220521 User submitted reviews online!!
Palace Campgrounds was rated 7 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (815) 777-2466
CGID1005

Palace Campgrounds

Camp Information
Sites
132
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   1   9   8   6   8   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
This is the only campground in Galena which makes it a good base for exploring but also allows the owners to defer upgrades. Most of the full hook up sites are along the main road. All of the sites are tight and trees make using an awning a challenge. The full hook up sites have the most trees and the least amount of grass. The swimming pool looked clean, but since they allow the public to use it for a fee it was packed every day. There were lots of water only and tent sites that looked good for group camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
This park is all there is in Galena. Even at that it is too highly priced for the lack of amenities. It is right off the highway but quiet. It's next door to Walmart. The sites are small and not level. Ticks are plentiful. Nothing is done to control them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
Campground hasn't changed in 30 years. Full hookup sites are big enough for a tent or pop up at best. Bathrooms are dirty and run down, pool is old and needs work. They advertise Wi-Fi but it doesn't work, and they have no intentions of fixing it. Beware of this place as you would have a better camping experience in the Walmart parking lot next door! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
This is a clean well maintained park with a mixture of sites both 30 and 50 amp including pull-throughs and back ins. We stayed here 4 nights and found the park situated very well to visit Galena and the area. Would stay here again and highly recommend this area to visit, the town of Galena is wonderful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
The campground is close to downtown Galena - reason for our stay. We were there for two nights with full hook ups in a pull through site. Only saw the staff at check in. There is no operating security gate for coming and going which gives me concern about non-campers coming into park. The back in sites are very, very close together. Would not recommend. Fair number of seasonal campers. Grounds were well kept and clean. People were friendly. It is an "ok" park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Park is nicely situated on the west edge of Galena convenient to the Galena attractions, and to Dubuque, IA. Our visit was after Labor Day so the park was lightly occupied. They closed the pool the day after Labor Day although the weather was still warm. RV sites are relatively tight if all are occupied but not a problem during our visit. Truck loading/unloading noise in the middle of the night from the Wal-Mart next door awakened us each night of our 3 day stay. Also, the Wi-Fi didn't reach our site and even sitting in their office we could not upload any email replies. Something wrong with their system. We used the park as a base to explore the surrounding areas. We may stay here again if we can locate farther from the Wal-Mart noise: down the hill & in the rear. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
Nice place to go if you are visiting the Galena territory. We typically stay in Lena, about 40 minutes away, but decided to try this CG to avoid the drive. This is CG has a convenience factor that is appealing. The CG is situated between a Wal-Mart and a Culvers. Kind of neat for a walk for ice cream in the evening. We were here for the Galena Fall Festival, so the pool was already closed. The sites are not huge, but manageable. The free Wi-Fi was non existent, which is why I did not rate it higher. We are ready to book for next year's festival. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
The park is right off highway 20. It's very quiet with helpful and friendly staff. The park has play area, pool and miniature golf. Wal-Mart and restaurant is on each side. It's a great park to do some sightseeing in Dubuque (Field of Dreams) and Galena with great views and shopping. We will stay again when we're in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
When it comes to sites, campground has a little of everything. We stayed in a site with sewer. These sites are extremely close together. We stayed mid-week and the place was pretty empty so it did not matter to us. If you get a site without sewer they have much nicer sites and more space. The people in the office were friendly and helpful. In looking at the campgrounds in the area, this appeared to be the best in regards to location and amenities. If we returned to the area, we would stay again, but would get a site without sewer and simply use the dump station. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
This was a very nice campground. You get the feel of being very far away in the country, although you are right next to a Wal-Mart. They had lots of activities such as a game room, putt-putt golf, and a swimming pool. Outdoor movies were a plus, as well. The pool was nice but not very big. The rolling hills and wide space campsites were nice as well. The only dislike I have in regards to this campground is that we were not able to bring our own firewood. I understand that this is due to the emerald ash borer, but their firewood was priced somewhat high. Other than that, this campground was great! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
We camped at Palace Campground for a weekend in June. Sites are nicely laid out, staff was friendly. Many activities in and nearby campground. One of the drawbacks we felt was that they don't allow you to bring your own firewood in the park. Swimming pool was very crowded. We enjoyed our weekend but the next time we plan a trip to Galena we would probably stay at a hotel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
The sites are a bit close together. The staff was not very friendly and did not seem to know what was going on. However, we had no problem getting level. There is a play ground for kids and putt-putt golf course that my kids loved. And lots to do in the town of Galena. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
Very tight spaces--but grassy and treed. If you are coming in on a week-end, get here early--cars line both sides of the street--those with big rigs had lots of trouble maneuvering into spaces. Busy on week-ends, but quiet hours honored. Close to Dubuque and Galena--Mississippi River Museum one of the best in the country. Laundry small but clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
I would have given this campground a lower rating, then we took a walk to the back part of the grounds and they were very nice. The front part has the sewer hook ups and permanent campers & here you are in a tight space. Bigger units really had a hard time. If you can do without sewer request a site in the back, these are larger & more isolated from road noise. This campground has a pool and mini golf next door & playground. It is adjacent to the Wal Mart and would be a little hard to find after dark. Bathrooms were fairly clean but very old. We camped here for 2 days because it was a good base camp to see historic Galena which is only 1 mile away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Things must have changed some since reviews in 2007. Sites are spacious and reasonably level. Still lots for kids to do. Probably about half are full time sites, which was not a problem when we were there. Bathroom was not all that clean, but were manageable. Some dirt was of "normal" variety - i.e., tracked in dirt from busy feet. The staff wasn't particularly friendly, but we didn't need any special help, either. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
Good playground and area for kids to play. Office has game room and pool area is nice with a small deck area with tables nearby. Most sites are level, but some leveling is needed. Campground is arranged around terraced lanes. Some sites are narrow and close together. There are some 'loop' sites where two campers can park and be facing each other. Brochure says free wireless, but there was none when we stayed there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$45
The only full service campground in the Galena area. Camped over Labor day week-end. Campground was extremely full and busy. Campsites are tightly packed, parking lot style. Amenities are okay--bathrooms primitive but fairly clean (except the day there was glass all over the floor of the ladies bathroom for most of the morning). Owners were not friendly and were rude and un-apologetic about a reservation error. Wouldn't discourage anyone from staying since it is the closest camping location to old Galena, but just don't expect much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
Very nice clean camp ground, friendly people, great place for kids. Mini golf on site, plus pool. Wooded sites not all flat and level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
Very very small sites. The fire pit for the neighbor site was so close, I feared their fire would damage my camper. We could not put down our awning as it would have hit the next camper. It did have a nice mini-golf course. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
Sites are very tight and close together. Bathrooms/showers were dirty due to the heavy traffic volume. We might stay here again if in the area but would look other places first. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2004
$30
Although most of the sites are quite small, the pool (complete with diving board) is great - ditto for the arcade and the mini-golf. Kids LOVE this place and the proximity to downtown Galena is convenient. The owners are very nice and accommodating. The lower sites on the "loops" offer more space than the traditional sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$27
Camped here after Labor day. Attendants were somewhat ambivalent to the campers. Not crowded, and we were encouraged to pick our own site from those available. Numerous seasonal campers. Campground needed some attention, as we found several instances of animal waste. Some road construction on the road infront of the Campground, but aside from needing to wait traffic to clear, no problems. Pricing was a little steep for off season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$27
Unless you like to be packed in like a sardine can - stay away. The sites are only 10 feet wide. By the time you put your rig in the site and put out your awning - that is basically all the room you have. The people camping in the spot next to us - their awning was just about touching our slide-out. No room to move and absolutely no privacy. Your vehicle (if towing one) sits in front of your rig sideways. Kids and dogs were running around everywhere even though the rules stated that dogs must be on a leash. Left the following morning. This is not camping!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com