214264 User submitted reviews online!!
Winnipeg West KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (204) 864-2201
CGID10023

Winnipeg West KOA

Camp Information
Sites
95
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   5   9   7   4   9   4   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
This is a nice campground on the bend of the river. Good access to the park and the level sites. Very friendly staff. We were booked in for 5 days but a flood watch moved us out early. Staff were very friendly and helpful about the whole situation. We would definitely stay again if we are in the area We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$36
We have stayed here before and the campground is in a well shaded low spot in a bend on the Assiniboine River. They say they open April 15th but that is weather dependant and in the past they have not been ready if the weather is cold (as it was this year) so we telephoned. The owner was his usual cheerful pleasant honest self. Water was not working yet but we could fill our tank at a tap outside his home. Internet was not functioning properly but the cable guy was due Friday (the day we left) and we could go on line at the coffee shop in the office. The campground office also holds a gas station and small grocery store. He gave us a discount. Water was on by the next day and internet was fixed during the morning while we packed up. The place is a sweeping parklike setting right on the river with a very pretty view. The river was high and flooding with a whirlpool at the bend so this is not a place for unwatched toddlers and disobedient dogs who like to swim. Half the park is for tenting and half for rigs. Sites are very nice, Back-ins are shorter and cheaper. Pull throughs are long and wide for the biggest rigs. There is an on site caretaker who lives there. Very convenient right off the #1 highway. That was the only issue. There is a bridge over the river at one end of the campground and the big trucks downshift and go over the bridge with a roar and a deep thumping bang. Road noise is an issue. Sites closer to the office and river are quieter. The pool and splash pad and children's playground is new and the park had undergone some major upgrades since we were last here. Showers are coin operated and only two machines in the laundry. Great place to pull in for an overnight and we will again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Rate includes tax and value card discount. Nice long and wide site that was reasonably level. Strong Wi-Fi and received several digital channels over air. Site services were acceptable with only negative being damaged sewer cap. Attention to lawn mowing would make campground look better. Some road noise, but not out of the ordinary. If instead of your own facilities you rely on the washrooms and showers a little walk, but not out of the way. Discount on fuel for campers. No reason not to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
I had to set aside my refusal to stay at KOA's as this was the only thing available in the area. You check in at the gas station. I had a pull through site with 30 amp service. The pull through was pretty long! Sites are all white gravel. Gravel was so white that when I looked out the window after taking a nap, I thought it had snowed! Temporary insanity. There is some grass between the sites, with adequate spacing. My site was rather level, didn't take much for my stabilizers to get it. I saw an elderly couple use the pool, so I'm guessing the pool temperature was acceptable. Surprised the pool was still open, but it was rather warm today. No cable. My JACK antenna picked up seven Canadian channels, but two of the channels were duplications, so basically five channels. I had trouble connecting to the WiFi from Site 28. But after I walked to the gas station and asked for help, my laptop stayed connected, no problem. Depending on where you are in the park, you get a selection of three WiFi networks of which two require passwords and the third is a "free" access. If you don't have satellite or don't like what is offered on Canadian TV, there is a Country Store about a mile away that sells a wide selection of used DVD's. KOA's are rather pricey and this was cheap for a KOA. (On the other hand, I can't wait to see what the Canada to US currency translation on my credit card ends up being.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Lovely campsites, well treed, close to the river. The owners have done many upgrades and have put in a swimming pool, new laundry facilities. They are very friendly and accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We decided to upgrade to a larger pull-through with the hope that the additional separation from the river might reduce the mosquito attacks (it did not help). The site gets a fair bit of road noise but it did not bother us. We spent two nights. It is about 30 minutes to get downtown so day trips as tourists need to be planned to make them efficient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Narrow roads, very tight entry to sites, but other than that, OK. We had a marginal satellite connection, but most sites probably don't have a view of the southern sky. It looks like the electric and water was recently upgraded. They do offer a 1 cent per litre fuel discount, but the Flying J, just ten KM closer to Winnipeg is much cheaper. We probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$31
Absolutely gorgeous campground, treed, abundant wildlife, huge spots (we could fit another rig easily between us and the next camper), and we have a nice view of the Assiniboine River which is nice for canoeing and small watercraft. The campground is undergoing a major renovation/expansion including addition of upgraded electrical sites which are nearly finished. The exceptionally friendly and welcoming owner was very proud of this expansion and he also told me they hope to have free Wifi throughout the camp very soon. Meantime you can access internet from the main office/cafe as they have a good hot spot. It is a ten minutes drive into Winnipeg and major stores and an RV repair shop, propane fill, and wash place for big rigs and RVs within a five minute drive. The only thing I don't like is it is close to the major highway in Manitoba and the traffic noise is incessant even though muffled somewhat by being down low and well off the highway. Campers get a discount on gas or one cent a liter on the posted price and the posted gas is one cent/liter cheaper than the city prices for everyone else. The owner does sell propane but only on the exchange program. The drive through sites in the new area are really large and likely could accommodate big rigs. This place is a bit more expensive than others in the area but I think worth it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
This park cost us $32.55 Canadian or $28.84 US. We had a big rig with three slides and the site we were put in was pretty narrow. The branches of the adjacent trees were on the roof and both sides of the motorhome. The sites were plenty long but there is a drainage ditch that we were instructed to straddle with our wheels. This park is just barely adequate as an overnight stop. We will probably not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Nice location beside Assiniboine River. Pull-through sites are very spacious. Lots of grass and trees. Hook-ups are well placed. Staff very helpful and friendly. We stayed for a week. The mosquitos were a little thick, but it is along a river in Manitoba, and they were doing some fogging. The noise from the Trans-Canada Highway may disturb some. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
This camp is right by the #1 highway about 10 kilometers from Winnipeg. It is well treed. There are no showers. The office is at the Esso Station "C" store. The WiFi only works in the coffee shop (not a restaurant). They did have it working in the park but it has failed and they do not know how to fix it. I chose it based on its location. There are 35 RV sites and 35 tent sites. There are just 19 30-amp sites. Even with the campground practically empty there are issues with power fluctuation. Fortunately it is cold tonight (3 C) so I am able to mask the highway noise by using the heat strip in my air conditioner. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com