds are louder than any faint traffic sounds you might hear. We'll be staying here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
Very nice, clean CG. Office staff was courteous and showed us to our site. Hard to believe but this CG's Wi-Fi was awesome. Will definitely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
This is a well maintained park nothing has been over looked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Good Sam rate. Nice park, well laid out and worth the drive from I-70/I-55. Friendly staff, large sites, lots of trees but well trimmed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
I had read the previous rave reviews and booked into this campsite for Memorial Day weekend. We were disappointed and feel that it is overrated. We were very close to the trailer next to us, in fact our picnic tables were directly adjoining. I will say that the restrooms and showers were spotlessly clean and there is a nice little playground. We just felt too cramped. Campers like us with young children should be aware that there is a very steep bank down to the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
As usual, we stayed here on the first and last night of our annual May trip. This continues to be an excellent overnight park with very good hook-ups, cable, and Wi-Fi. The owners are as accommodating and friendly as any I have encountered in my years of traveling by RV. The facilities are only a "7", but they make it a "9". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$26
Beautiful RV park. Lots of trees. Clean laundry facility. My husband was impressed with the water and sewer hook ups. He said they were all in line with the motor home. We will stop there again when in Illinois. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Clean and quiet. Large level sites. Lots of tall shade trees.Restrooms cleanest I have seen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
Absolutely delightful place to stay! The owners are very helpful. The sites are level. It is very scenic. Facilities are clean and modern. Yummy meals can be delivered to your site from a local restaurant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$28
Nice quiet secluded park. Gravel lots. Some spots muddy. Very friendly personnel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$28
When we first arrived the owners check us in quickly and they took us right to our campsite and guided us in perfectly. It was a level site with a deck which overlooked the lake. The campground was very clean. The owners were very friendly and make you feel welcome. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$24
The road into the park was uneven and a little narrow for larger rigs, but if you go slow it's ok. The park's mamagement met us as we pulled in and directed us to our site. The park is wooded so no satellite TV, but they have over 100 cable channels. The park sites are gravel but level. The park is clean and quiet. We stayed for 4 nights and will come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
This was a delightful find. We are traveling from New Mexico to New York and needed a place to stay for the night other than Flying J or Wal*Mart. Hence, I didn't do my usual research. Fittingly, we ended up at a park better than most I have researched. The grounds are clean and the area is very pretty. The manager/owners are terrific. We would definitely stay here again. We are in a 40' motor home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$25
This is an excellent little park. The owners manage the park, live on the premises and pay personal attention to parking the rigs and making one feel welcome. I would recommend this park for short as well as longer stays. I will definitely return when back in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
This is a very clean and friendly campground. Playground for the kids. Lake Pauline fishing without leaving campground. Restrooms, showers, and Laundry spotless. Small store. Roomy and a very nice place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
Very friendly, accommodating owners. Tree-shaded sites. Sites are level and easy to get into; trees are not a problem. Plenty of space between sites. Clean campground. Well away from highway noise. Bathrooms and showers are among the cleanest we've seen anywhere. A very good deal for the price. We highly recommend this RV park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
Very nice wooded campground with a lake as a scenic attraction. It is located close to shopping, entertainment, and restaurants. A bit difficult to find without a map. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Wonderful!! We had a great experience here. Owners escort you to your site, very helpful. The sites are rocked and very level. Our site had a deck which we really enjoyed. $28 full hookup with $3 discount for Good Sams Club. Stayed four nights and these were the cleanest bath house I have ever seen. Free coffee Monday - Friday morning. Very nice view of Lake Pauline. We will return!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
This is a very nice quiet and shaded park. It was well worth the two mile drive from I-70. Our site, like most, was level. The owners were friendly and helpful and escorted us to our site. We had trouble accessing the Wi-Fi and the owner spent quite some time reconfiguring my new laptop so that I was able to use their service. We would certainly come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
Manager was very friendly and helpful. A very clean park. We only stayed one night on road trip, but it could be a good family weekend place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This is a very nice park. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the sites were easy to access even for big rigs. The interior roads are gravel but in very good condition and the sites are large and level. Access from the highway is easy and the pull throughs are long, making this an excellent place to stop when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
We stayed here for the umpteenth time at the beginning and end of our annual spring trip south. This continues to be a great overnight park. I just want to remind folks reading these positive reviews that you are not going to get paved roads and cement pads here, and the forest setting means little grass and will limit your satellite reception. For the first time we did have a negative experience here. We arrived on Saturday afternoon of Memorial Day weekend and were given our usual site. Unfortunately, we were downwind of a neighboring site with a smoky fire already going at 2PM on a beautiful 75 degree day. We had to close all our windows and vents and were unable to eat outside as planned. There were many periods during the rest of the day when the fire was unattended. The fire was still spewing smoke past 10PM. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Nice overnight stop. Owner very helpful. Ask for restaurant recommendation, you won't be disappointed. Close to Super Wal-Mart and many other stores and restaurants. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Very nice, quiet, clean and secluded park about 2.5 miles northeast of town. The couple that runs the place couldn't be nicer. The sites are hard packed gravel and have picnic tables and fire rings. some sites have a view of the small private lake that's on the property. The cable-TV has about 60 channels and the Wi-Fi covers the entire park with a good signal inside our motorhome. We only stayed here for 2-nights and will be back. There's not much to 'do' in Effingham but this park is perfect for a weekend get-a-way or longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
This is one of my favorite stops in southern Illinois. The friendly and helpful staff, nice shaded level campsites, modern clean well stocked showers and rest rooms and a fishing lake. What more could you ask for? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$27
This campground is an overnight stay for us. Managers live onsite and are very friendly and helpful. They have a small store and computer hookup in the office if you need to use the internet. Very quiet and peaceful area. It is tucked out of the way, beside a small lake. There is no swimming in this lake. Lots of squirrels. Wal-mart is close by and has diesel pumps. Big shopping center surrounds the Wal-mart. Lots of choices for restaurants. We are usually too tired to venture out of the campground. Laundry room is sparkling and so are the showers and restroom. We always like to stay here on our way south to Arizona. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
Great place for an overnight or a longer stay if you are in the area. Very friendly and helpful staff. Many nice long pull-through sites. A nice lake to fish without a license and very close to lots of shopping and restaurants. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
This is a perfect overnight stop. Easy pull through sites, nice country setting. Clean and neat. Fairly quiet. Owners are really nice. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
As an overnighter, this campground gets very high marks. It is conveniently located for RVers heading north or south via Illinois. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Our site was dead level with full-hookups, cable and hi-speed wi-fi. The washrooms were spotless and the price was quite reasonable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2007
$27
Very nice park . Nice owner. Coming from the north get off on exit 162. Easy to find. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$27
This is a great park. It is a little complicated to get back to the campground but you are paid back with peace and quiet. NO ROAD NOISE. Very restful setting on a small lake with lots of big trees. We could easily spend a week here. Our site was gravel and very level. Cable TV with lots of channels and free WIFI that works much better than any we have paid for. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$27
Great campground. Quiet and peaceful. The new owner/managers are really friendly and go out of their way to make your visit a great camping experience. If you are in this area, stop and stay a night or two. It is one of the best campgrounds we stayed at during our 5 week trip to the southwest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
This is hard to find so follow the instructions carefully. Wooded CG with the entire floor of the woods rocked in. Hard to determine where your site ends and the next one begins. They went with you to park so you are located within your site. Clean bath house! Did I mention the clean bathroom? Nice laundry facility. Friendly people. Wish it would have had some grass and wider sites and it would have been a 9. Wifi worked well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$32
This place was nice. It has new owners who seem to care about their guests. They escorted us to our site, which made it easy to navigate through the tall trees. There is a lake on site. We stayed here one night passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
Was a little disappointed in being charged for a full night's stay when I parked there during the day for 8 hours. But I guess everyone has to make a living. Roads in are ok, but a bit narrow, park is adjacent to a large mobile home development, but all in all, it seems ok. Would stay here overnight, would not plan a trip around this place. Good location at junction of I-57 and I-70, with plenty of services nearby We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
$27.50 less Good Sam discount was $24.75 a night for an all inclusive (taxes too) 5-way hookup. No add ons for 50amp, pull thru, cable tv or wi-fi. Just a nice all inclusive flat rate. Great owners, we came in with no reservation and they took plenty of time to find a way to get us in as we were looking to spend the weekend, Thursday - Sunday. We ended up in one of the nicest sites, #69. It was the last one in the area across from the office and next to the water. So we had no one on our door side, just a large grass area and then the lake. A word of caution is to call ahead first, this is a busy place with rigs coming and going. It must be in one of the big rig guides because of the large number of big diesel pushers coming in. Plus it is where I-70 & I-57 are combined. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$23
We had a rally with 17 Doubletree Suites 5th wheel owners. There was even a site for a 38 foot unit and a 34 foot tow vehicle combo. We had a great time and enjoyed the use of the clubhouse for our activities. The owners are well on their way to a 4 star operation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
Very nice campground with plenty of large shade trees. They have cable TV and free WiFi throughout the park. The sites and roads are a tightly packed gravel, and very level for the most part. Shopping and places to eat are within a mile of the park, yet road noise is almost non existent. The owners are very friendly and extremely helpful. They lead you to your site and make sure your happy. I would suggest if your in the area that this RV park would be well worth visiting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
We have been here more than once and always enjoy our stay. The new owners are providing the same quality service and amenities that we had enjoyed on previous visits. Host went the extra mile to solve a Wi-Fi problem for us. The park is quiet and has a great view of Lake Pauline. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
On the back streets behind Walmart. Pleasant stop off We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$26
The high ratings this campground gets are a testament to the friendly and attentive staff. The downside is that the only thing that the campground has going for it is the intersection of two Interstate highways. There are not really any attractions in the area. Those attractions to be found out on the periphery are well enough serviced by their own local campgrounds. We were delayed arriving at this planned stop because of a severe weather front and the traffic blockages left in its wake. When we finally got to the campground, it was dark and raining moderately. The manager was just leaving the office for the night but spotted us arriving and reopened for us. The total for our full hookup site was $27.50 but the manager gave us a discount of $1.50 - - not because we were entitled to any established offer but just because he was trying to be nice! I would have been happy if he had let us find the site ourselves but he took off on foot in the pouring rain to guide us. The friendliness and attentiveness of the staff member restored my optimism, which had been faltering up to the point of our arrival and due to the stresses of the day. The campground is in a hardwood forest and borders a lake. The facilities are a bit outdated in appearance but the maintenance level seemed to be high. The indoor areas seemed to be perfectly clean despite the bad weather outside. During the trip, one of our RV seat covers got wet because of the bad weather. I went to the campground laundry to use a dyer. The room and the equipment were clean and well maintained. The dryers were bargain at twenty-five cents for about a half-hour of drying time. The accessibility for big rigs is average. Conforming to the woodsy terrain, the road network is unpredictable in its meanderings and seasoned with the odd obstacle. You might also find the access road to be a little rough. I think the previous scores for this campground are inflated, considering what is there, but the campground has serviceable facilities and a staff with a great attitude. All of which is delivered at a fair price. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this campground and I look forward to staying there again in the future. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
Real helpful owners who work hard to please. Entrance route is somewhat difficult with a big rig but with care there are no problems. Call first and get better directions than the ones in the campground guides. Excellent tv service with many channels and very good reception. Good mid Illinois overnight campground, quiet at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
One of the best values we have experienced. only negative is you need to be close to main building for WiFi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
We spent 4 nights here at the beginning of our trip, and one night at the end. In the period between our visits, the owner has vastly improved the WiFi service, and has plans to further improve it by purchasing an antenna. The campground is very pretty, and the owners are very pleasant and helpful. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$29
We have camped at this park for many years, and it just seems to get better. There are new owners, and their enthusiasm and happiness with their work are contagious. The Park is as clean as any we have encountered. The rest rooms and showers are spotless. We couldn't give it a better review. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
This is an extremely well kept campground with spacious, level, well shaded sites. The park owner/operators were pleasant and helpful. The 70-channel cable TV hookup at each site is free. We paid the Good Sam discount rate for full hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
Great little park, close to I-57. We stayed one night and were very impressed. Very clean, very quiet and our best one night stop so far. We had a large pull through with plenty of room under a nice canopy of trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
We were greeted by very welcoming managers. They put us in a site that met our needs for no trees blocking our tv satellite as well as the length to accommodate our motor home with the 25' trailer that we pull. Clean laundry room. This is a lovely campground on a lake with lots of shade trees and we would stay here again if we are in the neighborhood. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
Stopped here in late April headed south and again in early June on the way back home. For those of you who have been enjoying this excellent overnight park in recent years - Surprise - new owners. They seem friendly and, as long as they continue their predecessors commitment to customer service and maintenance, you won't find a better overnight park within 100 miles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
We have been here before and it is now even nicer! Showers and restrooms were spotless. Camp host's are very nice folks to deal with. It is so peaceful and restful here. The owners actually like what they are doing and it shows. We also saw the owner order a car full of non-campers off the property when they were driving recklessly!! We will absolutely stop here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
We stumbled on this place on the way back from Arkansas. Our GPS listed it as a campground possibility and we were not disappointed. The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful, and escorted us to our pull-through site. This is a terrific overnight stopover traveling up I-57. We did not use the shower/restroom facilities, but judging from the condition and maintenance of the park I would suspect they are as described in earlier posts. We will definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$34
Excellent CG. Good people running it will bend over backwards to help you out. Quiet & clean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$26
Friendly and helpful staff took us to our site and helped us get parked. The sites are good sized and provided us with a nice view of the lake. Interior roads are gravel but seem well maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$26
I have been stopping at this park four times a year on my way to and from Louisiana every May and October for years. While I agree with the superlatives in many of the previous reviews, this is ONLY an overnight campground. There are no recreational facilities, paved roads, or cement pads. If it had those, it would be an RV resort and deserve a 10. The free WIFI is only available in or near the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$26
Very nice campground in wooded setting. Close to the Hwy for overnight (2 miles). Owners are extremely nice people. Show you to the site and direct you in. FREE WIFI. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
Very nice park. Owners were very helpful and informative. Close to shopping, restaurants, and side trips. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$22
The first thing I want to comment on is the restroom and shower facilities. They are spacious and the word "immaculate" does not begin to describe how clean they were. Next, most overnighters are put in large pull-thrus making it unnecessary to unhook . The owner takes you to the spot and offers to help you level if you need help. We will go back in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$28
Great park, with very friendly people working hard to make you feel welcome and handle any needs you may have. One and only draw back is the trees, which are all big beautiful and offer plenty of shade but also give off lots of droppings including acorns that would drop on the roof all day and night. Had to clean the top of the slides before leaving due to the many acorns. Other than that it is one of the best campgrounds we have staying in and worth putting up with the trees. Do not plan to use a satellite dish in this park. We will go back anytime we are in that area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
Very nice campground. No swimming pool. Close to Super Walmart and Interstate 70. Cable TV with 68 Channels is available. Owners are extremely friendly and helpful. Great one night stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$23
I have stayed overnight at this campground twice in successive years. Now I plan my excursion so that a stay at Camp Lakewood is part of the trip. The campground is well kept, very organized, the management is friendly and helpful, and the campground scenery is restful. I particularly like campgrounds where the management shows the camper to his/her site and helps to hook up. All the sites are on pebble-stones so there is very little mess in the event of rainstorms. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
A most pleasant stop along hwy 59 - we stayed one night and were so comfortable - owners/staff just super - park is clean, laundry clean, shopping close, very quiet. This is a small park with big service to any type Rver. They are east of St. Louis and if you are in the area they are a must stop for a restful stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
Greatplace. Super clean, nice, and shady. Owners were very helpful in getting us set up. I wish I could have stayed longer. Good fishing lakes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
We found this campground very easily, just look for the signs. The roads to it are very unlevel. The owners are very friendly (live on site) and took us to our site and showed us all hook ups, wished us a pleasant stay and thanked us for camping with them! When they say super super clean restrooms they are 100%plus. I have never visited a private campground that had such super clean restrooms. It is a well kept park. They have a nice new building where you can meet if you are traveling in a large group. We got a corner site which was fairly nice sized. They do have some sites that are small as in alot of CG's. We paid $22.00 b/c of our Good Sams discount. They also have a nice store and sell cable wire, reasonable priced. You get cable included with your site. They also have a play park for the children. This is a nice quiet park. We were very happy that we stayed here and will do again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$18
The only reason they did not get a 10 was because of how hard it is to get to the park. If you are arriving at night, the owners will help you and wait for you and they live on site. The roads into the park are narrow and residential and a little tight at night. Once there, it is a very nice stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$18
The park staff was very friendly. The office was supposed to close at 8 pm, but I called them to tell them I would be about 8:30, and they stayed there and waited for me. There was not a lot of grass in the park. The sites are gravel, and quite level. Many, many trees throughout. The $18 (Good Sam discount) per night included full hookups with cable tv. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$19
Very nice campground. Owners were there and were extremely pleasent. Very quite. We will go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$18
Great location I-70 and I-57. Very friendly people, large and level sites. Large shade trees on entire park. We stayed by chance on our way out, but stayed by choice on return trip. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2000
$18
Nice easy pull thrus handling 40' 5th with toter. Behind shopping center - follow directions and signage carefully. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com