224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Tulsa NE / Will Rogers Downs KOA was rated 5 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (918) 283-8876
CGID10037

Tulsa NE / Will Rogers Downs KOA

Camp Information
Sites
400
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   1   3   4   1   1   5   3   8   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2014
$38
This is a large nice campground with beautiful green grass and gravel roads. It sits next to a horse racing track/casino, premium back in spots are feet away from the racing horses. I made reservations online for a back-in spot. When we arrived the office worker notified me that we would be in the farthest corner from the track. She offered us a closer spot for an extra $5, since it was a larger pull-through. We ended up right next to the playground. It is a nice updated playground that our kids loved. The showers and restrooms were also very close to the playground but a distance from the back lots. They were well maintained, but with only 4 stalls with 400 RV sites I think it could get crowded at times. Our site was gravel with a cement pad off the side that had a nice wooden picnic table and a small grill. Some smaller sites were only grass and grill. There was no shade as far as I could see. We did not visit the clubhouse. We were there during the balloon festival. The main street to the racing track /casino is through the campgrounds. If you were on the main road it would be busy and possibly loud. We were not. There is plenty of room between sites for slides to be out, if you have them. The pull-through site we had was very long. We pull a 21 foot travel trailer and it could've fit 2 of us and a vehicle. I would certainly go back. The casino has a lot of family friendly events. The balloon festival was wonderful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
Rained was very muddy. Club house had no hot water, no kitchen sink, stove etc. Was not shown to site. Staff lady was friendly. Club house very dirty. NO LIGHTING AT NIGHT! Not a very secure area. Lots of traffic late at night. Very dusty before rain. No shade. I dont know how this qualified for a KOA Park. Very low end. Lots of unattended RV's. Obviously gamblers at casino, and horse racing fans. Lots of junk piled outside of the full timers trailers. Very low end, unclassy area. Police going thru camp at night chasing someone. NOT A FAMILY SAFE PLACE !! Would recommend KOA to pull sanction of this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
I read reviews for early July concerning shower and restroom facilities and thought that surely corrections had been made by then end of the month. Not to be. The new bath house appears to be completed, but not in use. Conditions in the temporary facility were unacceptable. I have heard of unisex showers, but in the same room? There were no hooks for towels, no benches or chairs for personal items. The RV pads are gravel, there are no trees. There is not a pool or anything but the casino to recommend this campground. Food at the casino is mediocre at best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
Very noisy. Sites are level. Bathroom and showers are under construction. It looks like they will be very nice when finished. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2012
$34
This should not be a KOA affiliate! Our expectations from other KOA's we have visited (6 or 7 in the last 7 weeks) were to be in a safe and clean environment. This was neither. There were two intruders in the bathroom that were putting out a fire that they had apparently just started. It looked like some had just groomed and trimmed a dog in two of the sinks. We are just finishing a 7 week RV trip through the west and southwest and this is, by far, the worst place we have stopped. If KOA has any standards whatsoever, this place has to have their KOA affiliation removed. If this was the 1st or 2nd or 3rd KOA we had visited, it would be the last. The only reason we came here was because of the KOA affiliation and reputation established by other parks we've stayed in. The casino parking extends into the RV park, and I would not have stayed if I did not have a concealed carry permit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Sites were level, all utilities worked but had two issues. 1. You have to check in at one of the gaming desks in the casino (seems the casino owns the franchise). I was pushed aside until all gambling patrons were taken care of. 2. Big issue - thought I might use the shower/bathroom facilities. Walked in and ran out. Have never seen toilets so filthy (and I worked in a gas station during my college days). Shower floors, sinks just disgusting, no excuse for this. Gambling is obviously the concern here (didn't know it was attached to a casino when we made reservations) with no usable facilities for the campground folks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
This is a large campground adjacent the a horse racing track and a Casino. Its a simple few miles off the highway. Other than a children's playground, shower and laundry facilities, there does not appear to be any other amenities. There are no trees, roads are gravel. Not a place where we would want to spend anything more than an overnight, but its location works out perfect for us as a stopover. We usually stop over here twice a year. I have never seen the campground anywhere near full. The better sites are in the lower section near the track. The track workers start early so there is some machinery noise early in the AM. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2011
$29
I stayed here for 1 night. Campground elevation is 659 feet. Maneuvering my 40 footer towing a dinghy was no problem. Roads and sites are gravel/dust & Patios are grass. Site spacing is poor. My site D47/52 offered 30/50 amp service & full hookups. Wi-Fi and Cable were not available. To make a pull through site they use 2 back in sites that back up to each other. I was able to receive AT&T Wireless G3 Internet & Cellular service. I received Dish Network 110/119 Satellite TV from dish on roof of motorhome. Campground is pet friendly. Staff was friendly. Wal-Mart and a grocery were 6 miles away. I am unable to comment on other amenities due to not using them. This large open campground is in poor condition. The dust on the roads is about as bad as I have ever seen. There are those little burrs that stick to pets in the grassy areas. The dumpsters are overflowing. My site had excessive slope front to rear. I definitely would not stay here again, even if free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
If you like horse racing and gambling, a wonderful place to stay. The sites are rock and have grills. There is easy access to the park and very friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
This is a huge RV Park adjacent to the parking lot of Will Rogers Downs Horse Track/Casino. There are gravel sites with grass/weeds between each site. Typical of a KOA ie: Way too expensive for a park with NO amenities. We had planned to stay for a few days while exploring the area, but decided to stay only overnight then find someplace else to use as a base camp. The charge reflects "pull-through" rate, I believe a back-in site is a couple dollars cheaper per night. They advertise WI-FI, but the signal not strong enough to reach sites. Verizon G3 modem signal and AT&T cell service were both good. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
The showers were dirty and had cobwebs. Laundry was dirty and the the washing machine did not work properly(no spin dry). Grounds workers were informed of this and we were told it wasn't their problem. It was necessary to enter the Casino and cross the room to register for camping (no campground office). Casino has wifi but is not strong enough to reach all the way out to the campground. This was pitiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
We stayed at the campground for a rally. Nice layout with plenty of room to maneuver. All roads and sites are gravel, which can be a bit dusty with lots of traffic, however, the staff uses the water truck for the horse track to water the roads and keep the dust down; impressive! Casino on-site and a horse track as well. This campground is located east of Claremore. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Very nice park. Stayed there the 2nd through the 5th of July. We were unable to access the Wi-Fi with our Apple Mac Book Pro laptops. The staff was very pleasant, helpful, and very attentive. The grounds were in great shape, and it was fun watching the horses working out around the track in the early mornings. We look forward to staying again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$34
This campground fit our needs for a one night stopover. It was fairly close to I-44, had a pull-through, level site (did not have to unhook), the casino had a bar with delicious, home-cooked food and entertainment to boot. This campground's atmosphere is nothing to write home about, after all it is on the grounds of a horse racing track and a casino, so we did not expect much in that regards. All of the sites on our row were spacious and level. Check-in is done in the casino. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. The daily rate paid reflects KOA membership discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$38
A KOA park in the parking lot of the Casino/Horse pacing Track. The track wasn't open this time of year but we did watch some trainers working out the horses. Registration is in the Casino, a way to get you in the door and hopefully spend a few bucks while you are there. The WIFI didn't work while we were there, you could get a connection but it wouldn't stay connected. Antenna TV, no cable. The site we were assigned to was very muddy with deep tracks in the mud and grass area. We chose a different site and called the office to tell them we were in a different site. We stayed over night and did not even unhook. It is ok for a stop over, but is really a place to camp for the race track. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$34
KOA has taken over the RV park area next to Cherokee Casino/Will Rogers Downs horse track east of Claremore. The registration is inside the casino. When we stayed here, there was heavy rain. The sites drained fairly well; they are working to add grass and some landscaping features to the sites and of course those areas were muddy. Utilities at the site were up-to-date. The casino's bar had good sandwiches. This is a convenient RV park for visiting the track or for visiting Claremore: 3 miles away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$34
Park is now KOA Tulsa NE. Rate reflects VK discount for gravel pull through site. Registration is still inside the casino. Bath house/pavilion and playground are new. It seemed small for the number of sites. They are still making improvements including some new concrete patios and curbing as if they intend to pave some sites. We stayed during a period of unusually heavy rains so there was some standing water/mud, but sites were level. There was grass between sites and they were fairly wide. Verizon and satellite were no problem, but there was no shade. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
This is an RV park that is part of the casino and horse racetrack. Most campsite pads are light gravel and dirt. The park does have a few paved sites. However, they were reserved for the weekend’s event competitors and vendors. This review is about the gravel and dirt pads. Site drainage and standing water are an issue when it rains; dust is an issue when it isn’t raining. Sewer connection was a broken pipe sticking out of the ground. Wi-Fi connectivity was weak and sporadic. Water and 30 amp power services that we used were adequate. Check-in is inside the casino. The RV park does not take reservations. The park appears to be a secondary operation to the casino and does not appear to have designated park staff. RV site pads are located on either side of the main access road to the casino and racetrack. The RV park access roads can be used as overflow parking by the casino and were during our stay. During race events, traffic to and from the casino can be heavy. We attended an event that was held at the casino but not related to horse racing or casino activities. During our stay, site work had begun to convert the RV park into a franchise campground. The bathhouse was available yet under renovation. The women’s side of the bathhouse was clean; the men’s side was not. A new playground for children was completed. However, no special child-friendly activities and events appeared to be offered. We would not actively recommend this RV park as an overnight or stopover unless your main objective is to be close to the casino and racetrack events. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com