206704 User submitted reviews online!!
AOK Campground and RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (816) 324-4263
CGID10034

AOK Campground and RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
58
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   3   4   9   9   4   8   7   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
My husband & I stayed at this campground for a few months on a business trip. Its a fairly nice place in a country setting but conveniently close to St. Joseph. I would recommend staying here for a night but not for a extended stay. My complaints are: There are several stray cats (out of control) that climb all over your vehicles and everything else leaving a mess. There is also a man who lives/works there that has 3 huge chow dogs. Even though there is a leash rule, he lets his roam freely. The dogs have attacked several other dogs causing vet visits. Complaints to the owner did NO good. He does absolutely nothing about it. So not a pet friendly place. I'm assuming if he were to pay the vet bills, he might take care of it. Also they advertise free WiFi. It worked for a few days, then it was out for over 3 weeks. Again complaints to the owner did no good. After you give them your money your basically on your own. We eventually moved to another campsite in the area where they conduct business properly & in a timely fashion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
You travel about a half mile of steep, up and down, hilly, dusty gravel road to enter. Dark green toad was white by the time we got in the RV park. First site we were assigned did not have working 50 amp power, which came as a surprise to the manager. We were given our choice of moving to a 30 amp site overlooking the pond or taking a 50 amp site in the middle of the long term camping area next to a fifth wheel with a 8X10X6 chain link dog pen with two large not well maintained dogs. Being it was an overnight stay and it was hot, we chose the 50 amp and spent our time inside. Overall the manager was friendly and went out of his way to be helpful, but the overall condition of the park could only be described as run down and one of those places that you expect to hear the "Deliverance Banjos" crank up when the sun goes down. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
The site where I was placed was in an area that we were like sardines. We could barely get out of our RV. The pool and playground was nice. The cable did not work, but they did refund our cost for cable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Really liked this park. The sites are not jammed up cheek by jowl, which is a huge plus in my opinion. This park has lots of wide open spaces that are very well maintained. There is a small pond and a play area. The sites were gravel. All the services worked fine. My site was not a level as I would have liked, but it was ok. The manager was very friendly and down to earth. And, best of all, they did not have millions of rules!!! It was more like "just use your common sense." I will stay here many times in the future since it is the closest pull through's to Squaw Creek NWR. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
Nice park. Staff friendly. Site was tight. Pool was clean and refreshing. Large property was well taken care of. Bathrooms and showers needed more attention and updated. Inside it looked like they were falling apart. Nice lake and walking areas. Price $24.50 was after Good Sam discount. Would return again. Very family friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$23
Spent 2 nights. Not bad, not real good either. Pool is totally out in the sun. Camp office is like a shed that you'd have in your backyard. Road to the campground is like a roller coaster. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Nice park with lots of grass and a pond for fishing. Two major complaints. The free Wi-Fi, had no controls on it so the whole time we were at the RV Park we could not connect to a single website. Someone was taking up the entire bandwidth, probably downloading movies. Very Frustrating! The lights in the women's bath room were on a timer/ motion detector that was too short for a shower. I was left in the dark when the lights turned off in the middle of washing my hair since no other women had come in that morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Nice park with continued improvements being done. Owner and employees very nice and helpful. Only negative is dusty road to get to park. Good location to tour St Joe area with shopping and restaurants close by. Large pool, nice laundry, pond, and more. Close to interstate, but road noise did not bother us. We drive a big rig and were there to visit family. Will stay here again next visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
For an overnight or short stay, this is a good place. We arrived past 9pm and were still escorted to our site by one of the employees. The owner is very nice and helpful. He made sure to stop by and meet us before we left and get us lots of tourists magazines for our Branson adventure. I caution those with young children to ask for a site away from the large pond. It could be quite dangerous as it is right in front of the last row of sites with no fencing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
An OK park. They are doing some work to this park and while it was OK, it certainly does need some TLC. Staff is super friendly and helpful and will give you great ideas on things to see and do in the area. Biggest problem is the 3/4 mile of dirt road to get to the park. Nice club house and swimming pool which is kept spotless. Shack they are using for an office needs to be cleaned up. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$23
Great park! Wonderful internet! Near the highway but the noise didn't bother us. If you go in to St. Jo's see the Psychiatric Museum! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Dusty, very dusty. A good 1/2 mile dirt/gravel road to and from the park. Dirt/gravel roads inside the park, and the RV sites (again, dirt/gravel) are not level. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
Good cheap place for an overnight. Spots are “side by side.” Two RV's share an electrical post with two connections, one 30 amp and one 50 amp. Hope you aren't both 50 amp. There are two sewer dumps, so no problem there. As for the water, two RV's share ONE water faucet with a “hose splitter.” The site I pulled into did not have the “splitter” and I was dismayed and not sure what to do as another RV had “taken” the water connection. Campground host said, “no problem.” She walked over, unhooked the other person's water hose (without knocking on their door to inform them!!!) added the splitter, and re-connected the other person's hose. OK. Now I have water. Water pressure seemed OK to me; wasn't sure whether or not both of us were using the water at the same time. The Wi-Fi was kind of weak. The host didn't tell me about the Wi-Fi, I just kind of, "found it." The park has a nice pond. One prior review said “cash only.” They are now taking credit cards. To get here, you drive over a dirt/gravel road with some hills, but it's tolerable. Reasonably priced gas station right off the exit before you get to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$22
We spent one night at AOK en-route to Wyoming. It was convenient to the Interstate and St. Joseph. The host was friendly and provided us with brochure for attractions in the area. We ended up touring the Patee Museum and Pony Express Museum, which we thoroughly enjoyed. We had full hookups on a level site. The campground was about one-third full the night we stayed (Sunday). The pool was small, but clean and the grounds were well maintained. It had a large pond closeby. The bathrooms were somewhat dated and a little bit of a stroll from our campsite so we opted to shower in our trailer. The only real problem we had was the neighbor in the motorhome next to us had a dog that barked when they weren't around. And, when they did come back, they let the doberman run around lose, which was frightening and annoying. It's good for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
The only negative thing about getting to the park was the dirt road, 1/2 mile long, very dry and very dusty. The park it self was very clean, nice owner, more of a long term park, but OK for a one night stay. The park had a fishing pond, good electric, would use this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$15
This is a nice park. Owner was very friendly and worked very hard keeping things neat and clean. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
Okay for an overnight stay. Lots of traffic noise from I-29. Narrow gravel road from highway to campground. They only take cash. Would only stay here again as an overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$22
Stopped late for overnight stay. Just off interstate, but noise at night was not a factor. Narrow gravel road, then down a slope to office. However, once at site, it was level. Campground hosts were very friendly. Restroom was not in that great physical condition, but they were as clean as could be expected for late at night, and they worked OK. Would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$22
This was relatively close to the highway, but the noise overnight wasn't too bad. We all slept fine. The staff was very courteous. We were looking for a place late at night and they were the only ones in the vicinity with someone still in the office. The place was perfect for a one-night stop over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2010
$22
Closely spaced sites and side-by-side hookups remove any sense of privacy. Traffic noise from I-29 was very significant. Staff was friendly and utilities were adequate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
Convenient to I-29 on a scary, narrow dirt road, then down a hill to the parking area. The new owner is making visible improvements, and our site was level gravel with good hookups. Verizon Aircard and cell service were very good. Quiet and dark except for freeway noise, this was a good overnight and probably a nice destination park in the summer. The reasonable price made this a worthwhile stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
Compared to Beacon RV park this place is nice. Yes: there is the interstate traffic and an occasional train but nothing to make the stay undesirable. We have stayed here before and plan on staying again during Thanksgiving. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
You drive down this washboard dirt road before you get to the campground. They say they have cable but only in a select few sites so bring your sat dish or be prepared to watch 1 channel. The Wi-Fi is very weak (they told me the antenna was mounted on the back of the owners house) so I had to walk close to his house to use it. The sites were not level. They do have a pool and a pond that I saw some folks fishing in. This is one of the worst campgrounds I have stayed at and will not return. Be aware! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
This park is right on I-29. When going into park you have a 1/4 mile dusty road thinking you are going into a country setting. It could be if not for I-29. Noisy like you would not believe, truck traffic day/night, where are the trains so I can get some sleep??? Very friendly and accommodating staff. Stayed here one night do not know if I will stay again but probably not just too noisy. Stayed here in a 5th wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com