218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Burnidge & Paul Wolff Forest Preserve was rated 8 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (630) 232-5980
CGID1003

Burnidge & Paul Wolff Forest Preserve

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   10   10   9   10   8   5   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
Very attractive park: lots of space between sites which are paved, long and level. Friendly staff. Shared water sources make for long water hose hook ups for some sites. Easy access from I-90. Lots of grass and trees. Two dump sites. Very enjoyable setting for a brief get away or a spot to tour the Chicago area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
We recently stayed here and it is a beautiful place. Spacious sites, very well maintained, and staff always around. We had a site backed up to the forest preserve, open area, and it was so relaxing! So quiet and very friendly atmosphere. Loved our visit there and definitely will be returning again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
Very large sites. We stayed for 5 days in a back-in site. Lots of trees but no problem getting our satellite. Very well groomed park. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
We love this park. The sites are spacious and open. It is the only park anywhere around the Elgin area. There are no reservations taken and a 14 day maximum stay within a 21 day period. There is no sewer hook up, but there are 2 dump stations. There are restrooms, but no showers. There are 5 equestrian camp sites. Satellite and antenna signal are easily picked up. The campground gets busy starting on Thursday for the weekend, but clears out again on Monday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
This is a great park with spacious sites. Plus it is one of the cleanest, most well-maintained public parks we've seen. Clean restroom, but no showers. Not all sites have water and those that do may take at least a 50' hose to connect. They do not take reservations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
This is the nicest park in the Chicagoland area. We stay here yearly visiting the city, relatives, and friends. The camp host is the best. The county takes super good care of the park. The restrooms are spotless. The sites are large. Bring an extension hose, a "Y", and water filter (high iron content). It is hard to find good accommodations in large metro areas. We are always so appreciative of the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$10
A nice camp ground outside of Chicago. Easy access from the tollway. The tent sites are either in the woods or in the open. We stayed in the woods. Beware of poison ivy. Plenty of hiking trails and nicely marked. Not much for the kids here. There really isn't a playground, just a climbing wall. No flush toilets but the bathrooms were clean and modern. Cheap firewood and 24 hour security. Its a nice place to test your camping equipment or for a quick get away; after a day you did all it has to offer. Bring games and activities for the kids. All the trailer camp sites are in the open, so bring a canopy. Walmart down the road for food and ice. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Nice level sites, shade if you want it, easy access, clean restrooms. So why am I giving it a 5? NO SHOWERS! With the lack of campgrounds anywhere close to the city of Chicago, this place would boom... and be a 8 or 9 if they would just build some public showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Love this campground! It is truly a gem! Quiet, feels like the "country" but close to everything in the Chicago area. It is always well-maintained, nice paved parking pads. We will stay here again when in the Chicago area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
I'd give it a 9 if they had sewer connections. Hosts were friendly and helpful. County supervisors were also friendly and helpful. Used as a base for Chicago, but it is a long drive into the city. The Kennedy Expressway is often slow. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Huge sites without sewer hookup. Didn't find any showers on site. Beautiful layout, some sites wooded and others in open area allows easy roof-top satellite use. Wonderful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
This is the nicest, closest park to Chicago. We stayed here last year. The staff is great. The restrooms are super clean. The spaces are huge. It is convenient to all the major stores in Algonquin, plus two miles from the Randall Road exit on I-90. Close to public transit as well to get into downtown Chicago without a car. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
Beautiful Kane County park with maximum stay of two weeks. Sites and roads are asphalt with some primitive grass sites for tents. Nice wide sites with grass in between them and some are not very level. There are also a few long pull thru sites. Newer section has flush toilets but there are no showers apparently on the premises. The older section has more shade trees and nicer grass. There are two dump stations. Sites available on first-come, first-served basis with no reservations. It fills up with lots of activity during the weekend, but fairly quiet during the week. Lots of walking and horse trails with a small public access pond. Camp host was very nice. We will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
The Woodall's we were using said this park had 48 sites, with 8 having electricity. Completely wrong! There are 90 sites, all with 50 Amp service and water. It is a beautiful campground. A real gem. Anytime we are passing through Chicago and need a campground, this is the one we'll use. It is really terrific. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
Wonderful Kane County park. Close to the Fox River that has walking and bike paths. Also close to many small towns with quaint downtown areas. The park had 50 amp and water but not sewer. They have had a great deal of rain in the area so the mosquito's were on the attack which affected outdoor activity. There is a train system that can take you to downtown Chicago. It is the furthest stop out to the suburbs so the ride is an hour plus but still easier than driving. The camp was quiet and had easy access trails for hiking. Also has an equestrian trail and camping area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
Excellent, close-in location for Chicago (use Metra train to visit the city); even better for visiting cousin in Elgin! Nice, open sites with plenty of room to relax and not bother nearby neighbors. ONLY draw-back is not all sites have water -- so, check closely if you want water hookups; in most sites, you can reach adjacent site's water hookup with a 60' or 75' hose. We had two day's worth of water, so didn't bother; next time, we'll be more careful to select a site with adjacent water hookup. Other drawback is lack of sewer, so either conserve or bring a "blue boy" to dump if staying more than a couple days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
We stayed here while sightseeing in Chicago. We chose to drive into the city, which took us about 1-1.5 hours each way. The campground is clean and quiet with two sections. The first section is older and has mature trees. The new section has small, newly planted trees and is more open. We stayed in the new section. The sites and streets are paved, level, long and wide. There is a bathroom with flush toilets, but no showers. The water hookups are very, very far away from the sites. I have never seen a setup like these. The water has a very strong iron taste and smell. It left orange streaks in the toilet. The host is very friendly and helpful. He gave me information and maps for our visit to Chicago. When I wanted to add extra days he even remembered my name. I think the resident price of $15 is great, but I'm not a resident so I paid $25 a night. I feel that is a bit expensive for no sewer, showers, cable, Wi-Fi, pool, playground or store. It is surprising that they built a new section with water hookups and a new bath house with running water, but no showers or sewer. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
What a beautiful park! A great place to stay, as we had activities in the NW suburbs of Chicago. Very well maintained sites, a "newer" section had pull through sites. The people were nice, friendly. Except for the train on a couple of early mornings, it was very quiet. The wildlife was great to watch. It was perfect for us (no kids, not looking for all the add on like pools, activities, playgrounds, etc.) Convenient to transportation and "civilization". We would absolutely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
This park is a "10" for a number of reasons. First and foremost because it is the nicest, closest, least expensive campground to Chicago. Kane County just opened 50 more spaces that are level and large enough for anything legal on a highway. The water access does take extra hose; however, it is important to remember that this is a real service to RV'rs in the greater Chicagoland area. Wal-Mart is just around the corner. The new section is more open, allowing a breeze that keeps the mosquitos down. Yes, there are mosquitos. It is summer in Illinois. The park host couldn't have been nicer. The new section also has flush toilets, automatic sinks, real soap and electric hand dryers. We will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
Previous reviewers have described park well. Very attractive place with manicured lawn. Flush toilets would be nice. Appeared some sites may not have been level as parking pad, just wide enough for rig, followed contour of land. Self-registration in effect time we arrived though ranger came by with receipt later. Easy to get to from Illinois 31 by going west on Big Timber Road. Park on left. There are no signs along the way providing directions to the park. GPS will take you right to park by using address. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
I liked the feel and park-like appearance of this campground, and I would have liked to rate it higher, but I can't. It's a cute park and convenient to Chicago if you consider a 90 Metra commute convenient (which is as good as it's gets around Chicago). On the plus side: it's a grassy park with fairly large asphalt sites and a paved road. It is located in the middle of a habitat preserve: wetlands and swamp. Mosquitoes were outrageous. Water faucets were in odd locations far from the parking pads. My two hoses hooked together would not reach half the faucets in the park. Water pressure and quality were good. The 50A power was a problem: power spikes blew our fuses about seven times in a five day stay. We had to turn off the AC and water heater in order to run the microwave. There is no Wi-Fi. The pit toilets and so-so clean. The fishing ponds are supposed to have fish but I didn't see anybody catch a thing the whole time we were here. This is a pretty little park relatively close to Chicago that is short on amenities. We'd stay here again if visiting the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
Great surroundings but all the sites have a more than moderate slope. When we lowered our jacks, the system went into excessive slope and a jack became stuck. Additionally, we had a train go by twice. This would not normally be an issue but it runs at full power, less than 200 feet away: sounded like a tornado coming! Last but not least, the water here is very high in iron content. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$15
This is a great place to stay if you take your RV to Chicago. It is just off I-90 in Elgin, and so accessible to everything. The Metra train is close by so you don't have to drive into Chicago. There is nothing to do here, but the park is always full of nice sized RVs, very few children, and no one much is outdoors-just inside their RVs. There is an attendant on duty at all times, so it is safe. Every store imaginable is within 5-10 minutes, as well as the best breakfast place we've ever found while traveling, Burnt Toast. The sites are paved, and there is electric and water, but no sewer. There is a dump station, and fire wood available for a fee for your fire ring. The sites around the outside are all bordered by trees, and some are quite spacious. I only rated it a 7 for the lack of activities. Only the Paul Wolff Campground is open now; the other one was closed due to constant flooding. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$15
This county park is well maintained and offers many shaded spots due to the giant oak trees that surround the park. If you are a Kane county resident your camping fee is only 10 dollars per night, this includes electric, up to 50 amps, and water, but you might need a long 100' hose on some sites, Otherwise it cost 15 dollars for us other campers. There are hiking trails, plus a small fishing pond for those who enjoy the sport. Plans are under way to enlarge this park by approx 50 additional sites in 09. A very quiet type park, except the occasional train. MINUSES INCLUDE Pit toilets ONLY. No SHOWER building, and the water is from a well, thus it has a strong iron taste. Many large class A units were in the park when we were there 8/08 and firewood is sold at the park , $ 4.00 as they do not allow other wood to be brought into the park due to county insect restrictions. Many out of state plates, due to the fact that there are very few campgrounds close to Chicago and it's collar towns. There is a dump station on site, as you exit the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
Staff was on top of people being loud and parking on the grass keeping this tidy. There are great walking trails and having a site that is paved is always a plus. Tons of grass to play catch with a Frisbee or a baseball. The water spouts are a tad farther than most other camp grounds but not bad overall. We had a great experience spending three nights there and have no negatives. If you have very young kids there are not a lot of activities for them other than enjoying the trails. The ponds and lakes around the area are clean and have plenty of wildlife. Only improvement would be to add some playground equipment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$15
This place is a gem! There are very few campgrounds in the Chicago area, and while not that close to the city, it's closer than any others we could find. The sites are very large, though mostly back in. While there are no sewer hookups, there is a dump station on the way out. The sites are all paved and surrounded by beautiful grass lawns. The campground is in a much larger forest preserve and there a great opportunities for hikes. One cave at though. The water hookups are typically a good distance from the sites. I had to use our normal hookup line and add a 50' hose. All in all though, a really nice place near to Chicago. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$15
Nice campground for the price. Not many near the Chicago area. Many spots are not level and it would be difficult to level a motor home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$11
Nice, quiet, wooded campground. This campground is in a large county park with hiking, birding the main attraction other than rest. Not far from the city for your other needs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$15
This campground is a real surprise--clean, spacious, grassy sites, very quiet and scenic setting. No showers and pit toilets only, which basically requires a self-contained unit for extended stays. 14 days maximum, but you can move to Buffalo Park at this point for 7 days and then come back. We much prefer this over Buffalo Park, but others find the riverfront setting of Buffalo Park much more preferable. This wasn't even full over July 4. And, hallelujah... no fireworks. First and only time we've stayed someplace on the 4th that we had no illicit fireworks. You could describe this as a suburban setting, best for those touring the Chicago area or requiring no entertainment as there is absolutely none. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$12
Very nice campground close to I 90. About 2 miles south if your looking for an overnight stay. Great hiking trails and 2 fishing ponds for the kids. Walmart close by with restaurants and other stores within a couple miles. I've camped there many times through out the last 5 years and its only been a very good experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$15
After living in the area for 25 years, we thought we knew every campground and RV resort within 100 miles of Chicago, but we missed this little gem! A pretty, wooded area, very quiet, and only a quick 25 mile jump down I-90 from the city. Sites are paved, a dump is available, liberally spaced water spigots are officially "for fill up only," but hookup is practical on most sites. This just became our park of choice for visiting friends and family in Chicago and the western 'burbs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com