223083 User submitted reviews online!!
MacKerricher State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (707) 964-9112
CGID10032

MacKerricher State Park

Camp Information
Sites
142
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   8   7   8   5   8   2   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2014
$35
Though not a "Big Rig" rated campground, we talked to someone at headquarters who said she knew the park well and advised us that there may be a couple spots that could accommodate our 38' rig. When we called the actual campground the day we were arriving to confirm that there might be a spot or two he said "no way". Since we had a back up plan in Fort Bragg, we disconnected our tow outside the park and drove the car around. Being October, it was first come first served. We found a HUGE Site (#81) that backed to the dunes leading to the beach. Probably could even fit a larger rig than ours. Site was far from level, so it required lots of blocks but it worked out well. Park is nice - beach is beautiful. The boardwalk on the south end is a must see adventure all of it's own (no day use fee if you camp elsewhere, so visit the park even if you stay here or nearby). Weak but usable AT&T Signal. No local TV or Satellite. Nice, but biggest issue is with all CA State parks - a little pricey to have no hookups and the restricted generator hours (10 AM - 8 PM). If you wake up cold and battery is low, you have to freeze until 10 AM! We moved to a beautiful private campground in Fort Bragg after a couple nights and the net cost is about the same for full hook-ups as the State Park plus running the generator for a few hours each day. There were at least a total of 2-3 sights in campground that would fit a 38 footer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
This is an older state park with many low branches, tight turns, and short, dirt sites. The site length descriptions are accurate and each parking space is surrounded by railroad ties sunk vertically into the ground and rising about 30 inches, so if you're longer than your site and hoping to extend past the back end, I'd call first to ensure you fit. The beach access and views were wonderful. Since we use a 38' fifth wheel, we probably won't be back, but if we had a smaller rig, we would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
This was a great campground with fairly large sites in a forest next to the beach. Access was easy with our 22' trailer. Was very quiet at night. It is a very short walk to an endless huge beach. Pretty good for dogs, although they must be kept on leash everywhere, including on the beach. The skunks come out at night, so keep an eye out for them while hanging around the fire pit. A bright flashlight will scare them away. Can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Beautiful park and campground. State parks has let maintenance on this park go down, though. The boardwalk around Lake Cleone has been broken and off-limits for over three years now, but a "much needed" (?) restroom near the beach (there is another about 150 yards away at Lake Cleone) was in high priority this last June 2011. In such high priority that the entire beach parking lot and headlands boardwalk was closed off during our entire week stay. Overall, a good campground to stay at, but state parks leave something to be desired as far as maintenance, planning, etc. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
A great place to camp and enjoy the area. The rest rooms and showers are inadequate for the number of campers and lack of staff does not help. The nightly rate reflects the senior discount. We really do like this park, and will return, unless the price continues to go up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2010
$55
Had a site close to the ocean beach. However, sites are very old and not well maintained. Tables and grills are deteriorating. Very nice and clean shower/restroom. No hookups: typical for California State Parks. Very little funding so the facilities are deteriorating. Nice boardwalk nearby to ocean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
This is the nicest state park on the north coast for RV's. It's a little tight for the mega monster RV's but some sites will accommodate any sized rig. (Just watch the tree branches in some sites.) Great hiking and biking trails everywhere with incredible coastal access. Nice hosts and (most) of the rangers are friendly and helpful. Budget cuts are affecting all state parks with some areas of MacKerricher being closed to the public. Hopefully things will improve. $35 a night is a little steep for a site with no hook ups but it's sure nice to be so close to the ocean. Will stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
The setting- awesome. The staff was very friendly. The park, on the other hand, is not really a good place for a big rig. First try was so off level my bottom step was 30" off the ground. Second try my front end stuck out into the road (the spot was rated for my length). Third try we went in nose first at an angle, but had no level place to set up the chairs. For $35 a night it wasn't worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
Great park, beautiful views of the ocean, treed sites, nice boardwalks and trails, cool whale skeleton. We stayed midweek in late May and the campground was full of school groups but our site was far enough away that it wasn't too noisy. The bathrooms aren't big enough for the number of people it gets, so they were dirty most of the time, but at least the water was hot. The bathhouses in the beach parks along CA-1 in Southern California were much bigger and nicer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
A very nice well maintained State Park. The sites are large, and all are back in. A boardwalk takes you out to the ocean with spectacular views of the rocky coast line, and a tide pool area for exploring. Sites had fire pits and picnic tables. Lots of room to ride bikes. Highly recommended! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2008
$25
MacKerricher State Park offers a beautiful area, but the campground has facilities which leave much to be desired. We camped here during the Thanksgiving week and encountered loud, obnoxious campers, filthy showers and bathrooms, group campers in non-group areas, and no rangers to assist with loud music, dogs running loose, and screaming children. We will never camp here again during the summer season, or during the holiday times. It's just not worth the aggravation, since the park service doesn't care to monitor the park for those of us who wish to enjoy staying at the coast. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com