214868 User submitted reviews online!!
Natural Bridge State Resort Park - Middle Fork Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (606) 663-2214
CGID10051

Natural Bridge State Resort Park - Middle Fork Campground

Camp Information
Sites
86
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   8   3   9   9   9   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$26
We enjoyed our stay very much. Yes, it is a smaller campground, but that just helps it to be a nice and quiet site. There only 2 negatives that we can say about the campground. The hook-ups are in awkward positions. We and most other campers had to run our water hose and electric hook-ups under the RV to the opposite side. No big deal unless your hook-ups won't reach. The trash dumpster is on the outside of the campground and across the road, due to keeping animals out of the campground. This was a small problem for us, because we are both physically impaired. So we had to put our trash in the trunk of car and drive to the dumpster each evening. The sites are close, but well maintained. I believe each site had at least one shade tree, picnic table, and fire ring. We stayed in one of the pull-thru's that made it very convenient for us. The center section are pull-thru's and are very level. The first row of back-ins have a slight incline. The row along the creek/stream appear to be pretty level, also. We will definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Tight is the best word to describe this campground. If you are over or even around 40 feet, you may regret staying at this park. Good location close to the park sites which are awesome. WiFi you have to pay to play, lost a point with me. Sites are a decent size, just right on top of each other. There is nothing close by: no groceries or Walmart so come prepared and stocked up. Clean relatively new bathrooms, but in need of repair. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Most everything was within walking distance or a short drive....pool, trails, lodge. Nice large sites. Small fee to use pool. Internet fee was $4 per day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$26
We stayed next to the stream and loved it. Nothing beats sitting by the fire and listening to the stream. Our site was huge but that is not the norm. Actually the majority of sites are pretty tight and not long enough to accommodate anything much over 30'. There is an occasional site that will fit a big rig, but you must pay attention to the site length. The roads were paved, and sites were crushed gravel. This was good when it rained, but bad when its dry as it all gets tracked in the camper. Water pressure is fantastic, electric not so much. If we had to use the AC I'm not sure it would have run it. The park ranger does patrol a lot and watches for the slightest infringement. Its a bit excessive and annoying. Trout fishing is pretty good in the stream as well. We will definitely return for another trip. We loved it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2012
$26
Park staff is very friendly and professional. Campground has too many RV in such a tight area. Very little room to maneuver a rig. Saw several folks hit posts trying to back rigs in. Any trailer over 30' is problematic. If you check-in in the afternoon, you may have to wait 15 minutes or so while the person before you unhooks their rig. Not possible to stay connected here. I understand that part of camping is burning firewood but folks burned firewood all day and night. Never saw this much wood burned in other campgrounds. Everything inside smelled of wood smoke for days. Lots of unsupervised kids and dogs running around in a small area. Bathhouse was clean. No cellular reception and no over the air TV. Satellite TV did work fine. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$23
We stayed here for 2 nights as a walk-in. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 was because when we arrived there was no personnel to check us in. There was just a picture map telling us which sites was available to use. The campground was nice, quiet, and family friendly. We will be staying here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
We stayed for 7-days. Site maps misleading as to size of pull-throughs. One of our group's 36' 5th wheel filled the entire pad. We had sufficient space to angle park our toad in front of 32'MH. Park complex is wonderful. Facilities were clean. Campground hose friendly and stayed on top of things. Park rangers patrolled frequently. During the latter part of our stay, the duty ranger was intent on capturing campers who had a beer/wine in their site. He would drive wrong way on one-way streets to get better view into campsites. It is a dry county, but really. We enjoyed our visit. This is a remote located facility. Nearest town with shopping/food is 20 minutes on parkway (70mph). We would go back as would nearly all of our other 7 RVs in our group. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$29
Beautiful campground with a fair bit of shade, fabulous scenery, helpful staff and easy access to Hemlock Lodge & Hoedown Island. We had a site along the stream (check out sites B27-B35). We could walk down to the stream and splash around as it was shallow. Only negative comment would be the location of the H20 & electrical hook-ups. We had a back-in site but the hookups were at the front of the site and on the opposite side. Luckily, we brought extra cord & hose, but had to walk over them to access our trailer. Internet was available if you pay for it; otherwise you can find a hot spot at Hemlock Lodge. Their restaurant was very good. We had visitors to our campsite for dinner and there was no fee for them to enter which was nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
A storm rolled through while we were here dropping 2 inches of hail on the ground and causing much damage as well as a tree falling on our site; no damage to the motorhome thankfully. The river is amazing after a storm. Site was odd to level the 34ft motorhome; had to unhook the car to bring down the ramp to the spot and still scraped the dolly. Couldn't tell you about the staff as they were never really there. The restrooms were not kept up very well nor were the showers, though I do believe we campers need to leave them clean after using them. A lot more truck traffic throughout the day and night than there was before. I was told that is because they are logging dead and old trees from Daniel Boone NF. Other than that the park is a real nice place to be and to go for walks and visit the state and national forest. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
Nice home base for the park activities. Pull-through sites are quite narrow (we stayed in a back-in site) while back-ins have a little more room between units. Roadway between sites is pretty narrow making backing in a challenge to miss units across the road as well as miss the marker post that's in the way when backing in. There are some very nice creekside sites available also, however watch your size as some of these are shorter. Depending on your site, you may need extra hose and extension cord. Sites are fairly level with only minimal leveling needed. No playground for the kids which was kind of a downer for them. Also, be careful when entering the park. The campground sign is right after the entrance instead of before. Since we arrived at night and it was pitch black, we missed the entrance and had to turn around using a road-side pull-off. All in all a decent campground that I'd recommend for folks sightseeing in the area. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
Goods: Great state park with a ton of things to do...hiking, swimming, paddle boats, mini-golf, a sky-lift up the mountain to the Natural Bridge, a lodge with a restaurant (DO NOT drive your rig up the hill...no room to turn around), great picnic areas, friendly and helpful staff everywhere, clean campground restrooms, campground Wi-Fi for a small fee, firewood/ice at the check-in station, and a couple of country stores within 2 miles. The view from the Natural Bridge is impressive, especially in the Fall with leaves changing. The trails are well-maintained and absolutely beautiful. Others: First, the campground spots are really close together. While I saw a couple of big 5th wheels and motorhomes in the park, it took a lot of patience to get them into and out of the pull-through sites. The middle pull throughs are level but the outside ring make take a few blocks to get you level. Depending on your site, you may have to connect to water/power on patio side of your site, so bring an an extra hose and power cord. Second, the campground is located right off KY-11 with occasional semi and motorcycle traffic at all hours of the day/night. Combine that with the close sites and you have a noisy camping experience. Also, the campground is well lit with street lamps, so bring a dark tarp to block out the light if you are tent camping in the main loop. Last, the dump station is located on the campground access road on the left side of the road (as you are exiting) at the bottom of a hill. It makes dumping a bit scary if someone coming down the hill into the campground isn't paying attention. Recommendation: Definitely visit NB State Park! Loved our four days there despite the campground shortcomings. If you have a smaller rig and don't need 50 amp power consider B28-B35 as they are a little deeper into trees and on the other side of the stream from the main loop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$24
We headed toward the Natural Bridge Area and it was very confusing at first to find the campground since this resort is huge and you are traveling on route 11 as you go by other camping areas. This area reminds of Franconia Notch area in NH. We were assigned a great site backed up to the mountain with the river out our back door. There were little bridges to cross over to get to the restrooms and the ranger station. Since there was a storm coming with high winds, heavy rain and tunnel clouds, we changed sites to get on the other side of the river for safety reasons. Many things to do in this area bird watching, boating, museums, nature centers, ranger walks, history talks, recreation programs and hiking from the campground and in the Red River Gorge Area and Daniel National Forest. Don’t drive a RV over 25 foot around the gorge because route 15 and 715 are curvy and very narrow and not many places to turn around. We did not try to go through the Nada Tunnel because our Pulse is 11’8 in height and would not dare to do it. Very pretty area and this campground is nice with a number of sites big enough for big rigs including some pull -throughs. Most have electricity and water. One can tent here and at the other campground just down the street. Slade has restaurants, shops and gas stations. We would definitely return to visit this area again when the weather is better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
Spots were nice but gravel. Streamside is very nice in main section of campground, some sites require a lengthy back in approach. We had a 27' travel trailer and there were plenty of sites able to accommodate it. Bathrooms/shower house had ample hot water. Some cleaning required due to spiders having a field day with the odd hot October. Dump station needs major work. Need to pull up to it in the oncoming traffic lane entering campground to use it, the drain to dump was partially broken and massive sewage leaks occur frequently. Must use gloves. Will be back despite all as the area is gorgeous. Also Natural Bridge is must see via skylift. Must visit Red River Gorge. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
Great campground. yes it is very difficult to get a larger motor home in. I had to unhook the car and tow dolly in order to get around the turn and down the hill without scraping but that was the only bad thing about the park. Most sites are not very level. Good water pressure. A lot to do in the location if you’re into nature. Very quite at night. Friendly workers and campers. We would move here if we could!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$26
Great place to "get away from it all" while staying in the luxury of your own RV. Tight turns might make for challenging maneuvering for larger RVs. At the time we stayed here, the camp was nearly empty and we had our choice of the beautiful stream side sites. Restrooms and showers were very clean in and excellent condition. We were not able to get any cell reception in this area (AT&T). Some of the best hiking trails of the parks we've stayed at, with many more within driving distance. If you enjoy outdoor recreation, there's a good chance you'll enjoy staying at this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
The Middle Fork Campground is wonderful. We have never seen cleaner restrooms and the host was extremely helpful.It was fun hearing the stream bubble along during the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
We enjoyed staying here. Our kids love the stream. They have dancing in the evenings down the road at Hoe Down Island. The audience gets to join in the dancing. Festive atmosphere. We will visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$26
This is one of two campgrounds here in Natural Bridge State Park, and this one, in my opinion, is the nicer of the two. Especially for larger travel trailers and RV's. Whittleton is the other campground and is great for tent camping or pop-up or small travel trailers (under 20'). This campground is nice and quiet, and right along the banks of Middle Fork creek. Hence the campgrounds name. There is limited cell phone reception in this area, just like the whole Red River Gorge area. No TV reception unless you have a satellite,and no Wi-Fi. Some of the camp sites are small and crowded. The host was very nice and drove around the campground quite often. Clean campgrounds, and bath houses. Some of the sites are paved, and others are gravel and all are pretty level. Firewood can be bought at the check-in station. Lots of hiking to be done here in the gorge and this camp ground is nice and quiet to relax in once you come back from a hard day hiking the different trails! Payphone and washing machine/dryer at the bath house, along with 2 soda vending machines. No campground store. We enjoy this part of Kentucky and plan on staying here quite a bit this summer. Already made reservations to head back this month! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com